tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/01/2013 : THE LAW-RAH COLLECTIVE - Filed Of View

THE LAW-RAH COLLECTIVE

Filed Of View

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDrone

[90/100]   

Ant-Zen
24/01/2013, Chris KONINGS

A band I missed during Maschinenfest are The Law-Rah Collective. This is a dark ambient project led by Dutchman Bauke Van Der Wal. They have been around for more then ten years now and seem to float from one label to another. This is their 11th album and it's only the second one on Ant-Zen. It's also quite unique for the label as I can't compare it to anything else.

The first song takes more then twenty minutes but don't let that discourage you, it's pure bliss with soft female singing at the start and the end. The first part is pure drone, slowly building up and then more depth is added with Bauke's soft yet deep voice reciting poetry. It reminds me a lot of "Leap Of Faith" by Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth), found on Le Sacre Du Printemps (Gonzo Circus).

I love the tiny specks of footsteps and cracks in "Underneath", they really give you the feeling you are in the process of mapping out an entirely new cave system, discovering wonderous halls and pitchblack, endless chasms. For once, no beats or pounding industrial techno, nor any tribal rhythms, the only song with a minimal amount of rhythm is "The Lie". But the wonderful voice of Hiekelien Van Den Herik will attract your full attention here.

"A Different Perspective" is even more minimal, very eerie drones and occasional hisses and shifting noises, like a glacier in motion. "From Here" has very distant sounding vocals, slight rhythms and a cold howling wind and rain that can lull anyone into hibernation.

Someone who can direct me to a good 'all you can eat' restaurant before going to Maschinenfest?

That way I can stay the entire day and not miss out on the good stuff. Highly recommended for drone lovers! And with the poetry, it will reach a much broader audience.

Chris KONINGS
24/01/2013


 

Next reviews
PATRICE LECONTE • Le Magasin des Suicides
ROSA†CRVX • Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013
CLOCKWORK ORCHESTRA • Friends without names
EDUARDO RODRIGUEZ • El Gringo
BETRAYAL AT BESPIN • Rains
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
JOACHIM LAFOSSE • A Peirdre La Raison
SOFT METALS • Soft Metals
COMBAT VOICE • Chaotic Universe
7JK • Anthems Flesh

 

Same combination of genres: DARK AMBIENT + DRONE
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TUSEN AR UNDER JORD • Sorgsendömet Fobos
PIE ARE SQUARED • Lucciole
AIDAN BAKER/THISQUIETARMY • The Hypnodrone Ensemble
DEN ARKAISKA RÖSTEN • ◯▲
RAISON D'ETRE • Mise En Abyme
TROUM • Mare Morphosis
ONEIROGEN • Kiasma
CHELSEA WOLFE • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 13th April 2012 with UNISON and CERCUEIL

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession