tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

13/12/2015 : MAIA VIDAL - The Tide

MAIA VIDAL

The Tide

MusicCD (EP)
Pop

[65/100]   

Crammed Discs
13/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Maia Vidal is an American who mainly lives in Europe (Barcelona, ​​Paris). She already released three albums and recently wrote the song Our Place for the short film Vale. Furthermore, Maia is also a visual artist who directs the clips for her latest singles.

Tide EP consists of material that is taken from her recent album You're The Waves. The song Tide has a very beautiful vocal line. It’s an earwig that searches a place in your head. Unfortunately, the rest of the song has almost no substance. The Giuliano Gius Cobelli Remix is much better and surrounds the vocals better. The same can be said about the Ozanremix (Oscar & the Wolf).

In The Bed We Made, Maia’s thin and dreamy voice takes you away. Bones is the least polished and the most interesting track. A fine rhythm and great vocals with a pretty chorus. The remix is not of the same level because the chorus is overwhelmed by the effects.

The EP unquestionably shows Maia Vidal talent. It is not perfect yet, but I still see many possibilities for the future!

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2015


NL

Maia Vidal is een Amerikaanse die hoofdzakelijk in Europa (Barcelona, Parijs) verblijft. Ze heeft al drie albums uitgebracht en schreef recent nog het nummer Our Place voor de kortfilm Vale. Voorts is Maia ook een visuele artieste die zelf de clips voor haar laatste singles regisseert.

Tide EP bestaat uit materiaal dat uit haar recente album You’re The Waves komt.

Het nummer Tide heeft een geweldig mooie zanglijn. Een oorworm die zich moeiteloos in je hoofd nestelt. Helaas heeft de de rest van de song maar weinig om het lijf. De Guiliano Gius Cobelli Remix van het nummer is veel beter geslaagd en omringt de zang beter. Dat geldt ook voor de Ozanremix (Oscar & the Wolf). The Bed We Made zit songgewijs beter in elkaar. Haar ijle en dromerigere stem neemt je zo mee. Bones is misschien wel het minst gepolijste en het interessantste nummer. Een fijn ritme en dito zang met een knap refrein. De remix vind ik minder geslaagd, omdat het refrein door de effecten wordt overspoeld en daardoor zijn catchy karakter en speelsheid verliest.

De ep toont zonder twijfel Maia Vidals talent. Perfect is het nog niet, maar ik zie de mogelijkheid dat dit in de toekomst beter kan!

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2015


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus