tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

04/11/2015 : LUC VAN ACKER - The Ship

LUC VAN ACKER

The Ship

MusicAlbum Classics
NoisePost Punk

[88/100]   

EMI
04/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Does someone buy a record after reading a review? Maybe, maybe not, but who knows he rediscovers a certain disc, and that is great! Possibly you will take The Ship out of your collection after reading this, or just run to the nearest record store to add this classic to your collection, because this third album of Luc Van Acker is still easily available (at least on CD).

It was the record that Luc Van Acker made after Taking Snapshots and Zas Buddhist, the record that would turn him into an international underground star, even though he had to wear a sailor suit (which was made by Anna Domino).

The Ship was a hit and that’s not such a logic affair, as after all the music is rather inaccessible. But the record sold pretty well, but it was also the end of the solo career of Luc Van Acker. After a phone call from Al Jourgensen in the Brussels pub DNA, the musician decided to travel to America and to be part of the Revolting Cocks. The rest is history, as they say, just as this great record, that sounds as fresh as when it was originally released in 1984.

The title track is one of the most powerful songs that is ever released in Belgium and those who saw Van Acker at work then, know exactly what we mean. Belgian music always had something with African rhythms, from Luna Twist to Allez Allez, and Luc Van Acker also has such a song: Rain.

Zanna is of course the hit of the record. It may be a contradiction, but the song was sung by Anna Domino and of all his songs it sounded the least like Luc Van Acker, but it became his biggest hit.

Heart And Soul is funk punk (or something like that) with the guitar of David Rhodes, who played with Peter Gabriel since 1980. Wild And Angry was like a primal scream, a song with an unsustainable energy. Keep Talking has a high Talking Heads content, due to the percussion of Jean-Marie Aerts.

On the punky Wild Life, you hear the violin of Tuxedomoon member Blaine L. Reininger, just like on Climbing The Mountain. Luc met Reininger met when he produced Anna Domino's mini-lp East/West. Everyone has a favorite song on this classic, for me it is The Fear In My Heart, a synth song that grabs you by the throat and never lets you go. Jump And Shout is probably the song someone composes when he is influenced by Fear Of Music.

We already said it, The Ship is a classic. And now up to the record store or (at least we hope it for you!) start searching in your record collection.

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


NL

Soms vraagt een mens zich af (ja, sorry) of iemand een plaat koopt na het lezen van een recensie. Misschien niet, misschien wel, maar wie weet herontdekt hij een plaat, en dat is toch ook heel wat! Mogelijkerwijs haal je The Ship terug uit de kast, of ren je naar de dichtstbijzijnde platenboer om deze klassieker aan je collectie toe te voegen, want deze derde plaat van Luc Van Acker is nog steeds vlot verkrijgbaar (ten minste op cd toch).

Het was de plaat waarmee Luc Van Acker, na het uitbrengen van Taking Snapshots en Zas Buddhist, internationaal bekend werd, ook al moest hij daarvoor een matrozenpakje (dat trouwens aan elkaar werd genaaid door Anna Domino) dragen.

The Ship werd, gelet op de vrij ontoegankelijke muziek die erop stond, een vrij grote hit, maar het was bizar genoeg ook het einde van de solocarrière van Luc Van Acker. Na een telefoontje van Al Jourgensen in de Brusselse DNA, besloot de muzikant om pardoes naar Amerika te trekken en deel uit te maken van de Revolting Cocks. De rest is geschiedenis, net als deze schitterende plaat, die vandaag nog even fris klinkt als toen ze oorspronkelijk in 1984 werd uitgebracht.

De titeltrack is één van de krachtigste nummers die ooit in België is uitgebracht en wie hem destijds aan het werk zag, weet exact wat we daarmee bedoelen. Belgische muziek heeft altijd iets gehad met Afrikaanse ritmes, van Luna Twist tot Allez Allez, en ook Luc Van Acker heeft zo’n nummer: Rain.

Zanna is natuurlijk de hit van de plaat. Het is misschien een contradictie, maar het nummer dat werd ingezongen door Anna Domino, klonk het minste als een Luc Van Acker-lied; het werd zijn grootste hit. Heart And Soul is funkpunk (of zoiets), met gitaarwerk van David Rhodes, die sinds 1980 een vaste stek bij Peter Gabriel heeft veroverd. Wild And Angry klonk als een oerkreet, een nummer met een onhoudbare energie. Keep Talking heeft dankzij de percussie van Jean-Marie Aerts een hoog Talking Heads-gehalte.

Op het punky Wild Life kan je de viool van Tuxedomoon-man Blaine L. Reininger horen, net als op Climbing The Mountain, die Luc leerde kennen toen hij de productie van Anna Domino’s mini-lp East/West deed. Iedereen zal wel een lievelingsnummer op deze klassieker hebben, voor mij is dat The Fear In My Heart, een ingetogen synthnummer dat je onverbiddelijk bij de keel grijpt en je nadien nooit meer loslaat. Jump And Shout is wellicht het nummer dat men componeert als de jeugdjaren door Fear Of Music zijn beïnvloedt. 

We zegden het al, The Ship is een klassieker. Nu naar de platenboer of (we hopen het voor jou!) naar de kast.

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


 

Next reviews
KARI RUESLATTEN • To The North
YEALLOW • Homebred
THIS GREY CITY • II
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes
STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER • Ad Astra Volantis
STILL PATIENT? • Shape Shifters
ZOMBIE GIRL • Killer Queen
EMMA SOLEIL • Time Falls
AM TIERPARK • Uncaged
DAVE GAHAN & SOULSAVERS • Angels & Ghosts

 

Other reviews from LUC VAN ACKER
LUC VAN ACKER • Ten albums that changed my life!

 

Same combination of genres: NOISE + POST PUNK
POP. 1280 • Paradise
THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE • Exploding Head Syndrome
PIQUET • Heywawisze
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value EP
HEXENSCHUSS • Hexenschuss
BOB MOULD • Beauty And Ruin
THE TUNNEL • Sultry Dagger
A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS • Review of the concert at Botanique in Brussels on 8th October 2012

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

Music reviews

20
11
ELEZORIA
Astray
16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

24
11
THE SOUND
Sense Of Purpose
23
11
ECHO BEATTY
Hunger Hunger
22
11
SIRENIA
Once My Light
21
11
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
20
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan