tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/01/2013 : FUZZBOX - Bostin' Steve Austin

FUZZBOX

Bostin' Steve Austin

MusicCD
PopPunk

[89/100]   

Cherry Red Records
25/01/2013, Didier BECU

When I was young I stored my Fuzzbox-album among Adam Ant and Bow Wow Wow. Years later nothing has changed (except for the fact that I'm not young) and from time to time I pick up my dusty record to play it loud. Fuzzbox (well in fact, they're called We'Ve Got A Fuzzbox And We're Gonna Use It) have everything you expect from a record.

Those lovely ladies from Birmingham could only play three chords (and I'm sure that technically speaking they even can't play that well) but what did they do with those chords! They were the queens of writing the perfect poptune that lasts three minutes. The four girls were immediately the darlings from Janice Long and (of course!) John Peel. X X Sex even stormed the indiecharts and in no time this quartet were the talk of the weeklies. Bostin' Steve Austin' was released in 1986 and it contained all the hits. Love Is The Slug, Console Me, Rules And Regulations, X X Sex and of course the splendid cover Spirit In The Sky.

Cherry Red now reissued the album with a 2nd bonus disc. The AA side contains 22 of the bands most rare and sought after recordings. Some covers like Bohemian Rhapsody but also the most erotic version from Fever you'll ever hear.

Fuzzbox are the creators of candypop. It rocks, it's pure sex and the fuzzbox drills into your body! Now I have my Fuzzbox-cd and I'm going to use it. I know I'm a predictable slut.

God, I want to play this over and over. Now where's my Shampoo-record?

Didier BECU
25/01/2013


Music reviews

15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar
12
10
GOO MUNDAY
Goo Munday
11
10
TRAGEDY OF MINE
Tenebris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
Holygram announces debut 'Modern Cults' album!
14
10
Sinner's Day 2018 announces full line-up!
13
10
Brand new video 'When is the Future?' released by VNV Nation!
10
10
'If Beale Street Could Talk' celebrates its US premiere at NYFF!
06
10
AMPHI 2019 - NINE ADDITIONAL BANDS CONFIRMED!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)

PHOTOS

09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
14
10
CREMATORY
Ravens Calling
13
10
ESCARLATINA OBSESSIVA
Vindictive Witch
12
10
TUKT
Affliction
11
10
ZARDONIC
Revelation
11
10
DAGEIST
In My City