tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/01/2014 : PAS - Abandoned Bird Egg

PAS

Abandoned Bird Egg

MusicCD
AbstractElectronicsExperimental

[75/100]   

Alrealon Musique
09/01/2014, Chris KONINGS

Another album by PAS, or PAS Musique as they call themselves on this one, these masters of improvisation seem bent on delivering a new album each year. First I received "Pure Energy Output Sessions" which had me puzzled but I still liked the effort they made. Then I got "Flanked By Women And Pumpkins", an album I haven't really gotten time for and since this "Abandoned Bird Egg" is their latest, I'm not sure if I ever will... but I'll give it another shot.

The album has ten songs that are far from what your average Joe would call a 'song'... Loops, knobs whirling around, free jazz or art rock guitar in the best Fred Frith context, bubbly synths, sampled vocals, sheep... If you can think of it, they've got it. As said earlier in the "PEOS" review, they sound like they are having loads of fun and here on this record they seem to translate that a bit better. Anyway, songs I liked were the bubbly "Something Indescribable" and also "Modern Witchcraft", a wink towards the now quite popular minimal electro scene, especially with the sporadic ghostly female vocals... It does lose its way in the last minute, but you can just skip it then, and wonder why you are hearing bleating sheep? It's the start of "Esoteric Funk Classic" and that name says enough (it's plain weird).

"You Are Who You Are" has heavy, lo-fi guitars and "Humour In The Quarry" starts with bird-like synths, reminding me a bit of the LSD album of Coil. I guess most songs sound like they are drug induced mindbenders... so if you are up for a trip in some twisted minds, go for it. Another good one is the bendy "The Strobe Wheel" with crackling narration and spacious ambient.

Like the nice artwork by band member Robert L. Pepper. Maybe they could do Facebook contest? Let people send in pictures of their baffled facial expressions while listening to this 'musique concrète' and make their next artwork with it...

Chris KONINGS
09/01/2014


 

Next reviews
• UNIT ONE, SERIES THREE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Ward De Prins
MY EDUCATION • A Drink For All My Friends
NAKED LUNCH • Glow (EP)
EVAN GOLDBERG & SETH ROGEN • This is the end
ROBERT ALTMAN • The long goodbye
ASTRONAUTE • Myriad
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Guillermo Coronel
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs
BILLE AUGUST • Night Train To Lisbon

 

Other reviews from PAS
PAS • Pure Energy Output Sessions

 

Same combination of genres: ABSTRACT + ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
JEAN-LUC GODARD • Adieu Au Langage 3D (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

Music reviews

14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love