tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark

SIEBEN

Each Divine Spark

MusicCD
Neoclassical

[90/100]   

Self-released
11/01/2014, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Each Divine Spark is the eleventh album by violin virtuoso Matt Howden. It sounds very good, both instrumental and vocal. Maybe it's the analog recording of the album at Club 60, but when playing at high volume, it feels like Matt is just standing next to you.

Opener "Born From The Ashes" starts (as often) with minimal support violin , and of course, with the obligatory violin loops , complemented with a warm & clear voice in the foreground. Strumming the strings , a beautiful melody and melancholy vocals combined into a slowly intensifying number , yes , It puts me immediately in the mood.

The second song "There She Is" uses this same successful combination , enhanced with a beautiful female voice as well as the 300 % full use of the violin as an instrument , strumming , grating, multi layered loopings...

" In This Place" gets a beautiful melody against an even more beautiful repetitive soundscape, where the shouting and singing, interspersed with the stunning melancholic instrumental fragments, creates a piece of art.

The following song, "A Firebug Nature", features alienating background distortion and helps you continuing to wander, dream, on Icarus Wings. And "All In Vain" keeps that same atmosphere, although the timbre even reminds me of a John Foxx song, despite the completely different instruments.

The only “harsh” number on this cd isl "Jigsaw Chainsaw " where Matt's violin sounds almost like a greasy rocking guitar, and the exhilarating pace and multilayers grabs you by the throat.

Unfortunately, with the beautiful "Wound Sound" and gimmick "Tape rewind" we already the end of this album.

A very strong vocal performance , complemented by so many beautiful melodies and an ingenious multi -layer violin looping has completely convinced me again. And every time you listen again to the album, you’ll discover again additionally layers and sounds.

In short: a very strong Sieben album, perhaps even his strongest to date...

Each Divine Spark ? Each Spark Divine !

Ward DE PRINS
11/01/2014


NL

Each Divine Spark is het elfde album van vioolvirtuoos Matt Howden. Het klinkt ontzettend goed, zowel instrumentaal als vocaal. Misschien is het door de analoge opname van het album in Club 60, maar bij spelen op hoog volume staat Matt gewoon naast je.

Opener “Born From The Ashes” geeft minimale vioolondersteuning, uiteraard met de obligate viool loops, en een warme stem op de voorgrond. Getokkel op de snaren, een zalige melodie en de melancholische zang gecombineerd in een langzaam intensifiërend nummer, jawel, ik ben onmiddellijk in the mood.

Ook het tweede nummer “She Is There” maakt gebruik van deze geslaagde combinatie, uitgebreid met een mooie vrouwenstem alsook het 300% volledig inzetten van de viool als instrument, tokkelen, raspen, …

“In This Place” krijgt een prachtige melodie tegen een nog mooier repetitief klanktapijt en geroep en gezang en schept mede door de instrumentale fragmenten een prachtig melancholisch kunstwerkje.

Op “A Firebug Nature”, voorzien van bevreemdende achtergrond distortion, kan je verder wegdromen, on Icarus Wings. En ook “All In Vain” sluit daarbij aan, al zou het qua sfeer en timbre zou het zo een John Foxx nummer kunnen zijn, ondanks het compleet andere instrumentarium.

De enige stijlbreuk doorheen de nummers vind ik bij het zalige “Jigsaw Chainsaw”, waar Matts vioolspel haast als een vettig rockende gitaar klinkt en het opzwepend tempo en de multilayers je vastgrijpen en in de greep houden.

Helaas komen we zo met het mooie “Woundsound” en gimmick “Tape rewind” al aan het einde van dit album.

Een zeer sterke vocale prestatie, aangevuld met zoveel mooie melodieën en een vernuftig multi-lagig loop gebruik heeft me weer helemaal overtuigd. Bij elke beluistering ontdek in bovendien weer extra lagen en geluiden.

Samengevat : een zeer sterk album van Sieben, misschien wel zijn sterkste tot op heden…

Each Divine Spark ? Each Spark Divine !

Ward DE PRINS
11/01/2014


11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark 11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark 11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
12
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)