tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark

SIEBEN

Each Divine Spark

MusicCD
Neoclassical

[90/100]   

Self-released
11/01/2014, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Each Divine Spark is the eleventh album by violin virtuoso Matt Howden. It sounds very good, both instrumental and vocal. Maybe it's the analog recording of the album at Club 60, but when playing at high volume, it feels like Matt is just standing next to you.

Opener "Born From The Ashes" starts (as often) with minimal support violin , and of course, with the obligatory violin loops , complemented with a warm & clear voice in the foreground. Strumming the strings , a beautiful melody and melancholy vocals combined into a slowly intensifying number , yes , It puts me immediately in the mood.

The second song "There She Is" uses this same successful combination , enhanced with a beautiful female voice as well as the 300 % full use of the violin as an instrument , strumming , grating, multi layered loopings...

" In This Place" gets a beautiful melody against an even more beautiful repetitive soundscape, where the shouting and singing, interspersed with the stunning melancholic instrumental fragments, creates a piece of art.

The following song, "A Firebug Nature", features alienating background distortion and helps you continuing to wander, dream, on Icarus Wings. And "All In Vain" keeps that same atmosphere, although the timbre even reminds me of a John Foxx song, despite the completely different instruments.

The only “harsh” number on this cd isl "Jigsaw Chainsaw " where Matt's violin sounds almost like a greasy rocking guitar, and the exhilarating pace and multilayers grabs you by the throat.

Unfortunately, with the beautiful "Wound Sound" and gimmick "Tape rewind" we already the end of this album.

A very strong vocal performance , complemented by so many beautiful melodies and an ingenious multi -layer violin looping has completely convinced me again. And every time you listen again to the album, you’ll discover again additionally layers and sounds.

In short: a very strong Sieben album, perhaps even his strongest to date...

Each Divine Spark ? Each Spark Divine !

Ward DE PRINS
11/01/2014


NL

Each Divine Spark is het elfde album van vioolvirtuoos Matt Howden. Het klinkt ontzettend goed, zowel instrumentaal als vocaal. Misschien is het door de analoge opname van het album in Club 60, maar bij spelen op hoog volume staat Matt gewoon naast je.

Opener “Born From The Ashes” geeft minimale vioolondersteuning, uiteraard met de obligate viool loops, en een warme stem op de voorgrond. Getokkel op de snaren, een zalige melodie en de melancholische zang gecombineerd in een langzaam intensifiërend nummer, jawel, ik ben onmiddellijk in the mood.

Ook het tweede nummer “She Is There” maakt gebruik van deze geslaagde combinatie, uitgebreid met een mooie vrouwenstem alsook het 300% volledig inzetten van de viool als instrument, tokkelen, raspen, …

“In This Place” krijgt een prachtige melodie tegen een nog mooier repetitief klanktapijt en geroep en gezang en schept mede door de instrumentale fragmenten een prachtig melancholisch kunstwerkje.

Op “A Firebug Nature”, voorzien van bevreemdende achtergrond distortion, kan je verder wegdromen, on Icarus Wings. En ook “All In Vain” sluit daarbij aan, al zou het qua sfeer en timbre zou het zo een John Foxx nummer kunnen zijn, ondanks het compleet andere instrumentarium.

De enige stijlbreuk doorheen de nummers vind ik bij het zalige “Jigsaw Chainsaw”, waar Matts vioolspel haast als een vettig rockende gitaar klinkt en het opzwepend tempo en de multilayers je vastgrijpen en in de greep houden.

Helaas komen we zo met het mooie “Woundsound” en gimmick “Tape rewind” al aan het einde van dit album.

Een zeer sterke vocale prestatie, aangevuld met zoveel mooie melodieën en een vernuftig multi-lagig loop gebruik heeft me weer helemaal overtuigd. Bij elke beluistering ontdek in bovendien weer extra lagen en geluiden.

Samengevat : een zeer sterk album van Sieben, misschien wel zijn sterkste tot op heden…

Each Divine Spark ? Each Spark Divine !

Ward DE PRINS
11/01/2014


11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark 11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark 11/01/2014 : SIEBEN - Each Divine Spark

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
10
07
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' opens this Friday followed by a cast and director Q&A!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!
18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire