tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight

DAYLIGHT

One More Fight

MusicCD
PopPunk

[70/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Pop punk... it sounds like a contraditio in terminus. But since Green Day, Five Seconds of Summer and the Belgian Janez Detd, we know what this band from Barcelona has to offer: pop melodies played as polished punk songs.

You can like it or hate it, but Daylight does it in a good way. It sounds catchy and sunny. The theme of the texts has nothing to do with punk and is rather superficial. The text of the opener Anthem for the Broken is as implausible as a terrorist at a peace convention. But if you’re just talking about the music, then we must say that they manage to create some catchy tunes, although some sound very familiar.

Daylight creates easily pop tunes that once were the soundtrack of a generation. I'm not sure whether that is still the case. Nowadays, youngsters listen to Bastille, Dotan or Oscar and the Wolf. But those who like the genre, will be satisfied with One More Fight. It is a decent album, but it never steps outside the lines of the genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Poppunk…het klinkt als een contraditio in terminus. Sinds Green Day, Five Seconds of Summer en het Belgische Janez Detd weten we waar deze band uit Barcelona voor staat: popmelodietjes die verpakt zijn als gepolijste punksongs.

Je kan voor of tegen zijn, maar Daylight brengt het wel op een goede manier. Het klinkt aanstekelijk en zonnig. De thematiek van de teksten heeft niets met punk te maken en is eerder oppervlakkig. De tekst van opener Anthem for the Broken is even ongeloofwaardig als een terrorist op een vredesconventie. Als je het album puur vanuit muzikaal standpunt bekijkt, dan is men erin geslaagd om catchy deuntjes te maken, waarvan sommige weliswaar heel herkenbaar klinken.

Daylight maakt licht verteerbare popdeuntjes die vroeger een hele generatie tieners aanspraken. Ik weet niet of dat nu ook nog het geval is. Tegenwoordig luistert de jeugd meer naar bands zoals Bastille, Dotan of Oscar And The Wolf. Maar wie graag dit genre hoort, zal met dit album wel tevreden zijn. Het is een degelijke plaat, maar ze kleurt volledig binnen de lijntjes van het genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight 08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning