tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

08/12/2016 : EAUX SAINES - Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape

EAUX SAINES

Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape

MusicCassette
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[83/100]   
08/12/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

In the dark music scene, France makes us think of cold wave, minimal and post-punk. Eaux Saines is a French one-man band by Colin Manierka, who blends all these styles on one album in a surprisingly good way.

The opening track Les Eaux Saines is a very sober track with many industrial influences such as distortion and beats that seem to be composed on oil barrels. Those industrial influences return in the second song as well, but they make room for the vocals that are more typical for the synth pop genre.

As the album progresses, the melodies are more structured and more synth sounds are added. Indeed, you think of the early days of Depeche Mode. On the fourth song, we enter the realm of genuine French new wave. It is clear that Colin loves the pioneers of this genre: Gary Numan, Bauhaus or Depeche Mode.

Every time you hear the influences, but they are reworked in such an innovative way that you are curious to hear what’s coming next. The nine tracks are so different that they never bore. I’m really looking forward to hear more material by Eaux Saines!

Ruben SAEY
08/12/2016


NL

Wie in het duistere wereldje Frankrijk zegt, denkt al gauw aan cold wave, minimal en post-punk. Eaux Saines is een Frans éénmansproject van Colin Manierka, die al deze verschillende stijlen op een verrassende goede wijze in één album samenvat.

De openingstrack Les Eaux Saines is een heel somber slepend nummer met veel industrial zoals distortion en beats die lijken alsof ze op olievaten zijn gecomponeerd. Die industrialinvloeden komen ook in het tweede lied aan bod, maar in mindere mate. Ze maken plaats voor de vocalen die meer in het synthpopgenre thuishoren.

Naarmate het album vordert, worden ook de melodieën meer gestructureerd en is meer ruimte voor de synths die je af en toe wat aan de begindagen van Depeche Mode doen denken.

In het vierde nummer komen we in de sfeer van onvervalste Franse new wave. Zo borduurt de zanger/componist steeds verder met nieuwe verrassende zijsprongen. Het is duidelijk dat hij een liefhebber van de pioniers uit deze genres is: Gary Numan, Bauhaus of Depeche Mode. Telkens hoor je wel enige gelijkenis, maar die wordt op zo’n vernieuwende manier gebracht dat je na elke song nieuwsgierig wordt naar het volgende. De negen tracks zijn zo verschillend dat ze nooit vervelen. Het doet me in elk geval uitkijken naar meer werk van Eaux Saines!

Ruben SAEY
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
RANDOM HAND • Hit Reset
LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA • B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016
PAUL CARRACK • Soul Shadows
MECHANIMAL • Delta Pi Delta
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
NEUGEBORENE NACHTMUSIK • Komme, was kommen mag
THE JUGGERNAUTS • The Juggernauts Are Coming
SCHOOL OF SEVEN BELLS • SVIIB
THEM CHEMICALS • Bxl
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 1 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You