tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE - Exploding Head Syndrome

THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE

Exploding Head Syndrome

MusicCD
Indie RockNoisePost PunkPost Rock

[75/100]   

Self-released
12/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Strzebonsky Noize Scene is a duo: Stijn Preuveneers plays bass guitar and drums, Bert Jacobs takes care of the vocals. And it might surprise you, but they do not come from Eastern Europe, but from Leuven. If you like killer riffs, inflated drums, screaming vocals and a noisy bass, they write in their press release, our music is definitely what you need. So, buckle up and get ready for a roller coaster ride through the narrow streets of Flanders' oldest university town in the company of The Strzebonsky Noizescene...

In reality, Exploding Head Syndrome is a collection of steamy rock songs. Indeed, with a dark bass that hangs like a threatening storm cloud over almost every composition, while the screaming vocals are not rougher or louder than those of any specific rock band. The compositions of The Strzebonsky Noizescene sometimes have a fairly high punk content (Never Forget Never Forgive) or a post-punk content (Stating the Obvious), sometimes they lean towards hard rock (Enjoy the Fall, Go Big Go Down), other times there are some blues influence (When We Were Young), but you also hear electronics, again with a roaring bass and appealing vocals of Bert Jacobs (Exploding Head).

On Syndrome we even hear a piano, complemented by woody percussion and bell-like synths, resulting in a nice soundtrack. It’s a short instrumental composition with gentle noise at the end: different and appealing. Fade Out to Farewell teeters on the border between rock and hard rock, while Lost Times connects almost seamlessly as a smooth and dangerous rock song, and Everybody Else in the World, which floats on a dark and menacing bass, supplemented with shouted vocals, is rock with a pinch of metal, while precisely in this composition there is also plenty of room for quiet moments with some noise and what sounds like the dialogue from a movie clip. Bonus track You Might Think You Know Me floats on a strong melody, which is supported by a crash of drums and a heavy distorted bass.

Exploding Head Syndrome by The Strzebonsky Noize Scene is not an album for wimps, but a heavy rock album that will not disappoint the fans of the genre. They are doing well, these guys from Leuven!

Tracklist:
1 Enjoy the Fall
2 When We Were Young
3 Go Big Go Down
4 Never Forget Never forgive
5 Exploding Head (ft. Golden Noo$e)
6 Syndrome
7 Fade Out to Farewell
8 Stating the Obvious
9 Lost Times
0 Everybody Else in the World
1 Bonus track: You Might think You Know Me

www.strzebonsky.com

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


NL

The Strzebonsky Noizescene is een duo: Stijn Preuveneers speelt basgitaar, en Bert Jacobs drumt en verzorgt de vocalen. En het zal u verbazen, maar ze komen niet uit Oost-Europa, maar uit Leuven. Als je van killerriffs , opgepompte drums, krijsende vocalen en lawaaierig basgeluid houdt, schrijven ze in hun persbericht, dan is onze muziek beslist wat u zoekt. Doe je gordels dus al maar om, gesp ze stevig vast, en bereid je voor op een achtbaan door de smalle straten van Vlaanderens oudste universiteitsstad in het gezelschap van The Strzebonsky Noizescene…

In werkelijkheid is Exploding Head Syndrome een verzameling stomende rocksongs, met inderdaad een donkere bas die als een dreigende donderwolk boven bijna elke compositie hangt, terwijl de krijsende vocalen niet rauwer of schreeuweriger zijn dan die van soortelijke rockbands. De composities van The Strzebonsky Noizescene hebben soms een vrij hoog punkgehalte (Never Forget Never Forgive) of post-punkgehalte (Stating the Obvious), soms neigen ze eerder naar hardrock (Enjoy the Fall, Go Big Go Down), andere keren is er sprake van een zekere bluesinvloed (When We Were Young), maar er komt ook elektronica aan te pas, opnieuw met ronkend basgeluid en aantrekkelijke vocalen van Bert Jacobs (Exploding Head).

Voor Syndrome is zelfs een piano van stal gehaald, aangevuld met houtachtig slagwerk en belachtige synths, waarmee een leuke geluidsband wordt gecreëerd. Het is een korte instrumentale compositie met voorzichtige noise op het einde. Apart, anders en aantrekkelijk. Fade Out to Farewell balanceert opnieuw op de grens tussen rock en hardrock, terwijl Lost Times bijna naadloos aansluit als een vlotte en gevaarlijke rocksong, en Everybody Else in the World, dat drijft op een donkere en dreigende bas, aangevuld met geschreeuwde vocalen, is rock met een snufje metal, terwijl net in deze compositie ook veel ruimte is gelaten voor stille momenten met noise en wat klinkt als dialogen uit een filmfragment. Bonus track You Might think You Know Me drijft op een stevige melodie, die steun krijgt van roffelende drums en een stevige distorted bas.

Exploding Head Syndrome van The Strzebonsky Noizescene is geen album voor doetjes, maar als stevig rockalbum zal het liefhebbers van het genre niet teleurstellen. Ze zijn goed bezig, die Leuvenaars!

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
MAIA VIDAL • Brussels, Botanique
JO QUAIL & CASPIAN • Ghent, Minard Theatre, 9.11.2015
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
ELECTRIC FLOOR • My Bloody G.
SERAPHIM SYSTEM • This Is Invasion
YOUNG RIVAL • Interior Light
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value (EP)
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)

 

Same genre: NOISE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls