tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : THIS GREY CITY - II

THIS GREY CITY

II

MusicCD


[77/100]   

Str8line Records
04/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Of course Paul Fiction is best known as the founder of Str8Line Records, the label that offers a chance to numerous underground bands. But with Oliver Lang and Yannick Rault, this label boss is also part of the sublime post-punk trio This Grey City. They were one of the highlights on the recently released tribute album to Etienne Daho, and this great sound can also be heard on their second CD (simply titled II).

The group admits that Bauhaus was a big influence, and of course you hear many influences of Peter Murphy and his companions, but it is only an influence, not a copy.

Do not expect polished post punk like Editors or White Lies, because these guys make it a bit difficult, as most of the songs reveal their genius after only a few spins, but do you hear us complaining? Music still may require some effort from the listener, right? Even though it is 2015, and today few people have trouble with that!

The album is very diverse. There are oriental influences on Voices Of Applo or Leaving Home, and sometimes it's difficult (well) post punk as in opener Birds, that recalls Television. This Grey City also loves melancholy: When I Was Alive is goth rock in all its splendor, and thanks to the compelling synths Damage Mental Travel is the gem of the album, just like the beautiful Thirteen. Flow is a bit like Christian Death, while Dogs flirts with David Bowie and The Lovers would perfectly fit on The Idiot by Iggy Pop (nah, we really do know what we write!) Storm is a compelling piece of post punk with a sound that reminds you of the Factory days.

The second album of This Grey City is perhaps somewhat transparent (you immediately discover their roots), but if that produces a sublime record, we are the last to complain about it. If you want to hear something that is not rammed in your throat by radio, then try This Grey City!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


NL

Paul Fiction is natuurlijk bekend als de bezieler van Str8Line Records, het label dat aan talrijke undergroundbands een kans biedt. Maar deze platenbaas zit ook samen met Oliver Lang en Yannick Rault in het heerlijk postpunktrio This Grey City. Ze waren één van de uitschieters op het onlangs verschenen tribute album van Etienne Daho, en dat positieve geluid wordt op hun tweede CD (eenvoudig weg II getiteld) alleen maar bevestigd.

De groep windt er zelf geen doekjes om en ze geeft grif toe dat Bauhaus een grote invloed was, en natuurlijk hoor je heel wat geluiden van Peter Murphy en zijn kompanen in dit trio terug, maar het is slechts een invloed, het wordt nooit een kopie.

Verwacht geen gepolijste postpunk zoals Editors of White Lies, want deze heren maken het zichzelf met plezier een beetje moeilijk. De meeste nummers onthullen hun genialiteit maar na een flink aantal draaibeurten, maar hoor je ons daarover malen? Muziek mag nog altijd wat inspanning vragen van de luisteraar, niet? Ook al is het vandaag 2015 en doen weinig mensen daar nog moeite voor!

Het album is zeer divers. Er zijn oosterse invloeden op Voices Of Applo of Leaving Home, en soms is het moeilijke (nou ja) postpunk zoals in opener Birds, dat aan Television herinnert. This Grey City houdt echter ook van melancholie: When I Was Alive is gothrock in al zijn pracht, en misschien ligt het aan de titel, maar dankzij de meeslepende synths is Damage Mental Travel de parel van het album, net als in het al even prachtige Thirteen. Flow, dat een beetje op Christian Death lijkt, terwijl Dogs met David Bowie flirt en afsluiter The Lovers een nummer is dat niet zou misstaan op The Idiot van Iggy Pop (neen hoor, we weten echt wel wat we schrijven!) En Storm is dan weer een meeslepend stukje post-punk met een geluid dat je doet denken aan de Factory-hoogdagen.

De tweede plaat van This Grey City is misschien wat doorzichtig (je haalt de invloeden er zo uit), maar als dat een sublieme plaat oplevert, zijn wij de laatsten om daarover te klagen. Als je zin hebt om iets te ontdekken dat niet door de radio in je strot wordt geramd, probeer dan eens This Grey City!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!
15
02
The Arch announces new album concept and will release one brand new song every month of 2018!
14
02
JOACHIM WITT, QNTAL, IN THE NURSERY, RROYCE & MANY OTHERS TO COMPLETE THE AMPHI LINE-UP 2018
14
02
Today, exactly 39 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent
23
01
WOLFGANG FLUR
Winterfest Gent
23
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
Winterfest Gent
23
01
SIMI NAH
Winterfest Gent
23
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado
13
02
LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA
Hallo Hallo
12
02
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace