tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LION SHEPHERD - Hiraeth

LION SHEPHERD

Hiraeth

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[90/100]   

GlassVille Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

What happens when you put a singer, producer Kamil Haidar, multi-instrumentalist Mateusz Owczarek and one of the best young guitarists in one and the same band? Atmospheric music with references to the Middle East and a progressive rock style, with the excellent voice of Kamil Haidar!

Fly On opens with a mesmerizing oriental sounding intro that recalls the images of desert plains, nomads and minarets. As the song develops, some rock elements slip in. A great start that gives you the wrong impression as Lion Sheperd is surely not a world music band.

Music Box Ballerina has the same sphere, but on the other tracks these influences are less noticeable. It contains a magnificent rock chorus, while Lights Out is partly characterized by subtle guitars and a nice organ sound. In Brave New World, some heavy riffs pop up, and you start thinking of what Live did during the Secret Samahdi days. The vocals are top notch and crystal clear. Wander is a ballad with a catchy melody, while Smell of War is worth mentioning too because of its text and angry character.

Ten songs of the same high level that take you on a great adventure through this musical world.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Wat is het resultaat als je zanger (en tevens producer) Kamil Haidar samen met één van de beste jonge gitaristen en multi-instrumentalist Mateusz Owczarek samenbrengt in één band? Sfeerrijke muziek die wegens hun voorliefde soms naar het Midden-Oosten verwijst en die qua stem naar progressieve rock neigt. Kamils stem is trouwens uiterst geschikt voor progressieve en alternatieve rock.

Fly On opent met een bezwerend oosters klinkend intro en dito gezang die de woestijnvlakten, de nomaden en de minaretten oproepen. De song ontwikkelt zich mooi en langzaam aan hoor je ook wat rockelementen. Een mooie opener die misschien de indruk wekt dat het hier wereldmuziek betreft, maar dat is dus zeker niet het geval.

Music Box Ballerina heeft diezelfde sfeer, maar op de andere tracks zijn deze verwijzingen minder opvallend. Music Box Ballerina bevat trouwens een prachtig rockrefrein. Lights Out is mede door het subtiele gitaarwerk, het orgel en de stem, een warme song.

Brave New World gaat een beetje dezelfde weg op, maar her en der duikt er een heavy riff op. Muzikaal komt het soms in de buurt van wat Live in de periode van Secret Samahdi deed. Het basintermezzo en de aanzet tot de gitaarsolo klinken heerlijk speels, en (alweer) wat oosters. De zang is prima en glashelder. Wander is een ballade met een catchy melodie. Ook Smell of War is het vermelden waard vanwege de tekst en de nijdige passages.

Kortom, tien songs van hetzelfde hoge niveau, die je meenemen voor een mooi muzikaal avontuur.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)