tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

13/12/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - The Tide

MAIA VIDAL

The Tide

MusicCD (EP)
Pop

[65/100]   

Crammed Discs
13/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Maia Vidal is an American who mainly lives in Europe (Barcelona, ​​Paris). She already released three albums and recently wrote the song Our Place for the short film Vale. Furthermore, Maia is also a visual artist who directs the clips for her latest singles.

Tide EP consists of material that is taken from her recent album You're The Waves. The song Tide has a very beautiful vocal line. It’s an earwig that searches a place in your head. Unfortunately, the rest of the song has almost no substance. The Giuliano Gius Cobelli Remix is much better and surrounds the vocals better. The same can be said about the Ozanremix (Oscar & the Wolf).

In The Bed We Made, Maia’s thin and dreamy voice takes you away. Bones is the least polished and the most interesting track. A fine rhythm and great vocals with a pretty chorus. The remix is not of the same level because the chorus is overwhelmed by the effects.

The EP unquestionably shows Maia Vidal talent. It is not perfect yet, but I still see many possibilities for the future!

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2015


NL

Maia Vidal is een Amerikaanse die hoofdzakelijk in Europa (Barcelona, Parijs) verblijft. Ze heeft al drie albums uitgebracht en schreef recent nog het nummer Our Place voor de kortfilm Vale. Voorts is Maia ook een visuele artieste die zelf de clips voor haar laatste singles regisseert.

Tide EP bestaat uit materiaal dat uit haar recente album You’re The Waves komt.

Het nummer Tide heeft een geweldig mooie zanglijn. Een oorworm die zich moeiteloos in je hoofd nestelt. Helaas heeft de de rest van de song maar weinig om het lijf. De Guiliano Gius Cobelli Remix van het nummer is veel beter geslaagd en omringt de zang beter. Dat geldt ook voor de Ozanremix (Oscar & the Wolf). The Bed We Made zit songgewijs beter in elkaar. Haar ijle en dromerigere stem neemt je zo mee. Bones is misschien wel het minst gepolijste en het interessantste nummer. Een fijn ritme en dito zang met een knap refrein. De remix vind ik minder geslaagd, omdat het refrein door de effecten wordt overspoeld en daardoor zijn catchy karakter en speelsheid verliest.

De ep toont zonder twijfel Maia Vidals talent. Perfect is het nog niet, maar ik zie de mogelijkheid dat dit in de toekomst beter kan!

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain