tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/08/2015 : FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS - Decency

FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS

Decency

MusicCD
Indie RockPopRock

[75/100]   

Pop Sex Ltd.
18/08/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Frankie & The Heartstrings, a band from Sunderland in North East England,ddebuted in 2011 and meanwhile released its third album. Decency is the logical continuation of the album The Days Run Away, which means that the political and social ideas of the band members are again the main source of inspiration. In England Frankie & The Heartstrings shared the stage with The Vaccines, Franz Ferdinand and James Ray, in continental Europe, the band is still poorly known. Time to do something about it.

After a brief intro of barely a minute (Peterborough Dogs), with acoustic guitars and voices, we hear the title track Decency, a smooth rock 'n roll song with violent vocals and quite swinging guitars. Think Yourself Lucky is of the same sort, narrative and pulsating, modern old school with a 50’s choir, while the good sounding choir in Save It for Tonight takes us back to the beautiful harmonies of the Beach Boys. Most beautiful track so far.

Money floats on a beautiful bass and big band-like copper, and unfolds into a horny rock ballad, with whining guitars. In Hate Me Like You Used To the pace is much slower. A distorted sound can be heard through the melodious guitar playing and then a gorgeous melody follows, towing and seductive, against a wall of buzzing strings: power-rock for the biggest stages in the world. Our favorite. Berlin Calls is a pop song from the great English tradition: wonderful harmonies, pounding guitars, beautiful guitar playing and an atmosphere as if anything is possible. Balconette is again old school rock 'n roll, simple and straightforward, and Someday Anna rocks as if the 50s never ended. But rock 'n roll is timeless, that we already knew.

Just Not in Love and Not for Pleasure add little to what we have already heard, but the fragile Knife in My Back draws the attention with simple guitar playing and fragile vocals, bound together into a stunning pop song with a touch of piano, gentle noise and gurgling synths. Another favorite. Easy Life closes the album with a generous portion of rock and frantic vocals, kind of a calling card for Frankie & The Heartstrings, but catchy with the old-fashioned choir in the middle. We admit it: difficult to stay put!

Maybe a little too much tracks to make it a complete success, but if you forget the reps, then there is much going on on this album (produced by MJ of Hookworms), that takes you to the good old days of rock ’n roll and contains attractive contemporary compositions as well. 

Tracklisting:
01. Peterborough Dogs
02. Decency
03. Think Yourself Lucky
04. Save It For Tonight
05. Money
06. Hate Me Like You Used To
07. Berlin Calls
08. Balconette
09. Someday Anna
10. Just Not In Love
11. Not For Pleasure
12. Knife In My Back
13. Easy Life

http://popsexltd.com/
http://youtu.be/4_67MaEWSgc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ys5yXeFL0uY

William LIÉNARD
18/08/2015


NL

Frankie & The Heartstrings is een gezelschap uit Sunderland, in het noordoosten van Engeland, dat z’n debuut afleverde in 2011 en ondertussen aan z’n derde album toe is. Decency is een logisch vervolg op het eerdere album The Days Run Away, wat betekent dat het politieke en sociale gedachtengoed van de bandleden opnieuw de belangrijkste inspiratiebron is. In Engeland deelden Frankie & The Heartstrings al het podium met o.a. The Vaccines, Franz Ferdinand en James Ray, bij ons zijn ze nog zo goed als onbekend, tijd dus om daar wat aan toe doen.

Na een kort intro van nauwelijks een minuut (Peterborough Dogs) met akoestische gitaar en stemmen, krijgen we meteen de titeltrack Decency te horen, soepele rock’n roll met heftige groepsvocalen en flink swingende gitaren. Think Yourself Lucky is van dezelfde snit, verhalend en pulserend, old school in een eigentijds jasje, met een 50s koortje in het refrein, terwijl het achtergrondkoortje in Save It for Tonight ons terugvoert naar de prachtige harmonieën van de Beach Boys. Mooiste track tot nog toe.

Money dobbert op een prachtig basgeluid en bigbandachtig koper, en ontvouwt zich tot een hitsige rockballade, met jengelende gitaren. In Hate Me Like You Used To ligt het tempo een stuk lager, er klinkt een distored geluid door het welluidende gitaarspel en dan volgt een bloedmooie melodie, slepend en verleidelijk, tegen een muur van zoemende gitaren: powerrock voor de allergrootste podia ter wereld. Onze favoriet. In Berlin Calls wordt weer een tandje bijgestoken voor een popsong uit de grote Engelse traditie: wonderlijke vocalen, beukende gitaren, prachtige gitaarsolo en een sfeer alsof alles mogelijk is. Balconette is opnieuw old school-rock’n roll, eenvoudig en rechttoe rechtaan, net zoals Someday Anna, dat rockt alsof de jaren 50 nooit zijn geëindigd. Maar dat rock’n roll van alle tijden is, dat wisten we ondertussen wel.

Just Not in Love en Not for Pleasure zijn een beetje een herhaling van wat we al gehoord hebben, maar het fragiele Knife in My Back trekt opnieuw de aandacht, want eenvoudig gitaarspel en breekbare vocalen bouwen samen een bloedmooie popsong met een vleugje piano, voorzichtige noise en zacht ruisende synths. Opnieuw een favoriet. Easy Life sluit het album af met een flinke portie rock en hectische vocalen, een beetje het visitekaartje van Frankie & The Heartstrings, maar wel aanstekelijk met het ouderwetse koortje halfweg. We geven het graag toe: moeilijk om stil bij te blijven!

Misschien net iets te veel tracks om helemaal goed te zijn waardoor er af en toe sprake is van herhaling, maar als je dat even vergeet, valt er toch heel wat te beleven op dit door MJ (Hookworms) geproduceerde album, dat je meevoert naar de goede oude tijd van de rock ’n roll, en dat tevens aantrekkelijk eigentijdse composities bevat.

William LIÉNARD
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 : FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS - Decency 18/08/2015 : FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS - Decency

 

Next reviews
DAVID CRONENBERG • Maps To The Stars
CESAR CANALI (VOLKOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
KAMMARHEIT • The Nest
GLENN FICARA & JOHN REQUA • Focus
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Front Line Presents Reggae Discomixes
STEFAN BENS (STIN SCATZOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TERENCE YOUNG • Dr. No
STILES WHITE • Ouija
SLEAFORD MODS • Key Markets

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POP + ROCK
DAVID FONSECA • Seasons: falling

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: POP
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)