tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon

BILLE AUGUST

Night Train To Lisbon

Movie
Drama

[60/100]   

Paradiso
07/01/2014, Didier BECU

EN

What seems right on paper isn't automatically a true coming dream. Take for example Nighttrain to Lisbon. This movie has all the needed ingredients for scoring. There’s a well respected director like Billie August who made two decades ago the brilliant adaption from Isabel Allende's novel The House Of The Spirits. Add some decent actors to it like: Jeremy Irons, Bruno Ganz (the man we will always remember as Hitler from Der Untergang ), Martina Gedeck from Das Leben Der Anderen, August Diehl and Charlotte Rampling. And yes, with all this you tend to think that nothing can go wrong. Unfortunately, Nighttrain To Lisbon stayed unnoticed though. We guess the current public just want to see CGI-superheroes that have to save the world. As movies can always get a second life through the DVD-market, we hope this picture gets one as Nighttrain To Lisbon certainly deserves your attention.

In his movie August tells us something about a dark site from the recent Portugese history that not many people are aware of. Between 1932 and 1968 this country was ruled by dictator António de Oliveira Salazar. According to witnesses these times were not quite pleasant. One of them who rebelled against that dictatorship was writer Amadeu de Prado. Many years later professor Raimund Gregorius notices while he's on his way to work a woman who wants to jump from a bridge. Gregorius finds a book with notices by Amadeu de Prado inside the pocket of her jacket that she leaves behind. The professor got intrigued by what he reads and he wants to know everything.

Nighttrain To Lisbon is indeed not a movie that's easy to digest, that is for sure! Having said that, you don't have to be aware of Portugese history to follow the movie. It's crystal clear that the audience target is aimed at those who like classic stories, and of course an audience that is interested in non-popular stories like these as we can imagine that not everyone will loose his sleep over this script. Do also expect some excellent performances by Jeremy Irons, Martina Gedeck, August Diehl and of course Charlotte Rampling.

Nighttrain To Lisbon is out on both DVD and Blu-ray. In the Benelux it's released on Paradiso.

Didier BECU
07/01/2014


NL

Soms kan iets dat op papier mooi lijkt, in realiteit een ontgoocheling zijn. Neem nou bijv. de droom die de makers van Nighttrain to Lisbon hadden. Je hebt een degelijke regisseur in je rangen: Billie August die twee decennia terug op knappe wijze de Isabel Allende-roman The House Of The Spirits wist te verfilmen. Voeg daarbij nog een sterrencast aan toe die bestaat uit: oude rot Jeremy Irons, Bruno Ganz (de man die wellicht altijd als Hitler uit Der Untergang zal worden herinnerd), Martina Gedeck uit Das Leben Der Anderen, August Diehl en Charlotte Rampling. En tja, je zou inderdaad gaan denken dat daarmee je broodje is gebakken. Maar neen, Nighttrain To Lisbon ging jammer genoeg een beetje onopgemerkt de bioscoopzalen voorbij, wellicht omdat hij niet is opgewassen tegen de avonturen van de talloze CGI-helden die de aarde moeten zien te redden. Gelukkig bestaat er voor films dankzij de dvd-markt een tweede kans op slagen. Het zou spijtig zijn mocht het ook deze keer niet lukken, want deze prent verdient wel degelijk je aandacht.

August heeft het in deze film over het Portugal van enkele decennia terug toen dictator António de Oliveira Salazar tussen 1932-1968 de macht in handen had. Bizar genoeg is het een gegeven dat buiten de Portugese grenzen nauwelijks bekend is, nochtans was het voor de inwoners aldaar beslist geen prentje. In Nighttrain To Lisbon volgen we de perikelen van Amadeu de Prado, een schrijver die samen met enkele vrienden in het verzet zat. Decennia later bemerkt professor Raimund Gregorius wanneer hij op weg is naar zijn werk een vrouw die van een brug wil springen. In haar achtergelaten jas vindt Raimund een boekje met daarin aantekeningen van Amadeu de Prado. Hij raakt zo geïntrigeerd door wat hij leest dat hij op zoekt gaat naar degenen die het allemaal hebben gemaakt. De professor vindt zijn eigen leventje immers maar een saaie boel en kijkt op naar anderen die bereid zijn om de dans te ontspringen.

Nighttrain To Lisbon is natuurlijk geen gemakkelijke film. Het is dan ook aangeraden om steeds bij de pinken te blijven, ook al moet je niet echt iets over de Portugese geschiedenis weten (zoals ondergetekende) om de prent te kunnen volgen.

De verfilming van deze roman van Pascal Mercier door August doelt duidelijk op een publiek die van klassieke verhaalstructuren houden. Waarschijnlijk zullen heel wat mensen door deze aanpak wel afknappen, alsook door het onderwerp dat al bij al toch ver van ons bed staat. Maar wie zich daar niet aan stoort zal beslist genieten van traditionele (maar degelijke) cinema. Als toemaatje is er tevens de schitterende vertolking van Jeremy Irons als Raimund Gregorius. Ook Martina Gedeck, August Diehl en natuurlijk Charlotte Rampling (of wat had je anders verwacht?) als Adriana de Prado leveren puik acteerwerk.

Nighttrain To Lisbon is uit op dvd en Blu-ray, en dit in de Benelux door Paradiso.

Didier BECU
07/01/2014


07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon 07/01/2014 : BILLE AUGUST - Night Train To Lisbon

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death