tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this book review

09/12/2015 : MICHELLE MERCER - Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)

MICHELLE MERCER

Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)

Book
Biography

[85/100]   
09/12/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Joni Mitchell is one of the most intriguing artists of the past 50 years and her album Blue (1971) is not only recognized as a landmark, it is also one of the most appreciated and revered productions of recent musical history. Many generations of young men and women have matured to the tones of Blue and it helped them often in discovering and clarifying their deepest emotions, because Blue is a so-called confession album, in which the Canadian singer-songwriter shares her personal emotions in a very emphatic and unveiled way with the listener. She herself was probably a little shocked by the vigor and sincerity, that could be measured by the reactions of the fans. After the release of the album, she retired for over a year in her cottage on the Canadian east coast to catch her breath, but her so-called Blue Period would take years, and author Michelle Mercer has come to the conclusion that the albums For the Roses (1972), her second masterpiece Court and Spark (1974) and even Hejira (1976) are eligible, and that is very plausible, because on her next album, Don Juan's Reckless Daughter (1977), Joni Mitchell resolutely opted for jazz and destroyed the image of the blonde girl with the guitar and the angelic voice. The fans did not understand it, because they wanted more of the same – that’s the way fans are - and consequently Mitchell’s album sales plunged completely. It would take until 1982 before she gave in to the pressure and released accessible material again.

Michelle Mercer has interviewed Joni Mitchell elaborately in the course of many years, and she met her often on other occasions, where she could observe the artist with her friends and acquaintances. For Will You Take Me As I Am, she has consulted interviews and books from colleagues to make an accurate and complete portrait of Joni Mitchell (which it obviously can never be) and perhaps she herself is a fan (why else would you write such a book?), but she proves to be able to take enough distance to approach the topic of her interest with sufficient objectivity. As a result, Will You Take Me As I Am is not only a fascinating, but also an original book in which admiration and respect are linked to a strictly professional and journalistic approach, which is often lacking in this genre. And to avoid blunders, Mercer has discussed her findings with artists and actors from the entourage of the artist, sometimes with amazing results.

The author does not proceed chronologically, but she connects events and trends from different periods, so that a clear and hopefully regular behavior appears that can be linked to the musical output of Joni Mitchell, the culture and the zeitgeist in general. It is an exciting process. Those who are familiar with the life of Joni Mitchell from earlier books and articles, will not really find new facts in Will You Take Me As I Am. It is rather a refinement of certain known facts and circumstances, presented in an attractive style, allowing music lovers who are no fan of the Canadian artist to keep reading. For hardcore fans of her work, this is an indispensable book because it provides insight into the intense and uncertain period of her life and career between 1970 and 1976, which can be related to the aforementioned albums.

Will You Take Me As I Am, is certainly one of the key phrases from the work of Joni Mitchell, an artist who often felt misunderstood and was not willing to give in to the expectations of her fans, and regretted the fact that they begrudged her personal and artistic freedom. Someone like Bob Dylan has definitely taken similar decisions to similar effect, but apparently he felt less threatened by public rejection and criticism. Joni Mitchell belongs to a different and more sensitive species, but it has paid off, because during the darkest periods of her life, she wrote her best work.

Michelle Mercer’s Will You Take Me As I Am is not published in Dutch, but the book can be ordered through the usual channels. 

Backbeat Books, 2009
Paperback, English, 239 pag.

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2015


NL

Joni Mitchell is één van de meest intrigerende artiesten uit de voorbije 50 jaar en haar album Blue (1971) wordt niet alleen erkend als een mijlpaal, het is tevens een van de meest geapprecieerde en vereerde producties uit de recente muziekgeschiedenis. Vele generaties jonge mannen en vrouwen zijn volwassen geworden op de tonen van Blue en het hielp ze vaak bij het ontdekken en verduidelijken van hun diepste emoties, want het is een zgn. bekentenisalbum, waarin de Canadese singer-songwriter haar eigen emoties op een zeer nadrukkelijke en niets versluierende manier met de luisteraar deelt. Zelf was ze wellicht een beetje geschrokken van de heftigheid en de openhartigheid, want die kon ze afmeten aan de reacties van de fans. Na de release trok ze zich een heel jaar terug in haar huisje aan de Canadese oostkust om op adem te komen, maar haar zgn. Blue Period zou nog jaren duren, en auteur Michelle Mercer is tot de conclusie gekomen dat ook de albums For the Roses (1972), haar andere meesterwerk Court and Spark (1974) en zelfs Hejira (1976) in aanmerking komen, en daar is wat voor te zeggen, want op haar volgende album, Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter (1977) koos Joni Mitchell resoluut voor jazzmuziek en vernietigde ze het beeld van het blonde meisje met de gitaar en het engelenstemmetje. De fans begrepen het niet, want die wilden uiteraard meer van hetzelfde – zo zijn fans nu eenmaal – en bijgevolg stortte Mitchells albumverkoop compleet in. Het zou tot 1982 duren vooraleer ze aan de druk toegaf en opnieuw toegankelijker materiaal uitbracht.

Michelle Mercer heeft Joni Mitchell een paar keer uitgebreid kunnen interviewen, maar ze kwam haar ook vaak tegen bij andere gelegenheden waar ze de artieste kon bezig zien tussen haar vrienden en kennissen. Voor Will You Take Me As I am heeft ze interviews en boeken van collega’s geconsulteerd opdat haar portret van Joni Mitchell accuraat en compleet zou zijn (wat het uiteraard nooit kan zijn) en wellicht is ze zelf een fan (waarom begin je anders aan zo’n boek?), maar het is haar verdienste dat ze toch genoeg afstand kan nemen om het onderwerp van haar interesse met voldoende objectiviteit te benaderen. Op die manier wordt Will You Take Me As I Am niet alleen een boeiend, maar ook een origineel boek, waarin adoratie en respect gekoppeld worden aan een strikt professionele en journalistieke aanpak, waaraan het in dit genre te vaak ontbreekt. En om flaters te vermijden, heeft Mercer haar bevindingen ook gecheckt bij artiesten en betrokkenen uit de entourage van de artieste, met soms verbazende resultaten als gevolg.

De auteur gaat niet echt chronologisch te werk, maar ze verbindt voorvallen en evoluties uit verschillende periodes vaak met elkaar, waardoor een overzichtelijk en al dan niet regelmatig gedragspatroon verschijnt dat kan worden gekoppeld aan de muzikale output van Joni Mitchell, de cultuur en de tijdgeest in het algemeen. Het is een boeiende werkwijze, al moet je er als lezer wel je hoofd bijhouden. Wie de levensloop van Joni Mitchell een beetje kent uit eerdere boeken en artikels, krijgt niet echt nieuwe feiten aangereikt. Er is eerder sprake van een zekere verfijning van bekende feiten en omstandigheden, verteld in een aantrekkelijke stijl waardoor ook muziekfans die geen fan zijn van de Canadese artieste geboeid zullen blijven lezen. Voor wie vertrouwt is met het werk van Joni Mitchell, is dit een onmisbaar boek omdat het inzicht biedt in de heftige en tegelijk onzekere periode uit haar leven en carrière tussen 1970 en 1976, die kan worden teruggekoppeld naar de eerder genoemde albums.

Will You Take Me As I Am, het is beslist één van de essentiële zinnetjes uit het oeuvre van Joni Mitchell, een artieste die zich vaak onbegrepen heeft gevoeld, die niet zinnens was om toe te geven aan de verwachtingen van haar fans, en die tegelijk het feit betreurde dat men haar schijnbaar geen persoonlijke en artistieke vrijheid gunde. Iemand als Bob Dylan heeft beslist soortgelijke beslissingen genomen met soms soortgelijke gevolgen, alleen voelde hij zich schijnbaar veel minder bedreigd door publieke afwijzing en kritiek. Joni Mitchell is van een andere en gevoeligere soort, maar dat heeft opgeleverd, want tijdens de donkerste periodes uit haar leven heeft ze haar beste werk geschreven.

Will You Take Me As I Am van Michelle Mercer kan u via de bekende kanalen bestellen, maar het boek is niet in het Nederlands uitgegeven. Het taalgebruik van Mercer is evenwel eenvoudig genoeg voor wie een normaal mondje Engels spreekt.

Backbeat Books, 2009
Paperback, Engels, 239 pag.
 

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2015


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above