tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : PAUL CARRACK - Soul Shadows

PAUL CARRACK

Soul Shadows

MusicCD


[80/100]   
08/12/2016, Erik VAN DAMME

EN

Do you know Paul Carrack? If not, you should realize that this guy is not a stranger in the world of music. He is known for bands like Ace, Squeeze and Mike & The Mechanics, in which he charmed us with his warm voice. He also released some great solo albums. Soul Shadows is his latest. With the sun on the horizon and a big smile on our face, we enjoyed the voice of Paul Carrack, that feels like a warm blanket.

This 64 year old artist always could rely on his soulful voice, the trademark of the aforementioned bands. Bet Your Life has a warm glow inside and we feel slipping away all our worries. We sail from one wistful moment to another.

Heartbreaking beautiful songs, that’s the thread of Soul Shadows. Songs that touch your soul and gives the listener goosebumps. Listen to the magical and beautiful That’s How I Feel, in which Paul’s voice shows pain and sadness. And we understand that pain. After all these years, Paul Carrack’s voice makes you silent. He still does. Apparently.

But, and this is equally important, this album is not a trip for depressive souls. It is a combination of sadness and happiness, something between melancholy and hope. The pretty danceable Too Good to Be True makes you start doing a victory dance. The sun that rises above the dark clouds? The sun is always there, you know. This is the message Paul Carrack wants to spread on Soul Shadows.

Variations and changes of pace. Addressing different emotions. Watching Over Me brings tears to our eyes, we feel a certain melancholy coming over us. Say What You Mean and Share Your Love With Me end this record just as it started: with big emotions!

Paul Carrack once again uses his wistful, almost sobbing voice to make another album that touches your heart, from start to finish.

Erik VAN DAMME
08/12/2016


NL

Laat de naam Paul Carrack een belletje rinkelen? Nee? Deze man is nochtans geen onbekende in de muziekwereld. Hij maakte vooral naam en faam bij bands als Ace, Squeeze en Mike & The Mechanics, waar zijn warme stem menig harten sneller liet slaan. Ook solo bracht hij heel wat knappe platen uit. We namen zijn recente werk Soul Shadows onder de loep. Met de ondergaande zon aan de horizon en een brede glimlach op ons gezicht, genoten we vooral van de warme deken die de stem van Paul Carrack blijkt te zijn.

De soulvolle stem heeft deze 64-jarige artiest nog geen windeieren gelegd. Ook op deze prachtige, warmhartige plaat horen we dat. Bet Your Life met zijn warme gloed, zorgt ervoor dat we onze zorgen voelen wegglijden. We zeilen dan ook van het ene weemoedige moment naar het andere.

Hartbrekend mooie songs, het is zowat de rode draad op Soul Shadows. Songs die je ziel raken, de luisteraar een traan laten wegpinken en hem kippenvel bezorgen. Luister maar naar het magisch mooie That’s How I Feel, waarin Pauls zachtmoedige stem een zekere pijn en weemoed uitstraalt en ook wij de krop in de keel krijgen en die eventuele pijn lijken te begrijpen. Paul Carrack raakte vroeger met zijn stem en muziek steeds de gevoelige snaar, waardoor je even stil werd. Hij doet dat na al die jaren nog steeds. Zo blijkt.

Maar, en dat is minstens even belangrijk, deze plaat is geen depressieve trip. Ze straalt vooral een combinatie uit van verdriet, geluk, weemoed en de hoop op betere tijden. Het redelijk dansbare Too Good To Be True, met een knappe streep blaasinstrumenten op de achtergrond, doet je een vreugdedans inzetten. De zon boven de donkere wolken? Ze is er altijd, weet je wel. Deze boodschap wil Paul Carrack vooral uitdragen met Soul Shadows. Wat meteen het volgende pluspunt is aan deze plaat.

Variatie en tempowisselingen. Het aanspreken van verschillende emoties. In deze plaat zit het allemaal mooi verweven. Watching Over Me laat ons hart weer tot rust komen. De tranen staan in onze ogen, we voelen weer een zekere weemoed opkomen, zoals we die frequent op deze plaat ervaren. Say What You Mean en Share Your Love With Me sluiten deze knappe plaat even hartverwarmend af als hij is begonnden.

Paul Carrack gooit zijn weemoedige, haast snikkende stem telkens opnieuw in de strijd om ons iedere keer opnieuw dat ultieme kippenvelmoment te bezorgen waardoor we met een stralende glimlach de zon achter de horizon zien zakken. Zonder meer is dit dan ook een plaat die je hart raakt, van begin tot einde. Een schijf die op een eenvoudige manier, zonder te veel showelementen, gewoon je ziel verwarmt. 

Erik VAN DAMME
08/12/2016


Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat