tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

13/12/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - The Tide

MAIA VIDAL

The Tide

MusicCD (EP)
Pop

[65/100]   

Crammed Discs
13/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Maia Vidal is an American who mainly lives in Europe (Barcelona, ​​Paris). She already released three albums and recently wrote the song Our Place for the short film Vale. Furthermore, Maia is also a visual artist who directs the clips for her latest singles.

Tide EP consists of material that is taken from her recent album You're The Waves. The song Tide has a very beautiful vocal line. It’s an earwig that searches a place in your head. Unfortunately, the rest of the song has almost no substance. The Giuliano Gius Cobelli Remix is much better and surrounds the vocals better. The same can be said about the Ozanremix (Oscar & the Wolf).

In The Bed We Made, Maia’s thin and dreamy voice takes you away. Bones is the least polished and the most interesting track. A fine rhythm and great vocals with a pretty chorus. The remix is not of the same level because the chorus is overwhelmed by the effects.

The EP unquestionably shows Maia Vidal talent. It is not perfect yet, but I still see many possibilities for the future!

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2015


NL

Maia Vidal is een Amerikaanse die hoofdzakelijk in Europa (Barcelona, Parijs) verblijft. Ze heeft al drie albums uitgebracht en schreef recent nog het nummer Our Place voor de kortfilm Vale. Voorts is Maia ook een visuele artieste die zelf de clips voor haar laatste singles regisseert.

Tide EP bestaat uit materiaal dat uit haar recente album You’re The Waves komt.

Het nummer Tide heeft een geweldig mooie zanglijn. Een oorworm die zich moeiteloos in je hoofd nestelt. Helaas heeft de de rest van de song maar weinig om het lijf. De Guiliano Gius Cobelli Remix van het nummer is veel beter geslaagd en omringt de zang beter. Dat geldt ook voor de Ozanremix (Oscar & the Wolf). The Bed We Made zit songgewijs beter in elkaar. Haar ijle en dromerigere stem neemt je zo mee. Bones is misschien wel het minst gepolijste en het interessantste nummer. Een fijn ritme en dito zang met een knap refrein. De remix vind ik minder geslaagd, omdat het refrein door de effecten wordt overspoeld en daardoor zijn catchy karakter en speelsheid verliest.

De ep toont zonder twijfel Maia Vidals talent. Perfect is het nog niet, maar ik zie de mogelijkheid dat dit in de toekomst beter kan!

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2015


Music reviews

04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven