tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/01/2014 : BLAK OPZ - As Nations Decay

BLAK OPZ

As Nations Decay

MusicCD
HarshHellelectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[89/100]   

DWA
10/01/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

First some nice info from the label (just for the few who still have to get to know them): BLAKOPZ - As Nations Decay: 2nd album from the US industrial/hard dance duo, featuring collaborations with NITRO/NOISE and SLEETGROUT. Limited edition digipak version with 3 exclusive bonus tracks - remixes from AESTHETIC PERFECTION, ALTER DER RUINE and CRYOGENIC ECHELON! Over the past 12 months, BLAKOPZ have served as tour support for AESTHETIC PERFECTION's "All.Cities.Destroyed" 26-date North American tour over the summer of 2012, opened for SUICIDE COMMANDO, FGFC820 and TACTICAL SEKT in the US, and made their first European live appearance earlier this year at Resistanz Festival in the UK.

Blak Opz created already a lot of fuzz, so it's not more than normal that I started to listen to them, as I already run into them via the DWA XxX remixes...

'Behind the Curtain' is a nice IDM minded song. Nice and strong vocals and a strict tempo, I'm pretty sure a lot of people will absolutely love them! Love the screaming lyrics! 'The Beginning' is a nice clubber and making things clear for the fans: this is the beginning (of more)! 'Business As Usual' is also a nice footstomping song with great vibes! I love the female voice in this song! Once again a great clubber! From here on it goes from one bomb to another! During 'The Struggle (vs SLEETGROUT)' we get the chance to be introduced to a new band (for me at least) and I must say Sleetgrout absolutely rocks! Love this one that feels a bit like an XP8 song (but with more aggressive vocals): '#culturedelete'. Another great co-op is 'Debris Machine (vs NITRO/NOISE)'! Love it, goes straight to club land and to all the dance floors all over the world! Can't think of a better working out! Another great one is 'Turn Key Tyranny' (with almost no vocals and absolutely great, well worked out and perfectly fitting for the dance floor). 'Detonation BONUS TRACKS (CD-only)' is for me the last song of an epic cd! Every song is fitted to create a party! Pure Gold for clubbers!

More extra's:

Before The Rust (CRYOGENIC ECHELON Remix)*

As Nations Decay (AESTHETIC PERFECTION Remix) *

Thick As Thieves (ALTER DER RUINE Remix)* *exclusive to this CD

read my review about this opus & you can actually listen to most of ths songs (link is at the end):

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/various-artists-dwa-xxx-100-remixes/

Here's the interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/blakopz/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
10/01/2014


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Didier Becu
MODE MODERNE • Occult Delight
PAS • Abandoned Bird Egg
• UNIT ONE, SERIES THREE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Ward De Prins
MY EDUCATION • A Drink For All My Friends
NAKED LUNCH • Glow (EP)
EVAN GOLDBERG & SETH ROGEN • This is the end
ROBERT ALTMAN • The long goodbye
ASTRONAUTE • Myriad

 

Same combination of genres: HARSH + HELLELECTRO + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
OBSIDIAN FX • Illusions of Darkness
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP
EMBRYOID • Dead Cells
DOLLS OF PAIN • Déréliction
NANO INFECT • Scars of Denial
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Erase me EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DWA XxX (100 Remixes)

 

Same genre: HARSH
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
SUICIDE COMMANDO • The Pain That You Like
NEONSOL • Ecliptic
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
FREAKANGEL • Into the fire EP
HELL:SECTOR • The Rise Of The Apocalypse
FIRST BLACK POPE • Excommunication

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
10
07
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' opens this Friday followed by a cast and director Q&A!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!
18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire