tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/01/2013 : SOFT METALS - Soft Metals

SOFT METALS

Soft Metals

MusicCD
Analogue SynthDark PopMinimal

[75/100]   

Captured Tracks
20/01/2013, Chris KONINGS

Soft Metals is the electronic romance of Ian Hicks and Patricia Hall of Portland. They hooked up because of their mutual love for 80's minimal synthpop, Chicago house and Italo disco.

A genre that has again become a popular niche and partly responsible for the rediscovery of vinyl. Needless to say, I'm also fond of 300 pounds worth of analog synths. My first real love in this genre was Martial Canterel but Soft Metals is entirely different. The same instruments but everything sounds a lot warmer and poppier. They have a keen ear for a good catchy melody so almost every song on this record is a floorkiller. Let your feet follow the coloured tiles and lose yourself in the smoke machine!

Minimal synthpop dominates the album, however there's also some funky disco to be found, "Always" and "Pain". A track that a bit under par is "Do You Remember", it does not sound very convincing.

The shorter songs "Celestial Call" and "Hold My Breath" sound a lot like Absolute Body Control, instrumental and a bit more experimental. Also the last track sound like very early Klinik (Time Watch), without the creepy howls. So while sticking to analog devices, Soft Metals has plenty of variation and thus I can recommend this to anyone who liked 80's synthpop.

Chris KONINGS
20/01/2013


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders