tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/01/2014 : PAS - Abandoned Bird Egg

PAS

Abandoned Bird Egg

MusicCD
AbstractElectronicsExperimental

[75/100]   

Alrealon Musique
09/01/2014, Chris KONINGS

Another album by PAS, or PAS Musique as they call themselves on this one, these masters of improvisation seem bent on delivering a new album each year. First I received "Pure Energy Output Sessions" which had me puzzled but I still liked the effort they made. Then I got "Flanked By Women And Pumpkins", an album I haven't really gotten time for and since this "Abandoned Bird Egg" is their latest, I'm not sure if I ever will... but I'll give it another shot.

The album has ten songs that are far from what your average Joe would call a 'song'... Loops, knobs whirling around, free jazz or art rock guitar in the best Fred Frith context, bubbly synths, sampled vocals, sheep... If you can think of it, they've got it. As said earlier in the "PEOS" review, they sound like they are having loads of fun and here on this record they seem to translate that a bit better. Anyway, songs I liked were the bubbly "Something Indescribable" and also "Modern Witchcraft", a wink towards the now quite popular minimal electro scene, especially with the sporadic ghostly female vocals... It does lose its way in the last minute, but you can just skip it then, and wonder why you are hearing bleating sheep? It's the start of "Esoteric Funk Classic" and that name says enough (it's plain weird).

"You Are Who You Are" has heavy, lo-fi guitars and "Humour In The Quarry" starts with bird-like synths, reminding me a bit of the LSD album of Coil. I guess most songs sound like they are drug induced mindbenders... so if you are up for a trip in some twisted minds, go for it. Another good one is the bendy "The Strobe Wheel" with crackling narration and spacious ambient.

Like the nice artwork by band member Robert L. Pepper. Maybe they could do Facebook contest? Let people send in pictures of their baffled facial expressions while listening to this 'musique concrète' and make their next artwork with it...

Chris KONINGS
09/01/2014


 

Next reviews
• UNIT ONE, SERIES THREE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Ward De Prins
MY EDUCATION • A Drink For All My Friends
NAKED LUNCH • Glow (EP)
EVAN GOLDBERG & SETH ROGEN • This is the end
ROBERT ALTMAN • The long goodbye
ASTRONAUTE • Myriad
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Guillermo Coronel
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs
BILLE AUGUST • Night Train To Lisbon

 

Other reviews from PAS
PAS • Pure Energy Output Sessions

 

Same combination of genres: ABSTRACT + ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
ALSO • Live in Celovec
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain