tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FENCE - The Winding

FENCE

The Winding

MusicCD
IndiePost RockPsychedelic

[79/100]   

Fons Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

After twenty years of experience you don’t have to learn Fence anything new. Initially,the band was just a bunch of friends from Limburg (Belgium) who wanted to follow in the footsteps of American heroes like Pavement, but what started as a joke, became serious (without forgetting the fun factor).

After the second album Angels on your Body, they got a taste for experimentation, but didn’t score what you would call radio hits. But Fence captured the hearts of both critics and devoted fans with a penchant for quirky pop. Because yes, even though you do not notice it at first hearing, Fence makes pop music, albeit of the more difficult kind.

Once you played the CD a few times, you will catch yourself humming along. The cover says it all: we must travel a long way to reach the top of the mountain, but once we are there, we can fully enjoy the brilliant view.

On this fifth album, the band shows it strong side. In the eleven songs, you hear all kinds of influences (according to Fence, from George Clinton to Wayne Coyne) and that adorns the band. For people who like to think in boxes, Fence is probably a nightmare, but it's a gift for music fans who love adventure!

In Love starts with strange, distorted electronic sounds. What will it be? The answer is simple: music that engages you, modern psychedelics with a double bottom. The children in the background add a playful twist to the tune, but there's poison in this song.

The title track (and also single) The Winding has difficult structures, and yet, it lingers in your head. It may even sound a bit sad (Lupi) or just funky, without being really funk. Each track is a clever one. Fence is a group that wants to move forward, and that is what this band does on the album The Winding. We bet the sixth album will be even better! Anyway, in the meantime you can enjoy this CD that begs for a replay.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Na twintig jaar ervaring moet je Fence niets meer leren. Aanvankelijk was Fence niet meer dan een stel Limburgse vrienden die in de voetsporen van de Amerikaanse helden Pavement wilden treden, maar wat begon als een grap, werd bittere ernst (zonder dat de band zichzelf al te serieus nam).

Na de tweede cd Angels on your Body kwam de lust voor het experiment naar boven. De radiohitjes bleven uit, maar Fence veroverde wel de harten van de critici en van een hele horde toegewijde fans met een voorkeur voor eigenzinnige pop. Want jawel, ook al merkt je dat niet tijdens een eerste kennismaking, maakt Fence popmuziek, zij het van het moeilijkere soort. Eens je de cd een paar keer hebt gedraaid, zal je jezelf op meeneuriën betrappen. De hoes zegt het helemaal: je moet een hele weg afleggen om de top van de berg te bereiken, maar eens je daar bent, kan je volop genieten van het geniale uitzicht.

Op hun vijfde album tonen de Limburgers zich alweer van hun beste kant. In de elf songs hoor je allerlei invloeden (volgens Fence van George Clinton tot Wayne Coyne) en dat siert de band. Voor mensen met een hokjesmentaliteit is Fence een nachtmerrie, maar een zegen voor muziekfans die avontuur aangelegd zijn!

In Love begint met vreemde, vervormde elektronische klanken. Wat zal het worden? Het antwoord is eenvoudig: muziek die je meesleept, moderne psychedelica, maar met een dubbele bodem. De kinderen op de achtergrond geven er een speelse draai aan, maar er zit ook gif in dit liedje. De titeltrack (en tevens single) The Winding bevat wel moeilijke structuren, toch blijft hij in je hoofd hangen. De tegendraadse indiepop van Fence mag zelfs wat triest klinken (Lupi) of gewoon lekker funky (zonder dat het echt funk wordt).

Over iedere track is duidelijk nagedacht. Fence is een groep die vooruit wil en daar is men met The Winding zeer goed in geslaagd. Wedden dat hun zesde nog beter wordt? Maar goed, laaf je alvast aan deze cd, die smeekt om de herhaaltoets.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)