tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : THIS GREY CITY - II

THIS GREY CITY

II

MusicCD


[77/100]   

Str8line Records
04/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Of course Paul Fiction is best known as the founder of Str8Line Records, the label that offers a chance to numerous underground bands. But with Oliver Lang and Yannick Rault, this label boss is also part of the sublime post-punk trio This Grey City. They were one of the highlights on the recently released tribute album to Etienne Daho, and this great sound can also be heard on their second CD (simply titled II).

The group admits that Bauhaus was a big influence, and of course you hear many influences of Peter Murphy and his companions, but it is only an influence, not a copy.

Do not expect polished post punk like Editors or White Lies, because these guys make it a bit difficult, as most of the songs reveal their genius after only a few spins, but do you hear us complaining? Music still may require some effort from the listener, right? Even though it is 2015, and today few people have trouble with that!

The album is very diverse. There are oriental influences on Voices Of Applo or Leaving Home, and sometimes it's difficult (well) post punk as in opener Birds, that recalls Television. This Grey City also loves melancholy: When I Was Alive is goth rock in all its splendor, and thanks to the compelling synths Damage Mental Travel is the gem of the album, just like the beautiful Thirteen. Flow is a bit like Christian Death, while Dogs flirts with David Bowie and The Lovers would perfectly fit on The Idiot by Iggy Pop (nah, we really do know what we write!) Storm is a compelling piece of post punk with a sound that reminds you of the Factory days.

The second album of This Grey City is perhaps somewhat transparent (you immediately discover their roots), but if that produces a sublime record, we are the last to complain about it. If you want to hear something that is not rammed in your throat by radio, then try This Grey City!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


NL

Paul Fiction is natuurlijk bekend als de bezieler van Str8Line Records, het label dat aan talrijke undergroundbands een kans biedt. Maar deze platenbaas zit ook samen met Oliver Lang en Yannick Rault in het heerlijk postpunktrio This Grey City. Ze waren één van de uitschieters op het onlangs verschenen tribute album van Etienne Daho, en dat positieve geluid wordt op hun tweede CD (eenvoudig weg II getiteld) alleen maar bevestigd.

De groep windt er zelf geen doekjes om en ze geeft grif toe dat Bauhaus een grote invloed was, en natuurlijk hoor je heel wat geluiden van Peter Murphy en zijn kompanen in dit trio terug, maar het is slechts een invloed, het wordt nooit een kopie.

Verwacht geen gepolijste postpunk zoals Editors of White Lies, want deze heren maken het zichzelf met plezier een beetje moeilijk. De meeste nummers onthullen hun genialiteit maar na een flink aantal draaibeurten, maar hoor je ons daarover malen? Muziek mag nog altijd wat inspanning vragen van de luisteraar, niet? Ook al is het vandaag 2015 en doen weinig mensen daar nog moeite voor!

Het album is zeer divers. Er zijn oosterse invloeden op Voices Of Applo of Leaving Home, en soms is het moeilijke (nou ja) postpunk zoals in opener Birds, dat aan Television herinnert. This Grey City houdt echter ook van melancholie: When I Was Alive is gothrock in al zijn pracht, en misschien ligt het aan de titel, maar dankzij de meeslepende synths is Damage Mental Travel de parel van het album, net als in het al even prachtige Thirteen. Flow, dat een beetje op Christian Death lijkt, terwijl Dogs met David Bowie flirt en afsluiter The Lovers een nummer is dat niet zou misstaan op The Idiot van Iggy Pop (neen hoor, we weten echt wel wat we schrijven!) En Storm is dan weer een meeslepend stukje post-punk met een geluid dat je doet denken aan de Factory-hoogdagen.

De tweede plaat van This Grey City is misschien wat doorzichtig (je haalt de invloeden er zo uit), maar als dat een sublieme plaat oplevert, zijn wij de laatsten om daarover te klagen. Als je zin hebt om iets te ontdekken dat niet door de radio in je strot wordt geramd, probeer dan eens This Grey City!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten