tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

13/12/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - The Tide

MAIA VIDAL

The Tide

MusicCD (EP)
Pop

[65/100]   

Crammed Discs
13/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Maia Vidal is an American who mainly lives in Europe (Barcelona, ​​Paris). She already released three albums and recently wrote the song Our Place for the short film Vale. Furthermore, Maia is also a visual artist who directs the clips for her latest singles.

Tide EP consists of material that is taken from her recent album You're The Waves. The song Tide has a very beautiful vocal line. It’s an earwig that searches a place in your head. Unfortunately, the rest of the song has almost no substance. The Giuliano Gius Cobelli Remix is much better and surrounds the vocals better. The same can be said about the Ozanremix (Oscar & the Wolf).

In The Bed We Made, Maia’s thin and dreamy voice takes you away. Bones is the least polished and the most interesting track. A fine rhythm and great vocals with a pretty chorus. The remix is not of the same level because the chorus is overwhelmed by the effects.

The EP unquestionably shows Maia Vidal talent. It is not perfect yet, but I still see many possibilities for the future!

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2015


NL

Maia Vidal is een Amerikaanse die hoofdzakelijk in Europa (Barcelona, Parijs) verblijft. Ze heeft al drie albums uitgebracht en schreef recent nog het nummer Our Place voor de kortfilm Vale. Voorts is Maia ook een visuele artieste die zelf de clips voor haar laatste singles regisseert.

Tide EP bestaat uit materiaal dat uit haar recente album You’re The Waves komt.

Het nummer Tide heeft een geweldig mooie zanglijn. Een oorworm die zich moeiteloos in je hoofd nestelt. Helaas heeft de de rest van de song maar weinig om het lijf. De Guiliano Gius Cobelli Remix van het nummer is veel beter geslaagd en omringt de zang beter. Dat geldt ook voor de Ozanremix (Oscar & the Wolf). The Bed We Made zit songgewijs beter in elkaar. Haar ijle en dromerigere stem neemt je zo mee. Bones is misschien wel het minst gepolijste en het interessantste nummer. Een fijn ritme en dito zang met een knap refrein. De remix vind ik minder geslaagd, omdat het refrein door de effecten wordt overspoeld en daardoor zijn catchy karakter en speelsheid verliest.

De ep toont zonder twijfel Maia Vidals talent. Perfect is het nog niet, maar ik zie de mogelijkheid dat dit in de toekomst beter kan!

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2015


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey