tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

12/11/2015 : ORANJ SON - Psycho Disco Face

ORANJ SON

Psycho Disco Face

MusicDigital
IndiePost PunkShoegazeSynth Wave

[80/100]   

Self-released
12/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

To create a rich sound, there’s nothing better than bringing together musicians with a different background : punk , psychedelia , krautrock, folk or soul. Very interesting indeed, especially if they also listened to interesting and influential bands like Velvet Underground , Teardrop Explodes , Echo and The Bunnymen , The Jesus and Mary Chain, Tame Impala, The Clash, Massive Attack, Gorillaz, Future Islands or New Order.

Well, the boys of the British band Oranj Son are musicians as such. All different styles like indie, shoegaze, postpunk and electro are beautifully combined on the debut single Psycho Disco Face.

Hopefully it is the start of many more, especially as these are students who so far mainly released self- recorded tracks. But with a lot of potential ! On their Soundcloud you can find out what these guys have to offer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/11/2015


NL

Niets is verrijkender voor het creëren van een eigen geluid dan het samenbrengen van muzikanten met een verschillende smaak en achtergrond: punk, psychedelische muziek, krautrock, folk, soul... Zeer interessant, zeker als ze ook nog eens naar diverse bands hebben geluisterd die in het verleden wat betekenden: The Velvet Underground, The Teardrop Explodes, Echo And The Bunnymen, The Jesus and Mary Chain, Tame Impala, The Clash, Massive Attack, Gorillaz, Future Islands of bijv. New Order.

Wel, de jongens van de Britse band Oranj Son hebben dit alles mooi samen gebracht in hun eigen muziekstijl. Indie-, shoegaze-, postpunk- en electro-invloeden weerklinken op de debuutsingle Psycho Disco Face.

Hopelijk is het de voorbode van véél meer, zeker als we weten dat dit studenten zijn wiens muzikale escapades, naast een aantal optredens, vooral bestaan uit zelf opgenomen tracks. Maar met véél potentieel dus! Op hun Soundcloud kan je ontdekken wat deze jongens nog in hun mars hebben.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/11/2015


 

Next reviews
MAIA VIDAL • Brussels, Botanique
JO QUAIL & CASPIAN • Ghent, Minard Theatre, 9.11.2015
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
ELECTRIC FLOOR • My Bloody G.
SERAPHIM SYSTEM • This Is Invasion
YOUNG RIVAL • Interior Light
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value (EP)
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
HORTUS BOTANICUS • (NL, Leiden)

 

Same genre: INDIE
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis