tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

12/11/2015 : ORANJ SON - Psycho Disco Face

ORANJ SON

Psycho Disco Face

MusicDigital
IndiePost PunkShoegazeSynth Wave

[80/100]   

Self-released
12/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

To create a rich sound, there’s nothing better than bringing together musicians with a different background : punk , psychedelia , krautrock, folk or soul. Very interesting indeed, especially if they also listened to interesting and influential bands like Velvet Underground , Teardrop Explodes , Echo and The Bunnymen , The Jesus and Mary Chain, Tame Impala, The Clash, Massive Attack, Gorillaz, Future Islands or New Order.

Well, the boys of the British band Oranj Son are musicians as such. All different styles like indie, shoegaze, postpunk and electro are beautifully combined on the debut single Psycho Disco Face.

Hopefully it is the start of many more, especially as these are students who so far mainly released self- recorded tracks. But with a lot of potential ! On their Soundcloud you can find out what these guys have to offer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/11/2015


NL

Niets is verrijkender voor het creëren van een eigen geluid dan het samenbrengen van muzikanten met een verschillende smaak en achtergrond: punk, psychedelische muziek, krautrock, folk, soul... Zeer interessant, zeker als ze ook nog eens naar diverse bands hebben geluisterd die in het verleden wat betekenden: The Velvet Underground, The Teardrop Explodes, Echo And The Bunnymen, The Jesus and Mary Chain, Tame Impala, The Clash, Massive Attack, Gorillaz, Future Islands of bijv. New Order.

Wel, de jongens van de Britse band Oranj Son hebben dit alles mooi samen gebracht in hun eigen muziekstijl. Indie-, shoegaze-, postpunk- en electro-invloeden weerklinken op de debuutsingle Psycho Disco Face.

Hopelijk is het de voorbode van véél meer, zeker als we weten dat dit studenten zijn wiens muzikale escapades, naast een aantal optredens, vooral bestaan uit zelf opgenomen tracks. Maar met véél potentieel dus! Op hun Soundcloud kan je ontdekken wat deze jongens nog in hun mars hebben.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/11/2015


 

Next reviews
MAIA VIDAL • Brussels, Botanique
JO QUAIL & CASPIAN • Ghent, Minard Theatre, 9.11.2015
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
ELECTRIC FLOOR • My Bloody G.
SERAPHIM SYSTEM • This Is Invasion
YOUNG RIVAL • Interior Light
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value (EP)
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
HORTUS BOTANICUS • (NL, Leiden)

 

Same genre: INDIE
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
APSURDE • See Me Coming
DARK DOOR • Inferno
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid