tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FENCE - The Winding

FENCE

The Winding

MusicCD
IndiePost RockPsychedelic

[79/100]   

Fons Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

After twenty years of experience you don’t have to learn Fence anything new. Initially,the band was just a bunch of friends from Limburg (Belgium) who wanted to follow in the footsteps of American heroes like Pavement, but what started as a joke, became serious (without forgetting the fun factor).

After the second album Angels on your Body, they got a taste for experimentation, but didn’t score what you would call radio hits. But Fence captured the hearts of both critics and devoted fans with a penchant for quirky pop. Because yes, even though you do not notice it at first hearing, Fence makes pop music, albeit of the more difficult kind.

Once you played the CD a few times, you will catch yourself humming along. The cover says it all: we must travel a long way to reach the top of the mountain, but once we are there, we can fully enjoy the brilliant view.

On this fifth album, the band shows it strong side. In the eleven songs, you hear all kinds of influences (according to Fence, from George Clinton to Wayne Coyne) and that adorns the band. For people who like to think in boxes, Fence is probably a nightmare, but it's a gift for music fans who love adventure!

In Love starts with strange, distorted electronic sounds. What will it be? The answer is simple: music that engages you, modern psychedelics with a double bottom. The children in the background add a playful twist to the tune, but there's poison in this song.

The title track (and also single) The Winding has difficult structures, and yet, it lingers in your head. It may even sound a bit sad (Lupi) or just funky, without being really funk. Each track is a clever one. Fence is a group that wants to move forward, and that is what this band does on the album The Winding. We bet the sixth album will be even better! Anyway, in the meantime you can enjoy this CD that begs for a replay.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Na twintig jaar ervaring moet je Fence niets meer leren. Aanvankelijk was Fence niet meer dan een stel Limburgse vrienden die in de voetsporen van de Amerikaanse helden Pavement wilden treden, maar wat begon als een grap, werd bittere ernst (zonder dat de band zichzelf al te serieus nam).

Na de tweede cd Angels on your Body kwam de lust voor het experiment naar boven. De radiohitjes bleven uit, maar Fence veroverde wel de harten van de critici en van een hele horde toegewijde fans met een voorkeur voor eigenzinnige pop. Want jawel, ook al merkt je dat niet tijdens een eerste kennismaking, maakt Fence popmuziek, zij het van het moeilijkere soort. Eens je de cd een paar keer hebt gedraaid, zal je jezelf op meeneuriën betrappen. De hoes zegt het helemaal: je moet een hele weg afleggen om de top van de berg te bereiken, maar eens je daar bent, kan je volop genieten van het geniale uitzicht.

Op hun vijfde album tonen de Limburgers zich alweer van hun beste kant. In de elf songs hoor je allerlei invloeden (volgens Fence van George Clinton tot Wayne Coyne) en dat siert de band. Voor mensen met een hokjesmentaliteit is Fence een nachtmerrie, maar een zegen voor muziekfans die avontuur aangelegd zijn!

In Love begint met vreemde, vervormde elektronische klanken. Wat zal het worden? Het antwoord is eenvoudig: muziek die je meesleept, moderne psychedelica, maar met een dubbele bodem. De kinderen op de achtergrond geven er een speelse draai aan, maar er zit ook gif in dit liedje. De titeltrack (en tevens single) The Winding bevat wel moeilijke structuren, toch blijft hij in je hoofd hangen. De tegendraadse indiepop van Fence mag zelfs wat triest klinken (Lupi) of gewoon lekker funky (zonder dat het echt funk wordt).

Over iedere track is duidelijk nagedacht. Fence is een groep die vooruit wil en daar is men met The Winding zeer goed in geslaagd. Wedden dat hun zesde nog beter wordt? Maar goed, laaf je alvast aan deze cd, die smeekt om de herhaaltoets.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout