tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight

DAYLIGHT

One More Fight

MusicCD
PopPunk

[70/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Pop punk... it sounds like a contraditio in terminus. But since Green Day, Five Seconds of Summer and the Belgian Janez Detd, we know what this band from Barcelona has to offer: pop melodies played as polished punk songs.

You can like it or hate it, but Daylight does it in a good way. It sounds catchy and sunny. The theme of the texts has nothing to do with punk and is rather superficial. The text of the opener Anthem for the Broken is as implausible as a terrorist at a peace convention. But if you’re just talking about the music, then we must say that they manage to create some catchy tunes, although some sound very familiar.

Daylight creates easily pop tunes that once were the soundtrack of a generation. I'm not sure whether that is still the case. Nowadays, youngsters listen to Bastille, Dotan or Oscar and the Wolf. But those who like the genre, will be satisfied with One More Fight. It is a decent album, but it never steps outside the lines of the genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Poppunk…het klinkt als een contraditio in terminus. Sinds Green Day, Five Seconds of Summer en het Belgische Janez Detd weten we waar deze band uit Barcelona voor staat: popmelodietjes die verpakt zijn als gepolijste punksongs.

Je kan voor of tegen zijn, maar Daylight brengt het wel op een goede manier. Het klinkt aanstekelijk en zonnig. De thematiek van de teksten heeft niets met punk te maken en is eerder oppervlakkig. De tekst van opener Anthem for the Broken is even ongeloofwaardig als een terrorist op een vredesconventie. Als je het album puur vanuit muzikaal standpunt bekijkt, dan is men erin geslaagd om catchy deuntjes te maken, waarvan sommige weliswaar heel herkenbaar klinken.

Daylight maakt licht verteerbare popdeuntjes die vroeger een hele generatie tieners aanspraken. Ik weet niet of dat nu ook nog het geval is. Tegenwoordig luistert de jeugd meer naar bands zoals Bastille, Dotan of Oscar And The Wolf. Maar wie graag dit genre hoort, zal met dit album wel tevreden zijn. Het is een degelijke plaat, maar ze kleurt volledig binnen de lijntjes van het genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight 08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight

Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
02
Today, it’s exactly 40 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
19
02
Peek-a-Boo founder Ward De Prins has passed away...
18
02
Darkness On Demand (Ex-Dance Or Die) release new video, EP and album!
18
02
Today, exactly 15 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

19
02
DUNE MESSIAH
Moth Club, London, UK
19
02
DRAB MAJESTY
Moth Club, London, UK
19
02
THE SOFT MOON
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
19
02
SARIN
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
PUNISH YOURSELF
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
SPANKRAGHT
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
02
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Ewige Nacht
23
02
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
Gold (Live at WGT 2014)
22
02
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
21
02
SONJA KRAUSHOFER
Wie Tränen Im Regen
20
02
EVI VINE
My Hands Are Tied
19
02
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
18
02
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri