tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : VOIDWORK - Basement / Kaos Limited Edition

VOIDWORK

Basement / Kaos Limited Edition

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark WaveDroneNeoclassical

[89/100]   

Rage In Eden
24/08/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

To whom it may concern …

“Basement”

Facts and figures: “Basement” is the fourth album of VoidWork from Belgium. Founder and frontman Xavier gets vocal support from Ann-Mari Thim (Arcana, Seventh Harmonic …), Melissa Ferlaak, Zuberoa Aznãrez and Sven Houfflijn.

The limited edition of “Basement” comes in a wooden box and contains an extra CD, “Kaos”. This CD alone is worth your hard-earned Euro’s! VoidWork’s music is inspired by supernatural literature from the early 20th century, more recent horror cinema, fear, death … I hope to elaborate on this matter in a future interview …

Released by Rage in Eden (Poland) and now for sale …

VoidWork takes you on a haunting, spiritual journey through a neoclassical (dark wave) landscape, takes you to desolate places were spirits reveal themselves to you, laughing gently … it seems. VoidWork sucks you into an atmospheric almost-emptiness. A good place to be in these busy and restless times!

 “Kaos”

Friday evening august 11, 2011, 22:44 PM. In my CD-player the VoidWork album “Kaos”. Track 8 … “The Stranger” … 3 minutes and 39 seconds of pure beauty, beautiful grief, strange sadness … A warm feeling comes over me as I experience the last few songs on the album. “Nothing” makes me realize once more why I love Music this much. “Kaos” is a captivating album of an undoubtedly talented musician!

X. marks the spot, AGAIN!

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


NL

To whom it may concern ...

“Basement”

De feiten: “Basement” is de vierde CD van het Belgische VoidWork. De drijvende kracht achter dit project is ene Xavier, die voor vocale ondersteuning opnieuw kan rekenen op Ann-Mari Thim, ook bekend van Arcana en Seventh Harmonic, en op Melissa Ferlaak, Zuberoa Aznãrez en Sven Houfflijn.

De Limited Edition, uit op 120 exemplaren en verpakt in een sober houten doosje, bevat de extra CD “Kaos” die op zich reeds uw zuurverdiende euro’s waard is!

Inspiratiebronnen? Op de website van VoidWork wordt onder andere verwezen naar bovennatuurlijke literatuur uit de vroege 20ste eeuw, meer recente horror cinema, angst, dood, verlatenheid … Daarover krijgen we vermoedelijk meer uitleg in een binnenkort verschijnend interview.

Label? Rage in Eden Records.

VoidWork zuigt je mee in een sfeervolle bijna-leegte waar het in deze drukke tijden goed vertoeven is, neemt je mee op een bevreemdende reis doorheen een neoklassiek (dark wave) landschap, brengt je naar desolate plekken waar geesten aan je verschijnen, glimlachend lijkt het wel. Een mooie soundtrack, maar passend bij welk verhaal?

“Kaos”

Vrijdagavondavond 11 augustus 2011, 22:44 uur. In de CD-speler “Kaos”, van VoidWork. Track 8 ... “The Stranger”... 3 minuten en 39 seconden angstige verlatenheid, schone smart, sobere schoonheid. Vrolijk word ik er niet van maar toch bekruipt me een vaag tevreden gevoel. Piano, Keltische harp, cello en even later de begeesterde stem van zanger Xavier (“Nothing”) verwarmen mijn hart en laten me nog maar eens beseffen waarom ik zo van muziek hou. 'U doet nogal emotioneel man …' Waarom ook niet? Dit is een beklijvend album van een ongetwijfeld bijzonder mens. Dan laat ik mij graag eens gaan.

 

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


 

Next reviews
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape
QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME • A Time For A Timing
PHILLIP NOYCE • Dead Calm
THE PRESENT MOMENT • Loyal To A Fault
WILLIAM FAULKNER • The Sound and the Fury | Het geluid en de drift
TAIFUN • Trondheim
JOSH OTTUM • Watch TV
MARTIN SCORSESE • Shutter Island
EXIT TO EDEN • From The Other Side
PAPA TOPO • La Chica Vampira

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue