tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : SIEBEN - Briton EP

SIEBEN

Briton EP

MusicDigital
NeoclassicalNeofolk

[75/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

EN

Sieben (Matt Howden) offers his latest release Briton EP, the third in a row, referring to early British culture as shown on the cover: the Horned God - a motif that is known from early Celtic myths.

The EP’s four tracks are dark and pounding with often frenetic, layered and looped violins, heavy percussion and distorted bass lines upon which Matt Howden’s vocal - and a fine one that is - tells stories of Roman Britain. The sound has a neo-folk approach with details of martial and quite a bit of Fläskkvartetten inspiration - especially on We Wait 2016.

The two first tracks are the pounding and insisting Modron and Hillfort Mindset. Both are quite long (respectively 8 and 7 minutes) and would have benefitted from a slightly shorter running time. Something that is the case with the EP’s shorter and tighter last tracks.

The last two tracks Come, Raven King and We Wait 2016 are easier to approach. Come, Raven King building on a plucked violin melody, manipulated background noises and a looped, filtered beat being my personal favorite, followed closely by the distorted rock influences of We Wait 2016.

For fans of Rome, Fläskkvartetten, Wovenhand and Dead Can Dance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


NL

Met zijn nieuwste release Briton EP, de derde op rij, verwijst Sieben (Matt Howden) naar het begin van de Britse cultuur, zoals ook blijkt uit de cover met de Gehoornde God - een motief dat ook bekend is uit de Keltische mythen.

De vier tracks op de ep zijn donker en beukend, vaak met hectische vioolloops, zware percussie en vervormde baslijnen, waarop Matt Howdens fijne stem verhalen over Groot-Brittannië vertelt die zich afspelen tijdens de Romeinse tijd. Het geluid klinkt neofolk, met martialgeluiden die wat lijken op die van Fläskkvartetten uit het album We Wait uit 2016.

De eerste twee tracks zijn de vrij harde en doordringende Modron en Hillfort Mindset. Beide songs zijn vrij lang (respectievelijk 8 en 7 minuten) en die mochten korter, wat wel het geval is in de twee laatste tracks van de ep die heel wat strakker klinken.

De laatste twee tracks Come, Raven King en We Wait 2016 liggen makkelijker in het gehoor. Come, Raven King met zijn fijne vioolmelodie, gemanipuleerde achtergrondgeluiden en gefilterde beat, is mijn persoonlijke favoriet, op de voet gevolgd door We Wait 2016 dat wat rock-invloeden heeft.

Voor de fans van Rome, Fläskkvartetten, Wovenhand en Dead Can Dance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NEGATIVE SPACE • Negative Space
LORD RAJA • Para
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels
MARZIO SCHOLTEN TRIO • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (26/02/16)
HELALYN FLOWERS • Sonic Foundations
MERCIFUL NUNS • Thelema VIII
HOLE • My Body, The Hand Grenade
ANNA MEREDITH • Varmints
JEFF WOOTTON • The way The Light

 

Other reviews from SIEBEN
SIEBEN • Each Divine Spark

 

Same combination of genres: NEOCLASSICAL + NEOFOLK
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
JESSICA BARAN-SUREL • Aremorica – Land of Elves
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi