tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : SIEBEN - Briton EP

SIEBEN

Briton EP

MusicDigital
NeoclassicalNeofolk

[75/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

EN

Sieben (Matt Howden) offers his latest release Briton EP, the third in a row, referring to early British culture as shown on the cover: the Horned God - a motif that is known from early Celtic myths.

The EP’s four tracks are dark and pounding with often frenetic, layered and looped violins, heavy percussion and distorted bass lines upon which Matt Howden’s vocal - and a fine one that is - tells stories of Roman Britain. The sound has a neo-folk approach with details of martial and quite a bit of Fläskkvartetten inspiration - especially on We Wait 2016.

The two first tracks are the pounding and insisting Modron and Hillfort Mindset. Both are quite long (respectively 8 and 7 minutes) and would have benefitted from a slightly shorter running time. Something that is the case with the EP’s shorter and tighter last tracks.

The last two tracks Come, Raven King and We Wait 2016 are easier to approach. Come, Raven King building on a plucked violin melody, manipulated background noises and a looped, filtered beat being my personal favorite, followed closely by the distorted rock influences of We Wait 2016.

For fans of Rome, Fläskkvartetten, Wovenhand and Dead Can Dance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


NL

Met zijn nieuwste release Briton EP, de derde op rij, verwijst Sieben (Matt Howden) naar het begin van de Britse cultuur, zoals ook blijkt uit de cover met de Gehoornde God - een motief dat ook bekend is uit de Keltische mythen.

De vier tracks op de ep zijn donker en beukend, vaak met hectische vioolloops, zware percussie en vervormde baslijnen, waarop Matt Howdens fijne stem verhalen over Groot-Brittannië vertelt die zich afspelen tijdens de Romeinse tijd. Het geluid klinkt neofolk, met martialgeluiden die wat lijken op die van Fläskkvartetten uit het album We Wait uit 2016.

De eerste twee tracks zijn de vrij harde en doordringende Modron en Hillfort Mindset. Beide songs zijn vrij lang (respectievelijk 8 en 7 minuten) en die mochten korter, wat wel het geval is in de twee laatste tracks van de ep die heel wat strakker klinken.

De laatste twee tracks Come, Raven King en We Wait 2016 liggen makkelijker in het gehoor. Come, Raven King met zijn fijne vioolmelodie, gemanipuleerde achtergrondgeluiden en gefilterde beat, is mijn persoonlijke favoriet, op de voet gevolgd door We Wait 2016 dat wat rock-invloeden heeft.

Voor de fans van Rome, Fläskkvartetten, Wovenhand en Dead Can Dance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NEGATIVE SPACE • Negative Space
LORD RAJA • Para
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels
MARZIO SCHOLTEN TRIO • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (26/02/16)
HELALYN FLOWERS • Sonic Foundations
MERCIFUL NUNS • Thelema VIII
HOLE • My Body, The Hand Grenade
ANNA MEREDITH • Varmints
JEFF WOOTTON • The way The Light

 

Other reviews from SIEBEN
SIEBEN • Each Divine Spark

 

Same combination of genres: NEOCLASSICAL + NEOFOLK
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
JESSICA BARAN-SUREL • Aremorica – Land of Elves
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete