tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MENSWEAR - Nuisance

MENSWEAR

Nuisance

MusicCD
BritpopIndie

[84/100]   

London Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You can find them in any genre, bands that are nothing but a hype, a product which is invented by clever businessmen. The best example in the alternative music scene is Menswear,named best band by Melody Maker in 1993. They did that every week? True, but when the article was published, the band didn’t have one song! The five guys looked good, their dress code was the one of the mods and to them, Blur was the coolest band in the universe. A wet dream for record labels, and so Menswear was offered a contract of 90,000 pounds by London Records (formerly Decca, that also had New Order and that other "Britpop wonder" Gay Dad under its wings).

The debut of Menswear (Nuisance) did not please the British press guys and even before the disc was in the stores, everyone knew that soon the British press would destroy its darlings. After Nuisance, the flop single We Love You came out and a second CD that was released in Japan only. Now, the band is (believe it or not) reunited and it lets beat faster the hearts of old Britpop fans. We try to do the same by listening to Nuisance one more time! And yes, it was a hype, but what a sound!

125 West 3rd Street actually sounds as a discarded song of some forgotten demo, but the quintet performs this ordinary rock song with so much flair and conviction that you start to believe that it wrote a world song.

I'll Manage Somehow, the first single, is a good example of how addictive Britpop was at that time. Sleeping In is actually just a 90s version of Mud, but how did they do it! Little Miss Pinpoint Eyes was like the male version of Elastica. Just like Justine Frischmann’s band, Menswear thought it was permissible to shamelessly copy Wire. Perhaps even Colin Newman himself would not dare to write Daydreamer because it just sounds like a copy of I Am The Fly. Menswear however did it and reached the British charts!

Being Brave might find its origin somewhere else, but the moving and pompous Britpop track can’t be ignored by anyone. The One was the evidence that Menswear was more than just a hype, it is a dream pop single (although it never was one). Stardust was glam rock that probably would have received the blessing of Ziggy Stardust!

This debut (which never really got a fair chance) ends with the touching Piece Of Me.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Je vindt het in ieder genre: bands die eigenlijk niet meer dan een hype zijn, een product dat is bedacht door pientere zakenlui. Het beste voorbeeld in de alternatieve muziekscène is zonder enige twijfel Menswear, dat in 1993 door Melody Maker tot de beste groep van het moment werd uitgeroepen. Ze deden dat iedere week over het Kanaal? Neen, op het moment dat het bewuste artikel verscheen, had de band nog geen enkele track opgenomen! De vijf kerels zagen er goed uit, hun kledijcode was die van de mods en Blur was voor hun de coolste band van het universum. Een natte droom voor platenlabels dus, en Menswear kreeg een contract aangeboden van 90.000 pond door London Records (het vroegere Decca waarop ook New Order en dat ander “Britpopwonder” Gay Dad zat).

Het debuut van Menswear (Nuisance) liet de Britse persjongens niet klaarkomen, en nog voor de plaat in de winkels lag, wist iedereen dat het niet lang zou duren vooraleer de muziekbladen brandhout maakten van de door hun gecreëerde lievelingen. Na Nuisance verscheen de flopsingle We Love You en een tweede cd die alleen in Japan werd uitgebracht. De band is ondertussen (geloof het of niet) opnieuw samen en laat tijdens optredens de harten van oude Britpoppers wat harder slaan. Wij proberen dat met het jouwe door Nuisance nog eens onder de naald te leggen! Een plaat als een hype die sneller was dan zichzelf, maar wat een geluid hadden die heren toch!

125 West 3rd Street klinkt eigenlijk bijna als een afgedankte song op een vergeten demo, maar het vijftal brengt dit ordinaire rocklied met zo veel flair en overtuiging, dat je gemakshalve gelooft dat het een wereldnummer heeft geschreven.

I’ll Manage Somehow, de eerste single, is een mooi voorbeeld van hoe verslavend Britpop op dat moment wel was. Sleeping In is eigenlijk niet meer dan een jarennegentigversie van Mud, maar wat zou het? Little Miss Pinpoint Eyes was niet meer dan de mannelijke versie van Elastica. Net zoals de band van Justine Frischmann, vond Menswear dat het in 1993 geoorloofd was om schaamteloos Wire te kopiëren. Wellicht durfde Colin Newman zelf Daydreamer niet schrijven omdat de track net iets te veel op I Am The Fly lijkt. Menswear deed het wel en belandde ermee in de Britse hitparade!

Being Brave is wellicht ook wel ergens van gejat, maar het pompeuze Britpopnummer is ontroerend mooi en daar kan geen mens omheen. The One is het bewijs dat Menswear was dan een hype, het is de gedroomde popsingle (die er nooit één werd). Stardust was dat wel, ouderwetse glamrock die wellicht de zegen van Ziggy Stardust zou hebben gekregen!

Dit debuut (dat nooit een eerlijke kans heeft gekregen) wordt mooi afgesloten met Piece Of Me.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige
13
02
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
Alice
12
02
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight