tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/09/2014 : ATARAXIA - Wind at Mount Elo

ATARAXIA

Wind at Mount Elo

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalNeoclassical

[92/100]   

Ark Records
27/09/2014, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Since more than twenty years, the Italian band Ataraxia brings us their atypical version of neoclassical music. Throughout their work their style varies, without compromising the neoclassical concept. This happens once again on their latest album Wind at Mount Elo in where the electric guitar provides an extra atmosphere.

This guitar sound is perfectly used and creates (in addition to the great percussion, spacey synths and of course the fantastic voice of Francesca) a balanced album. As often, I listened to this album with headphones on, sprawled on the couch. The first few times I listened to this CD my mind drifted away, driven by their (often) quiet and relaxing compositions. Only after a few listens, I could (consciously) focus myself on this review.

Partly because of the sound of the electric guitar the album has a more darkwave atmosphere, though the voice of Francesca remains of course very unique. Thus Absorbed could have been a Clan Of Xymox-song. The same can be said about Lost Cosmonaut , but this time added with freaky synths and a dreamy, ambient voice.

However, there are also more "classic" Ataraxia-compositions on this new album, such as the beautiful, slow progressing Espirito del Agua on which the symbiosis of these musicians approaches perfection for me.

And so Ataraxia renewed itself again an umpteenth time and once again succeeded to deliver a delicious album. Enter their realm and muse along...

Ward DE PRINS
27/09/2014


NL

Het Italiaanse gezelschap Ataraxia brengt al meer dan twintig jaar hun eigenzinnige versie van neoklassieke muziek. Doorheen hun oeuvre is hun stijl wel gevarieerd, zonder weliswaar afbreuk te doen aan het neoklassieke concept. Zo ook op hun laatste album Wind at Mount Elo waarbij de elektrische gitaar voor extra sfeer zorgt. Deze wordt meteen perfect ingezet. De heerlijke percussie, zweverige synths en uiteraard de fantastische stem van Francesca zorgt voor een uitgebalanceerd album.

Zoals vaak beluisterde ik dit album met een koptelefoon, languit liggend in de zetel. Bij de eerste luisterbeurten mijmerde ik steeds weg, gedreven door hun (vaak) rustige en relaxerende composities. Het was dan ook pas na enkele draaibeurten dat ik me (bewust) kon focussen op deze review.

Mede door het geluid van de elektrische gitaar baadt het album meer in een darkwave sfeertje, al blijft het stemgeluid van Francesca zeer apart. Zo zou Absorbed best een Clan Of Xymox-song kunnen zijn. Ook Lost Cosmonaut past daarbij, doch ditmaal aangevuld met freaky synths en een zweverige, ambient-achtige stem.

Er staan echter ook meer “klassieke” Ataraxia-composities op dit album zoals het schitterende, rustig voortkabbelende Espirito del Agua waarop de symbiose van deze muzikanten voor mij de perfectie benadert.

En zo heeft Ataraxia zichzelf weer voor de zoveelste keer vernieuwd en zijn deze muzikanten er wederom in geslaagd om een heerlijk album af te leveren. Treedt binnen in hun wereld en mijmer mee…

Ward DE PRINS
27/09/2014


 

Next reviews
JOHN JULIUS NORWICH • The Popes: A History/De Pausen: Een Geschiedenis
NEW MODEL ARMY • Between Wine and Blood
ANTOINE FUQUA • The Equalizer
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Dancehall
OSO LEONE • Mokragora
MICHAEL R. ROSKAM • CINEMA: The Drop
LISA CHOLODENKO • The Kids Are All Right
JUNGLE • Jungle
JONATHAN TEPLITZKY • The Railway Man
APHEX TWIN • Syro

 

Other reviews from ATARAXIA
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
ATARAXIA • Ena

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + NEOCLASSICAL
SALINE GRACE • Fog mountain

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes