tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

18/08/2015 : DEAD - TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)

DEAD

TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)

MusicCassette
Cold WaveDark WaveElectro WaveShoegaze

[85/100]   

KDBRECORDS
18/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

DEAD is a French trio from Rennes and uses guitar, vocals, keys and drumcomputer. They make atmospheric music that sometimes goes a little in the direction of shoegaze and noise. But it all remains pretty listenable.

It’s the tension between electro and landscapes of guitar sounds. So they build their own universum that sounds dark, cold and industrial.Asn a matter of a fact we get two EP’s here (‘Transmissions’ from 2013 and ‘Verse’ from 2014), available on tape and download. On the last EP we hear more electro than on the first. My favourite tracks are ‘No Place For Us’ and ‘My Friend’. I like the mix between electro and guitars, with the sinister and cold sounding vocals. It gives the songs some cold/dark wave feel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/08/2015


NL

DEAD is een Frans trio uit Rennes dat gebruik maakt van gitaar, zang, keyboard en drumcomputer. Ze maken sfeerrijke muziek die bij momenten wat naar shoegaze en noise neigt, maar altijd vrij beluisterbaar blijft op het spanningsveld tussen elektro- en gitaarlandschappen. Zo bouwen ze een eigen universum op dat donker, koud en industrieel klinkt.

In feite gaat het hier om 2 EP’s. Verkrijgbaar op cassette en download. Eentje uit 2013 en eentje uit 2014, die nu samenopnieuw verkrijgbaar zijn. Op de laatste EP (Verse) krijgt de elektro de bovenhand. Mijn favorieten zijn ‘No Place For Us’ en ‘My Friend’. De band brengt een mooie mix tussen elektro en gitaar en samen met de donkere onheilspellende ‘zang’ krijgen we hier mooie stukjes muziek die neigen naar cold/dark wave en aanverwanten.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 : DEAD - TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP) 18/08/2015 : DEAD - TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)

 

Next reviews
FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS • Decency
DAVID CRONENBERG • Maps To The Stars
CESAR CANALI (VOLKOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
KAMMARHEIT • The Nest
GLENN FICARA & JOHN REQUA • Focus
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Front Line Presents Reggae Discomixes
STEFAN BENS (STIN SCATZOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TERENCE YOUNG • Dr. No
STILES WHITE • Ouija

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
SPC ECO • Fifteen

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent