tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : THIS GREY CITY - II

THIS GREY CITY

II

MusicCD


[77/100]   

Str8line Records
04/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Of course Paul Fiction is best known as the founder of Str8Line Records, the label that offers a chance to numerous underground bands. But with Oliver Lang and Yannick Rault, this label boss is also part of the sublime post-punk trio This Grey City. They were one of the highlights on the recently released tribute album to Etienne Daho, and this great sound can also be heard on their second CD (simply titled II).

The group admits that Bauhaus was a big influence, and of course you hear many influences of Peter Murphy and his companions, but it is only an influence, not a copy.

Do not expect polished post punk like Editors or White Lies, because these guys make it a bit difficult, as most of the songs reveal their genius after only a few spins, but do you hear us complaining? Music still may require some effort from the listener, right? Even though it is 2015, and today few people have trouble with that!

The album is very diverse. There are oriental influences on Voices Of Applo or Leaving Home, and sometimes it's difficult (well) post punk as in opener Birds, that recalls Television. This Grey City also loves melancholy: When I Was Alive is goth rock in all its splendor, and thanks to the compelling synths Damage Mental Travel is the gem of the album, just like the beautiful Thirteen. Flow is a bit like Christian Death, while Dogs flirts with David Bowie and The Lovers would perfectly fit on The Idiot by Iggy Pop (nah, we really do know what we write!) Storm is a compelling piece of post punk with a sound that reminds you of the Factory days.

The second album of This Grey City is perhaps somewhat transparent (you immediately discover their roots), but if that produces a sublime record, we are the last to complain about it. If you want to hear something that is not rammed in your throat by radio, then try This Grey City!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


NL

Paul Fiction is natuurlijk bekend als de bezieler van Str8Line Records, het label dat aan talrijke undergroundbands een kans biedt. Maar deze platenbaas zit ook samen met Oliver Lang en Yannick Rault in het heerlijk postpunktrio This Grey City. Ze waren één van de uitschieters op het onlangs verschenen tribute album van Etienne Daho, en dat positieve geluid wordt op hun tweede CD (eenvoudig weg II getiteld) alleen maar bevestigd.

De groep windt er zelf geen doekjes om en ze geeft grif toe dat Bauhaus een grote invloed was, en natuurlijk hoor je heel wat geluiden van Peter Murphy en zijn kompanen in dit trio terug, maar het is slechts een invloed, het wordt nooit een kopie.

Verwacht geen gepolijste postpunk zoals Editors of White Lies, want deze heren maken het zichzelf met plezier een beetje moeilijk. De meeste nummers onthullen hun genialiteit maar na een flink aantal draaibeurten, maar hoor je ons daarover malen? Muziek mag nog altijd wat inspanning vragen van de luisteraar, niet? Ook al is het vandaag 2015 en doen weinig mensen daar nog moeite voor!

Het album is zeer divers. Er zijn oosterse invloeden op Voices Of Applo of Leaving Home, en soms is het moeilijke (nou ja) postpunk zoals in opener Birds, dat aan Television herinnert. This Grey City houdt echter ook van melancholie: When I Was Alive is gothrock in al zijn pracht, en misschien ligt het aan de titel, maar dankzij de meeslepende synths is Damage Mental Travel de parel van het album, net als in het al even prachtige Thirteen. Flow, dat een beetje op Christian Death lijkt, terwijl Dogs met David Bowie flirt en afsluiter The Lovers een nummer is dat niet zou misstaan op The Idiot van Iggy Pop (neen hoor, we weten echt wel wat we schrijven!) En Storm is dan weer een meeslepend stukje post-punk met een geluid dat je doet denken aan de Factory-hoogdagen.

De tweede plaat van This Grey City is misschien wat doorzichtig (je haalt de invloeden er zo uit), maar als dat een sublieme plaat oplevert, zijn wij de laatsten om daarover te klagen. Als je zin hebt om iets te ontdekken dat niet door de radio in je strot wordt geramd, probeer dan eens This Grey City!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


Music reviews

16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)