tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/03/2018 : SILENT RUNNERS - The Directory

SILENT RUNNERS

The Directory

MusicCD
Dark WavePost PunkSynth Wave

[94/100]   

Self-released
20/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The band Silent Runners are from the Netherlands, more specificly from Amsterdam. The five-piece ensemble delivers a spicy mix of dark synth (wave) and post-punk. A cocktail containing sharp bass riffs, dry but rhythmic drumming, minimalist guitars and fully exploited synths.

Their first EP was released in 2015 but now The Directory present us with their first full-fledged debut beaming you back to the sound of the 80s, without sounding like a lazy copy/past work.

That characteristic sound is immediately discernible with Dark Mountain. A hint of A-HA, a hint of Depeche Mode, a cheerful synth melody torn to shreds by pruning hard bass lines, while handy guitar work floats in between. The synths play the leading role in Wilderness, along with that great bass. Immediately everything sounds a lot deeper. Then back to the eighties? Well... why not... Make It Right does the trick. Followed by the 1:14 min, in my opinion superfluous, musical filler Drawing. Or is it? Fortunately, the next track The Knife revert again to the better work that characterises this full CD.

Again Forgotten is treated with a reverb-ed voice, an angular melody. It is more than appropriate to mention frontman Dolf Smolenaers vocals fit this style very well. And what about the guitar parts that seem as if early The Cure have been involved there? It's all in the game with these more than excellent Silent Runners and their next track Nobody Here.

Then patience is required to reach the end of the no less than seven minutes of excellent synth-wave track Caveman whereupon a carefully played and very thin guitar demands to be a part of this song. Following are Road Of Gold and Roadkill that both received a very slight but recognisable shoe-gaze treatment.

The eleventh, last and title track The Directory sounds like a more than worthy close to this album..

Silent Runners have delivered with The Directory a very good and solid album. Combining retro and more contemporary sounds, while synths and guitars alternate in taking a foreground position. Driven by clever bass lines and sounding lived through and mature. When I read the many positive live gig commentaries the band gets, I can’t wait to catch them performing soon! I think I might even be in the front row on this occasion.

And that might well be at Wave Gotik Treffen 2018 in Leipzig, Germany as the band recently announced they will play this year’s edition.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/03/2018


NL

Uit Nederland, meer bepaald Amsterdam, komt de band Silent Runners. Het vijfkoppige ensemble brengt een kruidige mix van duistere synth(wave) en postpunk. De cocktail bevat snedige bassriffs, ritmisch en kurkdroog drumwerk, minimalistisch gitaargeluid en synths die alle registers opentrekken. De band laat ook al weten dat ze in 2018 te bewonderen zijn op het Wave and Gotik Treffen.

In 2015 was hun eerste EP een feit, nu volgt met The Directory hun eerste volwaardige debuut. Anno 2018 teruggegooid worden naar de sound van de jaren ’80, zonder echter kopieerwerk te zijn.

En die karakteristieke sound is meteen te ontwaren bij Dark Mountain. Een vleugje A-HA, een zweem Depeche Mode, een vrolijke synthmelodie die door snoeiharde baslijnen aan flarden wordt gereten, terwijl een handige gitaar daar tussenin haar ding komt doen. De synths die in Wilderness de hoofdrol spelen, samen met die geweldige bass. Het klinkt meteen een stuk dieper. Dan maar even terug naar de eighties? Tja... waarom niet…Make It Right neemt doet dat. Gevolgd door het 1:14 min durende (naar mijn mening overbodige) muzikale niemendalletje Drawing. Of toch niet? The Knife is gelukkig weer het betere werk dat deze full CD kenmerkt.

Forgotten is opnieuw overgoten met een door de reverb gehaalde stem, een hoekig melodietje. Het is meer dan gepast om even te vermelden dat de stem van frontman Dolf Smolenaers gemaakt is voor deze stijl.

En wat te denken van een beetje gitaarwerk waar de vroege The Cure een hand in lijkt te hebben? It’s all in the game bij deze meer dan voortreffelijke Silent Runners. Met Nobody Here krijgen we dat er gratuit bij.

En dan even geduld... maar liefst ruim zeven minuten voortreffelijke synthwave met Caveman waar een wel heel zuinig (Nederlands!) gitaartje heel voorzichtig een rol komt spelen.

Met een flinterdun shoegaze-jasje krijgen we Road Of Gold en Roadkill, om dan met het elfde en laatste nummer op deze full, het geweldigeThe Directory met heel veel bravoure uitgeleide gedaan te worden.

Silent Runners levert een heel goede langspeler af. Retro en hedendaagse klanken, met afwisselend synths en gitaren op de voorgrond. Doorkliefd door snedige bassen. Maar vooral doorleefd. En als ik lees wat voor een leuke live-commentaren de band al kreeg, dan is het aftellen om ze zélf eens live aan het werk te kunnen zien. Ik sta dan wellicht op de eerste rij…

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/03/2018


20/03/2018 : SILENT RUNNERS - The Directory 20/03/2018 : SILENT RUNNERS - The Directory 20/03/2018 : SILENT RUNNERS - The Directory

 

Next reviews
FEVER RAY • Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
REFLECTION • Lumen
AMNESTIC • Future
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF • De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
DISTORTED RETROSPECT • Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
ERASURE • Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap