tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/01/2014 : MY EDUCATION - A Drink For All My Friends

MY EDUCATION

A Drink For All My Friends

MusicCD
Post RockPsychedelic

[75/100]   

Golden Antenna Records
08/01/2014, Chris KONINGS

My Education is a Texan instrumental post rock band formed in 1999. They create cinematic and psychedelic compositions blending intense droning guitars with melodic viola. Aaah discogs, how on earth did reviewers know anything about bands twenty years ago?

By no means this covers enough ground to explain what they are about but the excellent live version of "...For All My Friends" will help you get the general idea. So post rock, what can still be done in this genre? Bands that bring quality would suffice I guess and My Education delivers! The intro gets you in the right dreamy mood with bells and violins, this continues into a growing demon, the album version of the YouTube clip you just saw.

Too bad it dissolves into too much chords and not enough oblivion with "Mister 1986", also "Black Box" is like an aimless device with annoying ramblings in the background. So that's fifteen minutes wasted, luckily the engine roars again with "Roboter-Höhlenbewohner". This one has everything! Pace, danger, sharp edges and captivating guitars so you can close your eyes and bow your head in appreciation.

"Happy Village" takes ages to unravel but when it does you are in for another post rock treat! Just read the previous description... it's that good, only your bliss lasts about five minutes longer. And it sort of flows over in an instrumental QOTSA climax. Like the trumpets and sax!

Out on Golden Antenna for Germany, but you can still get the 2012 original from Haute Magie... The two flukes suck, but slowly they are getting near perfection. If you guys make another record, jez lemmy know ey?

Chris KONINGS
08/01/2014


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
10
07
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' opens this Friday followed by a cast and director Q&A!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!
18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire