tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark

SIEBEN

Each Divine Spark

MusicCD
Neoclassical

[90/100]   

Self-released
11/01/2014, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Each Divine Spark is the eleventh album by violin virtuoso Matt Howden. It sounds very good, both instrumental and vocal. Maybe it's the analog recording of the album at Club 60, but when playing at high volume, it feels like Matt is just standing next to you.

Opener "Born From The Ashes" starts (as often) with minimal support violin , and of course, with the obligatory violin loops , complemented with a warm & clear voice in the foreground. Strumming the strings , a beautiful melody and melancholy vocals combined into a slowly intensifying number , yes , It puts me immediately in the mood.

The second song "There She Is" uses this same successful combination , enhanced with a beautiful female voice as well as the 300 % full use of the violin as an instrument , strumming , grating, multi layered loopings...

" In This Place" gets a beautiful melody against an even more beautiful repetitive soundscape, where the shouting and singing, interspersed with the stunning melancholic instrumental fragments, creates a piece of art.

The following song, "A Firebug Nature", features alienating background distortion and helps you continuing to wander, dream, on Icarus Wings. And "All In Vain" keeps that same atmosphere, although the timbre even reminds me of a John Foxx song, despite the completely different instruments.

The only “harsh” number on this cd isl "Jigsaw Chainsaw " where Matt's violin sounds almost like a greasy rocking guitar, and the exhilarating pace and multilayers grabs you by the throat.

Unfortunately, with the beautiful "Wound Sound" and gimmick "Tape rewind" we already the end of this album.

A very strong vocal performance , complemented by so many beautiful melodies and an ingenious multi -layer violin looping has completely convinced me again. And every time you listen again to the album, you’ll discover again additionally layers and sounds.

In short: a very strong Sieben album, perhaps even his strongest to date...

Each Divine Spark ? Each Spark Divine !

Ward DE PRINS
11/01/2014


NL

Each Divine Spark is het elfde album van vioolvirtuoos Matt Howden. Het klinkt ontzettend goed, zowel instrumentaal als vocaal. Misschien is het door de analoge opname van het album in Club 60, maar bij spelen op hoog volume staat Matt gewoon naast je.

Opener “Born From The Ashes” geeft minimale vioolondersteuning, uiteraard met de obligate viool loops, en een warme stem op de voorgrond. Getokkel op de snaren, een zalige melodie en de melancholische zang gecombineerd in een langzaam intensifiërend nummer, jawel, ik ben onmiddellijk in the mood.

Ook het tweede nummer “She Is There” maakt gebruik van deze geslaagde combinatie, uitgebreid met een mooie vrouwenstem alsook het 300% volledig inzetten van de viool als instrument, tokkelen, raspen, …

“In This Place” krijgt een prachtige melodie tegen een nog mooier repetitief klanktapijt en geroep en gezang en schept mede door de instrumentale fragmenten een prachtig melancholisch kunstwerkje.

Op “A Firebug Nature”, voorzien van bevreemdende achtergrond distortion, kan je verder wegdromen, on Icarus Wings. En ook “All In Vain” sluit daarbij aan, al zou het qua sfeer en timbre zou het zo een John Foxx nummer kunnen zijn, ondanks het compleet andere instrumentarium.

De enige stijlbreuk doorheen de nummers vind ik bij het zalige “Jigsaw Chainsaw”, waar Matts vioolspel haast als een vettig rockende gitaar klinkt en het opzwepend tempo en de multilayers je vastgrijpen en in de greep houden.

Helaas komen we zo met het mooie “Woundsound” en gimmick “Tape rewind” al aan het einde van dit album.

Een zeer sterke vocale prestatie, aangevuld met zoveel mooie melodieën en een vernuftig multi-lagig loop gebruik heeft me weer helemaal overtuigd. Bij elke beluistering ontdek in bovendien weer extra lagen en geluiden.

Samengevat : een zeer sterk album van Sieben, misschien wel zijn sterkste tot op heden…

Each Divine Spark ? Each Spark Divine !

Ward DE PRINS
11/01/2014


11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark 11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark 11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi