tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

10/12/2015 : ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

ELS MORTELMANS (KONER)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
10/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Recently, the Belgian duo Koner released its newest (great) single Die Babbie. After a short fall break, Peek-A-Boo starts again its series with the ten albums that changed a life, and this time we interrogated Els of Koner!

1. QUEEN - Made in Heaven
What a band! Wonderful music, lyrics and performances. Their songs are still milestones and nobody does what Freddy did: for me he is one of the few artists who sings his lyrics with a lot of feeling. Too Much Love Will Kill You is my favorite ballad: I still gives goose bumps every time I hear that song.

2. MICHAEL JACKSON - This Is It
In 2009, I went to the movies with my mom to see the documentary This Is It. Although I already was a fan of Michael, it impressed me. Watching him behind the scenes (music, song, dance) has enhanced my respect for him. From childhood on he was an accomplished artist on stage and he has an incredible sense of rhythm. He was truly a phenomenon and I often listen to his music.

3. DAS POP - Das Pop
In 2012, I saw Das Pop live at De Coupurefeesten (festival in Belgium-ed.). I immediately was sold: the varied songs and the flair that goes with it: wow! Das Pop earns a place next to Belgian waffles, chocolate and the Atomium; known all over the world! I hope that I’m able to see them on stage someday.

4. ABBA - The Visitors
At the elementary schoo,l I was befriended with a girl who, just like me, was keen on ABBA. We learned the lyrics without understanding what they were about, but who cares, we could sing our favorite songs. To me The Visitors is an album that demonstrates versatility, maturity, mystery, expertise and much more. Each song is a story in itself, but my favorite is The Visitors, because it has something menacing and bizarre.

5. Madonna - Madonna (The first album)
Madonna has balls and she wasn’t born with them, she had thosev from the beginning of a very varied career. She is a role model for young girls, for the old fans who grew up with her, but also for many artists. Holiday, Borderline and Lucky Star are still my favorites, because I danced a lot on those songs in nightclubs. Another very versatile artist!

6. BARBRA STREISAND - Timeless: Live in concert
The only singer who sings with such ease that you would almost think you also can do it yourself. Need I say more?

7. THE BEACH BOYS - Smiley Smile
The Beach Boys is the favorite band of my oldest brother Wim, and so I got to know their music. Their music, thanks to the voice of Brian Wilson, always attracted me. This album is a winner because it is so unique: bizarre, free, spontaneous and psychedelic. My absolute favorite is Heroes and Villains and that has much to do with the vocals. Love it!

8. VARIOUS ARTISTS - Xanadu Soundtrack
Despite the fact that Xanadu was not a success and the negative criticism that it got, for me it is still one of the best musical films ever. Olivia Newton-John and Gene Kelly, two icons (vocals, dance) and the rock music of ELO are the reason. ELO can tempt me again and again with its great rock music and the fine lead and backing vocals. The soundtrack is a real joy to listen to and indeed lovely to sing along.

9. DAFT PUNK - Homework
This French band found the perfect balance between different musical styles and often comes up with innovative tracks that are an inspiration for their colleagues. I often used tracks from this album in my former DJ sets and maybe we’ll do them again when Peter and I play as Koner. My favorite track is Rock 'n roll.

10. CHEMICAL BROTHERS - Brotherhood
Electronic music that I completely love. For me, this album oozes a lot of strength from the aggression of the music, the song and the lyrics. Delicious!

Didier BECU
10/12/2015


NL

Onlangs bracht het Belgische duo Koner de knappe single Die Babbie uit. Na een korte herfstpauze start Peek-A-Boo opnieuw met de tien albums die een leven veranderen, van Els van Koner bijvoorbeeld!

1. QUEEN - Made in Heaven
Wat een band! Prachtige muziek, teksten en performances! Hun songs blijven gewoon steengoed en niemand doet het Freddy na: voor mij één van de weinige artiesten die zijn teksten met zoveel gevoel zingt. Too Much Love Will Kill You is mijn favoriete ballade: ik krijg nog elke keer kippenvel bij het horen van die song.

2. MICHAEL JACKSON - This is it
In 2009 ben ik samen met mijn mama de documentaire This Is It in de bioscoop gaan zien en die heeft een zeer diepe indruk op mij gemaakt, hoewel ik al een fan van Michael was. Hem achter de schermen aan het werk zien (muziek, zang, dans) heeft mijn respect voor hem nog vergroot. Van kindsbeen af stond hij op een podium als een volleerd artiest en daar hoorde hij thuis met zijn ongelooflijk gevoel voor ritme. Hij was echt een fenomeen en ik luister nog vaak naar zijn muziek.

3. DAS POP- Das Pop
In 2012 heb ik Das Pop live zien optreden op de Coupurefeesten. Ik was onmiddellijk verkocht; de gevarieerde machtige nummers en de flair waarmee ze gebracht werden: wow! Das Pop verdient van mij een plaats naast de Belgische wafels, chocolade en het Atomium; bekend over de hele wereld! Ik hoop ze ooit nog eens aan het werk te kunnen zien.

4. ABBA - The Visitors
Op de lagere school was ik bevriend met een meisje dat net als ik in de ban was van ABBA. We leerden de teksten vanbuiten zonder te verstaan waarover het ging, maar wie maalt daarom, we konden onze favoriete nummers wel meezingen. The Visitors is voor mij een album dat getuigt van veelzijdigheid, volwassenheid, mysterie, deskundigheid en zoveel meer. Elk nummer is een verhaal op zich, maar mijn favoriet is The Visitors omdat het iets dreigends en bizars heeft.

5. MADONNA– Madonna (The first album)
Madonna heeft ballen aan haar lijf en die heeft ze niet gekweekt, maar had ze al van in het begin van haar muzikale, zeer gevarieerde carrière. Ze is een rolmodel voor jonge meisjes, voor de oudere garde die met haar is opgegroeid, maar ook voor veel artiesten. Holiday, Borderline en Lucky Star behoren tot haar eerste nummers, maar zijn nog steeds mijn favorieten omdat ik er zelf veel op gedanst heb in discotheken. Alweer een zeer veelzijdige artieste!

6. BARBRA STREISAND - Timeless: live in concert
De enige zangeres die met zulk een gemak zingt dat je bijna zou denken dat je het zelf ook kan. Need I say more?

7. THE BEACH BOYS - Smiley Smile
The Beach Boys is de favoriete band van mijn oudste broer Wim, en zo heb ik hun muziek leren kennen. Hun muziek, mede dankzij de stem van Brian Wilson, heeft me altijd bekoord. Dit album is een topper omdat het zo uniek is: bizar, vrij, spontaan en psychedelisch. Mijn absolute favoriet is Heroes and Villains en dat heeft veel te maken met de koortjes. Love it!

8. VARIOUS ARTISTS - Xanadu Soundtrack
Xanadu is, ondanks het feit dat het geen succes was en de negatieve kritiek die het kreeg, voor mij nog steeds één van de beste muzikale films ooit. Olivia Newton-John en Gene Kelly, twee iconen (zang, dans) en de rockmuziek van ELO zijn daar de reden van. ELO kan me keer op keer bekoren met zijn grootse rockmuziek en de heerlijke lead- en backin vocals. De soundtrack is een echt feest om naar te luisteren en trouwens heerlijk om mee te zingen.

9. DAFT PUNK - Homework
Deze Franse band heeft de perfecte balans gevonden tussen verschillende muziekstijlen en brengt vaak vernieuwende nummers uit die een bron van inspiratie zijn voor collega’s. Ik verwerkte vaak tracks uit dit album in mijn vroegere DJ-sets en misschien komen die opnieuw aan bod als Peter en ik samen zullen draaien als Koner. Mijn favoriete track is Rock ‘n roll. Het nummer is prachtige opgebouwd en sleept je volledig mee.

10. CHEMICAL BROTHERS - Brotherhood
Elektronische muziek waar ik enorm van hou. Voor mij straalt dit album enorm veel kracht uit door de agressie van de muziek, de zang en de teksten. Heerlijk!

Didier BECU
10/12/2015


10/12/2015 : ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2015 : ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2015 : ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2015 : ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2015 : ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2015 : ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2015 : ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2015 : ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2015 : ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2015 : ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2015 : ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

18
11
THE COCKY BITCHES
MERCY
17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad