tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

08/12/2016 : EAUX SAINES - Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape

EAUX SAINES

Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape

MusicCassette
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[83/100]   
08/12/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

In the dark music scene, France makes us think of cold wave, minimal and post-punk. Eaux Saines is a French one-man band by Colin Manierka, who blends all these styles on one album in a surprisingly good way.

The opening track Les Eaux Saines is a very sober track with many industrial influences such as distortion and beats that seem to be composed on oil barrels. Those industrial influences return in the second song as well, but they make room for the vocals that are more typical for the synth pop genre.

As the album progresses, the melodies are more structured and more synth sounds are added. Indeed, you think of the early days of Depeche Mode. On the fourth song, we enter the realm of genuine French new wave. It is clear that Colin loves the pioneers of this genre: Gary Numan, Bauhaus or Depeche Mode.

Every time you hear the influences, but they are reworked in such an innovative way that you are curious to hear what’s coming next. The nine tracks are so different that they never bore. I’m really looking forward to hear more material by Eaux Saines!

Ruben SAEY
08/12/2016


NL

Wie in het duistere wereldje Frankrijk zegt, denkt al gauw aan cold wave, minimal en post-punk. Eaux Saines is een Frans éénmansproject van Colin Manierka, die al deze verschillende stijlen op een verrassende goede wijze in één album samenvat.

De openingstrack Les Eaux Saines is een heel somber slepend nummer met veel industrial zoals distortion en beats die lijken alsof ze op olievaten zijn gecomponeerd. Die industrialinvloeden komen ook in het tweede lied aan bod, maar in mindere mate. Ze maken plaats voor de vocalen die meer in het synthpopgenre thuishoren.

Naarmate het album vordert, worden ook de melodieën meer gestructureerd en is meer ruimte voor de synths die je af en toe wat aan de begindagen van Depeche Mode doen denken.

In het vierde nummer komen we in de sfeer van onvervalste Franse new wave. Zo borduurt de zanger/componist steeds verder met nieuwe verrassende zijsprongen. Het is duidelijk dat hij een liefhebber van de pioniers uit deze genres is: Gary Numan, Bauhaus of Depeche Mode. Telkens hoor je wel enige gelijkenis, maar die wordt op zo’n vernieuwende manier gebracht dat je na elke song nieuwsgierig wordt naar het volgende. De negen tracks zijn zo verschillend dat ze nooit vervelen. Het doet me in elk geval uitkijken naar meer werk van Eaux Saines!

Ruben SAEY
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
RANDOM HAND • Hit Reset
LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA • B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016
PAUL CARRACK • Soul Shadows
MECHANIMAL • Delta Pi Delta
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
NEUGEBORENE NACHTMUSIK • Komme, was kommen mag
THE JUGGERNAUTS • The Juggernauts Are Coming
SCHOOL OF SEVEN BELLS • SVIIB
THEM CHEMICALS • Bxl
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis