tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon

BILLE AUGUST

Night Train To Lisbon

Movie
Drama

[60/100]   

Paradiso
07/01/2014, Didier BECU

EN

What seems right on paper isn't automatically a true coming dream. Take for example Nighttrain to Lisbon. This movie has all the needed ingredients for scoring. There’s a well respected director like Billie August who made two decades ago the brilliant adaption from Isabel Allende's novel The House Of The Spirits. Add some decent actors to it like: Jeremy Irons, Bruno Ganz (the man we will always remember as Hitler from Der Untergang ), Martina Gedeck from Das Leben Der Anderen, August Diehl and Charlotte Rampling. And yes, with all this you tend to think that nothing can go wrong. Unfortunately, Nighttrain To Lisbon stayed unnoticed though. We guess the current public just want to see CGI-superheroes that have to save the world. As movies can always get a second life through the DVD-market, we hope this picture gets one as Nighttrain To Lisbon certainly deserves your attention.

In his movie August tells us something about a dark site from the recent Portugese history that not many people are aware of. Between 1932 and 1968 this country was ruled by dictator António de Oliveira Salazar. According to witnesses these times were not quite pleasant. One of them who rebelled against that dictatorship was writer Amadeu de Prado. Many years later professor Raimund Gregorius notices while he's on his way to work a woman who wants to jump from a bridge. Gregorius finds a book with notices by Amadeu de Prado inside the pocket of her jacket that she leaves behind. The professor got intrigued by what he reads and he wants to know everything.

Nighttrain To Lisbon is indeed not a movie that's easy to digest, that is for sure! Having said that, you don't have to be aware of Portugese history to follow the movie. It's crystal clear that the audience target is aimed at those who like classic stories, and of course an audience that is interested in non-popular stories like these as we can imagine that not everyone will loose his sleep over this script. Do also expect some excellent performances by Jeremy Irons, Martina Gedeck, August Diehl and of course Charlotte Rampling.

Nighttrain To Lisbon is out on both DVD and Blu-ray. In the Benelux it's released on Paradiso.

Didier BECU
07/01/2014


NL

Soms kan iets dat op papier mooi lijkt, in realiteit een ontgoocheling zijn. Neem nou bijv. de droom die de makers van Nighttrain to Lisbon hadden. Je hebt een degelijke regisseur in je rangen: Billie August die twee decennia terug op knappe wijze de Isabel Allende-roman The House Of The Spirits wist te verfilmen. Voeg daarbij nog een sterrencast aan toe die bestaat uit: oude rot Jeremy Irons, Bruno Ganz (de man die wellicht altijd als Hitler uit Der Untergang zal worden herinnerd), Martina Gedeck uit Das Leben Der Anderen, August Diehl en Charlotte Rampling. En tja, je zou inderdaad gaan denken dat daarmee je broodje is gebakken. Maar neen, Nighttrain To Lisbon ging jammer genoeg een beetje onopgemerkt de bioscoopzalen voorbij, wellicht omdat hij niet is opgewassen tegen de avonturen van de talloze CGI-helden die de aarde moeten zien te redden. Gelukkig bestaat er voor films dankzij de dvd-markt een tweede kans op slagen. Het zou spijtig zijn mocht het ook deze keer niet lukken, want deze prent verdient wel degelijk je aandacht.

August heeft het in deze film over het Portugal van enkele decennia terug toen dictator António de Oliveira Salazar tussen 1932-1968 de macht in handen had. Bizar genoeg is het een gegeven dat buiten de Portugese grenzen nauwelijks bekend is, nochtans was het voor de inwoners aldaar beslist geen prentje. In Nighttrain To Lisbon volgen we de perikelen van Amadeu de Prado, een schrijver die samen met enkele vrienden in het verzet zat. Decennia later bemerkt professor Raimund Gregorius wanneer hij op weg is naar zijn werk een vrouw die van een brug wil springen. In haar achtergelaten jas vindt Raimund een boekje met daarin aantekeningen van Amadeu de Prado. Hij raakt zo geïntrigeerd door wat hij leest dat hij op zoekt gaat naar degenen die het allemaal hebben gemaakt. De professor vindt zijn eigen leventje immers maar een saaie boel en kijkt op naar anderen die bereid zijn om de dans te ontspringen.

Nighttrain To Lisbon is natuurlijk geen gemakkelijke film. Het is dan ook aangeraden om steeds bij de pinken te blijven, ook al moet je niet echt iets over de Portugese geschiedenis weten (zoals ondergetekende) om de prent te kunnen volgen.

De verfilming van deze roman van Pascal Mercier door August doelt duidelijk op een publiek die van klassieke verhaalstructuren houden. Waarschijnlijk zullen heel wat mensen door deze aanpak wel afknappen, alsook door het onderwerp dat al bij al toch ver van ons bed staat. Maar wie zich daar niet aan stoort zal beslist genieten van traditionele (maar degelijke) cinema. Als toemaatje is er tevens de schitterende vertolking van Jeremy Irons als Raimund Gregorius. Ook Martina Gedeck, August Diehl en natuurlijk Charlotte Rampling (of wat had je anders verwacht?) als Adriana de Prado leveren puik acteerwerk.

Nighttrain To Lisbon is uit op dvd en Blu-ray, en dit in de Benelux door Paradiso.

Didier BECU
07/01/2014


07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You