tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : YEALLOW - Homebred

YEALLOW

Homebred

MusicCD
Alternative RockBritpop

[80/100]   

Try & Dye Records
04/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

While I listened to Yeallow, I heard The Strokes, Franz Ferdinand, Pulp, Supergrass and other similar pop/rock bands. Is this just another British hype? Not at all, they’re French!

The main elements of their music are catchy guitar riffs, some synths, pop/rock with melodious choruses and a singer who is a bit arrogant or nonchalant. That does sound a bit like The Strokes indeed, doesn't it? And to top it all, they even almost reach their level. Let's say the choruses of Julian Casablancas are just a little better and more emotional, but otherwise this is a very great album. The songs are easy to listen to!

Be Sure is a rock song with a nice melody that is great as a start. Somewhere Else has a solid rhythm section and forms the backbone of the song. The way the chorus is sung is just delicious: you hear some nonchalance, but everything is done in the highest professional way.

Believe me when I say that all ten tracks stand out from a typical song: the chorus, the rhythm section, a fine riff or a nice bass line... there is always something going on that you’ll love. The songs usually last about three minutes, except Everyday in whiche we hear the best of Yeallow for seven minutes. This track includes funny bass hooks and has a very nice instrumental rock-like centerpiece. I’m sure that this will do well on stage!

This album is like pop/rock should be: unpretentious, catchy and with enough attitude. I'm curious if they can do that on stage too!

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/11/2015


NL

Bij het beluisteren van Yeallow, dacht ik aan The Strokes, Franz Ferdinand, Pulp, Supergrass en andere gelijksoortige pop-/rockbands. De zoveelste Engelse hype in wording, dus? Niets is minder waar, het zijn namelijk Fransen.

De kenmerken van hun muziek bestaat uit catchy gitaarriffs, wat synths, pop/rock met meezingbare refreinen en een zanger die een zekere arrogantie of nonchalance uitstraalt. Dat klinkt inderdaad een beetje zoals The Strokes, en ze halen ook bijna hun niveau. Laten we zeggen dat de refreinen van Julian Casablancas net iets beter en emotioneler zijn, maar voor de rest is dit een bijzonder aangename plaat. De songs luisteren gemakkelijk weg en hebben iets opgewekts.

Be sure is een leuk rocknummer met een aangename zanglijn die de plaat op gang trekt. Op Somewhere Else drijft alles op een stevige ritmesectie die de ruggengraat vormt van de song. De manier waarop het refrein wordt gezongen is heerlijk: je hoort nonchalance, maar alles valt netjes binnen de juiste tonen. Geloof me maar als ik zeg dat alle tien tracks wel iets hebben en zich onderscheiden van een doorsnee song: het refrein, de ritmesectie, een fijne riff of een leuke baslijn… Altijd valt er wel iets op. De nummers duren meestal zo’n drie minuten, behalve Everyday, waarmee we in zeven minuten het beste van Yeallow horen. Deze track bevat leuke bashaakjes en heeft een heel aardig instrumentaal rockachtig middenstuk. Een heel sterk nummer dat het live goed zal doen!

Dit album is zoals pop/rock moet zijn: pretentieloos, pakkend en met genoeg attitude. Ik ben alvast benieuwd of ze dit live ook waar kunnen maken! 

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/11/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland