tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : PAUL CARRACK - Soul Shadows

PAUL CARRACK

Soul Shadows

MusicCD


[80/100]   
08/12/2016, Erik VAN DAMME

EN

Do you know Paul Carrack? If not, you should realize that this guy is not a stranger in the world of music. He is known for bands like Ace, Squeeze and Mike & The Mechanics, in which he charmed us with his warm voice. He also released some great solo albums. Soul Shadows is his latest. With the sun on the horizon and a big smile on our face, we enjoyed the voice of Paul Carrack, that feels like a warm blanket.

This 64 year old artist always could rely on his soulful voice, the trademark of the aforementioned bands. Bet Your Life has a warm glow inside and we feel slipping away all our worries. We sail from one wistful moment to another.

Heartbreaking beautiful songs, that’s the thread of Soul Shadows. Songs that touch your soul and gives the listener goosebumps. Listen to the magical and beautiful That’s How I Feel, in which Paul’s voice shows pain and sadness. And we understand that pain. After all these years, Paul Carrack’s voice makes you silent. He still does. Apparently.

But, and this is equally important, this album is not a trip for depressive souls. It is a combination of sadness and happiness, something between melancholy and hope. The pretty danceable Too Good to Be True makes you start doing a victory dance. The sun that rises above the dark clouds? The sun is always there, you know. This is the message Paul Carrack wants to spread on Soul Shadows.

Variations and changes of pace. Addressing different emotions. Watching Over Me brings tears to our eyes, we feel a certain melancholy coming over us. Say What You Mean and Share Your Love With Me end this record just as it started: with big emotions!

Paul Carrack once again uses his wistful, almost sobbing voice to make another album that touches your heart, from start to finish.

Erik VAN DAMME
08/12/2016


NL

Laat de naam Paul Carrack een belletje rinkelen? Nee? Deze man is nochtans geen onbekende in de muziekwereld. Hij maakte vooral naam en faam bij bands als Ace, Squeeze en Mike & The Mechanics, waar zijn warme stem menig harten sneller liet slaan. Ook solo bracht hij heel wat knappe platen uit. We namen zijn recente werk Soul Shadows onder de loep. Met de ondergaande zon aan de horizon en een brede glimlach op ons gezicht, genoten we vooral van de warme deken die de stem van Paul Carrack blijkt te zijn.

De soulvolle stem heeft deze 64-jarige artiest nog geen windeieren gelegd. Ook op deze prachtige, warmhartige plaat horen we dat. Bet Your Life met zijn warme gloed, zorgt ervoor dat we onze zorgen voelen wegglijden. We zeilen dan ook van het ene weemoedige moment naar het andere.

Hartbrekend mooie songs, het is zowat de rode draad op Soul Shadows. Songs die je ziel raken, de luisteraar een traan laten wegpinken en hem kippenvel bezorgen. Luister maar naar het magisch mooie That’s How I Feel, waarin Pauls zachtmoedige stem een zekere pijn en weemoed uitstraalt en ook wij de krop in de keel krijgen en die eventuele pijn lijken te begrijpen. Paul Carrack raakte vroeger met zijn stem en muziek steeds de gevoelige snaar, waardoor je even stil werd. Hij doet dat na al die jaren nog steeds. Zo blijkt.

Maar, en dat is minstens even belangrijk, deze plaat is geen depressieve trip. Ze straalt vooral een combinatie uit van verdriet, geluk, weemoed en de hoop op betere tijden. Het redelijk dansbare Too Good To Be True, met een knappe streep blaasinstrumenten op de achtergrond, doet je een vreugdedans inzetten. De zon boven de donkere wolken? Ze is er altijd, weet je wel. Deze boodschap wil Paul Carrack vooral uitdragen met Soul Shadows. Wat meteen het volgende pluspunt is aan deze plaat.

Variatie en tempowisselingen. Het aanspreken van verschillende emoties. In deze plaat zit het allemaal mooi verweven. Watching Over Me laat ons hart weer tot rust komen. De tranen staan in onze ogen, we voelen weer een zekere weemoed opkomen, zoals we die frequent op deze plaat ervaren. Say What You Mean en Share Your Love With Me sluiten deze knappe plaat even hartverwarmend af als hij is begonnden.

Paul Carrack gooit zijn weemoedige, haast snikkende stem telkens opnieuw in de strijd om ons iedere keer opnieuw dat ultieme kippenvelmoment te bezorgen waardoor we met een stralende glimlach de zon achter de horizon zien zakken. Zonder meer is dit dan ook een plaat die je hart raakt, van begin tot einde. Een schijf die op een eenvoudige manier, zonder te veel showelementen, gewoon je ziel verwarmt. 

Erik VAN DAMME
08/12/2016


Music reviews

15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar
12
10
GOO MUNDAY
Goo Munday
11
10
TRAGEDY OF MINE
Tenebris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
Holygram announces debut 'Modern Cults' album!
14
10
Sinner's Day 2018 announces full line-up!
13
10
Brand new video 'When is the Future?' released by VNV Nation!
10
10
'If Beale Street Could Talk' celebrates its US premiere at NYFF!
06
10
AMPHI 2019 - NINE ADDITIONAL BANDS CONFIRMED!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)

PHOTOS

09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
14
10
CREMATORY
Ravens Calling
13
10
ESCARLATINA OBSESSIVA
Vindictive Witch
12
10
TUKT
Affliction
11
10
ZARDONIC
Revelation
11
10
DAGEIST
In My City