tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : PAUL CARRACK - Soul Shadows

PAUL CARRACK

Soul Shadows

MusicCD


[80/100]   
08/12/2016, Erik VAN DAMME

EN

Do you know Paul Carrack? If not, you should realize that this guy is not a stranger in the world of music. He is known for bands like Ace, Squeeze and Mike & The Mechanics, in which he charmed us with his warm voice. He also released some great solo albums. Soul Shadows is his latest. With the sun on the horizon and a big smile on our face, we enjoyed the voice of Paul Carrack, that feels like a warm blanket.

This 64 year old artist always could rely on his soulful voice, the trademark of the aforementioned bands. Bet Your Life has a warm glow inside and we feel slipping away all our worries. We sail from one wistful moment to another.

Heartbreaking beautiful songs, that’s the thread of Soul Shadows. Songs that touch your soul and gives the listener goosebumps. Listen to the magical and beautiful That’s How I Feel, in which Paul’s voice shows pain and sadness. And we understand that pain. After all these years, Paul Carrack’s voice makes you silent. He still does. Apparently.

But, and this is equally important, this album is not a trip for depressive souls. It is a combination of sadness and happiness, something between melancholy and hope. The pretty danceable Too Good to Be True makes you start doing a victory dance. The sun that rises above the dark clouds? The sun is always there, you know. This is the message Paul Carrack wants to spread on Soul Shadows.

Variations and changes of pace. Addressing different emotions. Watching Over Me brings tears to our eyes, we feel a certain melancholy coming over us. Say What You Mean and Share Your Love With Me end this record just as it started: with big emotions!

Paul Carrack once again uses his wistful, almost sobbing voice to make another album that touches your heart, from start to finish.

Erik VAN DAMME
08/12/2016


NL

Laat de naam Paul Carrack een belletje rinkelen? Nee? Deze man is nochtans geen onbekende in de muziekwereld. Hij maakte vooral naam en faam bij bands als Ace, Squeeze en Mike & The Mechanics, waar zijn warme stem menig harten sneller liet slaan. Ook solo bracht hij heel wat knappe platen uit. We namen zijn recente werk Soul Shadows onder de loep. Met de ondergaande zon aan de horizon en een brede glimlach op ons gezicht, genoten we vooral van de warme deken die de stem van Paul Carrack blijkt te zijn.

De soulvolle stem heeft deze 64-jarige artiest nog geen windeieren gelegd. Ook op deze prachtige, warmhartige plaat horen we dat. Bet Your Life met zijn warme gloed, zorgt ervoor dat we onze zorgen voelen wegglijden. We zeilen dan ook van het ene weemoedige moment naar het andere.

Hartbrekend mooie songs, het is zowat de rode draad op Soul Shadows. Songs die je ziel raken, de luisteraar een traan laten wegpinken en hem kippenvel bezorgen. Luister maar naar het magisch mooie That’s How I Feel, waarin Pauls zachtmoedige stem een zekere pijn en weemoed uitstraalt en ook wij de krop in de keel krijgen en die eventuele pijn lijken te begrijpen. Paul Carrack raakte vroeger met zijn stem en muziek steeds de gevoelige snaar, waardoor je even stil werd. Hij doet dat na al die jaren nog steeds. Zo blijkt.

Maar, en dat is minstens even belangrijk, deze plaat is geen depressieve trip. Ze straalt vooral een combinatie uit van verdriet, geluk, weemoed en de hoop op betere tijden. Het redelijk dansbare Too Good To Be True, met een knappe streep blaasinstrumenten op de achtergrond, doet je een vreugdedans inzetten. De zon boven de donkere wolken? Ze is er altijd, weet je wel. Deze boodschap wil Paul Carrack vooral uitdragen met Soul Shadows. Wat meteen het volgende pluspunt is aan deze plaat.

Variatie en tempowisselingen. Het aanspreken van verschillende emoties. In deze plaat zit het allemaal mooi verweven. Watching Over Me laat ons hart weer tot rust komen. De tranen staan in onze ogen, we voelen weer een zekere weemoed opkomen, zoals we die frequent op deze plaat ervaren. Say What You Mean en Share Your Love With Me sluiten deze knappe plaat even hartverwarmend af als hij is begonnden.

Paul Carrack gooit zijn weemoedige, haast snikkende stem telkens opnieuw in de strijd om ons iedere keer opnieuw dat ultieme kippenvelmoment te bezorgen waardoor we met een stralende glimlach de zon achter de horizon zien zakken. Zonder meer is dit dan ook een plaat die je hart raakt, van begin tot einde. Een schijf die op een eenvoudige manier, zonder te veel showelementen, gewoon je ziel verwarmt. 

Erik VAN DAMME
08/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes