tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : YEALLOW - Homebred

YEALLOW

Homebred

MusicCD
Alternative RockBritpop

[80/100]   

Try & Dye Records
04/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

While I listened to Yeallow, I heard The Strokes, Franz Ferdinand, Pulp, Supergrass and other similar pop/rock bands. Is this just another British hype? Not at all, they’re French!

The main elements of their music are catchy guitar riffs, some synths, pop/rock with melodious choruses and a singer who is a bit arrogant or nonchalant. That does sound a bit like The Strokes indeed, doesn't it? And to top it all, they even almost reach their level. Let's say the choruses of Julian Casablancas are just a little better and more emotional, but otherwise this is a very great album. The songs are easy to listen to!

Be Sure is a rock song with a nice melody that is great as a start. Somewhere Else has a solid rhythm section and forms the backbone of the song. The way the chorus is sung is just delicious: you hear some nonchalance, but everything is done in the highest professional way.

Believe me when I say that all ten tracks stand out from a typical song: the chorus, the rhythm section, a fine riff or a nice bass line... there is always something going on that you’ll love. The songs usually last about three minutes, except Everyday in whiche we hear the best of Yeallow for seven minutes. This track includes funny bass hooks and has a very nice instrumental rock-like centerpiece. I’m sure that this will do well on stage!

This album is like pop/rock should be: unpretentious, catchy and with enough attitude. I'm curious if they can do that on stage too!

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/11/2015


NL

Bij het beluisteren van Yeallow, dacht ik aan The Strokes, Franz Ferdinand, Pulp, Supergrass en andere gelijksoortige pop-/rockbands. De zoveelste Engelse hype in wording, dus? Niets is minder waar, het zijn namelijk Fransen.

De kenmerken van hun muziek bestaat uit catchy gitaarriffs, wat synths, pop/rock met meezingbare refreinen en een zanger die een zekere arrogantie of nonchalance uitstraalt. Dat klinkt inderdaad een beetje zoals The Strokes, en ze halen ook bijna hun niveau. Laten we zeggen dat de refreinen van Julian Casablancas net iets beter en emotioneler zijn, maar voor de rest is dit een bijzonder aangename plaat. De songs luisteren gemakkelijk weg en hebben iets opgewekts.

Be sure is een leuk rocknummer met een aangename zanglijn die de plaat op gang trekt. Op Somewhere Else drijft alles op een stevige ritmesectie die de ruggengraat vormt van de song. De manier waarop het refrein wordt gezongen is heerlijk: je hoort nonchalance, maar alles valt netjes binnen de juiste tonen. Geloof me maar als ik zeg dat alle tien tracks wel iets hebben en zich onderscheiden van een doorsnee song: het refrein, de ritmesectie, een fijne riff of een leuke baslijn… Altijd valt er wel iets op. De nummers duren meestal zo’n drie minuten, behalve Everyday, waarmee we in zeven minuten het beste van Yeallow horen. Deze track bevat leuke bashaakjes en heeft een heel aardig instrumentaal rockachtig middenstuk. Een heel sterk nummer dat het live goed zal doen!

Dit album is zoals pop/rock moet zijn: pretentieloos, pakkend en met genoeg attitude. Ik ben alvast benieuwd of ze dit live ook waar kunnen maken! 

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/11/2015


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual