tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

18/08/2015 : DEAD - TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)

DEAD

TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)

MusicCassette
Cold WaveDark WaveElectro WaveShoegaze

[85/100]   

KDBRECORDS
18/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

DEAD is a French trio from Rennes and uses guitar, vocals, keys and drumcomputer. They make atmospheric music that sometimes goes a little in the direction of shoegaze and noise. But it all remains pretty listenable.

It’s the tension between electro and landscapes of guitar sounds. So they build their own universum that sounds dark, cold and industrial.Asn a matter of a fact we get two EP’s here (‘Transmissions’ from 2013 and ‘Verse’ from 2014), available on tape and download. On the last EP we hear more electro than on the first. My favourite tracks are ‘No Place For Us’ and ‘My Friend’. I like the mix between electro and guitars, with the sinister and cold sounding vocals. It gives the songs some cold/dark wave feel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/08/2015


NL

DEAD is een Frans trio uit Rennes dat gebruik maakt van gitaar, zang, keyboard en drumcomputer. Ze maken sfeerrijke muziek die bij momenten wat naar shoegaze en noise neigt, maar altijd vrij beluisterbaar blijft op het spanningsveld tussen elektro- en gitaarlandschappen. Zo bouwen ze een eigen universum op dat donker, koud en industrieel klinkt.

In feite gaat het hier om 2 EP’s. Verkrijgbaar op cassette en download. Eentje uit 2013 en eentje uit 2014, die nu samenopnieuw verkrijgbaar zijn. Op de laatste EP (Verse) krijgt de elektro de bovenhand. Mijn favorieten zijn ‘No Place For Us’ en ‘My Friend’. De band brengt een mooie mix tussen elektro en gitaar en samen met de donkere onheilspellende ‘zang’ krijgen we hier mooie stukjes muziek die neigen naar cold/dark wave en aanverwanten.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 : DEAD - TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP) 18/08/2015 : DEAD - TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)

 

Next reviews
FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS • Decency
DAVID CRONENBERG • Maps To The Stars
CESAR CANALI (VOLKOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
KAMMARHEIT • The Nest
GLENN FICARA & JOHN REQUA • Focus
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Front Line Presents Reggae Discomixes
STEFAN BENS (STIN SCATZOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TERENCE YOUNG • Dr. No
STILES WHITE • Ouija

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom