tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2015 : MELTED SPACE - The Great Lie

MELTED SPACE

The Great Lie

MusicCD
Metal/Rock Opera

[70/100]   

Sensory Records
08/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Not only Ayreon has a patent on making rock/metal opera’s. This classically trained Frenchman Pierre Le Pape has made his third metal opera: The Great Lie. Het got the assistance of seven talented musicians and guest vocalists and The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra. Some well-known names are Arjen Lucassen (Ayreon), Sylvain Coudret (Soilwork) and Mariangela Demurtas (Tristania).

The music sounds like symphonic metal with some black and death metal influences. At times this results in strong tracks such as No Need To Fear, that is sung perfectly.

The album is not bad, it is well produced and the vocals are beautiful. But still... the main difference is that these compositions do not grab your scruff as those that are made by Arjen Lucassen. It all sounds a bit too mainstream and the compositions never surprise. That’s a bit of a shame, because it’s surely not the fault of the star cast. And yes, Arjen can also tell better stories and write more poignant melodies.

Let's say that this record could have been better, but fans of symphonic metal can try it anyway, and they will probably like it. For fans of Within Temptation, Epica or Dimmu Borgir.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2015


NL

Niet alleen Ayreon heeft een patent op het maken van rock-/metalopera’s. Ook deze klassiek geschoolde Fransman, Pierre Le Pape, is met The Great Lie aan zijn derde metalopera toe. Met zeven verschillende talentvolle muzikanten, een resem gastzanger(essen)s en The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra is aan dit album gewerkt. Enkele bekende namen zijn Arjen Lucassen (Ayreon), Sylvain Coudret (Soilwork) en Mariangela Demurtas (Tristania).

De muziek klinkt als symfonische metal met hier en daar wat black- en deathmetalinvloeden. Het levert bij momenten sterke tracks op. No Need To Fear is bijv.een heel mooi gezongen en vlot rockend nummer.

Het album is niet slecht, het is goed geproduced en er staan mooie vocalen op. Maar toch… Het grote verschil met de werken van Arjen Lucassen is dat de composities je niet zo bij je nekvel grijpen. Daarvoor klinkt het allemaal net iets te mainstream en kleurt het te veel binnen de lijntjes. Een beetje jammer, want aan de sterrencast zal het niet liggen. En tja, Arjen kan ook beter vertellen en meer aangrijpende melodieën schrijven.

Laten we zeggen dat de verwachtingen niet helemaal ingelost worden, maar dat liefhebbers van symfonische metal hier toch wel hun gading zullen vinden. Voor liefhebbers van bands zoals Within Temptation, Epica, Dimmu Borgir en dergelijke meer.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth