tempobet yeni adresi

09/01/2014 : PAS - Abandoned Bird Egg

PAS

Abandoned Bird Egg

MusicCD
AbstractElectronicsExperimental

[75/100]   

Alrealon Musique
09/01/2014, Chris KONINGS

Another album by PAS, or PAS Musique as they call themselves on this one, these masters of improvisation seem bent on delivering a new album each year. First I received "Pure Energy Output Sessions" which had me puzzled but I still liked the effort they made. Then I got "Flanked By Women And Pumpkins", an album I haven't really gotten time for and since this "Abandoned Bird Egg" is their latest, I'm not sure if I ever will... but I'll give it another shot.

The album has ten songs that are far from what your average Joe would call a 'song'... Loops, knobs whirling around, free jazz or art rock guitar in the best Fred Frith context, bubbly synths, sampled vocals, sheep... If you can think of it, they've got it. As said earlier in the "PEOS" review, they sound like they are having loads of fun and here on this record they seem to translate that a bit better. Anyway, songs I liked were the bubbly "Something Indescribable" and also "Modern Witchcraft", a wink towards the now quite popular minimal electro scene, especially with the sporadic ghostly female vocals... It does lose its way in the last minute, but you can just skip it then, and wonder why you are hearing bleating sheep? It's the start of "Esoteric Funk Classic" and that name says enough (it's plain weird).

"You Are Who You Are" has heavy, lo-fi guitars and "Humour In The Quarry" starts with bird-like synths, reminding me a bit of the LSD album of Coil. I guess most songs sound like they are drug induced mindbenders... so if you are up for a trip in some twisted minds, go for it. Another good one is the bendy "The Strobe Wheel" with crackling narration and spacious ambient.

Like the nice artwork by band member Robert L. Pepper. Maybe they could do Facebook contest? Let people send in pictures of their baffled facial expressions while listening to this 'musique concrète' and make their next artwork with it...

Chris KONINGS
09/01/2014


 

Next reviews
• UNIT ONE, SERIES THREE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Ward De Prins
MY EDUCATION • A Drink For All My Friends
NAKED LUNCH • Glow (EP)
EVAN GOLDBERG & SETH ROGEN • This is the end
ROBERT ALTMAN • The long goodbye
ASTRONAUTE • Myriad
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Guillermo Coronel
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs
BILLE AUGUST • Night Train To Lisbon

 

Other reviews from PAS
PAS • Pure Energy Output Sessions

 

Same combination of genres: ABSTRACT + ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
JEAN-LUC GODARD • Adieu Au Langage 3D (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI • Illumination
FAUSTEN • Fausten
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue
YELLO • Toy
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)