tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/03/2013 : THE MEN - New Moon

THE MEN

New Moon

MusicCD
IndieLo-fiNoise

[58/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
15/03/2013, Didier BECU

I’m used to a lot of things and I’m even the kind of guy who likes to annoy his neighbors by picking up now and then a record by Fugazi, but I wasn’t convinced at all when hearing the noise of The Men. The previous albums from this Brooklyn based band (Leave Home and Open Your Heart) were popular among lots of shoegazefans, so my expectations were rather high when putting their latest offering into my cdplayer. Probably too high.

Is it just me or did I played this record at the wrong time, I don’t know, but for me this was just a bland cacophony in where nothing happens. The Men might have been compared to Husker Dü, but the only thing they have in common with them is that they’re loud. From the opening song Open The Door you’ll hear that everything will be a true ram jam, but with this alone you don't create music.

If you will fall in love for this noisy (monotone) psychpunk (or whatever it is) or not is a very personal case, but I was already bored after five minutes and it stayed like this during the whole trip. Noisy, but sometimes noise need melodies too.

Didier BECU
15/03/2013


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electric Voice II Compilation
FEW BITS • Few Bits
DIE PERLEN • Zurück
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert in Antwerp on 12 March 2013
PIETER NOOTEN • Haven
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
TEMPESTA • Unbounded
RED TEMPLE SPIRITS • Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS • Chemical Playschool 15
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + LO-FI + NOISE
ENABLERS • Blown realms and stalled explosions

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: LO-FI
STACIAN • Person L
XOSAR • Xymeria
LUXVID • Trench
SUBHEIM • Foray
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
MONGOLITO • Acedia
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice
SUNDAY BELL RINGERS • Sunday Bell Ringers

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
Goth/Post-Punk Band THE FUNERAL MARCH Presents The End Times With New EP, 'Flood'
28
10
44 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 33 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
27
10
Gothic Rock Band OCTOBER NOIR Drops New Album, 'Fate, Wine & Wisteria'
26
10
Alternative/Darkwave Artist BESS(Of WhiteCauldron) Documents Traumatic Journey With 'No Cover'
25
10
Struggles And Dreams With Darkwave Band THE BLUE HOUR's New LP, 'Lore'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
10
AGNES OBEL
Familiar
27
10
NO!ON
7
26
10
YAZOO
Situation
25
10
MY CRUEL GORO
Lost E
24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide