tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

12/11/2015 : THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE - Exploding Head Syndrome

THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE

Exploding Head Syndrome

MusicCD
Indie RockNoisePost PunkPost Rock

[75/100]   

Self-released
12/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Strzebonsky Noize Scene is a duo: Stijn Preuveneers plays bass guitar and drums, Bert Jacobs takes care of the vocals. And it might surprise you, but they do not come from Eastern Europe, but from Leuven. If you like killer riffs, inflated drums, screaming vocals and a noisy bass, they write in their press release, our music is definitely what you need. So, buckle up and get ready for a roller coaster ride through the narrow streets of Flanders' oldest university town in the company of The Strzebonsky Noizescene...

In reality, Exploding Head Syndrome is a collection of steamy rock songs. Indeed, with a dark bass that hangs like a threatening storm cloud over almost every composition, while the screaming vocals are not rougher or louder than those of any specific rock band. The compositions of The Strzebonsky Noizescene sometimes have a fairly high punk content (Never Forget Never Forgive) or a post-punk content (Stating the Obvious), sometimes they lean towards hard rock (Enjoy the Fall, Go Big Go Down), other times there are some blues influence (When We Were Young), but you also hear electronics, again with a roaring bass and appealing vocals of Bert Jacobs (Exploding Head).

On Syndrome we even hear a piano, complemented by woody percussion and bell-like synths, resulting in a nice soundtrack. It’s a short instrumental composition with gentle noise at the end: different and appealing. Fade Out to Farewell teeters on the border between rock and hard rock, while Lost Times connects almost seamlessly as a smooth and dangerous rock song, and Everybody Else in the World, which floats on a dark and menacing bass, supplemented with shouted vocals, is rock with a pinch of metal, while precisely in this composition there is also plenty of room for quiet moments with some noise and what sounds like the dialogue from a movie clip. Bonus track You Might Think You Know Me floats on a strong melody, which is supported by a crash of drums and a heavy distorted bass.

Exploding Head Syndrome by The Strzebonsky Noize Scene is not an album for wimps, but a heavy rock album that will not disappoint the fans of the genre. They are doing well, these guys from Leuven!

Tracklist:
1 Enjoy the Fall
2 When We Were Young
3 Go Big Go Down
4 Never Forget Never forgive
5 Exploding Head (ft. Golden Noo$e)
6 Syndrome
7 Fade Out to Farewell
8 Stating the Obvious
9 Lost Times
0 Everybody Else in the World
1 Bonus track: You Might think You Know Me

www.strzebonsky.com

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


NL

The Strzebonsky Noizescene is een duo: Stijn Preuveneers speelt basgitaar, en Bert Jacobs drumt en verzorgt de vocalen. En het zal u verbazen, maar ze komen niet uit Oost-Europa, maar uit Leuven. Als je van killerriffs , opgepompte drums, krijsende vocalen en lawaaierig basgeluid houdt, schrijven ze in hun persbericht, dan is onze muziek beslist wat u zoekt. Doe je gordels dus al maar om, gesp ze stevig vast, en bereid je voor op een achtbaan door de smalle straten van Vlaanderens oudste universiteitsstad in het gezelschap van The Strzebonsky Noizescene…

In werkelijkheid is Exploding Head Syndrome een verzameling stomende rocksongs, met inderdaad een donkere bas die als een dreigende donderwolk boven bijna elke compositie hangt, terwijl de krijsende vocalen niet rauwer of schreeuweriger zijn dan die van soortelijke rockbands. De composities van The Strzebonsky Noizescene hebben soms een vrij hoog punkgehalte (Never Forget Never Forgive) of post-punkgehalte (Stating the Obvious), soms neigen ze eerder naar hardrock (Enjoy the Fall, Go Big Go Down), andere keren is er sprake van een zekere bluesinvloed (When We Were Young), maar er komt ook elektronica aan te pas, opnieuw met ronkend basgeluid en aantrekkelijke vocalen van Bert Jacobs (Exploding Head).

Voor Syndrome is zelfs een piano van stal gehaald, aangevuld met houtachtig slagwerk en belachtige synths, waarmee een leuke geluidsband wordt gecreëerd. Het is een korte instrumentale compositie met voorzichtige noise op het einde. Apart, anders en aantrekkelijk. Fade Out to Farewell balanceert opnieuw op de grens tussen rock en hardrock, terwijl Lost Times bijna naadloos aansluit als een vlotte en gevaarlijke rocksong, en Everybody Else in the World, dat drijft op een donkere en dreigende bas, aangevuld met geschreeuwde vocalen, is rock met een snufje metal, terwijl net in deze compositie ook veel ruimte is gelaten voor stille momenten met noise en wat klinkt als dialogen uit een filmfragment. Bonus track You Might think You Know Me drijft op een stevige melodie, die steun krijgt van roffelende drums en een stevige distorted bas.

Exploding Head Syndrome van The Strzebonsky Noizescene is geen album voor doetjes, maar als stevig rockalbum zal het liefhebbers van het genre niet teleurstellen. Ze zijn goed bezig, die Leuvenaars!

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
MAIA VIDAL • Brussels, Botanique
JO QUAIL & CASPIAN • Ghent, Minard Theatre, 9.11.2015
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
ELECTRIC FLOOR • My Bloody G.
SERAPHIM SYSTEM • This Is Invasion
YOUNG RIVAL • Interior Light
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value (EP)
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

20
11
ELEZORIA
Astray
16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

24
11
THE SOUND
Sense Of Purpose
23
11
ECHO BEATTY
Hunger Hunger
22
11
SIRENIA
Once My Light
21
11
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
20
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan