tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

08/12/2016 : EAUX SAINES - Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape

EAUX SAINES

Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape

MusicCassette
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[83/100]   
08/12/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

In the dark music scene, France makes us think of cold wave, minimal and post-punk. Eaux Saines is a French one-man band by Colin Manierka, who blends all these styles on one album in a surprisingly good way.

The opening track Les Eaux Saines is a very sober track with many industrial influences such as distortion and beats that seem to be composed on oil barrels. Those industrial influences return in the second song as well, but they make room for the vocals that are more typical for the synth pop genre.

As the album progresses, the melodies are more structured and more synth sounds are added. Indeed, you think of the early days of Depeche Mode. On the fourth song, we enter the realm of genuine French new wave. It is clear that Colin loves the pioneers of this genre: Gary Numan, Bauhaus or Depeche Mode.

Every time you hear the influences, but they are reworked in such an innovative way that you are curious to hear what’s coming next. The nine tracks are so different that they never bore. I’m really looking forward to hear more material by Eaux Saines!

Ruben SAEY
08/12/2016


NL

Wie in het duistere wereldje Frankrijk zegt, denkt al gauw aan cold wave, minimal en post-punk. Eaux Saines is een Frans éénmansproject van Colin Manierka, die al deze verschillende stijlen op een verrassende goede wijze in één album samenvat.

De openingstrack Les Eaux Saines is een heel somber slepend nummer met veel industrial zoals distortion en beats die lijken alsof ze op olievaten zijn gecomponeerd. Die industrialinvloeden komen ook in het tweede lied aan bod, maar in mindere mate. Ze maken plaats voor de vocalen die meer in het synthpopgenre thuishoren.

Naarmate het album vordert, worden ook de melodieën meer gestructureerd en is meer ruimte voor de synths die je af en toe wat aan de begindagen van Depeche Mode doen denken.

In het vierde nummer komen we in de sfeer van onvervalste Franse new wave. Zo borduurt de zanger/componist steeds verder met nieuwe verrassende zijsprongen. Het is duidelijk dat hij een liefhebber van de pioniers uit deze genres is: Gary Numan, Bauhaus of Depeche Mode. Telkens hoor je wel enige gelijkenis, maar die wordt op zo’n vernieuwende manier gebracht dat je na elke song nieuwsgierig wordt naar het volgende. De negen tracks zijn zo verschillend dat ze nooit vervelen. Het doet me in elk geval uitkijken naar meer werk van Eaux Saines!

Ruben SAEY
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
RANDOM HAND • Hit Reset
LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA • B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016
PAUL CARRACK • Soul Shadows
MECHANIMAL • Delta Pi Delta
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
NEUGEBORENE NACHTMUSIK • Komme, was kommen mag
THE JUGGERNAUTS • The Juggernauts Are Coming
SCHOOL OF SEVEN BELLS • SVIIB
THEM CHEMICALS • Bxl
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel

Music reviews

25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut