tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LUCA SIGURTA - Warm Glow

LUCA SIGURTA

Warm Glow

MusicCD
ElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly VoicesExperimental

[81/100]   

Monotype records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Luca Sigurta has been around since the early 90s while working with field recordings. He regularly was asked to compose the soundtracks for short films and today, the Italian is one of the most important experimental sound artists from his country.

Warm Glow (do not be fooled by the cover on which a handsome lady gives you a kiss) includes seven compositions. Dim start with 8 minutes of synthetic sounds on which you can dream away. Daydreaming on experimental music? Yes, because Dim might have been composed by M83 or Jean-Michel Jarre.

Lovers of adventurous electronica sounds are not forgotten, because Boundaries reminds us of what former Warp!-gods created. So put on your headphones, because there is a lot to discover! You even hear the ethereal female vocals by Francesca Amati, that give the track a This Mortal Coil touch.

More experimental, but surely as beautiful, is Sunflakes with electronic beats that sound like minimal fireworks. Pleistocene has a poem as a backbone, a jazzy feel, plus sounds from the Middle East.

Blossom is perhaps the most difficult track on this CD, but do not give up too quick, because right after that you hear Pike, that you can compare with the brilliant ambient tracks on Bowie’s Low. Yes, we mean that!

Moth closes this nice disc in a mysterious (experimental) way, Warm Glow is indeed a sublime auditory adventure!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Luca Sigurta is al sinds het begin van de jaren 90 bezig met field recordings. Naarmate hij meer releases uitbracht, werd hij regelmatig benaderd om soundtracks voor kortfilms te componeren. Vandaag is de Italiaan dan ook één van de belangrijkste experimentele geluidskunstenaars uit zijn land.

Op Warm Glow (laat je niet misleiden door het hoesje waarop een knappe dame je een kus toewerpt) staan 7 composities. Dim is meteen een kanjer van 8 minuten. Er gebeurt veel op deze rustgevende synthetische klanken waarop je kan wegdromen. Wegdromen op experimentele muziek? Toch wel, want Dim zou even goed door M83 of Jean-Michel Jarre kunnen zijn ecomponeerd.

Niet dat de liefhebber van avontuurlijke elektronicaklanken aan zijn lot wordt overgelaten, want Boundaries doet je meteen aan de vroegere Warp!-goden denken. Zet dus maar vlug die koptelefoon op, want hier valt heel wat te beleven! Je hoort zelfs de hemelse vrouwelijke vocalen van Francesca Amati, die de track in de sfeer van This Mortal Coil brengt.

Meer experimenteel, maar minstens even mooi, is Sunflakes waarop de elektronische beats wel op minimaal vuurwerk lijken. Pleistocene, dat een gedicht als ruggengraat heeft, klinkt lekker jazzy, aangevuld met geluiden uit het Midden-Oosten.

Blossom is wellicht de moeilijkste track op deze cd, maar niet opgeven, want meteen daarna hoor je Pike, dat je zo waar kan vergelijken met de geniale ambienttracks op Low van Bowie. Ja hoor, we menen het!

Moth sluit dit leuke schijfje op een mysterieuze (experimentele) manier af.

Warm Glow is een sublieme plaat vol kwalitatief auditief avontuur!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
DEUX FILLES • Space & Time
LACRIMOSA + CANTERRA • Roeselare, Kerelsplein (27/02/16)
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate
A VIOLET PINE • Turtles remixes
SIEBEN • Briton EP
NEGATIVE SPACE • Negative Space
LORD RAJA • Para
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline