tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FENCE - The Winding

FENCE

The Winding

MusicCD
IndiePost RockPsychedelic

[79/100]   

Fons Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

After twenty years of experience you don’t have to learn Fence anything new. Initially,the band was just a bunch of friends from Limburg (Belgium) who wanted to follow in the footsteps of American heroes like Pavement, but what started as a joke, became serious (without forgetting the fun factor).

After the second album Angels on your Body, they got a taste for experimentation, but didn’t score what you would call radio hits. But Fence captured the hearts of both critics and devoted fans with a penchant for quirky pop. Because yes, even though you do not notice it at first hearing, Fence makes pop music, albeit of the more difficult kind.

Once you played the CD a few times, you will catch yourself humming along. The cover says it all: we must travel a long way to reach the top of the mountain, but once we are there, we can fully enjoy the brilliant view.

On this fifth album, the band shows it strong side. In the eleven songs, you hear all kinds of influences (according to Fence, from George Clinton to Wayne Coyne) and that adorns the band. For people who like to think in boxes, Fence is probably a nightmare, but it's a gift for music fans who love adventure!

In Love starts with strange, distorted electronic sounds. What will it be? The answer is simple: music that engages you, modern psychedelics with a double bottom. The children in the background add a playful twist to the tune, but there's poison in this song.

The title track (and also single) The Winding has difficult structures, and yet, it lingers in your head. It may even sound a bit sad (Lupi) or just funky, without being really funk. Each track is a clever one. Fence is a group that wants to move forward, and that is what this band does on the album The Winding. We bet the sixth album will be even better! Anyway, in the meantime you can enjoy this CD that begs for a replay.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Na twintig jaar ervaring moet je Fence niets meer leren. Aanvankelijk was Fence niet meer dan een stel Limburgse vrienden die in de voetsporen van de Amerikaanse helden Pavement wilden treden, maar wat begon als een grap, werd bittere ernst (zonder dat de band zichzelf al te serieus nam).

Na de tweede cd Angels on your Body kwam de lust voor het experiment naar boven. De radiohitjes bleven uit, maar Fence veroverde wel de harten van de critici en van een hele horde toegewijde fans met een voorkeur voor eigenzinnige pop. Want jawel, ook al merkt je dat niet tijdens een eerste kennismaking, maakt Fence popmuziek, zij het van het moeilijkere soort. Eens je de cd een paar keer hebt gedraaid, zal je jezelf op meeneuriën betrappen. De hoes zegt het helemaal: je moet een hele weg afleggen om de top van de berg te bereiken, maar eens je daar bent, kan je volop genieten van het geniale uitzicht.

Op hun vijfde album tonen de Limburgers zich alweer van hun beste kant. In de elf songs hoor je allerlei invloeden (volgens Fence van George Clinton tot Wayne Coyne) en dat siert de band. Voor mensen met een hokjesmentaliteit is Fence een nachtmerrie, maar een zegen voor muziekfans die avontuur aangelegd zijn!

In Love begint met vreemde, vervormde elektronische klanken. Wat zal het worden? Het antwoord is eenvoudig: muziek die je meesleept, moderne psychedelica, maar met een dubbele bodem. De kinderen op de achtergrond geven er een speelse draai aan, maar er zit ook gif in dit liedje. De titeltrack (en tevens single) The Winding bevat wel moeilijke structuren, toch blijft hij in je hoofd hangen. De tegendraadse indiepop van Fence mag zelfs wat triest klinken (Lupi) of gewoon lekker funky (zonder dat het echt funk wordt).

Over iedere track is duidelijk nagedacht. Fence is een groep die vooruit wil en daar is men met The Winding zeer goed in geslaagd. Wedden dat hun zesde nog beter wordt? Maar goed, laaf je alvast aan deze cd, die smeekt om de herhaaltoets.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now