tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

07/12/2015 : STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM - Tape Crash #12

STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM

Tape Crash #12

MusicCassette
AbstractSoundscape

[65/100]   

Old Bicycle Records
07/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This release is a split release with Stefan Christoff and Post Mortem. Stefan Christoff is also involved in a poetry, music and art collective from Montreal. Jan Hees Helm is since twenty-five years the man behind Post Mortem and is featured on the B-side.

The compositions by Stefan Christoff are mainly music pieces that consist of piano or organ sounds, complemented with a musical collage. They’re rather abstract pieces that make a kind of abandoned impression.

The work of Post Mortem lasts 22 minutes and starts with the sound of wind and the sea. Very slowly other vague musical impressions come from the speakers. Personally, I think it is a bit too long and too ethereal to keep the attention going.

I heard this form of music and sounds before. This release is not bad, but not of an exceptional level.

Available as download or via Bandcamp, or just as an exclusive cassette via Old Bicycle Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/12/2015


NL

Deze release bestaat uit enerzijds een bijdrage van Stefan Christoff, die tevens betrokken is bij een poëzie-, muziek- en kunstcollectief uit Montréal, en Jan Hees Hel, al vijfentwintig jaar de man achter Post Mortem, die zijn bijdrage levert op de B-kant van de cassette.

De composities van Stefan Christoff zijn vooral muziekstukjes die uit piano of orgel bestaan en waaraan hier en daar een muziekcollage is toegevoegd. Eerder abstracte stukjes dus die een verlaten en wezenloze indruk maken.

Het werk van Post Mortem duurt 22 minuten en start met de wind en de zee. Heel langzaam komen er vage impressies van muziekinstrumenten en bewerkte geluiden uit de speakers. Persoonlijk vind ik het wat te lang en te etherisch om lang te blijven boeien.

Deze vorm van muziek/geluiden heb ik al meer horen passeren. Deze release is niet slecht, maar ook niet uitzonderlijk van niveau.

Verkrijgbaar als download of via Bandcamp, of gewoon als exclusieve cassette via Old Bicycle Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/12/2015


Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith