tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/09/2014 : ATARAXIA - Wind at Mount Elo

ATARAXIA

Wind at Mount Elo

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalNeoclassical

[92/100]   

Ark Records
27/09/2014, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Since more than twenty years, the Italian band Ataraxia brings us their atypical version of neoclassical music. Throughout their work their style varies, without compromising the neoclassical concept. This happens once again on their latest album Wind at Mount Elo in where the electric guitar provides an extra atmosphere.

This guitar sound is perfectly used and creates (in addition to the great percussion, spacey synths and of course the fantastic voice of Francesca) a balanced album. As often, I listened to this album with headphones on, sprawled on the couch. The first few times I listened to this CD my mind drifted away, driven by their (often) quiet and relaxing compositions. Only after a few listens, I could (consciously) focus myself on this review.

Partly because of the sound of the electric guitar the album has a more darkwave atmosphere, though the voice of Francesca remains of course very unique. Thus Absorbed could have been a Clan Of Xymox-song. The same can be said about Lost Cosmonaut , but this time added with freaky synths and a dreamy, ambient voice.

However, there are also more "classic" Ataraxia-compositions on this new album, such as the beautiful, slow progressing Espirito del Agua on which the symbiosis of these musicians approaches perfection for me.

And so Ataraxia renewed itself again an umpteenth time and once again succeeded to deliver a delicious album. Enter their realm and muse along...

Ward DE PRINS
27/09/2014


NL

Het Italiaanse gezelschap Ataraxia brengt al meer dan twintig jaar hun eigenzinnige versie van neoklassieke muziek. Doorheen hun oeuvre is hun stijl wel gevarieerd, zonder weliswaar afbreuk te doen aan het neoklassieke concept. Zo ook op hun laatste album Wind at Mount Elo waarbij de elektrische gitaar voor extra sfeer zorgt. Deze wordt meteen perfect ingezet. De heerlijke percussie, zweverige synths en uiteraard de fantastische stem van Francesca zorgt voor een uitgebalanceerd album.

Zoals vaak beluisterde ik dit album met een koptelefoon, languit liggend in de zetel. Bij de eerste luisterbeurten mijmerde ik steeds weg, gedreven door hun (vaak) rustige en relaxerende composities. Het was dan ook pas na enkele draaibeurten dat ik me (bewust) kon focussen op deze review.

Mede door het geluid van de elektrische gitaar baadt het album meer in een darkwave sfeertje, al blijft het stemgeluid van Francesca zeer apart. Zo zou Absorbed best een Clan Of Xymox-song kunnen zijn. Ook Lost Cosmonaut past daarbij, doch ditmaal aangevuld met freaky synths en een zweverige, ambient-achtige stem.

Er staan echter ook meer “klassieke” Ataraxia-composities op dit album zoals het schitterende, rustig voortkabbelende Espirito del Agua waarop de symbiose van deze muzikanten voor mij de perfectie benadert.

En zo heeft Ataraxia zichzelf weer voor de zoveelste keer vernieuwd en zijn deze muzikanten er wederom in geslaagd om een heerlijk album af te leveren. Treedt binnen in hun wereld en mijmer mee…

Ward DE PRINS
27/09/2014


 

Next reviews
JOHN JULIUS NORWICH • The Popes: A History/De Pausen: Een Geschiedenis
NEW MODEL ARMY • Between Wine and Blood
ANTOINE FUQUA • The Equalizer
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Dancehall
OSO LEONE • Mokragora
MICHAEL R. ROSKAM • CINEMA: The Drop
LISA CHOLODENKO • The Kids Are All Right
JUNGLE • Jungle
JONATHAN TEPLITZKY • The Railway Man
APHEX TWIN • Syro

 

Other reviews from ATARAXIA
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
ATARAXIA • Ena

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + NEOCLASSICAL
SALINE GRACE • Fog mountain

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
21
04
JO QUAIL
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang