tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/01/2013 : THE TUNNEL - Sultry Dagger

THE TUNNEL

Sultry Dagger

MusicCD
NoisePost Punk

[75/100]   
25/01/2013, Didier BECU

Vocalist Jeff Wagner introduced his band as "new music from San Francisco". In fact that's not quite true, as I heard it all before, but how glad I am to hear it again anyway. The Tunnel are making music that goes straight to your bones. The kind of music that gives you the feeling that you actually heard some music and not some dumb background sound you forget once the laser from your cd-player is reaching the final point of your disk.

They admit to be influenced by both Chrome and Killing Joke (and a bit of Cranes and Tones on Tail too) and you hear that, especially Killing Joke, but still it's so much more. You see, a song by The Tunnel is like a song by The Fall. You can expect everything except the expected. It's noisy, a bit bombastic and it has a very punkish feel. At least a Steve Albini-esque punk feel. The eight songs on this cd are right in yer face. And yeah it hurts, but the pain is so delicious you push the repeat-button.

So, nothing new. But I really don't want to hear anything new. This could have been released in 1982 when bands like Big Black were ruling the airwaves (well, kind of) and isn't that great?

A noisy tip.

Click here to hear their sound.

Didier BECU
25/01/2013


 

Next reviews
AVGVST • Onlooker
THE LAW-RAH COLLECTIVE • Filed Of View
PATRICE LECONTE • Le Magasin des Suicides
ROSA†CRVX • Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013
CLOCKWORK ORCHESTRA • Friends without names
EDUARDO RODRIGUEZ • El Gringo
BETRAYAL AT BESPIN • Rains
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
JOACHIM LAFOSSE • A Peirdre La Raison
SOFT METALS • Soft Metals

 

Same combination of genres: NOISE + POST PUNK
POP. 1280 • Paradise
THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE • Exploding Head Syndrome
LUC VAN ACKER • The Ship
PIQUET • Heywawisze
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value EP
HEXENSCHUSS • Hexenschuss
BOB MOULD • Beauty And Ruin
A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS • Review of the concert at Botanique in Brussels on 8th October 2012

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS