tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FENCE - The Winding

FENCE

The Winding

MusicCD
IndiePost RockPsychedelic

[79/100]   

Fons Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

After twenty years of experience you don’t have to learn Fence anything new. Initially,the band was just a bunch of friends from Limburg (Belgium) who wanted to follow in the footsteps of American heroes like Pavement, but what started as a joke, became serious (without forgetting the fun factor).

After the second album Angels on your Body, they got a taste for experimentation, but didn’t score what you would call radio hits. But Fence captured the hearts of both critics and devoted fans with a penchant for quirky pop. Because yes, even though you do not notice it at first hearing, Fence makes pop music, albeit of the more difficult kind.

Once you played the CD a few times, you will catch yourself humming along. The cover says it all: we must travel a long way to reach the top of the mountain, but once we are there, we can fully enjoy the brilliant view.

On this fifth album, the band shows it strong side. In the eleven songs, you hear all kinds of influences (according to Fence, from George Clinton to Wayne Coyne) and that adorns the band. For people who like to think in boxes, Fence is probably a nightmare, but it's a gift for music fans who love adventure!

In Love starts with strange, distorted electronic sounds. What will it be? The answer is simple: music that engages you, modern psychedelics with a double bottom. The children in the background add a playful twist to the tune, but there's poison in this song.

The title track (and also single) The Winding has difficult structures, and yet, it lingers in your head. It may even sound a bit sad (Lupi) or just funky, without being really funk. Each track is a clever one. Fence is a group that wants to move forward, and that is what this band does on the album The Winding. We bet the sixth album will be even better! Anyway, in the meantime you can enjoy this CD that begs for a replay.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Na twintig jaar ervaring moet je Fence niets meer leren. Aanvankelijk was Fence niet meer dan een stel Limburgse vrienden die in de voetsporen van de Amerikaanse helden Pavement wilden treden, maar wat begon als een grap, werd bittere ernst (zonder dat de band zichzelf al te serieus nam).

Na de tweede cd Angels on your Body kwam de lust voor het experiment naar boven. De radiohitjes bleven uit, maar Fence veroverde wel de harten van de critici en van een hele horde toegewijde fans met een voorkeur voor eigenzinnige pop. Want jawel, ook al merkt je dat niet tijdens een eerste kennismaking, maakt Fence popmuziek, zij het van het moeilijkere soort. Eens je de cd een paar keer hebt gedraaid, zal je jezelf op meeneuriën betrappen. De hoes zegt het helemaal: je moet een hele weg afleggen om de top van de berg te bereiken, maar eens je daar bent, kan je volop genieten van het geniale uitzicht.

Op hun vijfde album tonen de Limburgers zich alweer van hun beste kant. In de elf songs hoor je allerlei invloeden (volgens Fence van George Clinton tot Wayne Coyne) en dat siert de band. Voor mensen met een hokjesmentaliteit is Fence een nachtmerrie, maar een zegen voor muziekfans die avontuur aangelegd zijn!

In Love begint met vreemde, vervormde elektronische klanken. Wat zal het worden? Het antwoord is eenvoudig: muziek die je meesleept, moderne psychedelica, maar met een dubbele bodem. De kinderen op de achtergrond geven er een speelse draai aan, maar er zit ook gif in dit liedje. De titeltrack (en tevens single) The Winding bevat wel moeilijke structuren, toch blijft hij in je hoofd hangen. De tegendraadse indiepop van Fence mag zelfs wat triest klinken (Lupi) of gewoon lekker funky (zonder dat het echt funk wordt).

Over iedere track is duidelijk nagedacht. Fence is een groep die vooruit wil en daar is men met The Winding zeer goed in geslaagd. Wedden dat hun zesde nog beter wordt? Maar goed, laaf je alvast aan deze cd, die smeekt om de herhaaltoets.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

10
04
HYSTERY
Duiel
09
04
DDDJMX
Oceaned
31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
04
Rabia Sorda strikes back with new single!
06
04
Blutengel and Hocico, have recorded the single 'Obscured' in collaboration!
04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
04
NZ
Attitude And Passion
30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
09
04
DAVID A. LINE
Der dunkelste Tag
08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL