tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/01/2014 : MY EDUCATION - A Drink For All My Friends

MY EDUCATION

A Drink For All My Friends

MusicCD
Post RockPsychedelic

[75/100]   

Golden Antenna Records
08/01/2014, Chris KONINGS

My Education is a Texan instrumental post rock band formed in 1999. They create cinematic and psychedelic compositions blending intense droning guitars with melodic viola. Aaah discogs, how on earth did reviewers know anything about bands twenty years ago?

By no means this covers enough ground to explain what they are about but the excellent live version of "...For All My Friends" will help you get the general idea. So post rock, what can still be done in this genre? Bands that bring quality would suffice I guess and My Education delivers! The intro gets you in the right dreamy mood with bells and violins, this continues into a growing demon, the album version of the YouTube clip you just saw.

Too bad it dissolves into too much chords and not enough oblivion with "Mister 1986", also "Black Box" is like an aimless device with annoying ramblings in the background. So that's fifteen minutes wasted, luckily the engine roars again with "Roboter-Höhlenbewohner". This one has everything! Pace, danger, sharp edges and captivating guitars so you can close your eyes and bow your head in appreciation.

"Happy Village" takes ages to unravel but when it does you are in for another post rock treat! Just read the previous description... it's that good, only your bliss lasts about five minutes longer. And it sort of flows over in an instrumental QOTSA climax. Like the trumpets and sax!

Out on Golden Antenna for Germany, but you can still get the 2012 original from Haute Magie... The two flukes suck, but slowly they are getting near perfection. If you guys make another record, jez lemmy know ey?

Chris KONINGS
08/01/2014


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death