tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/01/2013 : THE LAW-RAH COLLECTIVE - Filed Of View

THE LAW-RAH COLLECTIVE

Filed Of View

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDrone

[90/100]   

Ant-Zen
24/01/2013, Chris KONINGS

A band I missed during Maschinenfest are The Law-Rah Collective. This is a dark ambient project led by Dutchman Bauke Van Der Wal. They have been around for more then ten years now and seem to float from one label to another. This is their 11th album and it's only the second one on Ant-Zen. It's also quite unique for the label as I can't compare it to anything else.

The first song takes more then twenty minutes but don't let that discourage you, it's pure bliss with soft female singing at the start and the end. The first part is pure drone, slowly building up and then more depth is added with Bauke's soft yet deep voice reciting poetry. It reminds me a lot of "Leap Of Faith" by Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth), found on Le Sacre Du Printemps (Gonzo Circus).

I love the tiny specks of footsteps and cracks in "Underneath", they really give you the feeling you are in the process of mapping out an entirely new cave system, discovering wonderous halls and pitchblack, endless chasms. For once, no beats or pounding industrial techno, nor any tribal rhythms, the only song with a minimal amount of rhythm is "The Lie". But the wonderful voice of Hiekelien Van Den Herik will attract your full attention here.

"A Different Perspective" is even more minimal, very eerie drones and occasional hisses and shifting noises, like a glacier in motion. "From Here" has very distant sounding vocals, slight rhythms and a cold howling wind and rain that can lull anyone into hibernation.

Someone who can direct me to a good 'all you can eat' restaurant before going to Maschinenfest?

That way I can stay the entire day and not miss out on the good stuff. Highly recommended for drone lovers! And with the poetry, it will reach a much broader audience.

Chris KONINGS
24/01/2013


 

Next reviews
PATRICE LECONTE • Le Magasin des Suicides
ROSA†CRVX • Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013
CLOCKWORK ORCHESTRA • Friends without names
EDUARDO RODRIGUEZ • El Gringo
BETRAYAL AT BESPIN • Rains
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
JOACHIM LAFOSSE • A Peirdre La Raison
SOFT METALS • Soft Metals
COMBAT VOICE • Chaotic Universe
7JK • Anthems Flesh

 

Same combination of genres: DARK AMBIENT + DRONE
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TUSEN AR UNDER JORD • Sorgsendömet Fobos
PIE ARE SQUARED • Lucciole
AIDAN BAKER/THISQUIETARMY • The Hypnodrone Ensemble
DEN ARKAISKA RÖSTEN • ◯▲
RAISON D'ETRE • Mise En Abyme
TROUM • Mare Morphosis
ONEIROGEN • Kiasma
CHELSEA WOLFE • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 13th April 2012 with UNISON and CERCUEIL

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus