tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/11/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - Brussels, Botanique

MAIA VIDAL

Brussels, Botanique

Concert
11/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Maia Vidal is in all aspects of life a centipede. As a child of a French-Spanish father and a German-Japanese mother, this damsel is what you call a real multicultural. Not only does she speak a lot of languages ​​, she also lived everywhere. But Maia is not only versatile in that area, musically you can’t pigeonhole her either, and she plays a lot of different instruments. It is no coincidence that this beautiful lady ended up at Crammed Discs. Pop remains the key word, but Maia Vidal is so more than that, something she proved with full dedication at the Rotonde of the Botanique-venue in Brussels.

Maia entered the stage barefoot, with her face wrapped in a black shawl. Next to the mystic lady there was an electric drum and the bass of Giuliano Cobelli. Maia immediately started with The Bed We Made. Lovely pop with a voice that recalls of Lilly Allen, but with the quality of Björk. With charming French interludes, Maia gently flew from one song to another. Most of them were taken from her third album You're The Waves (Jell-O, The Tide or Eyes Ears Lungs Lips), but also the wonderful Our Place that was composed for a short film by Alejandro Amenábar.

Maia looks chamois sweet, but the pretty lady is full of vicious black humor. While she and her ex (and the third band member) share the stage, she announces laughing that Mama Told Me So is a song that they both wrote about the rupture. It is indeed a tough world, and maybe just a little too hard for a young woman who can compose a track like Islands Of You And Me. Whose heart doesn’t melt if they hear Maia sing the catchy words I'm giving you my heart, do not break it please.

The audience was deeply moved by the electronic pop of Maia Vidal. Maia was funny, enthusiastic because she returned to the most beautiful venue of Belgium, but she especially proved that You're The Waves is not coincidentally her best album so far. To say it with Maia’s words: we are the waves, she is the beach. The ideal place to refresh the mind with thoughtful, beautiful pop.

Afterwards Peek-A-Boo had a nice chat with Maia, so keep checking our pages, as soon an interview will be published!

Click below for the photos photographer Siméon Janssens, click here to take a look at his portfolio.

Didier BECU
11/11/2015


NL

Maia Vidal is op alle vlakken een duizendpoot. Als kind van een Frans-Spaanse vader en een Duits-Japanese moeder is deze jonge vrouw wat je noemt multicultureel. Ze spreekt niet alleen heel wat talen, ook leefde ze zowat overal. Maar Maia is niet alleen op dat vlak veelzijdig, ook op muzikaal vlak kun je deze artieste niet in één hokje duwen en bespeelt ze heel wat verschillende instrumenten. Het is dan ook geen toeval dat deze mooie dame bij Crammed Discs terecht kwam. Pop blijft wel het sleutelwoord, maar Maia Vidal is zo meer dan dat, wat ze met volle overgave bewees in de Rotonde van de Brusselse Botanique.

Maia kwam blootsvoets, met haar gezicht in een zwarte sjaal gehuld, het podium op. Naast deze mystieke dame stond een elektrische drum opgesteld en de basgitaar van Giuliano Cobelli.

Meteen begon Maia met The Bed We Made. Heerlijke pop met een stem die wat aan Lilly Allen herinnert, maar met de kwaliteit van Björk. In uiterst charmant Frans dartelde Maia van de ene song naar de andere. De meeste nummers uit haar derde album You’re The Waves (Jell-O, The Tide of Eyes Ears Lungs Lips) werden gespeeld, maar ook bijv. het wondermooie Our Place dat werd gecomponeerd voor een kortfilm van Alejandro Amenábar.

Maia ziet er zeemzoet uit, maar de knappe dame zit tevens vol venijnige zwarte humor. Terwijl ze samen met haar ex (en derde bandslid) het podium deelt, kondigt ze lachend aan dat Mama Told Me So (een nummer over de scheiding) samen met hem is geschreven. Het is inderdaad een harde wereld, en misschien net iets te hard voor een jonge vrouw die een nummer als Islands Of You And Me kan componeren. Geef toe, je hart gewoon als je Maia de pakkende woorden hoort zingen: I’m giving you my heart, don’t break it please.

De elektronische pop van Maia Vidal liet niemand ongeroerd. Maia was grappig, dolenthousiast omdat ze opnieuw in de mooiste concertzaal van het land mocht optreden, maar ze bewees vooral dat You’re The Waves niet toevallig haar beste album tot nu toe is. Om het Maias woorden te zeggen: wij zijn de golven, zij het strand. De ideale plek om onze geest te laven met weldoordachte, prachtige pop.

Na afloop had Peek-A-Boo nog een leuke babbel met de zangeres, hou dus onze pagina’s in het oog voor een interview!

Klik onderaan voor de foto’s die fotograaf Siméon Janssens ter beschikking stelde aan onze site, en klik hier voor een kijkje op zijn portfolio.

Didier BECU
11/11/2015


11/11/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - Brussels, Botanique 11/11/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - Brussels, Botanique 11/11/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - Brussels, Botanique 11/11/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - Brussels, Botanique 11/11/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - Brussels, Botanique 11/11/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - Brussels, Botanique 11/11/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - Brussels, Botanique 11/11/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - Brussels, Botanique 11/11/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - Brussels, Botanique 11/11/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - Brussels, Botanique

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'
09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine