tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : SIEBEN - Briton EP

SIEBEN

Briton EP

MusicDigital
NeoclassicalNeofolk

[75/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

EN

Sieben (Matt Howden) offers his latest release Briton EP, the third in a row, referring to early British culture as shown on the cover: the Horned God - a motif that is known from early Celtic myths.

The EP’s four tracks are dark and pounding with often frenetic, layered and looped violins, heavy percussion and distorted bass lines upon which Matt Howden’s vocal - and a fine one that is - tells stories of Roman Britain. The sound has a neo-folk approach with details of martial and quite a bit of Fläskkvartetten inspiration - especially on We Wait 2016.

The two first tracks are the pounding and insisting Modron and Hillfort Mindset. Both are quite long (respectively 8 and 7 minutes) and would have benefitted from a slightly shorter running time. Something that is the case with the EP’s shorter and tighter last tracks.

The last two tracks Come, Raven King and We Wait 2016 are easier to approach. Come, Raven King building on a plucked violin melody, manipulated background noises and a looped, filtered beat being my personal favorite, followed closely by the distorted rock influences of We Wait 2016.

For fans of Rome, Fläskkvartetten, Wovenhand and Dead Can Dance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


NL

Met zijn nieuwste release Briton EP, de derde op rij, verwijst Sieben (Matt Howden) naar het begin van de Britse cultuur, zoals ook blijkt uit de cover met de Gehoornde God - een motief dat ook bekend is uit de Keltische mythen.

De vier tracks op de ep zijn donker en beukend, vaak met hectische vioolloops, zware percussie en vervormde baslijnen, waarop Matt Howdens fijne stem verhalen over Groot-Brittannië vertelt die zich afspelen tijdens de Romeinse tijd. Het geluid klinkt neofolk, met martialgeluiden die wat lijken op die van Fläskkvartetten uit het album We Wait uit 2016.

De eerste twee tracks zijn de vrij harde en doordringende Modron en Hillfort Mindset. Beide songs zijn vrij lang (respectievelijk 8 en 7 minuten) en die mochten korter, wat wel het geval is in de twee laatste tracks van de ep die heel wat strakker klinken.

De laatste twee tracks Come, Raven King en We Wait 2016 liggen makkelijker in het gehoor. Come, Raven King met zijn fijne vioolmelodie, gemanipuleerde achtergrondgeluiden en gefilterde beat, is mijn persoonlijke favoriet, op de voet gevolgd door We Wait 2016 dat wat rock-invloeden heeft.

Voor de fans van Rome, Fläskkvartetten, Wovenhand en Dead Can Dance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NEGATIVE SPACE • Negative Space
LORD RAJA • Para
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels
MARZIO SCHOLTEN TRIO • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (26/02/16)
HELALYN FLOWERS • Sonic Foundations
MERCIFUL NUNS • Thelema VIII
HOLE • My Body, The Hand Grenade
ANNA MEREDITH • Varmints
JEFF WOOTTON • The way The Light

 

Other reviews from SIEBEN
SIEBEN • Each Divine Spark

 

Same combination of genres: NEOCLASSICAL + NEOFOLK
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
JESSICA BARAN-SUREL • Aremorica – Land of Elves
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)