tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/03/2013 : PIETER NOOTEN - Haven

PIETER NOOTEN

Haven

MusicCD
AmbientDark WaveDroneExperimentalNeoclassical

[88/100]   

Rocket Girl
13/03/2013, Didier BECU

What would a man do without his heroes? I agree, there are those who think it’s laughable to have them. It’s immature they say, or even worse, they can disappoint you. These statements might be true, but heroism is also an ode. It’s like you’re giving a part of your soul to those who made your life more beautiful. In my life Pieter Nooten is such a man. I never met him, but in a way he’s a part of my life even if he doesn’t know it (well he does, but it just sounds more beautiful if I say he’s not).

His name won’t immediately ring a bell and it sounds like the one from your neighbor. But for a handful of people (including myself) he’s seen as one of the most innovating artists of this earth. The man is far too humble to agree on these words, but as he’s one of the keymembers of Clan Of Xymox he stood at the cradle (and actually built it) of darkwave. His style has been copied a millions of time as Pieter Nooten has become for some a synonym of melancholy.

As soon as Pieter Nooten released his solo-album Sleeping With The Fishes he left Clan Of Xymox to work on his own material. I’ll never know if he’s happy with how things were going, but he never used the Xymox-word to make his solorecordings sell. The truth is even that many dedicated fans don’t even know that the Dutch composer is still making music. But in the end, the Pieter Nooten I know has even become more the hero I always imagined. A very introvert man who wants to be far away from the musicindustry, a man who stares a million times in the mirror to face his own dreams which he likes to share with a handful of others.

I know very well that most of our readers have THAT main question in mind: does his solowork sounds like his Xymox-work? The musician is probably tired of this question (and the eternal connection as well) but in respect for those fans we have to answer the question. Pure musically, it’s a “no” but in terms of moods, I would say “yes”.

Haven is the third in a series of solo-releases which is entirely composed and mixed on a Mac Book Pro. It’s a double album that last for two hours. Pieter advised me to listen to it in parts as he feared that two hours is far too long. It’s a noble thought, but in 24 hours I heard it twice (completely!) and even if I probably have to hear it twenty times more to discover everything what’s in it, I think I get the (wonderful) picture.

 

I still don’t know if it’s neoclassical, ambient or even new age. But that’s not important as nobody could describe his sound from the 80’s as well, it was just innovating…something new. And that’s the same with his solomaterial. Lazy journalism will lead us to Brian Eno and somewhere it sounds like him, but at the same time I could say that Pieter Nooten sounds like…Pieter Nooten.

It’s music that is composed by a daydreamer. The sounds of despair which marked his 80’s material are now pieces of hope even if darkness is always somewhere around the corner. It has no use to describe the tracks, they’re all soundtracks from some dreams and I guess that everybody will create them in a different way.

Haven makes me smile and cry… Always believe your heroes, especially if they’re named Pieter Nooten.

 

Didier BECU
13/03/2013


 

Next reviews
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
TEMPESTA • Unbounded
RED TEMPLE SPIRITS • Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS • Chemical Playschool 15
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
GHOST & WRITER • RED FLAGS
NYAM NYAM • Hope Of Heaven
MILITIA (IT) • Folk XII
KMFDM • Kunst

 

Other reviews from PIETER NOOTEN
PIETER NOOTEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines