tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/03/2018 : STORY OFF - Facing Forward

STORY OFF

Facing Forward

MusicCD
DarkwaveElectro WaveSynthpop

[89/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
30/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Wool-E-Tapes has released the second album by Story Off, Facing Forward. The threesome Chesko Geert Vandekerkhof, Marco Varotta and Manu Coulier opt for the darker electronic side of New-Wavewith this project. Dark Synth-Pop with a touch of Dark-Wave.

The title song Facing Forward is a dark Synth-Pop song with a rather deep threatening voice giving this song some extra depth. There is even some minimal audible - if you try - in A Dark Romance. A danceable track with a blissful old synthwave atmosphere. The Painted City is cut from the same 'synth-wood', only sounding a bit more refined by the vocal contributions of Melissa Vandewalle. This vocalist also takes part in the Dark-Wave sounding song Humanoid that sounds wonderfully enlightening. And then it's back to the eighties! And why not? We get Synth-Pop of the better kind with Life On Other Planets. There may also be some more bombastic tunes and that's what we get with the great dark-beats that are lavishly thrown around in World Today. Do not expect a cheerful song, or let alone an up-tempo EBM hit. Yet it is danceable, even mesmerizing with the monotonous dry drum sounds. Finger licking Dark-Wave! Next one Inducing Oblivion remains as ominous. Chesko's voice sounds even deeper than before, making it the most sticky song of this great Facing Forward album.

To Let It Go is more moderate and again more in line with the dark Synth-pop style. Luxuries is a very nice pounding EBM track with, in my opinion, a very high Front 242 influence. Danceable all the way, up-tempo, it touches you. It's clear the EBM grandmasters from Belgium, who have put the genre on the map, continue to inspire contemporary bands. Anyone who wants to recover after a the previous dancefloorkiller-in-the-making, can do this on Waiting. One could almost call it a ballad.

Facing Forward is a strong record. Varied, electronics with a wide range, varied tempo, vocally and instrumentally fascinating all along the whole album. Story Off from Chesko and his followers should certainly not be regrded as inferior to the man's main project Der Klinke, which embodies more the Post-unk and Goth-Rock style. Sorry Off is an equivalent worthy electronic counterpart. And I can't wait to hear more of them!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/03/2018


NL

Op Wool-E-Tapes verschijnt de tweede langspeler van Story Off: Facing Forward. Het drietal Chesko Geert Vandekerkhof, Marco Varotta en Manu Coulier kiest voor de donkerdere electronische kant van de new wave. Dark synthpop met een stapje opzij naar darkwave.

Titelsong Facing Forward is een duistere synthpop-song. Een vrij diepe dreigende stem geeft deze song extra diepte.
Er is zelfs voorzichtige minimal hoorbaar - als je dat wil - in A Dark Romance. Het blijft dansbaar met een zalig old-synthwave-karakter. The Painted City is uit hetzelfde synth-hout gesneden, alleen verfijnder door de vocale inbreng van Melissa Vandewalle. Deze vocaliste speelt ook in de darkwave song Humanoid een rol. En dat klinkt wonderwel zalig verhelderend.
En dan terug naar de eighties? Waarom ook niet: synthpop van de betere soort met Life On Other Planets. Er mag ook wat meer bombast zijn en dat krijgen we dan ook met geweldige darkbeats die weelderig in het rond worden gegooid in World Today. Verwacht niet meteen een vrolijke song, laat staan een uptempo EBM-hit. Maar toch is het dansbaar, zelfs bezwerend door het monotone kurkdroge drumwerk. Darkwave om je vingers bij af te likken. Inducing Oblivion blijft even onheilspellend. Chesko’s stem klinkt nog dieper dan voorheen, waardoor dit het meest plakkende nummer is van deze geweldige Facing Forward.
To Let It Go is meer gematigd en sluit opnieuw meer aan bij de donkere synthpop. Luxuries is we een heel mooie EBM-kraker met naar mijn gevoel een heel hoog Front 242-gehalte. Dansbaar all the way, uptempo, het raakt je. De grootmeesters uit Belgenland die het genre op de kaart hebben gezet, blijven hedendaagse bands inspireren. Wie wil bekomen na een dancefloorkiller-in-wording, wordt uitgeleide gedaan door Waiting. Je zou het bijna een ballade kunnen noemen.

Facing Forward is een sterke plaat. Gevarieerd, electronica met een breed bereik, gevarieerd tempo, vocaal en instrumentaal boeiend over de ganse lijn. Story Off van Chesko en de zijnen brengen moet zeker niet onderdoen voor zijn main project Der Klinke, dat de postpunk- en gothrock belichaamt. Het is een evenwaardige electronische tegenhanger. And I’m waiting, still waiting… to hear more….

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/03/2018


 

Next reviews
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
AUTUMN • The Fall
NORMORIA • Origin
THE SUBMARINE KID • Independent – Drama
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
FEVER RAY • Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
REFLECTION • Lumen
AMNESTIC • Future
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

 

Other reviews from STORY OFF
STORY OFF • Amazing Conversations

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
DAGEIST • Sexy
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
SPC ECO • Fifteen
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day