tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/01/2013 : THE LAW-RAH COLLECTIVE - Filed Of View

THE LAW-RAH COLLECTIVE

Filed Of View

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDrone

[90/100]   

Ant-Zen
24/01/2013, Chris KONINGS

A band I missed during Maschinenfest are The Law-Rah Collective. This is a dark ambient project led by Dutchman Bauke Van Der Wal. They have been around for more then ten years now and seem to float from one label to another. This is their 11th album and it's only the second one on Ant-Zen. It's also quite unique for the label as I can't compare it to anything else.

The first song takes more then twenty minutes but don't let that discourage you, it's pure bliss with soft female singing at the start and the end. The first part is pure drone, slowly building up and then more depth is added with Bauke's soft yet deep voice reciting poetry. It reminds me a lot of "Leap Of Faith" by Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth), found on Le Sacre Du Printemps (Gonzo Circus).

I love the tiny specks of footsteps and cracks in "Underneath", they really give you the feeling you are in the process of mapping out an entirely new cave system, discovering wonderous halls and pitchblack, endless chasms. For once, no beats or pounding industrial techno, nor any tribal rhythms, the only song with a minimal amount of rhythm is "The Lie". But the wonderful voice of Hiekelien Van Den Herik will attract your full attention here.

"A Different Perspective" is even more minimal, very eerie drones and occasional hisses and shifting noises, like a glacier in motion. "From Here" has very distant sounding vocals, slight rhythms and a cold howling wind and rain that can lull anyone into hibernation.

Someone who can direct me to a good 'all you can eat' restaurant before going to Maschinenfest?

That way I can stay the entire day and not miss out on the good stuff. Highly recommended for drone lovers! And with the poetry, it will reach a much broader audience.

Chris KONINGS
24/01/2013


 

Next reviews
PATRICE LECONTE • Le Magasin des Suicides
ROSA†CRVX • Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013
CLOCKWORK ORCHESTRA • Friends without names
EDUARDO RODRIGUEZ • El Gringo
BETRAYAL AT BESPIN • Rains
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
JOACHIM LAFOSSE • A Peirdre La Raison
SOFT METALS • Soft Metals
COMBAT VOICE • Chaotic Universe
7JK • Anthems Flesh

 

Same combination of genres: DARK AMBIENT + DRONE
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TUSEN AR UNDER JORD • Sorgsendömet Fobos
PIE ARE SQUARED • Lucciole
AIDAN BAKER/THISQUIETARMY • The Hypnodrone Ensemble
DEN ARKAISKA RÖSTEN • ◯▲
RAISON D'ETRE • Mise En Abyme
TROUM • Mare Morphosis
ONEIROGEN • Kiasma
CHELSEA WOLFE • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 13th April 2012 with UNISON and CERCUEIL

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)