tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark

SIEBEN

Each Divine Spark

MusicCD
Neoclassical

[90/100]   

Self-released
11/01/2014, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Each Divine Spark is the eleventh album by violin virtuoso Matt Howden. It sounds very good, both instrumental and vocal. Maybe it's the analog recording of the album at Club 60, but when playing at high volume, it feels like Matt is just standing next to you.

Opener "Born From The Ashes" starts (as often) with minimal support violin , and of course, with the obligatory violin loops , complemented with a warm & clear voice in the foreground. Strumming the strings , a beautiful melody and melancholy vocals combined into a slowly intensifying number , yes , It puts me immediately in the mood.

The second song "There She Is" uses this same successful combination , enhanced with a beautiful female voice as well as the 300 % full use of the violin as an instrument , strumming , grating, multi layered loopings...

" In This Place" gets a beautiful melody against an even more beautiful repetitive soundscape, where the shouting and singing, interspersed with the stunning melancholic instrumental fragments, creates a piece of art.

The following song, "A Firebug Nature", features alienating background distortion and helps you continuing to wander, dream, on Icarus Wings. And "All In Vain" keeps that same atmosphere, although the timbre even reminds me of a John Foxx song, despite the completely different instruments.

The only “harsh” number on this cd isl "Jigsaw Chainsaw " where Matt's violin sounds almost like a greasy rocking guitar, and the exhilarating pace and multilayers grabs you by the throat.

Unfortunately, with the beautiful "Wound Sound" and gimmick "Tape rewind" we already the end of this album.

A very strong vocal performance , complemented by so many beautiful melodies and an ingenious multi -layer violin looping has completely convinced me again. And every time you listen again to the album, you’ll discover again additionally layers and sounds.

In short: a very strong Sieben album, perhaps even his strongest to date...

Each Divine Spark ? Each Spark Divine !

Ward DE PRINS
11/01/2014


NL

Each Divine Spark is het elfde album van vioolvirtuoos Matt Howden. Het klinkt ontzettend goed, zowel instrumentaal als vocaal. Misschien is het door de analoge opname van het album in Club 60, maar bij spelen op hoog volume staat Matt gewoon naast je.

Opener “Born From The Ashes” geeft minimale vioolondersteuning, uiteraard met de obligate viool loops, en een warme stem op de voorgrond. Getokkel op de snaren, een zalige melodie en de melancholische zang gecombineerd in een langzaam intensifiërend nummer, jawel, ik ben onmiddellijk in the mood.

Ook het tweede nummer “She Is There” maakt gebruik van deze geslaagde combinatie, uitgebreid met een mooie vrouwenstem alsook het 300% volledig inzetten van de viool als instrument, tokkelen, raspen, …

“In This Place” krijgt een prachtige melodie tegen een nog mooier repetitief klanktapijt en geroep en gezang en schept mede door de instrumentale fragmenten een prachtig melancholisch kunstwerkje.

Op “A Firebug Nature”, voorzien van bevreemdende achtergrond distortion, kan je verder wegdromen, on Icarus Wings. En ook “All In Vain” sluit daarbij aan, al zou het qua sfeer en timbre zou het zo een John Foxx nummer kunnen zijn, ondanks het compleet andere instrumentarium.

De enige stijlbreuk doorheen de nummers vind ik bij het zalige “Jigsaw Chainsaw”, waar Matts vioolspel haast als een vettig rockende gitaar klinkt en het opzwepend tempo en de multilayers je vastgrijpen en in de greep houden.

Helaas komen we zo met het mooie “Woundsound” en gimmick “Tape rewind” al aan het einde van dit album.

Een zeer sterke vocale prestatie, aangevuld met zoveel mooie melodieën en een vernuftig multi-lagig loop gebruik heeft me weer helemaal overtuigd. Bij elke beluistering ontdek in bovendien weer extra lagen en geluiden.

Samengevat : een zeer sterk album van Sieben, misschien wel zijn sterkste tot op heden…

Each Divine Spark ? Each Spark Divine !

Ward DE PRINS
11/01/2014


11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark 11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark 11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark

Music reviews

29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury