tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

18/08/2015 : DEAD - TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)

DEAD

TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)

MusicCassette
Cold WaveDark WaveElectro WaveShoegaze

[85/100]   

KDBRECORDS
18/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

DEAD is a French trio from Rennes and uses guitar, vocals, keys and drumcomputer. They make atmospheric music that sometimes goes a little in the direction of shoegaze and noise. But it all remains pretty listenable.

It’s the tension between electro and landscapes of guitar sounds. So they build their own universum that sounds dark, cold and industrial.Asn a matter of a fact we get two EP’s here (‘Transmissions’ from 2013 and ‘Verse’ from 2014), available on tape and download. On the last EP we hear more electro than on the first. My favourite tracks are ‘No Place For Us’ and ‘My Friend’. I like the mix between electro and guitars, with the sinister and cold sounding vocals. It gives the songs some cold/dark wave feel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/08/2015


NL

DEAD is een Frans trio uit Rennes dat gebruik maakt van gitaar, zang, keyboard en drumcomputer. Ze maken sfeerrijke muziek die bij momenten wat naar shoegaze en noise neigt, maar altijd vrij beluisterbaar blijft op het spanningsveld tussen elektro- en gitaarlandschappen. Zo bouwen ze een eigen universum op dat donker, koud en industrieel klinkt.

In feite gaat het hier om 2 EP’s. Verkrijgbaar op cassette en download. Eentje uit 2013 en eentje uit 2014, die nu samenopnieuw verkrijgbaar zijn. Op de laatste EP (Verse) krijgt de elektro de bovenhand. Mijn favorieten zijn ‘No Place For Us’ en ‘My Friend’. De band brengt een mooie mix tussen elektro en gitaar en samen met de donkere onheilspellende ‘zang’ krijgen we hier mooie stukjes muziek die neigen naar cold/dark wave en aanverwanten.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 : DEAD - TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP) 18/08/2015 : DEAD - TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)

 

Next reviews
FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS • Decency
DAVID CRONENBERG • Maps To The Stars
CESAR CANALI (VOLKOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
KAMMARHEIT • The Nest
GLENN FICARA & JOHN REQUA • Focus
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Front Line Presents Reggae Discomixes
STEFAN BENS (STIN SCATZOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TERENCE YOUNG • Dr. No
STILES WHITE • Ouija

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
SPC ECO • Fifteen
HATCHLING • Alpha
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You