tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

13/12/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - The Tide

MAIA VIDAL

The Tide

MusicCD (EP)
Pop

[65/100]   

Crammed Discs
13/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Maia Vidal is an American who mainly lives in Europe (Barcelona, ​​Paris). She already released three albums and recently wrote the song Our Place for the short film Vale. Furthermore, Maia is also a visual artist who directs the clips for her latest singles.

Tide EP consists of material that is taken from her recent album You're The Waves. The song Tide has a very beautiful vocal line. It’s an earwig that searches a place in your head. Unfortunately, the rest of the song has almost no substance. The Giuliano Gius Cobelli Remix is much better and surrounds the vocals better. The same can be said about the Ozanremix (Oscar & the Wolf).

In The Bed We Made, Maia’s thin and dreamy voice takes you away. Bones is the least polished and the most interesting track. A fine rhythm and great vocals with a pretty chorus. The remix is not of the same level because the chorus is overwhelmed by the effects.

The EP unquestionably shows Maia Vidal talent. It is not perfect yet, but I still see many possibilities for the future!

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2015


NL

Maia Vidal is een Amerikaanse die hoofdzakelijk in Europa (Barcelona, Parijs) verblijft. Ze heeft al drie albums uitgebracht en schreef recent nog het nummer Our Place voor de kortfilm Vale. Voorts is Maia ook een visuele artieste die zelf de clips voor haar laatste singles regisseert.

Tide EP bestaat uit materiaal dat uit haar recente album You’re The Waves komt.

Het nummer Tide heeft een geweldig mooie zanglijn. Een oorworm die zich moeiteloos in je hoofd nestelt. Helaas heeft de de rest van de song maar weinig om het lijf. De Guiliano Gius Cobelli Remix van het nummer is veel beter geslaagd en omringt de zang beter. Dat geldt ook voor de Ozanremix (Oscar & the Wolf). The Bed We Made zit songgewijs beter in elkaar. Haar ijle en dromerigere stem neemt je zo mee. Bones is misschien wel het minst gepolijste en het interessantste nummer. Een fijn ritme en dito zang met een knap refrein. De remix vind ik minder geslaagd, omdat het refrein door de effecten wordt overspoeld en daardoor zijn catchy karakter en speelsheid verliest.

De ep toont zonder twijfel Maia Vidals talent. Perfect is het nog niet, maar ik zie de mogelijkheid dat dit in de toekomst beter kan!

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2015


Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection