tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/01/2013 : FUZZBOX - Bostin' Steve Austin

FUZZBOX

Bostin' Steve Austin

MusicCD
PopPunk

[89/100]   

Cherry Red Records
25/01/2013, Didier BECU

When I was young I stored my Fuzzbox-album among Adam Ant and Bow Wow Wow. Years later nothing has changed (except for the fact that I'm not young) and from time to time I pick up my dusty record to play it loud. Fuzzbox (well in fact, they're called We'Ve Got A Fuzzbox And We're Gonna Use It) have everything you expect from a record.

Those lovely ladies from Birmingham could only play three chords (and I'm sure that technically speaking they even can't play that well) but what did they do with those chords! They were the queens of writing the perfect poptune that lasts three minutes. The four girls were immediately the darlings from Janice Long and (of course!) John Peel. X X Sex even stormed the indiecharts and in no time this quartet were the talk of the weeklies. Bostin' Steve Austin' was released in 1986 and it contained all the hits. Love Is The Slug, Console Me, Rules And Regulations, X X Sex and of course the splendid cover Spirit In The Sky.

Cherry Red now reissued the album with a 2nd bonus disc. The AA side contains 22 of the bands most rare and sought after recordings. Some covers like Bohemian Rhapsody but also the most erotic version from Fever you'll ever hear.

Fuzzbox are the creators of candypop. It rocks, it's pure sex and the fuzzbox drills into your body! Now I have my Fuzzbox-cd and I'm going to use it. I know I'm a predictable slut.

God, I want to play this over and over. Now where's my Shampoo-record?

Didier BECU
25/01/2013


Music reviews

27
09
JOSH WERNER
Mode For Titan
26
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Idiorhythmic
25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
09
A CERTAIN RATIO are back with a new album, ACR Loco!
25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing
19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Slow Down
27
09
A CERTAIN RATIO
Always In Love
26
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra