tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : VOIDWORK - Basement / Kaos Limited Edition

VOIDWORK

Basement / Kaos Limited Edition

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark WaveDroneNeoclassical

[89/100]   

Rage In Eden
24/08/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

To whom it may concern …

“Basement”

Facts and figures: “Basement” is the fourth album of VoidWork from Belgium. Founder and frontman Xavier gets vocal support from Ann-Mari Thim (Arcana, Seventh Harmonic …), Melissa Ferlaak, Zuberoa Aznãrez and Sven Houfflijn.

The limited edition of “Basement” comes in a wooden box and contains an extra CD, “Kaos”. This CD alone is worth your hard-earned Euro’s! VoidWork’s music is inspired by supernatural literature from the early 20th century, more recent horror cinema, fear, death … I hope to elaborate on this matter in a future interview …

Released by Rage in Eden (Poland) and now for sale …

VoidWork takes you on a haunting, spiritual journey through a neoclassical (dark wave) landscape, takes you to desolate places were spirits reveal themselves to you, laughing gently … it seems. VoidWork sucks you into an atmospheric almost-emptiness. A good place to be in these busy and restless times!

 “Kaos”

Friday evening august 11, 2011, 22:44 PM. In my CD-player the VoidWork album “Kaos”. Track 8 … “The Stranger” … 3 minutes and 39 seconds of pure beauty, beautiful grief, strange sadness … A warm feeling comes over me as I experience the last few songs on the album. “Nothing” makes me realize once more why I love Music this much. “Kaos” is a captivating album of an undoubtedly talented musician!

X. marks the spot, AGAIN!

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


NL

To whom it may concern ...

“Basement”

De feiten: “Basement” is de vierde CD van het Belgische VoidWork. De drijvende kracht achter dit project is ene Xavier, die voor vocale ondersteuning opnieuw kan rekenen op Ann-Mari Thim, ook bekend van Arcana en Seventh Harmonic, en op Melissa Ferlaak, Zuberoa Aznãrez en Sven Houfflijn.

De Limited Edition, uit op 120 exemplaren en verpakt in een sober houten doosje, bevat de extra CD “Kaos” die op zich reeds uw zuurverdiende euro’s waard is!

Inspiratiebronnen? Op de website van VoidWork wordt onder andere verwezen naar bovennatuurlijke literatuur uit de vroege 20ste eeuw, meer recente horror cinema, angst, dood, verlatenheid … Daarover krijgen we vermoedelijk meer uitleg in een binnenkort verschijnend interview.

Label? Rage in Eden Records.

VoidWork zuigt je mee in een sfeervolle bijna-leegte waar het in deze drukke tijden goed vertoeven is, neemt je mee op een bevreemdende reis doorheen een neoklassiek (dark wave) landschap, brengt je naar desolate plekken waar geesten aan je verschijnen, glimlachend lijkt het wel. Een mooie soundtrack, maar passend bij welk verhaal?

“Kaos”

Vrijdagavondavond 11 augustus 2011, 22:44 uur. In de CD-speler “Kaos”, van VoidWork. Track 8 ... “The Stranger”... 3 minuten en 39 seconden angstige verlatenheid, schone smart, sobere schoonheid. Vrolijk word ik er niet van maar toch bekruipt me een vaag tevreden gevoel. Piano, Keltische harp, cello en even later de begeesterde stem van zanger Xavier (“Nothing”) verwarmen mijn hart en laten me nog maar eens beseffen waarom ik zo van muziek hou. 'U doet nogal emotioneel man …' Waarom ook niet? Dit is een beklijvend album van een ongetwijfeld bijzonder mens. Dan laat ik mij graag eens gaan.

 

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


 

Next reviews
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape
QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME • A Time For A Timing
PHILLIP NOYCE • Dead Calm
THE PRESENT MOMENT • Loyal To A Fault
WILLIAM FAULKNER • The Sound and the Fury | Het geluid en de drift
TAIFUN • Trondheim
JOSH OTTUM • Watch TV
MARTIN SCORSESE • Shutter Island
EXIT TO EDEN • From The Other Side
PAPA TOPO • La Chica Vampira

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)