tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight

DAYLIGHT

One More Fight

MusicCD
PopPunk

[70/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Pop punk... it sounds like a contraditio in terminus. But since Green Day, Five Seconds of Summer and the Belgian Janez Detd, we know what this band from Barcelona has to offer: pop melodies played as polished punk songs.

You can like it or hate it, but Daylight does it in a good way. It sounds catchy and sunny. The theme of the texts has nothing to do with punk and is rather superficial. The text of the opener Anthem for the Broken is as implausible as a terrorist at a peace convention. But if you’re just talking about the music, then we must say that they manage to create some catchy tunes, although some sound very familiar.

Daylight creates easily pop tunes that once were the soundtrack of a generation. I'm not sure whether that is still the case. Nowadays, youngsters listen to Bastille, Dotan or Oscar and the Wolf. But those who like the genre, will be satisfied with One More Fight. It is a decent album, but it never steps outside the lines of the genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Poppunk…het klinkt als een contraditio in terminus. Sinds Green Day, Five Seconds of Summer en het Belgische Janez Detd weten we waar deze band uit Barcelona voor staat: popmelodietjes die verpakt zijn als gepolijste punksongs.

Je kan voor of tegen zijn, maar Daylight brengt het wel op een goede manier. Het klinkt aanstekelijk en zonnig. De thematiek van de teksten heeft niets met punk te maken en is eerder oppervlakkig. De tekst van opener Anthem for the Broken is even ongeloofwaardig als een terrorist op een vredesconventie. Als je het album puur vanuit muzikaal standpunt bekijkt, dan is men erin geslaagd om catchy deuntjes te maken, waarvan sommige weliswaar heel herkenbaar klinken.

Daylight maakt licht verteerbare popdeuntjes die vroeger een hele generatie tieners aanspraken. Ik weet niet of dat nu ook nog het geval is. Tegenwoordig luistert de jeugd meer naar bands zoals Bastille, Dotan of Oscar And The Wolf. Maar wie graag dit genre hoort, zal met dit album wel tevreden zijn. Het is een degelijke plaat, maar ze kleurt volledig binnen de lijntjes van het genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight 08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott