tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : VOIDWORK - Basement / Kaos Limited Edition

VOIDWORK

Basement / Kaos Limited Edition

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark WaveDroneNeoclassical

[89/100]   

Rage In Eden
24/08/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

To whom it may concern …

“Basement”

Facts and figures: “Basement” is the fourth album of VoidWork from Belgium. Founder and frontman Xavier gets vocal support from Ann-Mari Thim (Arcana, Seventh Harmonic …), Melissa Ferlaak, Zuberoa Aznãrez and Sven Houfflijn.

The limited edition of “Basement” comes in a wooden box and contains an extra CD, “Kaos”. This CD alone is worth your hard-earned Euro’s! VoidWork’s music is inspired by supernatural literature from the early 20th century, more recent horror cinema, fear, death … I hope to elaborate on this matter in a future interview …

Released by Rage in Eden (Poland) and now for sale …

VoidWork takes you on a haunting, spiritual journey through a neoclassical (dark wave) landscape, takes you to desolate places were spirits reveal themselves to you, laughing gently … it seems. VoidWork sucks you into an atmospheric almost-emptiness. A good place to be in these busy and restless times!

 “Kaos”

Friday evening august 11, 2011, 22:44 PM. In my CD-player the VoidWork album “Kaos”. Track 8 … “The Stranger” … 3 minutes and 39 seconds of pure beauty, beautiful grief, strange sadness … A warm feeling comes over me as I experience the last few songs on the album. “Nothing” makes me realize once more why I love Music this much. “Kaos” is a captivating album of an undoubtedly talented musician!

X. marks the spot, AGAIN!

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


NL

To whom it may concern ...

“Basement”

De feiten: “Basement” is de vierde CD van het Belgische VoidWork. De drijvende kracht achter dit project is ene Xavier, die voor vocale ondersteuning opnieuw kan rekenen op Ann-Mari Thim, ook bekend van Arcana en Seventh Harmonic, en op Melissa Ferlaak, Zuberoa Aznãrez en Sven Houfflijn.

De Limited Edition, uit op 120 exemplaren en verpakt in een sober houten doosje, bevat de extra CD “Kaos” die op zich reeds uw zuurverdiende euro’s waard is!

Inspiratiebronnen? Op de website van VoidWork wordt onder andere verwezen naar bovennatuurlijke literatuur uit de vroege 20ste eeuw, meer recente horror cinema, angst, dood, verlatenheid … Daarover krijgen we vermoedelijk meer uitleg in een binnenkort verschijnend interview.

Label? Rage in Eden Records.

VoidWork zuigt je mee in een sfeervolle bijna-leegte waar het in deze drukke tijden goed vertoeven is, neemt je mee op een bevreemdende reis doorheen een neoklassiek (dark wave) landschap, brengt je naar desolate plekken waar geesten aan je verschijnen, glimlachend lijkt het wel. Een mooie soundtrack, maar passend bij welk verhaal?

“Kaos”

Vrijdagavondavond 11 augustus 2011, 22:44 uur. In de CD-speler “Kaos”, van VoidWork. Track 8 ... “The Stranger”... 3 minuten en 39 seconden angstige verlatenheid, schone smart, sobere schoonheid. Vrolijk word ik er niet van maar toch bekruipt me een vaag tevreden gevoel. Piano, Keltische harp, cello en even later de begeesterde stem van zanger Xavier (“Nothing”) verwarmen mijn hart en laten me nog maar eens beseffen waarom ik zo van muziek hou. 'U doet nogal emotioneel man …' Waarom ook niet? Dit is een beklijvend album van een ongetwijfeld bijzonder mens. Dan laat ik mij graag eens gaan.

 

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


 

Next reviews
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape
QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME • A Time For A Timing
PHILLIP NOYCE • Dead Calm
THE PRESENT MOMENT • Loyal To A Fault
WILLIAM FAULKNER • The Sound and the Fury | Het geluid en de drift
TAIFUN • Trondheim
JOSH OTTUM • Watch TV
MARTIN SCORSESE • Shutter Island
EXIT TO EDEN • From The Other Side
PAPA TOPO • La Chica Vampira

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static