tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : YEALLOW - Homebred

YEALLOW

Homebred

MusicCD
Alternative RockBritpop

[80/100]   

Try & Dye Records
04/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

While I listened to Yeallow, I heard The Strokes, Franz Ferdinand, Pulp, Supergrass and other similar pop/rock bands. Is this just another British hype? Not at all, they’re French!

The main elements of their music are catchy guitar riffs, some synths, pop/rock with melodious choruses and a singer who is a bit arrogant or nonchalant. That does sound a bit like The Strokes indeed, doesn't it? And to top it all, they even almost reach their level. Let's say the choruses of Julian Casablancas are just a little better and more emotional, but otherwise this is a very great album. The songs are easy to listen to!

Be Sure is a rock song with a nice melody that is great as a start. Somewhere Else has a solid rhythm section and forms the backbone of the song. The way the chorus is sung is just delicious: you hear some nonchalance, but everything is done in the highest professional way.

Believe me when I say that all ten tracks stand out from a typical song: the chorus, the rhythm section, a fine riff or a nice bass line... there is always something going on that you’ll love. The songs usually last about three minutes, except Everyday in whiche we hear the best of Yeallow for seven minutes. This track includes funny bass hooks and has a very nice instrumental rock-like centerpiece. I’m sure that this will do well on stage!

This album is like pop/rock should be: unpretentious, catchy and with enough attitude. I'm curious if they can do that on stage too!

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/11/2015


NL

Bij het beluisteren van Yeallow, dacht ik aan The Strokes, Franz Ferdinand, Pulp, Supergrass en andere gelijksoortige pop-/rockbands. De zoveelste Engelse hype in wording, dus? Niets is minder waar, het zijn namelijk Fransen.

De kenmerken van hun muziek bestaat uit catchy gitaarriffs, wat synths, pop/rock met meezingbare refreinen en een zanger die een zekere arrogantie of nonchalance uitstraalt. Dat klinkt inderdaad een beetje zoals The Strokes, en ze halen ook bijna hun niveau. Laten we zeggen dat de refreinen van Julian Casablancas net iets beter en emotioneler zijn, maar voor de rest is dit een bijzonder aangename plaat. De songs luisteren gemakkelijk weg en hebben iets opgewekts.

Be sure is een leuk rocknummer met een aangename zanglijn die de plaat op gang trekt. Op Somewhere Else drijft alles op een stevige ritmesectie die de ruggengraat vormt van de song. De manier waarop het refrein wordt gezongen is heerlijk: je hoort nonchalance, maar alles valt netjes binnen de juiste tonen. Geloof me maar als ik zeg dat alle tien tracks wel iets hebben en zich onderscheiden van een doorsnee song: het refrein, de ritmesectie, een fijne riff of een leuke baslijn… Altijd valt er wel iets op. De nummers duren meestal zo’n drie minuten, behalve Everyday, waarmee we in zeven minuten het beste van Yeallow horen. Deze track bevat leuke bashaakjes en heeft een heel aardig instrumentaal rockachtig middenstuk. Een heel sterk nummer dat het live goed zal doen!

Dit album is zoals pop/rock moet zijn: pretentieloos, pakkend en met genoeg attitude. Ik ben alvast benieuwd of ze dit live ook waar kunnen maken! 

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/11/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures