tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : THIS GREY CITY - II

THIS GREY CITY

II

MusicCD


[77/100]   

Str8line Records
04/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Of course Paul Fiction is best known as the founder of Str8Line Records, the label that offers a chance to numerous underground bands. But with Oliver Lang and Yannick Rault, this label boss is also part of the sublime post-punk trio This Grey City. They were one of the highlights on the recently released tribute album to Etienne Daho, and this great sound can also be heard on their second CD (simply titled II).

The group admits that Bauhaus was a big influence, and of course you hear many influences of Peter Murphy and his companions, but it is only an influence, not a copy.

Do not expect polished post punk like Editors or White Lies, because these guys make it a bit difficult, as most of the songs reveal their genius after only a few spins, but do you hear us complaining? Music still may require some effort from the listener, right? Even though it is 2015, and today few people have trouble with that!

The album is very diverse. There are oriental influences on Voices Of Applo or Leaving Home, and sometimes it's difficult (well) post punk as in opener Birds, that recalls Television. This Grey City also loves melancholy: When I Was Alive is goth rock in all its splendor, and thanks to the compelling synths Damage Mental Travel is the gem of the album, just like the beautiful Thirteen. Flow is a bit like Christian Death, while Dogs flirts with David Bowie and The Lovers would perfectly fit on The Idiot by Iggy Pop (nah, we really do know what we write!) Storm is a compelling piece of post punk with a sound that reminds you of the Factory days.

The second album of This Grey City is perhaps somewhat transparent (you immediately discover their roots), but if that produces a sublime record, we are the last to complain about it. If you want to hear something that is not rammed in your throat by radio, then try This Grey City!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


NL

Paul Fiction is natuurlijk bekend als de bezieler van Str8Line Records, het label dat aan talrijke undergroundbands een kans biedt. Maar deze platenbaas zit ook samen met Oliver Lang en Yannick Rault in het heerlijk postpunktrio This Grey City. Ze waren één van de uitschieters op het onlangs verschenen tribute album van Etienne Daho, en dat positieve geluid wordt op hun tweede CD (eenvoudig weg II getiteld) alleen maar bevestigd.

De groep windt er zelf geen doekjes om en ze geeft grif toe dat Bauhaus een grote invloed was, en natuurlijk hoor je heel wat geluiden van Peter Murphy en zijn kompanen in dit trio terug, maar het is slechts een invloed, het wordt nooit een kopie.

Verwacht geen gepolijste postpunk zoals Editors of White Lies, want deze heren maken het zichzelf met plezier een beetje moeilijk. De meeste nummers onthullen hun genialiteit maar na een flink aantal draaibeurten, maar hoor je ons daarover malen? Muziek mag nog altijd wat inspanning vragen van de luisteraar, niet? Ook al is het vandaag 2015 en doen weinig mensen daar nog moeite voor!

Het album is zeer divers. Er zijn oosterse invloeden op Voices Of Applo of Leaving Home, en soms is het moeilijke (nou ja) postpunk zoals in opener Birds, dat aan Television herinnert. This Grey City houdt echter ook van melancholie: When I Was Alive is gothrock in al zijn pracht, en misschien ligt het aan de titel, maar dankzij de meeslepende synths is Damage Mental Travel de parel van het album, net als in het al even prachtige Thirteen. Flow, dat een beetje op Christian Death lijkt, terwijl Dogs met David Bowie flirt en afsluiter The Lovers een nummer is dat niet zou misstaan op The Idiot van Iggy Pop (neen hoor, we weten echt wel wat we schrijven!) En Storm is dan weer een meeslepend stukje post-punk met een geluid dat je doet denken aan de Factory-hoogdagen.

De tweede plaat van This Grey City is misschien wat doorzichtig (je haalt de invloeden er zo uit), maar als dat een sublieme plaat oplevert, zijn wij de laatsten om daarover te klagen. Als je zin hebt om iets te ontdekken dat niet door de radio in je strot wordt geramd, probeer dan eens This Grey City!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


Music reviews

25
09
THE EXPLODING BOY
Alarms!
01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 31 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
LES PANTIES
L'Arrivée
25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth