tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/01/2014 : PAS - Abandoned Bird Egg

PAS

Abandoned Bird Egg

MusicCD
AbstractElectronicsExperimental

[75/100]   

Alrealon Musique
09/01/2014, Chris KONINGS

Another album by PAS, or PAS Musique as they call themselves on this one, these masters of improvisation seem bent on delivering a new album each year. First I received "Pure Energy Output Sessions" which had me puzzled but I still liked the effort they made. Then I got "Flanked By Women And Pumpkins", an album I haven't really gotten time for and since this "Abandoned Bird Egg" is their latest, I'm not sure if I ever will... but I'll give it another shot.

The album has ten songs that are far from what your average Joe would call a 'song'... Loops, knobs whirling around, free jazz or art rock guitar in the best Fred Frith context, bubbly synths, sampled vocals, sheep... If you can think of it, they've got it. As said earlier in the "PEOS" review, they sound like they are having loads of fun and here on this record they seem to translate that a bit better. Anyway, songs I liked were the bubbly "Something Indescribable" and also "Modern Witchcraft", a wink towards the now quite popular minimal electro scene, especially with the sporadic ghostly female vocals... It does lose its way in the last minute, but you can just skip it then, and wonder why you are hearing bleating sheep? It's the start of "Esoteric Funk Classic" and that name says enough (it's plain weird).

"You Are Who You Are" has heavy, lo-fi guitars and "Humour In The Quarry" starts with bird-like synths, reminding me a bit of the LSD album of Coil. I guess most songs sound like they are drug induced mindbenders... so if you are up for a trip in some twisted minds, go for it. Another good one is the bendy "The Strobe Wheel" with crackling narration and spacious ambient.

Like the nice artwork by band member Robert L. Pepper. Maybe they could do Facebook contest? Let people send in pictures of their baffled facial expressions while listening to this 'musique concrète' and make their next artwork with it...

Chris KONINGS
09/01/2014


 

Next reviews
• UNIT ONE, SERIES THREE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Ward De Prins
MY EDUCATION • A Drink For All My Friends
NAKED LUNCH • Glow (EP)
EVAN GOLDBERG & SETH ROGEN • This is the end
ROBERT ALTMAN • The long goodbye
ASTRONAUTE • Myriad
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Guillermo Coronel
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs
BILLE AUGUST • Night Train To Lisbon

 

Other reviews from PAS
PAS • Pure Energy Output Sessions

 

Same combination of genres: ABSTRACT + ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
ALSO • Live in Celovec
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
41 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 41 years ago!
26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask