tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LUCA SIGURTA - Warm Glow

LUCA SIGURTA

Warm Glow

MusicCD
ElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly VoicesExperimental

[81/100]   

Monotype records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Luca Sigurta has been around since the early 90s while working with field recordings. He regularly was asked to compose the soundtracks for short films and today, the Italian is one of the most important experimental sound artists from his country.

Warm Glow (do not be fooled by the cover on which a handsome lady gives you a kiss) includes seven compositions. Dim start with 8 minutes of synthetic sounds on which you can dream away. Daydreaming on experimental music? Yes, because Dim might have been composed by M83 or Jean-Michel Jarre.

Lovers of adventurous electronica sounds are not forgotten, because Boundaries reminds us of what former Warp!-gods created. So put on your headphones, because there is a lot to discover! You even hear the ethereal female vocals by Francesca Amati, that give the track a This Mortal Coil touch.

More experimental, but surely as beautiful, is Sunflakes with electronic beats that sound like minimal fireworks. Pleistocene has a poem as a backbone, a jazzy feel, plus sounds from the Middle East.

Blossom is perhaps the most difficult track on this CD, but do not give up too quick, because right after that you hear Pike, that you can compare with the brilliant ambient tracks on Bowie’s Low. Yes, we mean that!

Moth closes this nice disc in a mysterious (experimental) way, Warm Glow is indeed a sublime auditory adventure!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Luca Sigurta is al sinds het begin van de jaren 90 bezig met field recordings. Naarmate hij meer releases uitbracht, werd hij regelmatig benaderd om soundtracks voor kortfilms te componeren. Vandaag is de Italiaan dan ook één van de belangrijkste experimentele geluidskunstenaars uit zijn land.

Op Warm Glow (laat je niet misleiden door het hoesje waarop een knappe dame je een kus toewerpt) staan 7 composities. Dim is meteen een kanjer van 8 minuten. Er gebeurt veel op deze rustgevende synthetische klanken waarop je kan wegdromen. Wegdromen op experimentele muziek? Toch wel, want Dim zou even goed door M83 of Jean-Michel Jarre kunnen zijn ecomponeerd.

Niet dat de liefhebber van avontuurlijke elektronicaklanken aan zijn lot wordt overgelaten, want Boundaries doet je meteen aan de vroegere Warp!-goden denken. Zet dus maar vlug die koptelefoon op, want hier valt heel wat te beleven! Je hoort zelfs de hemelse vrouwelijke vocalen van Francesca Amati, die de track in de sfeer van This Mortal Coil brengt.

Meer experimenteel, maar minstens even mooi, is Sunflakes waarop de elektronische beats wel op minimaal vuurwerk lijken. Pleistocene, dat een gedicht als ruggengraat heeft, klinkt lekker jazzy, aangevuld met geluiden uit het Midden-Oosten.

Blossom is wellicht de moeilijkste track op deze cd, maar niet opgeven, want meteen daarna hoor je Pike, dat je zo waar kan vergelijken met de geniale ambienttracks op Low van Bowie. Ja hoor, we menen het!

Moth sluit dit leuke schijfje op een mysterieuze (experimentele) manier af.

Warm Glow is een sublieme plaat vol kwalitatief auditief avontuur!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
DEUX FILLES • Space & Time
LACRIMOSA + CANTERRA • Roeselare, Kerelsplein (27/02/16)
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate
A VIOLET PINE • Turtles remixes
SIEBEN • Briton EP
NEGATIVE SPACE • Negative Space
LORD RAJA • Para
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself