tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

07/12/2015 : STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM - Tape Crash #12

STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM

Tape Crash #12

MusicCassette
AbstractSoundscape

[65/100]   

Old Bicycle Records
07/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This release is a split release with Stefan Christoff and Post Mortem. Stefan Christoff is also involved in a poetry, music and art collective from Montreal. Jan Hees Helm is since twenty-five years the man behind Post Mortem and is featured on the B-side.

The compositions by Stefan Christoff are mainly music pieces that consist of piano or organ sounds, complemented with a musical collage. They’re rather abstract pieces that make a kind of abandoned impression.

The work of Post Mortem lasts 22 minutes and starts with the sound of wind and the sea. Very slowly other vague musical impressions come from the speakers. Personally, I think it is a bit too long and too ethereal to keep the attention going.

I heard this form of music and sounds before. This release is not bad, but not of an exceptional level.

Available as download or via Bandcamp, or just as an exclusive cassette via Old Bicycle Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/12/2015


NL

Deze release bestaat uit enerzijds een bijdrage van Stefan Christoff, die tevens betrokken is bij een poëzie-, muziek- en kunstcollectief uit Montréal, en Jan Hees Hel, al vijfentwintig jaar de man achter Post Mortem, die zijn bijdrage levert op de B-kant van de cassette.

De composities van Stefan Christoff zijn vooral muziekstukjes die uit piano of orgel bestaan en waaraan hier en daar een muziekcollage is toegevoegd. Eerder abstracte stukjes dus die een verlaten en wezenloze indruk maken.

Het werk van Post Mortem duurt 22 minuten en start met de wind en de zee. Heel langzaam komen er vage impressies van muziekinstrumenten en bewerkte geluiden uit de speakers. Persoonlijk vind ik het wat te lang en te etherisch om lang te blijven boeien.

Deze vorm van muziek/geluiden heb ik al meer horen passeren. Deze release is niet slecht, maar ook niet uitzonderlijk van niveau.

Verkrijgbaar als download of via Bandcamp, of gewoon als exclusieve cassette via Old Bicycle Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/12/2015


Music reviews

15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

15
04
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO