tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/03/2013 : PIETER NOOTEN - Haven

PIETER NOOTEN

Haven

MusicCD
AmbientDark WaveDroneExperimentalNeoclassical

[88/100]   

Rocket Girl
13/03/2013, Didier BECU

What would a man do without his heroes? I agree, there are those who think it’s laughable to have them. It’s immature they say, or even worse, they can disappoint you. These statements might be true, but heroism is also an ode. It’s like you’re giving a part of your soul to those who made your life more beautiful. In my life Pieter Nooten is such a man. I never met him, but in a way he’s a part of my life even if he doesn’t know it (well he does, but it just sounds more beautiful if I say he’s not).

His name won’t immediately ring a bell and it sounds like the one from your neighbor. But for a handful of people (including myself) he’s seen as one of the most innovating artists of this earth. The man is far too humble to agree on these words, but as he’s one of the keymembers of Clan Of Xymox he stood at the cradle (and actually built it) of darkwave. His style has been copied a millions of time as Pieter Nooten has become for some a synonym of melancholy.

As soon as Pieter Nooten released his solo-album Sleeping With The Fishes he left Clan Of Xymox to work on his own material. I’ll never know if he’s happy with how things were going, but he never used the Xymox-word to make his solorecordings sell. The truth is even that many dedicated fans don’t even know that the Dutch composer is still making music. But in the end, the Pieter Nooten I know has even become more the hero I always imagined. A very introvert man who wants to be far away from the musicindustry, a man who stares a million times in the mirror to face his own dreams which he likes to share with a handful of others.

I know very well that most of our readers have THAT main question in mind: does his solowork sounds like his Xymox-work? The musician is probably tired of this question (and the eternal connection as well) but in respect for those fans we have to answer the question. Pure musically, it’s a “no” but in terms of moods, I would say “yes”.

Haven is the third in a series of solo-releases which is entirely composed and mixed on a Mac Book Pro. It’s a double album that last for two hours. Pieter advised me to listen to it in parts as he feared that two hours is far too long. It’s a noble thought, but in 24 hours I heard it twice (completely!) and even if I probably have to hear it twenty times more to discover everything what’s in it, I think I get the (wonderful) picture.

 

I still don’t know if it’s neoclassical, ambient or even new age. But that’s not important as nobody could describe his sound from the 80’s as well, it was just innovating…something new. And that’s the same with his solomaterial. Lazy journalism will lead us to Brian Eno and somewhere it sounds like him, but at the same time I could say that Pieter Nooten sounds like…Pieter Nooten.

It’s music that is composed by a daydreamer. The sounds of despair which marked his 80’s material are now pieces of hope even if darkness is always somewhere around the corner. It has no use to describe the tracks, they’re all soundtracks from some dreams and I guess that everybody will create them in a different way.

Haven makes me smile and cry… Always believe your heroes, especially if they’re named Pieter Nooten.

 

Didier BECU
13/03/2013


 

Next reviews
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
TEMPESTA • Unbounded
RED TEMPLE SPIRITS • Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS • Chemical Playschool 15
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
GHOST & WRITER • RED FLAGS
NYAM NYAM • Hope Of Heaven
MILITIA (IT) • Folk XII
KMFDM • Kunst

 

Other reviews from PIETER NOOTEN
PIETER NOOTEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once
ROBERTO ATTANASIO • Another Past

Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)