tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/03/2018 : SILENT RUNNERS - The Directory

SILENT RUNNERS

The Directory

MusicCD
Dark WavePost PunkSynth Wave

[94/100]   

Self-released
20/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The band Silent Runners are from the Netherlands, more specificly from Amsterdam. The five-piece ensemble delivers a spicy mix of dark synth (wave) and post-punk. A cocktail containing sharp bass riffs, dry but rhythmic drumming, minimalist guitars and fully exploited synths.

Their first EP was released in 2015 but now The Directory present us with their first full-fledged debut beaming you back to the sound of the 80s, without sounding like a lazy copy/past work.

That characteristic sound is immediately discernible with Dark Mountain. A hint of A-HA, a hint of Depeche Mode, a cheerful synth melody torn to shreds by pruning hard bass lines, while handy guitar work floats in between. The synths play the leading role in Wilderness, along with that great bass. Immediately everything sounds a lot deeper. Then back to the eighties? Well... why not... Make It Right does the trick. Followed by the 1:14 min, in my opinion superfluous, musical filler Drawing. Or is it? Fortunately, the next track The Knife revert again to the better work that characterises this full CD.

Again Forgotten is treated with a reverb-ed voice, an angular melody. It is more than appropriate to mention frontman Dolf Smolenaers vocals fit this style very well. And what about the guitar parts that seem as if early The Cure have been involved there? It's all in the game with these more than excellent Silent Runners and their next track Nobody Here.

Then patience is required to reach the end of the no less than seven minutes of excellent synth-wave track Caveman whereupon a carefully played and very thin guitar demands to be a part of this song. Following are Road Of Gold and Roadkill that both received a very slight but recognisable shoe-gaze treatment.

The eleventh, last and title track The Directory sounds like a more than worthy close to this album..

Silent Runners have delivered with The Directory a very good and solid album. Combining retro and more contemporary sounds, while synths and guitars alternate in taking a foreground position. Driven by clever bass lines and sounding lived through and mature. When I read the many positive live gig commentaries the band gets, I can’t wait to catch them performing soon! I think I might even be in the front row on this occasion.

And that might well be at Wave Gotik Treffen 2018 in Leipzig, Germany as the band recently announced they will play this year’s edition.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/03/2018


NL

Uit Nederland, meer bepaald Amsterdam, komt de band Silent Runners. Het vijfkoppige ensemble brengt een kruidige mix van duistere synth(wave) en postpunk. De cocktail bevat snedige bassriffs, ritmisch en kurkdroog drumwerk, minimalistisch gitaargeluid en synths die alle registers opentrekken. De band laat ook al weten dat ze in 2018 te bewonderen zijn op het Wave and Gotik Treffen.

In 2015 was hun eerste EP een feit, nu volgt met The Directory hun eerste volwaardige debuut. Anno 2018 teruggegooid worden naar de sound van de jaren ’80, zonder echter kopieerwerk te zijn.

En die karakteristieke sound is meteen te ontwaren bij Dark Mountain. Een vleugje A-HA, een zweem Depeche Mode, een vrolijke synthmelodie die door snoeiharde baslijnen aan flarden wordt gereten, terwijl een handige gitaar daar tussenin haar ding komt doen. De synths die in Wilderness de hoofdrol spelen, samen met die geweldige bass. Het klinkt meteen een stuk dieper. Dan maar even terug naar de eighties? Tja... waarom niet…Make It Right neemt doet dat. Gevolgd door het 1:14 min durende (naar mijn mening overbodige) muzikale niemendalletje Drawing. Of toch niet? The Knife is gelukkig weer het betere werk dat deze full CD kenmerkt.

Forgotten is opnieuw overgoten met een door de reverb gehaalde stem, een hoekig melodietje. Het is meer dan gepast om even te vermelden dat de stem van frontman Dolf Smolenaers gemaakt is voor deze stijl.

En wat te denken van een beetje gitaarwerk waar de vroege The Cure een hand in lijkt te hebben? It’s all in the game bij deze meer dan voortreffelijke Silent Runners. Met Nobody Here krijgen we dat er gratuit bij.

En dan even geduld... maar liefst ruim zeven minuten voortreffelijke synthwave met Caveman waar een wel heel zuinig (Nederlands!) gitaartje heel voorzichtig een rol komt spelen.

Met een flinterdun shoegaze-jasje krijgen we Road Of Gold en Roadkill, om dan met het elfde en laatste nummer op deze full, het geweldigeThe Directory met heel veel bravoure uitgeleide gedaan te worden.

Silent Runners levert een heel goede langspeler af. Retro en hedendaagse klanken, met afwisselend synths en gitaren op de voorgrond. Doorkliefd door snedige bassen. Maar vooral doorleefd. En als ik lees wat voor een leuke live-commentaren de band al kreeg, dan is het aftellen om ze zélf eens live aan het werk te kunnen zien. Ik sta dan wellicht op de eerste rij…

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/03/2018


20/03/2018 : SILENT RUNNERS - The Directory 20/03/2018 : SILENT RUNNERS - The Directory 20/03/2018 : SILENT RUNNERS - The Directory

 

Next reviews
FEVER RAY • Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
REFLECTION • Lumen
AMNESTIC • Future
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF • De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
DISTORTED RETROSPECT • Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
ERASURE • Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
CRIMEN • Silent Animals

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
APSURDE • See Me Coming
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules