tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LUCA SIGURTA - Warm Glow

LUCA SIGURTA

Warm Glow

MusicCD
ElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly VoicesExperimental

[81/100]   

Monotype records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Luca Sigurta has been around since the early 90s while working with field recordings. He regularly was asked to compose the soundtracks for short films and today, the Italian is one of the most important experimental sound artists from his country.

Warm Glow (do not be fooled by the cover on which a handsome lady gives you a kiss) includes seven compositions. Dim start with 8 minutes of synthetic sounds on which you can dream away. Daydreaming on experimental music? Yes, because Dim might have been composed by M83 or Jean-Michel Jarre.

Lovers of adventurous electronica sounds are not forgotten, because Boundaries reminds us of what former Warp!-gods created. So put on your headphones, because there is a lot to discover! You even hear the ethereal female vocals by Francesca Amati, that give the track a This Mortal Coil touch.

More experimental, but surely as beautiful, is Sunflakes with electronic beats that sound like minimal fireworks. Pleistocene has a poem as a backbone, a jazzy feel, plus sounds from the Middle East.

Blossom is perhaps the most difficult track on this CD, but do not give up too quick, because right after that you hear Pike, that you can compare with the brilliant ambient tracks on Bowie’s Low. Yes, we mean that!

Moth closes this nice disc in a mysterious (experimental) way, Warm Glow is indeed a sublime auditory adventure!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Luca Sigurta is al sinds het begin van de jaren 90 bezig met field recordings. Naarmate hij meer releases uitbracht, werd hij regelmatig benaderd om soundtracks voor kortfilms te componeren. Vandaag is de Italiaan dan ook één van de belangrijkste experimentele geluidskunstenaars uit zijn land.

Op Warm Glow (laat je niet misleiden door het hoesje waarop een knappe dame je een kus toewerpt) staan 7 composities. Dim is meteen een kanjer van 8 minuten. Er gebeurt veel op deze rustgevende synthetische klanken waarop je kan wegdromen. Wegdromen op experimentele muziek? Toch wel, want Dim zou even goed door M83 of Jean-Michel Jarre kunnen zijn ecomponeerd.

Niet dat de liefhebber van avontuurlijke elektronicaklanken aan zijn lot wordt overgelaten, want Boundaries doet je meteen aan de vroegere Warp!-goden denken. Zet dus maar vlug die koptelefoon op, want hier valt heel wat te beleven! Je hoort zelfs de hemelse vrouwelijke vocalen van Francesca Amati, die de track in de sfeer van This Mortal Coil brengt.

Meer experimenteel, maar minstens even mooi, is Sunflakes waarop de elektronische beats wel op minimaal vuurwerk lijken. Pleistocene, dat een gedicht als ruggengraat heeft, klinkt lekker jazzy, aangevuld met geluiden uit het Midden-Oosten.

Blossom is wellicht de moeilijkste track op deze cd, maar niet opgeven, want meteen daarna hoor je Pike, dat je zo waar kan vergelijken met de geniale ambienttracks op Low van Bowie. Ja hoor, we menen het!

Moth sluit dit leuke schijfje op een mysterieuze (experimentele) manier af.

Warm Glow is een sublieme plaat vol kwalitatief auditief avontuur!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
DEUX FILLES • Space & Time
LACRIMOSA + CANTERRA • Roeselare, Kerelsplein (27/02/16)
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate
A VIOLET PINE • Turtles remixes
SIEBEN • Briton EP
NEGATIVE SPACE • Negative Space
LORD RAJA • Para
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession