tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/01/2014 : MY EDUCATION - A Drink For All My Friends

MY EDUCATION

A Drink For All My Friends

MusicCD
Post RockPsychedelic

[75/100]   

Golden Antenna Records
08/01/2014, Chris KONINGS

My Education is a Texan instrumental post rock band formed in 1999. They create cinematic and psychedelic compositions blending intense droning guitars with melodic viola. Aaah discogs, how on earth did reviewers know anything about bands twenty years ago?

By no means this covers enough ground to explain what they are about but the excellent live version of "...For All My Friends" will help you get the general idea. So post rock, what can still be done in this genre? Bands that bring quality would suffice I guess and My Education delivers! The intro gets you in the right dreamy mood with bells and violins, this continues into a growing demon, the album version of the YouTube clip you just saw.

Too bad it dissolves into too much chords and not enough oblivion with "Mister 1986", also "Black Box" is like an aimless device with annoying ramblings in the background. So that's fifteen minutes wasted, luckily the engine roars again with "Roboter-Höhlenbewohner". This one has everything! Pace, danger, sharp edges and captivating guitars so you can close your eyes and bow your head in appreciation.

"Happy Village" takes ages to unravel but when it does you are in for another post rock treat! Just read the previous description... it's that good, only your bliss lasts about five minutes longer. And it sort of flows over in an instrumental QOTSA climax. Like the trumpets and sax!

Out on Golden Antenna for Germany, but you can still get the 2012 original from Haute Magie... The two flukes suck, but slowly they are getting near perfection. If you guys make another record, jez lemmy know ey?

Chris KONINGS
08/01/2014


Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)