tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight

DAYLIGHT

One More Fight

MusicCD
PopPunk

[70/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Pop punk... it sounds like a contraditio in terminus. But since Green Day, Five Seconds of Summer and the Belgian Janez Detd, we know what this band from Barcelona has to offer: pop melodies played as polished punk songs.

You can like it or hate it, but Daylight does it in a good way. It sounds catchy and sunny. The theme of the texts has nothing to do with punk and is rather superficial. The text of the opener Anthem for the Broken is as implausible as a terrorist at a peace convention. But if you’re just talking about the music, then we must say that they manage to create some catchy tunes, although some sound very familiar.

Daylight creates easily pop tunes that once were the soundtrack of a generation. I'm not sure whether that is still the case. Nowadays, youngsters listen to Bastille, Dotan or Oscar and the Wolf. But those who like the genre, will be satisfied with One More Fight. It is a decent album, but it never steps outside the lines of the genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Poppunk…het klinkt als een contraditio in terminus. Sinds Green Day, Five Seconds of Summer en het Belgische Janez Detd weten we waar deze band uit Barcelona voor staat: popmelodietjes die verpakt zijn als gepolijste punksongs.

Je kan voor of tegen zijn, maar Daylight brengt het wel op een goede manier. Het klinkt aanstekelijk en zonnig. De thematiek van de teksten heeft niets met punk te maken en is eerder oppervlakkig. De tekst van opener Anthem for the Broken is even ongeloofwaardig als een terrorist op een vredesconventie. Als je het album puur vanuit muzikaal standpunt bekijkt, dan is men erin geslaagd om catchy deuntjes te maken, waarvan sommige weliswaar heel herkenbaar klinken.

Daylight maakt licht verteerbare popdeuntjes die vroeger een hele generatie tieners aanspraken. Ik weet niet of dat nu ook nog het geval is. Tegenwoordig luistert de jeugd meer naar bands zoals Bastille, Dotan of Oscar And The Wolf. Maar wie graag dit genre hoort, zal met dit album wel tevreden zijn. Het is een degelijke plaat, maar ze kleurt volledig binnen de lijntjes van het genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight 08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil