tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/01/2014 : BLAK OPZ - As Nations Decay

BLAK OPZ

As Nations Decay

MusicCD
HarshHellelectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[89/100]   

DWA
10/01/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

First some nice info from the label (just for the few who still have to get to know them): BLAKOPZ - As Nations Decay: 2nd album from the US industrial/hard dance duo, featuring collaborations with NITRO/NOISE and SLEETGROUT. Limited edition digipak version with 3 exclusive bonus tracks - remixes from AESTHETIC PERFECTION, ALTER DER RUINE and CRYOGENIC ECHELON! Over the past 12 months, BLAKOPZ have served as tour support for AESTHETIC PERFECTION's "All.Cities.Destroyed" 26-date North American tour over the summer of 2012, opened for SUICIDE COMMANDO, FGFC820 and TACTICAL SEKT in the US, and made their first European live appearance earlier this year at Resistanz Festival in the UK.

Blak Opz created already a lot of fuzz, so it's not more than normal that I started to listen to them, as I already run into them via the DWA XxX remixes...

'Behind the Curtain' is a nice IDM minded song. Nice and strong vocals and a strict tempo, I'm pretty sure a lot of people will absolutely love them! Love the screaming lyrics! 'The Beginning' is a nice clubber and making things clear for the fans: this is the beginning (of more)! 'Business As Usual' is also a nice footstomping song with great vibes! I love the female voice in this song! Once again a great clubber! From here on it goes from one bomb to another! During 'The Struggle (vs SLEETGROUT)' we get the chance to be introduced to a new band (for me at least) and I must say Sleetgrout absolutely rocks! Love this one that feels a bit like an XP8 song (but with more aggressive vocals): '#culturedelete'. Another great co-op is 'Debris Machine (vs NITRO/NOISE)'! Love it, goes straight to club land and to all the dance floors all over the world! Can't think of a better working out! Another great one is 'Turn Key Tyranny' (with almost no vocals and absolutely great, well worked out and perfectly fitting for the dance floor). 'Detonation BONUS TRACKS (CD-only)' is for me the last song of an epic cd! Every song is fitted to create a party! Pure Gold for clubbers!

More extra's:

Before The Rust (CRYOGENIC ECHELON Remix)*

As Nations Decay (AESTHETIC PERFECTION Remix) *

Thick As Thieves (ALTER DER RUINE Remix)* *exclusive to this CD

read my review about this opus & you can actually listen to most of ths songs (link is at the end):

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/various-artists-dwa-xxx-100-remixes/

Here's the interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/blakopz/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
10/01/2014


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Didier Becu
MODE MODERNE • Occult Delight
PAS • Abandoned Bird Egg
• UNIT ONE, SERIES THREE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Ward De Prins
MY EDUCATION • A Drink For All My Friends
NAKED LUNCH • Glow (EP)
EVAN GOLDBERG & SETH ROGEN • This is the end
ROBERT ALTMAN • The long goodbye
ASTRONAUTE • Myriad

 

Same combination of genres: HARSH + HELLELECTRO + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
OBSIDIAN FX • Illusions of Darkness
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP
EMBRYOID • Dead Cells
DOLLS OF PAIN • Déréliction
NANO INFECT • Scars of Denial
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Erase me EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DWA XxX (100 Remixes)

 

Same genre: HARSH
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
SUICIDE COMMANDO • The Pain That You Like
NEONSOL • Ecliptic

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
FREAKANGEL • Into the fire EP
HELL:SECTOR • The Rise Of The Apocalypse

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion