tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : YEALLOW - Homebred

YEALLOW

Homebred

MusicCD
Alternative RockBritpop

[80/100]   

Try & Dye Records
04/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

While I listened to Yeallow, I heard The Strokes, Franz Ferdinand, Pulp, Supergrass and other similar pop/rock bands. Is this just another British hype? Not at all, they’re French!

The main elements of their music are catchy guitar riffs, some synths, pop/rock with melodious choruses and a singer who is a bit arrogant or nonchalant. That does sound a bit like The Strokes indeed, doesn't it? And to top it all, they even almost reach their level. Let's say the choruses of Julian Casablancas are just a little better and more emotional, but otherwise this is a very great album. The songs are easy to listen to!

Be Sure is a rock song with a nice melody that is great as a start. Somewhere Else has a solid rhythm section and forms the backbone of the song. The way the chorus is sung is just delicious: you hear some nonchalance, but everything is done in the highest professional way.

Believe me when I say that all ten tracks stand out from a typical song: the chorus, the rhythm section, a fine riff or a nice bass line... there is always something going on that you’ll love. The songs usually last about three minutes, except Everyday in whiche we hear the best of Yeallow for seven minutes. This track includes funny bass hooks and has a very nice instrumental rock-like centerpiece. I’m sure that this will do well on stage!

This album is like pop/rock should be: unpretentious, catchy and with enough attitude. I'm curious if they can do that on stage too!

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/11/2015


NL

Bij het beluisteren van Yeallow, dacht ik aan The Strokes, Franz Ferdinand, Pulp, Supergrass en andere gelijksoortige pop-/rockbands. De zoveelste Engelse hype in wording, dus? Niets is minder waar, het zijn namelijk Fransen.

De kenmerken van hun muziek bestaat uit catchy gitaarriffs, wat synths, pop/rock met meezingbare refreinen en een zanger die een zekere arrogantie of nonchalance uitstraalt. Dat klinkt inderdaad een beetje zoals The Strokes, en ze halen ook bijna hun niveau. Laten we zeggen dat de refreinen van Julian Casablancas net iets beter en emotioneler zijn, maar voor de rest is dit een bijzonder aangename plaat. De songs luisteren gemakkelijk weg en hebben iets opgewekts.

Be sure is een leuk rocknummer met een aangename zanglijn die de plaat op gang trekt. Op Somewhere Else drijft alles op een stevige ritmesectie die de ruggengraat vormt van de song. De manier waarop het refrein wordt gezongen is heerlijk: je hoort nonchalance, maar alles valt netjes binnen de juiste tonen. Geloof me maar als ik zeg dat alle tien tracks wel iets hebben en zich onderscheiden van een doorsnee song: het refrein, de ritmesectie, een fijne riff of een leuke baslijn… Altijd valt er wel iets op. De nummers duren meestal zo’n drie minuten, behalve Everyday, waarmee we in zeven minuten het beste van Yeallow horen. Deze track bevat leuke bashaakjes en heeft een heel aardig instrumentaal rockachtig middenstuk. Een heel sterk nummer dat het live goed zal doen!

Dit album is zoals pop/rock moet zijn: pretentieloos, pakkend en met genoeg attitude. Ik ben alvast benieuwd of ze dit live ook waar kunnen maken! 

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/11/2015


Music reviews

15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm
25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Classic Pop publishes special issue on the career of Pet Shop Boys!
07
05
This month it is 30 years ago that Front Line Assembly released their Disorder EP

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City
21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’

PHOTOS

20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT
20
05
FULL CONTACT
WGT
20
05
AMNISTIA
WGT
10
05
ROSA CRVX
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
10
05
MORTIIS
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
10
05
ASHTORETH
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen
20
05
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
19
05
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
18
05
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi
17
05
VNV NATION
Nova
16
05
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
15
05
NITZER EBB
Control I’m Here