tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark

SIEBEN

Each Divine Spark

MusicCD
Neoclassical

[90/100]   

Self-released
11/01/2014, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Each Divine Spark is the eleventh album by violin virtuoso Matt Howden. It sounds very good, both instrumental and vocal. Maybe it's the analog recording of the album at Club 60, but when playing at high volume, it feels like Matt is just standing next to you.

Opener "Born From The Ashes" starts (as often) with minimal support violin , and of course, with the obligatory violin loops , complemented with a warm & clear voice in the foreground. Strumming the strings , a beautiful melody and melancholy vocals combined into a slowly intensifying number , yes , It puts me immediately in the mood.

The second song "There She Is" uses this same successful combination , enhanced with a beautiful female voice as well as the 300 % full use of the violin as an instrument , strumming , grating, multi layered loopings...

" In This Place" gets a beautiful melody against an even more beautiful repetitive soundscape, where the shouting and singing, interspersed with the stunning melancholic instrumental fragments, creates a piece of art.

The following song, "A Firebug Nature", features alienating background distortion and helps you continuing to wander, dream, on Icarus Wings. And "All In Vain" keeps that same atmosphere, although the timbre even reminds me of a John Foxx song, despite the completely different instruments.

The only “harsh” number on this cd isl "Jigsaw Chainsaw " where Matt's violin sounds almost like a greasy rocking guitar, and the exhilarating pace and multilayers grabs you by the throat.

Unfortunately, with the beautiful "Wound Sound" and gimmick "Tape rewind" we already the end of this album.

A very strong vocal performance , complemented by so many beautiful melodies and an ingenious multi -layer violin looping has completely convinced me again. And every time you listen again to the album, you’ll discover again additionally layers and sounds.

In short: a very strong Sieben album, perhaps even his strongest to date...

Each Divine Spark ? Each Spark Divine !

Ward DE PRINS
11/01/2014


NL

Each Divine Spark is het elfde album van vioolvirtuoos Matt Howden. Het klinkt ontzettend goed, zowel instrumentaal als vocaal. Misschien is het door de analoge opname van het album in Club 60, maar bij spelen op hoog volume staat Matt gewoon naast je.

Opener “Born From The Ashes” geeft minimale vioolondersteuning, uiteraard met de obligate viool loops, en een warme stem op de voorgrond. Getokkel op de snaren, een zalige melodie en de melancholische zang gecombineerd in een langzaam intensifiërend nummer, jawel, ik ben onmiddellijk in the mood.

Ook het tweede nummer “She Is There” maakt gebruik van deze geslaagde combinatie, uitgebreid met een mooie vrouwenstem alsook het 300% volledig inzetten van de viool als instrument, tokkelen, raspen, …

“In This Place” krijgt een prachtige melodie tegen een nog mooier repetitief klanktapijt en geroep en gezang en schept mede door de instrumentale fragmenten een prachtig melancholisch kunstwerkje.

Op “A Firebug Nature”, voorzien van bevreemdende achtergrond distortion, kan je verder wegdromen, on Icarus Wings. En ook “All In Vain” sluit daarbij aan, al zou het qua sfeer en timbre zou het zo een John Foxx nummer kunnen zijn, ondanks het compleet andere instrumentarium.

De enige stijlbreuk doorheen de nummers vind ik bij het zalige “Jigsaw Chainsaw”, waar Matts vioolspel haast als een vettig rockende gitaar klinkt en het opzwepend tempo en de multilayers je vastgrijpen en in de greep houden.

Helaas komen we zo met het mooie “Woundsound” en gimmick “Tape rewind” al aan het einde van dit album.

Een zeer sterke vocale prestatie, aangevuld met zoveel mooie melodieën en een vernuftig multi-lagig loop gebruik heeft me weer helemaal overtuigd. Bij elke beluistering ontdek in bovendien weer extra lagen en geluiden.

Samengevat : een zeer sterk album van Sieben, misschien wel zijn sterkste tot op heden…

Each Divine Spark ? Each Spark Divine !

Ward DE PRINS
11/01/2014


11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark 11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark 11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams