tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/11/2015 : LACRIMOSA - Hoffnung

LACRIMOSA

Hoffnung

MusicCD
Dark WaveGothic Rock

[88/100]   

Hall Of Sermon
24/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even though it seems that today the world is on fire, our favourite pessimists strike back after three years of absence with an album that is called Hoffnung (hope). Do not expect carnival songs or other entertaining songs, as the fifteen-minute opener Mondfeuer sounds like an oasis of corruption and melancholy. With a looming, almost fatal voice Tilo Wolff sings: "Je stärker die Liebe, desto größer der Schmerz. Je stärker die Sehnsucht, desto ferner of Ernfüllung ". The song is a midway between bombastic classical, prog rock and goth rock, and it is the most impressive piece of music we've heard in a long time of Tilo and Anne. Beautiful, sublime and you immediately wonder whether the clown who graces the cover really wishes the world some hope. Is it ironic? Lacrimosa rarely sounded so tragic and beautiful as on this opening track!

Kaleidoscop has the typical Lacrimosa sound, supplemented with heavy metal guitars and deafening drums, Anne's voice sounds desperate, there’s still no hope in sight!

The militaristic drums that introduce Unterwelt, immediately indicate that this will a very special song. It is a descent into hell while Tilo sings with a heavenly voice: " Hast du schon gemerkt? Ich mag dich nicht". It is one of the best songs (and almost a sing-along) that the Finnish-German duo penned down in 25 years.

Die Unbekannte Farbe begins softly, but soon explodes into symphonic beauty. The Lacrimosa Session Orchestra is not afraid of using bombast, but the result is pretty overwhelming.

And what about hope? That comes with Der Kelch der Hoffnung. "Hoffnung ist das Schwert das dich befreit von Angst und Herzensleid", sings Tillo, it sounds like pure logic, nevertheless brought in an overwhelming way, it is so beautiful that you almost start to believe it!

In Donner und Blitz Anne gets the leading role. "Hab keine Angst von der Frau die ich bin", the lady screams. Indeed, it almost sounds like a statement, but you don’t get much time to think about it, because on the next song she hides behind the melancholic keyboards to accompany Tilo on the fragile beauty of Tränen der Liebe.

We really did not want to count how many members The Lacrimosa Session Orchrestra has (we estimate it must be something like 50 people), but their overwhelming (beautiful) sound can be hear perfectly on Der Freie Fall.

Lacrimosa always had a patent on fairytale gothpop, and you can hear that again on Keine Schatten Mehr.

The final song Apeiron (the second part of Der Freie Fall) is played vibrantly. The amplifier is in red, the violins sound frightening and the drums have the sound of a funeral march. The hope has gone, unless it’s called Lacrimosa, because with Hoffnung, Tilo Wolff and Anne Nurmi prove that after nearly three decades they are still at the top of the gothic scene. A very strong album!

Didier BECU
24/11/2015


NL

Ook al lijkt het vandaag alsof de wereld in brand staat, toch zijn onze favoriete zwartkijkers erin geslaagd om na drie jaar afwezigheid terug te slaan met een album dat zo waar Hoffnung heet. Verwacht echter geen polonaise of ander carnavalvertier, want de vijftien minuten durende opener Mondfeuer klinkt als een oase van verderf en melancholie. Met een dreigende, bijna fatale stem zingt Tilo Wolff “Je stärker die Liebe, desto grösser der Schmerz. Je stärker die Sehnsucht, desto ferner der Ernfüllung“. De track, die ergens het midden houdt tussen bombastisch klassiek, progrock en gothrock, is het meest imponerende stukje muziek dat we sinds lang van Tilo en Anne hebben gehoord. Prachtig, subliem en je vraagt je meteen af of de clown die de hoes siert de wereld echt wel hoop toewenst. Is het geen ironie? Lacrimosa klonk immers zelden zo tragisch en bloedstollend mooi als op deze opener!

Kaleidoscop heeft het typische Lacrimosa-geluid, aangevuld met zware metalgitaren en oorverdovende drums, Annes stem klinkt wanhopig, neen van hoop is maar weinig sprake!

De militaristische drums waarmee Unterwelt aanvangt duiden meteen aan dat dit een zeer aparte track zal worden. Het is een afdaling naar de hel waarin Tilo met hemelse stem zingt “Hast du schon gemerkt. Ich mag dich nicht”. Het is één van de leukste nummers (en bijna een meezinger) dat het Fins-Duitse duo in 25 jaar heeft neergepend.

Die Unbekannte Farbe begint zachtjes, maar explodeert in symfonische schoonheid. The Lacrimosa Session Orchestra schuwt de bombast geenzins, maar het resultaat is wel verpletterend mooi.

En hoe zit dat met die hoop? Die komt met Der Kelch der Höffnung. „Höffnung ist das Schwert das dich befreit von Angst und Herzensleid“, zingt Tillo, het klinkt niet meer als pure logica, maar het wordt desalniettemin op een overdonderende manier gebracht, het is zo mooi dat je het bijna gaat geloven!

In Donner Und Blitz is de hoofdrol voor Anne weggelegd. “Hab keine Angst von der Frau die ich bin”, schreeuwt de dame. Het klinkt inderdaad bijna als een statement, maar veel tijd om er over na te denken heb je niet, want op de volgende track verschuilt ze zich achter de melancholische keyboards om Tilo te begeleiden op de fragiele schoonheid van Tränen der Liebe.

We hadden echt geen zin om te tellen uit hoeveel leden The Lacrimosa Session Orchrestra bestaat (we schatten zo’n 50 man), maar hun overweldigend (prachtig) geluid kan je perfect horen op Der Freie Fall.

Lacrimosa heeft ook altijd een patent gehad op sprookjesachtige gothpop, en dat hoor je nog maar eens op Keine Schatten Mehr.

Afsluiter Apeiron (het tweede deel van Der Freie Fall) is loeihard. De versterker gaat in het rood, de violen klinken beangstigend en de drums hebben het geluid van een dodenmars. Van de hoop blijft er weinig over, tenzij die Lacrimosa heet, want op Hoffnung bewijzen Tilo Wolff en Anne Nurmi nog maar eens dat zijn na bijna drie decennia nog steeds aan de top van het gothicscène staan. Een ijzersterke plaat!

Didier BECU
24/11/2015


 

Next reviews
WAVVES • Ghent, De Charlatan (20/11/2015)
LUBOMYR MELNYK • Antwerp, Trix (22/11/2015)
BROTHERS & BONES • Brothers & Bones
SIGISWALD KUIJKEN • Bach Solo (Hasselt, KC België, 20/11/2015)
HERMETIC ELECTRIC • Hermetic Electric EP3
THE KENDOLLS • Automania
TRAILERS • Sway With The Seasons
HACKING THE WAVE • Circuit Breakers
SEPTEMBER MOURNING • Volume 1
THE STRANGLERS • Vilvoorde, CC Het Bolwerk 18/11/15

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
YABANCI • Chaoss
AEON SABLE • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SAGITARIO • Violent
ASH CODE • Empty Room (Single)
DIARY OF DREAMS • Elegies in Darkness
SALVATION AMP • Hidden Faces
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa