tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE - Exploding Head Syndrome

THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE

Exploding Head Syndrome

MusicCD
Indie RockNoisePost PunkPost Rock

[75/100]   

Self-released
12/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Strzebonsky Noize Scene is a duo: Stijn Preuveneers plays bass guitar and drums, Bert Jacobs takes care of the vocals. And it might surprise you, but they do not come from Eastern Europe, but from Leuven. If you like killer riffs, inflated drums, screaming vocals and a noisy bass, they write in their press release, our music is definitely what you need. So, buckle up and get ready for a roller coaster ride through the narrow streets of Flanders' oldest university town in the company of The Strzebonsky Noizescene...

In reality, Exploding Head Syndrome is a collection of steamy rock songs. Indeed, with a dark bass that hangs like a threatening storm cloud over almost every composition, while the screaming vocals are not rougher or louder than those of any specific rock band. The compositions of The Strzebonsky Noizescene sometimes have a fairly high punk content (Never Forget Never Forgive) or a post-punk content (Stating the Obvious), sometimes they lean towards hard rock (Enjoy the Fall, Go Big Go Down), other times there are some blues influence (When We Were Young), but you also hear electronics, again with a roaring bass and appealing vocals of Bert Jacobs (Exploding Head).

On Syndrome we even hear a piano, complemented by woody percussion and bell-like synths, resulting in a nice soundtrack. It’s a short instrumental composition with gentle noise at the end: different and appealing. Fade Out to Farewell teeters on the border between rock and hard rock, while Lost Times connects almost seamlessly as a smooth and dangerous rock song, and Everybody Else in the World, which floats on a dark and menacing bass, supplemented with shouted vocals, is rock with a pinch of metal, while precisely in this composition there is also plenty of room for quiet moments with some noise and what sounds like the dialogue from a movie clip. Bonus track You Might Think You Know Me floats on a strong melody, which is supported by a crash of drums and a heavy distorted bass.

Exploding Head Syndrome by The Strzebonsky Noize Scene is not an album for wimps, but a heavy rock album that will not disappoint the fans of the genre. They are doing well, these guys from Leuven!

Tracklist:
1 Enjoy the Fall
2 When We Were Young
3 Go Big Go Down
4 Never Forget Never forgive
5 Exploding Head (ft. Golden Noo$e)
6 Syndrome
7 Fade Out to Farewell
8 Stating the Obvious
9 Lost Times
0 Everybody Else in the World
1 Bonus track: You Might think You Know Me

www.strzebonsky.com

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


NL

The Strzebonsky Noizescene is een duo: Stijn Preuveneers speelt basgitaar, en Bert Jacobs drumt en verzorgt de vocalen. En het zal u verbazen, maar ze komen niet uit Oost-Europa, maar uit Leuven. Als je van killerriffs , opgepompte drums, krijsende vocalen en lawaaierig basgeluid houdt, schrijven ze in hun persbericht, dan is onze muziek beslist wat u zoekt. Doe je gordels dus al maar om, gesp ze stevig vast, en bereid je voor op een achtbaan door de smalle straten van Vlaanderens oudste universiteitsstad in het gezelschap van The Strzebonsky Noizescene…

In werkelijkheid is Exploding Head Syndrome een verzameling stomende rocksongs, met inderdaad een donkere bas die als een dreigende donderwolk boven bijna elke compositie hangt, terwijl de krijsende vocalen niet rauwer of schreeuweriger zijn dan die van soortelijke rockbands. De composities van The Strzebonsky Noizescene hebben soms een vrij hoog punkgehalte (Never Forget Never Forgive) of post-punkgehalte (Stating the Obvious), soms neigen ze eerder naar hardrock (Enjoy the Fall, Go Big Go Down), andere keren is er sprake van een zekere bluesinvloed (When We Were Young), maar er komt ook elektronica aan te pas, opnieuw met ronkend basgeluid en aantrekkelijke vocalen van Bert Jacobs (Exploding Head).

Voor Syndrome is zelfs een piano van stal gehaald, aangevuld met houtachtig slagwerk en belachtige synths, waarmee een leuke geluidsband wordt gecreëerd. Het is een korte instrumentale compositie met voorzichtige noise op het einde. Apart, anders en aantrekkelijk. Fade Out to Farewell balanceert opnieuw op de grens tussen rock en hardrock, terwijl Lost Times bijna naadloos aansluit als een vlotte en gevaarlijke rocksong, en Everybody Else in the World, dat drijft op een donkere en dreigende bas, aangevuld met geschreeuwde vocalen, is rock met een snufje metal, terwijl net in deze compositie ook veel ruimte is gelaten voor stille momenten met noise en wat klinkt als dialogen uit een filmfragment. Bonus track You Might think You Know Me drijft op een stevige melodie, die steun krijgt van roffelende drums en een stevige distorted bas.

Exploding Head Syndrome van The Strzebonsky Noizescene is geen album voor doetjes, maar als stevig rockalbum zal het liefhebbers van het genre niet teleurstellen. Ze zijn goed bezig, die Leuvenaars!

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
MAIA VIDAL • Brussels, Botanique
JO QUAIL & CASPIAN • Ghent, Minard Theatre, 9.11.2015
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
ELECTRIC FLOOR • My Bloody G.
SERAPHIM SYSTEM • This Is Invasion
YOUNG RIVAL • Interior Light
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value (EP)
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare
14
04
MINISTRY
Amerikkkant

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018
11
04
VOODOMA releases new video 'High Again' (acoustic version)

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’
13
03
PSY'AVIAH
'For me, music was important, because I can lose myself in it and find comfort in it.'
08
03
SOFT RIOT
Jack Duckworth talks about Soft Riot

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End
16
04
DIAMOND BLACK
Ghost in the Glass
15
04
HATCHLING
Holly
14
04
THE ARCH
Dark Room
13
04
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret