tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MENSWEAR - Nuisance

MENSWEAR

Nuisance

MusicCD
BritpopIndie

[84/100]   

London Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You can find them in any genre, bands that are nothing but a hype, a product which is invented by clever businessmen. The best example in the alternative music scene is Menswear,named best band by Melody Maker in 1993. They did that every week? True, but when the article was published, the band didn’t have one song! The five guys looked good, their dress code was the one of the mods and to them, Blur was the coolest band in the universe. A wet dream for record labels, and so Menswear was offered a contract of 90,000 pounds by London Records (formerly Decca, that also had New Order and that other "Britpop wonder" Gay Dad under its wings).

The debut of Menswear (Nuisance) did not please the British press guys and even before the disc was in the stores, everyone knew that soon the British press would destroy its darlings. After Nuisance, the flop single We Love You came out and a second CD that was released in Japan only. Now, the band is (believe it or not) reunited and it lets beat faster the hearts of old Britpop fans. We try to do the same by listening to Nuisance one more time! And yes, it was a hype, but what a sound!

125 West 3rd Street actually sounds as a discarded song of some forgotten demo, but the quintet performs this ordinary rock song with so much flair and conviction that you start to believe that it wrote a world song.

I'll Manage Somehow, the first single, is a good example of how addictive Britpop was at that time. Sleeping In is actually just a 90s version of Mud, but how did they do it! Little Miss Pinpoint Eyes was like the male version of Elastica. Just like Justine Frischmann’s band, Menswear thought it was permissible to shamelessly copy Wire. Perhaps even Colin Newman himself would not dare to write Daydreamer because it just sounds like a copy of I Am The Fly. Menswear however did it and reached the British charts!

Being Brave might find its origin somewhere else, but the moving and pompous Britpop track can’t be ignored by anyone. The One was the evidence that Menswear was more than just a hype, it is a dream pop single (although it never was one). Stardust was glam rock that probably would have received the blessing of Ziggy Stardust!

This debut (which never really got a fair chance) ends with the touching Piece Of Me.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Je vindt het in ieder genre: bands die eigenlijk niet meer dan een hype zijn, een product dat is bedacht door pientere zakenlui. Het beste voorbeeld in de alternatieve muziekscène is zonder enige twijfel Menswear, dat in 1993 door Melody Maker tot de beste groep van het moment werd uitgeroepen. Ze deden dat iedere week over het Kanaal? Neen, op het moment dat het bewuste artikel verscheen, had de band nog geen enkele track opgenomen! De vijf kerels zagen er goed uit, hun kledijcode was die van de mods en Blur was voor hun de coolste band van het universum. Een natte droom voor platenlabels dus, en Menswear kreeg een contract aangeboden van 90.000 pond door London Records (het vroegere Decca waarop ook New Order en dat ander “Britpopwonder” Gay Dad zat).

Het debuut van Menswear (Nuisance) liet de Britse persjongens niet klaarkomen, en nog voor de plaat in de winkels lag, wist iedereen dat het niet lang zou duren vooraleer de muziekbladen brandhout maakten van de door hun gecreëerde lievelingen. Na Nuisance verscheen de flopsingle We Love You en een tweede cd die alleen in Japan werd uitgebracht. De band is ondertussen (geloof het of niet) opnieuw samen en laat tijdens optredens de harten van oude Britpoppers wat harder slaan. Wij proberen dat met het jouwe door Nuisance nog eens onder de naald te leggen! Een plaat als een hype die sneller was dan zichzelf, maar wat een geluid hadden die heren toch!

125 West 3rd Street klinkt eigenlijk bijna als een afgedankte song op een vergeten demo, maar het vijftal brengt dit ordinaire rocklied met zo veel flair en overtuiging, dat je gemakshalve gelooft dat het een wereldnummer heeft geschreven.

I’ll Manage Somehow, de eerste single, is een mooi voorbeeld van hoe verslavend Britpop op dat moment wel was. Sleeping In is eigenlijk niet meer dan een jarennegentigversie van Mud, maar wat zou het? Little Miss Pinpoint Eyes was niet meer dan de mannelijke versie van Elastica. Net zoals de band van Justine Frischmann, vond Menswear dat het in 1993 geoorloofd was om schaamteloos Wire te kopiëren. Wellicht durfde Colin Newman zelf Daydreamer niet schrijven omdat de track net iets te veel op I Am The Fly lijkt. Menswear deed het wel en belandde ermee in de Britse hitparade!

Being Brave is wellicht ook wel ergens van gejat, maar het pompeuze Britpopnummer is ontroerend mooi en daar kan geen mens omheen. The One is het bewijs dat Menswear was dan een hype, het is de gedroomde popsingle (die er nooit één werd). Stardust was dat wel, ouderwetse glamrock die wellicht de zegen van Ziggy Stardust zou hebben gekregen!

Dit debuut (dat nooit een eerlijke kans heeft gekregen) wordt mooi afgesloten met Piece Of Me.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland