tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FENCE - The Winding

FENCE

The Winding

MusicCD
IndiePost RockPsychedelic

[79/100]   

Fons Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

After twenty years of experience you don’t have to learn Fence anything new. Initially,the band was just a bunch of friends from Limburg (Belgium) who wanted to follow in the footsteps of American heroes like Pavement, but what started as a joke, became serious (without forgetting the fun factor).

After the second album Angels on your Body, they got a taste for experimentation, but didn’t score what you would call radio hits. But Fence captured the hearts of both critics and devoted fans with a penchant for quirky pop. Because yes, even though you do not notice it at first hearing, Fence makes pop music, albeit of the more difficult kind.

Once you played the CD a few times, you will catch yourself humming along. The cover says it all: we must travel a long way to reach the top of the mountain, but once we are there, we can fully enjoy the brilliant view.

On this fifth album, the band shows it strong side. In the eleven songs, you hear all kinds of influences (according to Fence, from George Clinton to Wayne Coyne) and that adorns the band. For people who like to think in boxes, Fence is probably a nightmare, but it's a gift for music fans who love adventure!

In Love starts with strange, distorted electronic sounds. What will it be? The answer is simple: music that engages you, modern psychedelics with a double bottom. The children in the background add a playful twist to the tune, but there's poison in this song.

The title track (and also single) The Winding has difficult structures, and yet, it lingers in your head. It may even sound a bit sad (Lupi) or just funky, without being really funk. Each track is a clever one. Fence is a group that wants to move forward, and that is what this band does on the album The Winding. We bet the sixth album will be even better! Anyway, in the meantime you can enjoy this CD that begs for a replay.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Na twintig jaar ervaring moet je Fence niets meer leren. Aanvankelijk was Fence niet meer dan een stel Limburgse vrienden die in de voetsporen van de Amerikaanse helden Pavement wilden treden, maar wat begon als een grap, werd bittere ernst (zonder dat de band zichzelf al te serieus nam).

Na de tweede cd Angels on your Body kwam de lust voor het experiment naar boven. De radiohitjes bleven uit, maar Fence veroverde wel de harten van de critici en van een hele horde toegewijde fans met een voorkeur voor eigenzinnige pop. Want jawel, ook al merkt je dat niet tijdens een eerste kennismaking, maakt Fence popmuziek, zij het van het moeilijkere soort. Eens je de cd een paar keer hebt gedraaid, zal je jezelf op meeneuriën betrappen. De hoes zegt het helemaal: je moet een hele weg afleggen om de top van de berg te bereiken, maar eens je daar bent, kan je volop genieten van het geniale uitzicht.

Op hun vijfde album tonen de Limburgers zich alweer van hun beste kant. In de elf songs hoor je allerlei invloeden (volgens Fence van George Clinton tot Wayne Coyne) en dat siert de band. Voor mensen met een hokjesmentaliteit is Fence een nachtmerrie, maar een zegen voor muziekfans die avontuur aangelegd zijn!

In Love begint met vreemde, vervormde elektronische klanken. Wat zal het worden? Het antwoord is eenvoudig: muziek die je meesleept, moderne psychedelica, maar met een dubbele bodem. De kinderen op de achtergrond geven er een speelse draai aan, maar er zit ook gif in dit liedje. De titeltrack (en tevens single) The Winding bevat wel moeilijke structuren, toch blijft hij in je hoofd hangen. De tegendraadse indiepop van Fence mag zelfs wat triest klinken (Lupi) of gewoon lekker funky (zonder dat het echt funk wordt).

Over iedere track is duidelijk nagedacht. Fence is een groep die vooruit wil en daar is men met The Winding zeer goed in geslaagd. Wedden dat hun zesde nog beter wordt? Maar goed, laaf je alvast aan deze cd, die smeekt om de herhaaltoets.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia