tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : YEALLOW - Homebred

YEALLOW

Homebred

MusicCD
Alternative RockBritpop

[80/100]   

Try & Dye Records
04/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

While I listened to Yeallow, I heard The Strokes, Franz Ferdinand, Pulp, Supergrass and other similar pop/rock bands. Is this just another British hype? Not at all, they’re French!

The main elements of their music are catchy guitar riffs, some synths, pop/rock with melodious choruses and a singer who is a bit arrogant or nonchalant. That does sound a bit like The Strokes indeed, doesn't it? And to top it all, they even almost reach their level. Let's say the choruses of Julian Casablancas are just a little better and more emotional, but otherwise this is a very great album. The songs are easy to listen to!

Be Sure is a rock song with a nice melody that is great as a start. Somewhere Else has a solid rhythm section and forms the backbone of the song. The way the chorus is sung is just delicious: you hear some nonchalance, but everything is done in the highest professional way.

Believe me when I say that all ten tracks stand out from a typical song: the chorus, the rhythm section, a fine riff or a nice bass line... there is always something going on that you’ll love. The songs usually last about three minutes, except Everyday in whiche we hear the best of Yeallow for seven minutes. This track includes funny bass hooks and has a very nice instrumental rock-like centerpiece. I’m sure that this will do well on stage!

This album is like pop/rock should be: unpretentious, catchy and with enough attitude. I'm curious if they can do that on stage too!

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/11/2015


NL

Bij het beluisteren van Yeallow, dacht ik aan The Strokes, Franz Ferdinand, Pulp, Supergrass en andere gelijksoortige pop-/rockbands. De zoveelste Engelse hype in wording, dus? Niets is minder waar, het zijn namelijk Fransen.

De kenmerken van hun muziek bestaat uit catchy gitaarriffs, wat synths, pop/rock met meezingbare refreinen en een zanger die een zekere arrogantie of nonchalance uitstraalt. Dat klinkt inderdaad een beetje zoals The Strokes, en ze halen ook bijna hun niveau. Laten we zeggen dat de refreinen van Julian Casablancas net iets beter en emotioneler zijn, maar voor de rest is dit een bijzonder aangename plaat. De songs luisteren gemakkelijk weg en hebben iets opgewekts.

Be sure is een leuk rocknummer met een aangename zanglijn die de plaat op gang trekt. Op Somewhere Else drijft alles op een stevige ritmesectie die de ruggengraat vormt van de song. De manier waarop het refrein wordt gezongen is heerlijk: je hoort nonchalance, maar alles valt netjes binnen de juiste tonen. Geloof me maar als ik zeg dat alle tien tracks wel iets hebben en zich onderscheiden van een doorsnee song: het refrein, de ritmesectie, een fijne riff of een leuke baslijn… Altijd valt er wel iets op. De nummers duren meestal zo’n drie minuten, behalve Everyday, waarmee we in zeven minuten het beste van Yeallow horen. Deze track bevat leuke bashaakjes en heeft een heel aardig instrumentaal rockachtig middenstuk. Een heel sterk nummer dat het live goed zal doen!

Dit album is zoals pop/rock moet zijn: pretentieloos, pakkend en met genoeg attitude. Ik ben alvast benieuwd of ze dit live ook waar kunnen maken! 

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/11/2015


Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!
15
02
The Arch announces new album concept and will release one brand new song every month of 2018!
14
02
JOACHIM WITT, QNTAL, IN THE NURSERY, RROYCE & MANY OTHERS TO COMPLETE THE AMPHI LINE-UP 2018
14
02
Today, exactly 39 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent
23
01
WOLFGANG FLUR
Winterfest Gent
23
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
Winterfest Gent
23
01
SIMI NAH
Winterfest Gent
23
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado
13
02
LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA
Hallo Hallo
12
02
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace