tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : THIS GREY CITY - II

THIS GREY CITY

II

MusicCD


[77/100]   

Str8line Records
04/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Of course Paul Fiction is best known as the founder of Str8Line Records, the label that offers a chance to numerous underground bands. But with Oliver Lang and Yannick Rault, this label boss is also part of the sublime post-punk trio This Grey City. They were one of the highlights on the recently released tribute album to Etienne Daho, and this great sound can also be heard on their second CD (simply titled II).

The group admits that Bauhaus was a big influence, and of course you hear many influences of Peter Murphy and his companions, but it is only an influence, not a copy.

Do not expect polished post punk like Editors or White Lies, because these guys make it a bit difficult, as most of the songs reveal their genius after only a few spins, but do you hear us complaining? Music still may require some effort from the listener, right? Even though it is 2015, and today few people have trouble with that!

The album is very diverse. There are oriental influences on Voices Of Applo or Leaving Home, and sometimes it's difficult (well) post punk as in opener Birds, that recalls Television. This Grey City also loves melancholy: When I Was Alive is goth rock in all its splendor, and thanks to the compelling synths Damage Mental Travel is the gem of the album, just like the beautiful Thirteen. Flow is a bit like Christian Death, while Dogs flirts with David Bowie and The Lovers would perfectly fit on The Idiot by Iggy Pop (nah, we really do know what we write!) Storm is a compelling piece of post punk with a sound that reminds you of the Factory days.

The second album of This Grey City is perhaps somewhat transparent (you immediately discover their roots), but if that produces a sublime record, we are the last to complain about it. If you want to hear something that is not rammed in your throat by radio, then try This Grey City!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


NL

Paul Fiction is natuurlijk bekend als de bezieler van Str8Line Records, het label dat aan talrijke undergroundbands een kans biedt. Maar deze platenbaas zit ook samen met Oliver Lang en Yannick Rault in het heerlijk postpunktrio This Grey City. Ze waren één van de uitschieters op het onlangs verschenen tribute album van Etienne Daho, en dat positieve geluid wordt op hun tweede CD (eenvoudig weg II getiteld) alleen maar bevestigd.

De groep windt er zelf geen doekjes om en ze geeft grif toe dat Bauhaus een grote invloed was, en natuurlijk hoor je heel wat geluiden van Peter Murphy en zijn kompanen in dit trio terug, maar het is slechts een invloed, het wordt nooit een kopie.

Verwacht geen gepolijste postpunk zoals Editors of White Lies, want deze heren maken het zichzelf met plezier een beetje moeilijk. De meeste nummers onthullen hun genialiteit maar na een flink aantal draaibeurten, maar hoor je ons daarover malen? Muziek mag nog altijd wat inspanning vragen van de luisteraar, niet? Ook al is het vandaag 2015 en doen weinig mensen daar nog moeite voor!

Het album is zeer divers. Er zijn oosterse invloeden op Voices Of Applo of Leaving Home, en soms is het moeilijke (nou ja) postpunk zoals in opener Birds, dat aan Television herinnert. This Grey City houdt echter ook van melancholie: When I Was Alive is gothrock in al zijn pracht, en misschien ligt het aan de titel, maar dankzij de meeslepende synths is Damage Mental Travel de parel van het album, net als in het al even prachtige Thirteen. Flow, dat een beetje op Christian Death lijkt, terwijl Dogs met David Bowie flirt en afsluiter The Lovers een nummer is dat niet zou misstaan op The Idiot van Iggy Pop (neen hoor, we weten echt wel wat we schrijven!) En Storm is dan weer een meeslepend stukje post-punk met een geluid dat je doet denken aan de Factory-hoogdagen.

De tweede plaat van This Grey City is misschien wat doorzichtig (je haalt de invloeden er zo uit), maar als dat een sublieme plaat oplevert, zijn wij de laatsten om daarover te klagen. Als je zin hebt om iets te ontdekken dat niet door de radio in je strot wordt geramd, probeer dan eens This Grey City!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
TRAGIC VISIONS Confronts Mental Health Struggles With First New Album In 15 Years
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
VOITH
Kraftwerk (Roboterkönige)
28
05
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission