tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/03/2018 : STORY OFF - Facing Forward

STORY OFF

Facing Forward

MusicCD
DarkwaveElectro WaveSynthpop

[89/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
30/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Wool-E-Tapes has released the second album by Story Off, Facing Forward. The threesome Chesko Geert Vandekerkhof, Marco Varotta and Manu Coulier opt for the darker electronic side of New-Wavewith this project. Dark Synth-Pop with a touch of Dark-Wave.

The title song Facing Forward is a dark Synth-Pop song with a rather deep threatening voice giving this song some extra depth. There is even some minimal audible - if you try - in A Dark Romance. A danceable track with a blissful old synthwave atmosphere. The Painted City is cut from the same 'synth-wood', only sounding a bit more refined by the vocal contributions of Melissa Vandewalle. This vocalist also takes part in the Dark-Wave sounding song Humanoid that sounds wonderfully enlightening. And then it's back to the eighties! And why not? We get Synth-Pop of the better kind with Life On Other Planets. There may also be some more bombastic tunes and that's what we get with the great dark-beats that are lavishly thrown around in World Today. Do not expect a cheerful song, or let alone an up-tempo EBM hit. Yet it is danceable, even mesmerizing with the monotonous dry drum sounds. Finger licking Dark-Wave! Next one Inducing Oblivion remains as ominous. Chesko's voice sounds even deeper than before, making it the most sticky song of this great Facing Forward album.

To Let It Go is more moderate and again more in line with the dark Synth-pop style. Luxuries is a very nice pounding EBM track with, in my opinion, a very high Front 242 influence. Danceable all the way, up-tempo, it touches you. It's clear the EBM grandmasters from Belgium, who have put the genre on the map, continue to inspire contemporary bands. Anyone who wants to recover after a the previous dancefloorkiller-in-the-making, can do this on Waiting. One could almost call it a ballad.

Facing Forward is a strong record. Varied, electronics with a wide range, varied tempo, vocally and instrumentally fascinating all along the whole album. Story Off from Chesko and his followers should certainly not be regrded as inferior to the man's main project Der Klinke, which embodies more the Post-unk and Goth-Rock style. Sorry Off is an equivalent worthy electronic counterpart. And I can't wait to hear more of them!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/03/2018


NL

Op Wool-E-Tapes verschijnt de tweede langspeler van Story Off: Facing Forward. Het drietal Chesko Geert Vandekerkhof, Marco Varotta en Manu Coulier kiest voor de donkerdere electronische kant van de new wave. Dark synthpop met een stapje opzij naar darkwave.

Titelsong Facing Forward is een duistere synthpop-song. Een vrij diepe dreigende stem geeft deze song extra diepte.
Er is zelfs voorzichtige minimal hoorbaar - als je dat wil - in A Dark Romance. Het blijft dansbaar met een zalig old-synthwave-karakter. The Painted City is uit hetzelfde synth-hout gesneden, alleen verfijnder door de vocale inbreng van Melissa Vandewalle. Deze vocaliste speelt ook in de darkwave song Humanoid een rol. En dat klinkt wonderwel zalig verhelderend.
En dan terug naar de eighties? Waarom ook niet: synthpop van de betere soort met Life On Other Planets. Er mag ook wat meer bombast zijn en dat krijgen we dan ook met geweldige darkbeats die weelderig in het rond worden gegooid in World Today. Verwacht niet meteen een vrolijke song, laat staan een uptempo EBM-hit. Maar toch is het dansbaar, zelfs bezwerend door het monotone kurkdroge drumwerk. Darkwave om je vingers bij af te likken. Inducing Oblivion blijft even onheilspellend. Chesko’s stem klinkt nog dieper dan voorheen, waardoor dit het meest plakkende nummer is van deze geweldige Facing Forward.
To Let It Go is meer gematigd en sluit opnieuw meer aan bij de donkere synthpop. Luxuries is we een heel mooie EBM-kraker met naar mijn gevoel een heel hoog Front 242-gehalte. Dansbaar all the way, uptempo, het raakt je. De grootmeesters uit Belgenland die het genre op de kaart hebben gezet, blijven hedendaagse bands inspireren. Wie wil bekomen na een dancefloorkiller-in-wording, wordt uitgeleide gedaan door Waiting. Je zou het bijna een ballade kunnen noemen.

Facing Forward is een sterke plaat. Gevarieerd, electronica met een breed bereik, gevarieerd tempo, vocaal en instrumentaal boeiend over de ganse lijn. Story Off van Chesko en de zijnen brengen moet zeker niet onderdoen voor zijn main project Der Klinke, dat de postpunk- en gothrock belichaamt. Het is een evenwaardige electronische tegenhanger. And I’m waiting, still waiting… to hear more….

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/03/2018


 

Next reviews
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
AUTUMN • The Fall
NORMORIA • Origin
THE SUBMARINE KID • Independent – Drama
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
FEVER RAY • Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
REFLECTION • Lumen
AMNESTIC • Future
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

 

Other reviews from STORY OFF
STORY OFF • Amazing Conversations

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
MALA HERBA • Demo
ELEZORIA • Astray

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?
S/HE • Who Do You Love
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
STACIAN • Person L

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me