tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/03/2013 : PIETER NOOTEN - Haven

PIETER NOOTEN

Haven

MusicCD
AmbientDark WaveDroneExperimentalNeoclassical

[88/100]   

Rocket Girl
13/03/2013, Didier BECU

What would a man do without his heroes? I agree, there are those who think it’s laughable to have them. It’s immature they say, or even worse, they can disappoint you. These statements might be true, but heroism is also an ode. It’s like you’re giving a part of your soul to those who made your life more beautiful. In my life Pieter Nooten is such a man. I never met him, but in a way he’s a part of my life even if he doesn’t know it (well he does, but it just sounds more beautiful if I say he’s not).

His name won’t immediately ring a bell and it sounds like the one from your neighbor. But for a handful of people (including myself) he’s seen as one of the most innovating artists of this earth. The man is far too humble to agree on these words, but as he’s one of the keymembers of Clan Of Xymox he stood at the cradle (and actually built it) of darkwave. His style has been copied a millions of time as Pieter Nooten has become for some a synonym of melancholy.

As soon as Pieter Nooten released his solo-album Sleeping With The Fishes he left Clan Of Xymox to work on his own material. I’ll never know if he’s happy with how things were going, but he never used the Xymox-word to make his solorecordings sell. The truth is even that many dedicated fans don’t even know that the Dutch composer is still making music. But in the end, the Pieter Nooten I know has even become more the hero I always imagined. A very introvert man who wants to be far away from the musicindustry, a man who stares a million times in the mirror to face his own dreams which he likes to share with a handful of others.

I know very well that most of our readers have THAT main question in mind: does his solowork sounds like his Xymox-work? The musician is probably tired of this question (and the eternal connection as well) but in respect for those fans we have to answer the question. Pure musically, it’s a “no” but in terms of moods, I would say “yes”.

Haven is the third in a series of solo-releases which is entirely composed and mixed on a Mac Book Pro. It’s a double album that last for two hours. Pieter advised me to listen to it in parts as he feared that two hours is far too long. It’s a noble thought, but in 24 hours I heard it twice (completely!) and even if I probably have to hear it twenty times more to discover everything what’s in it, I think I get the (wonderful) picture.

 

I still don’t know if it’s neoclassical, ambient or even new age. But that’s not important as nobody could describe his sound from the 80’s as well, it was just innovating…something new. And that’s the same with his solomaterial. Lazy journalism will lead us to Brian Eno and somewhere it sounds like him, but at the same time I could say that Pieter Nooten sounds like…Pieter Nooten.

It’s music that is composed by a daydreamer. The sounds of despair which marked his 80’s material are now pieces of hope even if darkness is always somewhere around the corner. It has no use to describe the tracks, they’re all soundtracks from some dreams and I guess that everybody will create them in a different way.

Haven makes me smile and cry… Always believe your heroes, especially if they’re named Pieter Nooten.

 

Didier BECU
13/03/2013


 

Next reviews
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
TEMPESTA • Unbounded
RED TEMPLE SPIRITS • Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS • Chemical Playschool 15
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
GHOST & WRITER • RED FLAGS
NYAM NYAM • Hope Of Heaven
MILITIA (IT) • Folk XII
KMFDM • Kunst

 

Other reviews from PIETER NOOTEN
PIETER NOOTEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins