tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/09/2014 : MARTIN CARR - The Breaks

MARTIN CARR

The Breaks

MusicCD
Indie

[80/100]   

Tapete Records
30/09/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Written during the course of fatherhood in recent years, Martin Carr's second solo album proper builds on where his debut left off, coats it all in honeyed songs about skyways, saints and mountains and makes staring out of the window at life going by an art-form.

Suffice to say that Carr has got it, 'it' being familiar and reliable songwriting chops straight out of Brit-pop and surf-rock, a little less Boo Radleys than you might imagine but very much part of the ever-growing Tapete roster that currently includes Bill Pritchard and Lloyd Cole. Mildly psychedelic, often hum-along, The Breaks has, by turns, a swelling and confident positivity and a nonchalant shrug about its lyrics - one minute there are a string of sha-la-la-las going on during Senseless Apprentice, the next we've got the 'yeah whatever' resignation of the title-track with "...if the breaks don't come, we'll just get by without them...". You can almost hear Carr getting older with every line, but in a contented way (clearly, the hedonism of yore has been replaced with family values).

There are many highlights - current single The Santa Fe Skyway is an enjoyable indie-pop romp, St Peter In Chains becomes the clenched chorus-filled fist of the album and the sublime I Don't Think I'll Make It is like a melodic tickle under the chin, a melodrama portraying unrequited desire that recalls Neil Hannon or Richard Hawley in tone. Hits, all.

Next single Mainstream and the epic Mountains are also rather moreish and I'll wager that most purchasers of this album will revisit at least seven of these finely tailored tunes on a regular basis. This Carr has plenty of mileage left in him.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
30/09/2014


Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat