tempobet yeni adresi

13/03/2013 : VANDEL - EXISTENCE

VANDEL

EXISTENCE

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[73/100]   
13/03/2013, Didier BECU

Once in a while it happens that we get a demo from a band that makes us say “wow!”-word. Not that the Dutch Vandel are doing something new, as they're only using our favorite eighties-sound with a contemporary approach.

On their demo the trio presents six brand new tracks. If something negative has to be said then it’s perhaps the inferior production of the sound, but also the fact that they opened this demo with their weakest song. We always tend to listen to the whole cd, but there’s this myth (it ain’t) that recordlabels only listen to the 30 seconds before throwing it in the bin.

Denial (which we included as clip) is already a sort of hit in my room as those haunting synths won’t stay out of the head. It’s a bit like our own Thieves Of Silence.

The Answer has an irresistible post-punkbeat, while both Far Away and Existence are without any doubt Pornography-children (the same atmosphere, the same doomy coldwavesound…)

Let’s not exaggerating by using terms like the greatest band you’ll meet as they’re not like that and the boys certainly won’t believe it themselves. But still, if you’re a fan of 80’s wave with a current post-punksound then you definitely have to give Vandel a listen, and that includes the concertorganizers as well.

 

 

Didier BECU
13/03/2013


 

Next reviews
TEMPESTA • Unbounded
RED TEMPLE SPIRITS • Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS • Chemical Playschool 15
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
GHOST & WRITER • RED FLAGS
NYAM NYAM • Hope Of Heaven
MILITIA (IT) • Folk XII
KMFDM • Kunst
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Absolute Grrls Manifesto, Chapter 1

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
O VEUX • O Veux
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • Human Taxonomy
NORMA LOY • Baphomet
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse
LES PANTIES • Cold Science
CRISPY AMBULANCE • Random Textures / Compulsion

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force
11
01
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive