tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/08/2015 : FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS - Decency

FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS

Decency

MusicCD
Indie RockPopRock

[75/100]   

Pop Sex Ltd.
18/08/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Frankie & The Heartstrings, a band from Sunderland in North East England,ddebuted in 2011 and meanwhile released its third album. Decency is the logical continuation of the album The Days Run Away, which means that the political and social ideas of the band members are again the main source of inspiration. In England Frankie & The Heartstrings shared the stage with The Vaccines, Franz Ferdinand and James Ray, in continental Europe, the band is still poorly known. Time to do something about it.

After a brief intro of barely a minute (Peterborough Dogs), with acoustic guitars and voices, we hear the title track Decency, a smooth rock 'n roll song with violent vocals and quite swinging guitars. Think Yourself Lucky is of the same sort, narrative and pulsating, modern old school with a 50’s choir, while the good sounding choir in Save It for Tonight takes us back to the beautiful harmonies of the Beach Boys. Most beautiful track so far.

Money floats on a beautiful bass and big band-like copper, and unfolds into a horny rock ballad, with whining guitars. In Hate Me Like You Used To the pace is much slower. A distorted sound can be heard through the melodious guitar playing and then a gorgeous melody follows, towing and seductive, against a wall of buzzing strings: power-rock for the biggest stages in the world. Our favorite. Berlin Calls is a pop song from the great English tradition: wonderful harmonies, pounding guitars, beautiful guitar playing and an atmosphere as if anything is possible. Balconette is again old school rock 'n roll, simple and straightforward, and Someday Anna rocks as if the 50s never ended. But rock 'n roll is timeless, that we already knew.

Just Not in Love and Not for Pleasure add little to what we have already heard, but the fragile Knife in My Back draws the attention with simple guitar playing and fragile vocals, bound together into a stunning pop song with a touch of piano, gentle noise and gurgling synths. Another favorite. Easy Life closes the album with a generous portion of rock and frantic vocals, kind of a calling card for Frankie & The Heartstrings, but catchy with the old-fashioned choir in the middle. We admit it: difficult to stay put!

Maybe a little too much tracks to make it a complete success, but if you forget the reps, then there is much going on on this album (produced by MJ of Hookworms), that takes you to the good old days of rock ’n roll and contains attractive contemporary compositions as well. 

Tracklisting:
01. Peterborough Dogs
02. Decency
03. Think Yourself Lucky
04. Save It For Tonight
05. Money
06. Hate Me Like You Used To
07. Berlin Calls
08. Balconette
09. Someday Anna
10. Just Not In Love
11. Not For Pleasure
12. Knife In My Back
13. Easy Life

http://popsexltd.com/
http://youtu.be/4_67MaEWSgc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ys5yXeFL0uY

William LIÉNARD
18/08/2015


NL

Frankie & The Heartstrings is een gezelschap uit Sunderland, in het noordoosten van Engeland, dat z’n debuut afleverde in 2011 en ondertussen aan z’n derde album toe is. Decency is een logisch vervolg op het eerdere album The Days Run Away, wat betekent dat het politieke en sociale gedachtengoed van de bandleden opnieuw de belangrijkste inspiratiebron is. In Engeland deelden Frankie & The Heartstrings al het podium met o.a. The Vaccines, Franz Ferdinand en James Ray, bij ons zijn ze nog zo goed als onbekend, tijd dus om daar wat aan toe doen.

Na een kort intro van nauwelijks een minuut (Peterborough Dogs) met akoestische gitaar en stemmen, krijgen we meteen de titeltrack Decency te horen, soepele rock’n roll met heftige groepsvocalen en flink swingende gitaren. Think Yourself Lucky is van dezelfde snit, verhalend en pulserend, old school in een eigentijds jasje, met een 50s koortje in het refrein, terwijl het achtergrondkoortje in Save It for Tonight ons terugvoert naar de prachtige harmonieën van de Beach Boys. Mooiste track tot nog toe.

Money dobbert op een prachtig basgeluid en bigbandachtig koper, en ontvouwt zich tot een hitsige rockballade, met jengelende gitaren. In Hate Me Like You Used To ligt het tempo een stuk lager, er klinkt een distored geluid door het welluidende gitaarspel en dan volgt een bloedmooie melodie, slepend en verleidelijk, tegen een muur van zoemende gitaren: powerrock voor de allergrootste podia ter wereld. Onze favoriet. In Berlin Calls wordt weer een tandje bijgestoken voor een popsong uit de grote Engelse traditie: wonderlijke vocalen, beukende gitaren, prachtige gitaarsolo en een sfeer alsof alles mogelijk is. Balconette is opnieuw old school-rock’n roll, eenvoudig en rechttoe rechtaan, net zoals Someday Anna, dat rockt alsof de jaren 50 nooit zijn geëindigd. Maar dat rock’n roll van alle tijden is, dat wisten we ondertussen wel.

Just Not in Love en Not for Pleasure zijn een beetje een herhaling van wat we al gehoord hebben, maar het fragiele Knife in My Back trekt opnieuw de aandacht, want eenvoudig gitaarspel en breekbare vocalen bouwen samen een bloedmooie popsong met een vleugje piano, voorzichtige noise en zacht ruisende synths. Opnieuw een favoriet. Easy Life sluit het album af met een flinke portie rock en hectische vocalen, een beetje het visitekaartje van Frankie & The Heartstrings, maar wel aanstekelijk met het ouderwetse koortje halfweg. We geven het graag toe: moeilijk om stil bij te blijven!

Misschien net iets te veel tracks om helemaal goed te zijn waardoor er af en toe sprake is van herhaling, maar als je dat even vergeet, valt er toch heel wat te beleven op dit door MJ (Hookworms) geproduceerde album, dat je meevoert naar de goede oude tijd van de rock ’n roll, en dat tevens aantrekkelijk eigentijdse composities bevat.

William LIÉNARD
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 : FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS - Decency 18/08/2015 : FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS - Decency

 

Next reviews
DAVID CRONENBERG • Maps To The Stars
CESAR CANALI (VOLKOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
KAMMARHEIT • The Nest
GLENN FICARA & JOHN REQUA • Focus
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Front Line Presents Reggae Discomixes
STEFAN BENS (STIN SCATZOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TERENCE YOUNG • Dr. No
STILES WHITE • Ouija
SLEAFORD MODS • Key Markets

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POP + ROCK
DAVID FONSECA • Seasons: falling

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes