tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : VOIDWORK - Basement / Kaos Limited Edition

VOIDWORK

Basement / Kaos Limited Edition

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark WaveDroneNeoclassical

[89/100]   

Rage In Eden
24/08/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

To whom it may concern …

“Basement”

Facts and figures: “Basement” is the fourth album of VoidWork from Belgium. Founder and frontman Xavier gets vocal support from Ann-Mari Thim (Arcana, Seventh Harmonic …), Melissa Ferlaak, Zuberoa Aznãrez and Sven Houfflijn.

The limited edition of “Basement” comes in a wooden box and contains an extra CD, “Kaos”. This CD alone is worth your hard-earned Euro’s! VoidWork’s music is inspired by supernatural literature from the early 20th century, more recent horror cinema, fear, death … I hope to elaborate on this matter in a future interview …

Released by Rage in Eden (Poland) and now for sale …

VoidWork takes you on a haunting, spiritual journey through a neoclassical (dark wave) landscape, takes you to desolate places were spirits reveal themselves to you, laughing gently … it seems. VoidWork sucks you into an atmospheric almost-emptiness. A good place to be in these busy and restless times!

 “Kaos”

Friday evening august 11, 2011, 22:44 PM. In my CD-player the VoidWork album “Kaos”. Track 8 … “The Stranger” … 3 minutes and 39 seconds of pure beauty, beautiful grief, strange sadness … A warm feeling comes over me as I experience the last few songs on the album. “Nothing” makes me realize once more why I love Music this much. “Kaos” is a captivating album of an undoubtedly talented musician!

X. marks the spot, AGAIN!

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


NL

To whom it may concern ...

“Basement”

De feiten: “Basement” is de vierde CD van het Belgische VoidWork. De drijvende kracht achter dit project is ene Xavier, die voor vocale ondersteuning opnieuw kan rekenen op Ann-Mari Thim, ook bekend van Arcana en Seventh Harmonic, en op Melissa Ferlaak, Zuberoa Aznãrez en Sven Houfflijn.

De Limited Edition, uit op 120 exemplaren en verpakt in een sober houten doosje, bevat de extra CD “Kaos” die op zich reeds uw zuurverdiende euro’s waard is!

Inspiratiebronnen? Op de website van VoidWork wordt onder andere verwezen naar bovennatuurlijke literatuur uit de vroege 20ste eeuw, meer recente horror cinema, angst, dood, verlatenheid … Daarover krijgen we vermoedelijk meer uitleg in een binnenkort verschijnend interview.

Label? Rage in Eden Records.

VoidWork zuigt je mee in een sfeervolle bijna-leegte waar het in deze drukke tijden goed vertoeven is, neemt je mee op een bevreemdende reis doorheen een neoklassiek (dark wave) landschap, brengt je naar desolate plekken waar geesten aan je verschijnen, glimlachend lijkt het wel. Een mooie soundtrack, maar passend bij welk verhaal?

“Kaos”

Vrijdagavondavond 11 augustus 2011, 22:44 uur. In de CD-speler “Kaos”, van VoidWork. Track 8 ... “The Stranger”... 3 minuten en 39 seconden angstige verlatenheid, schone smart, sobere schoonheid. Vrolijk word ik er niet van maar toch bekruipt me een vaag tevreden gevoel. Piano, Keltische harp, cello en even later de begeesterde stem van zanger Xavier (“Nothing”) verwarmen mijn hart en laten me nog maar eens beseffen waarom ik zo van muziek hou. 'U doet nogal emotioneel man …' Waarom ook niet? Dit is een beklijvend album van een ongetwijfeld bijzonder mens. Dan laat ik mij graag eens gaan.

 

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


 

Next reviews
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape
QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME • A Time For A Timing
PHILLIP NOYCE • Dead Calm
THE PRESENT MOMENT • Loyal To A Fault
WILLIAM FAULKNER • The Sound and the Fury | Het geluid en de drift
TAIFUN • Trondheim
JOSH OTTUM • Watch TV
MARTIN SCORSESE • Shutter Island
EXIT TO EDEN • From The Other Side
PAPA TOPO • La Chica Vampira

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto

Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses