tempobet yeni adresi

09/01/2014 : MODE MODERNE - Occult Delight

MODE MODERNE

Occult Delight

MusicCD
Dark PopIndieIndie RockNew wavePost Punk

[90/100]   

Light Organ Records
09/01/2014, Pascal VERLOOVE

Mode Modern like to shuffle the cards. By just reading the band’s name, you cannot help but think about Depeche Mode and/or Mathématiques Modernes (a one-hit-wonder French New-Wave band from the early eighties), so you might think this is a synthpop or an electro band. But you’d be wrong.

If you consider the new album, starting with the cover (that’s a graveyard, isn’t it ?) and then the title, Occult Delight, you may change your mind and believe it’s a dark gothic or metal band. Not at all, you’re wrong again. Finally, when you start playing the record, you may think those 3 guys and this girl are from London, Liverpool or Manchester … well, that’s wrong too, they’re from Vancouver, on the west coast of Canada.

The light starts to shine when you read that Phillip Intilé’s (Mode Moderne’s lead singer) favorite record of all times is Morrissey’s Vauxhall and I, probably the best solo album of the ex-Smiths leader. Somewhere else you may read that his favorite record of all times is another one (from Scott Walker), but it’s probable that your favorite album varies with your mood as well.

The Smiths, the name is out of the box, and indeed the influence of Morrissey & Marr cannot be hidden on Mode Moderne’s Occult Delight (Occult Delight, Baby Bunny, Come Sunrise). The band itself often cites other eighties British bands as being influential, from Jesus and Marychain to OMD, New Order to The Cure. Joy Division as well ? I guess that any band playing post-punk / new-wave kind of music has somehow, somewhere been influenced by the godfathers of the genre. A pinch of Echo and The Bunnymen too.

So, seeing the band themselves clearly citing all those British ‘80s bands as influences, it might be tempting to believe those guys are nostalgic for that period and therefore that Mode Moderne are the new post-punk revivalists, the Canadians Editors or Interpol, for instance. They’re not. Not in the sense that they want to reproduce and mix things that have already been done, they’ve listened to those bands, quite obviously, but they made a 2014 album, definitely.

The albums opens up with Strangle the Shadows, a song with classical drums & guitar structure and a tune that instantly stays in your head … until Grudges Crossed, the next track starts with its clear synth waves and its powerful bass that recalls the best moments of the Editors. Thieving Baby’s Breath, sounds a bit more electro and has a chorus that immediately makes you want to sing with the band (can you hear this live ?). So is Severed Heads and its instantly recognizable New Order type intro, that will certainly be a joyful moment of any gig. The second part of the album offers more fine pop gems such as Come Sunrise where echoes of the Smiths are more linked to the singing of Philip than to the structure of the song itself. Finally, the album closes with Running Scared, a superb ballad that you wish would last much longer …

The band wanted this album to sound cohesive, this is definitely achieved. A collection of great songs does not necessarily make a great record, but on this one you can really feel that each track introduces the next one, while adding something different. It’s pop in its most noble form. There would be no justice in the music world if this band does not get the same recognition as the Editors or Coldplay for instance.

Occult Delight is not a dark album in the end, regardless of the band’s imagery (the flyers for the album release party show skeletons dressed up like ghosts) or “fun” track titles such as Strangle the Shadows or Severed Heads might suggest. A good dose of second degree, obviously, so do not let this delight remain occult for you for too long !

Pascal VERLOOVE
09/01/2014


 

Next reviews
PAS • Abandoned Bird Egg
• UNIT ONE, SERIES THREE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Ward De Prins
MY EDUCATION • A Drink For All My Friends
NAKED LUNCH • Glow (EP)
EVAN GOLDBERG & SETH ROGEN • This is the end
ROBERT ALTMAN • The long goodbye
ASTRONAUTE • Myriad
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Guillermo Coronel
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: INDIE
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
RAZORLINE • Razorline
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse
LES PANTIES • Cold Science
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)