tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/01/2013 : THE LAW-RAH COLLECTIVE - Filed Of View

THE LAW-RAH COLLECTIVE

Filed Of View

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDrone

[90/100]   

Ant-Zen
24/01/2013, Chris KONINGS

A band I missed during Maschinenfest are The Law-Rah Collective. This is a dark ambient project led by Dutchman Bauke Van Der Wal. They have been around for more then ten years now and seem to float from one label to another. This is their 11th album and it's only the second one on Ant-Zen. It's also quite unique for the label as I can't compare it to anything else.

The first song takes more then twenty minutes but don't let that discourage you, it's pure bliss with soft female singing at the start and the end. The first part is pure drone, slowly building up and then more depth is added with Bauke's soft yet deep voice reciting poetry. It reminds me a lot of "Leap Of Faith" by Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth), found on Le Sacre Du Printemps (Gonzo Circus).

I love the tiny specks of footsteps and cracks in "Underneath", they really give you the feeling you are in the process of mapping out an entirely new cave system, discovering wonderous halls and pitchblack, endless chasms. For once, no beats or pounding industrial techno, nor any tribal rhythms, the only song with a minimal amount of rhythm is "The Lie". But the wonderful voice of Hiekelien Van Den Herik will attract your full attention here.

"A Different Perspective" is even more minimal, very eerie drones and occasional hisses and shifting noises, like a glacier in motion. "From Here" has very distant sounding vocals, slight rhythms and a cold howling wind and rain that can lull anyone into hibernation.

Someone who can direct me to a good 'all you can eat' restaurant before going to Maschinenfest?

That way I can stay the entire day and not miss out on the good stuff. Highly recommended for drone lovers! And with the poetry, it will reach a much broader audience.

Chris KONINGS
24/01/2013


 

Next reviews
PATRICE LECONTE • Le Magasin des Suicides
ROSA†CRVX • Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013
CLOCKWORK ORCHESTRA • Friends without names
EDUARDO RODRIGUEZ • El Gringo
BETRAYAL AT BESPIN • Rains
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
JOACHIM LAFOSSE • A Peirdre La Raison
SOFT METALS • Soft Metals
COMBAT VOICE • Chaotic Universe
7JK • Anthems Flesh

 

Same combination of genres: DARK AMBIENT + DRONE
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TUSEN AR UNDER JORD • Sorgsendömet Fobos
PIE ARE SQUARED • Lucciole
AIDAN BAKER/THISQUIETARMY • The Hypnodrone Ensemble
DEN ARKAISKA RÖSTEN • ◯▲
RAISON D'ETRE • Mise En Abyme
TROUM • Mare Morphosis
ONEIROGEN • Kiasma
CHELSEA WOLFE • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 13th April 2012 with UNISON and CERCUEIL

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem