tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/01/2014 : HYBRYDS - The Silent Whisper

HYBRYDS

The Silent Whisper

MusicCD
AcousticAmbientEthereal / Heavenly VoicesField Recordings

[90/100]   

Sleepless Records Berlin
11/01/2014, Chris KONINGS

One of the pioneer bands involved in anything remotely industrial/tribal/dark ambient, Hybryds or Sandy Nys has always pushed the boundaries of the 'scene' since the early 80's. This is his umptheenth album, but now we had to wait three full years instead of just one year. Well maybe the arrival of Peter De Koning and Madeline Arndt has something to do with it. They were already there on "Dreambient" and "Urban Rhythms Urban Rituals" and as a live experience they both add a lot.

From the first tones of "Silence" you get immersed in a feverish dream with the humming noises, the metal percussions of Peter and the eerie voice of Madeline. "One Heartbeat Ago" flows forward on a thudding heartbeat and then you go through an ordeal of guitar drones and an emotional narration by the vocalist. She reminds me of the song "Verflucht" by Relatives Menschsein. "Como Il Candore" is another step forward in the same musical direction, it's upgraded with oriental atmosphere. Wonderful sounds and vocals, yet again! Same goes for "Morgendämmerung", eerie ambient with whale-like noises and whispered vocals that extensively use stereo effects.

There's even a bit of 'Ataraxia' in here, "Solveign" has an acoustic guitar drone and beautiful neoclassical vocals. "Nefertite" comes with soft tribal percussion by Peter and a few specks of random guitar picking, which really is the icing on the cake. "Duende" is a bit faster, sort of like Dark Poem would do. Speaking of Dark Poem, "Garden Of Dreams" really sounds like them and maybe it's a collaboration. "Discipline" is not a TG cover, but it is by far the darkest song here, slowly growing in volume and domination. "Wheel Of Life" has lots of luscious percussion and is also the only uptempo song on the album. The heavy metal guitar in the background is a positive surprise.

Last song is "Silent Whisper" and that's devided in three parts. First it sound like a cello drone with religious African singing, then there's ambient strings, a sax and throath singing. In the final part Madeline sings another lullaby escorted by a triangle So the album is a trip round the world for your ears and I could not find any weak parts. Very recommended for anyone with an open mind!!!

Chris KONINGS
11/01/2014


 

Next reviews
RICHARD RAAPHORST • Frankenstein's Army
BLAK OPZ • As Nations Decay
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Didier Becu
MODE MODERNE • Occult Delight
PAS • Abandoned Bird Egg
• UNIT ONE, SERIES THREE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Ward De Prins
MY EDUCATION • A Drink For All My Friends
NAKED LUNCH • Glow (EP)
EVAN GOLDBERG & SETH ROGEN • This is the end

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
BRAVE TIMBERS • Hope

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
BE • One

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: FIELD RECORDINGS
COEN OSCAR & HERMAN WILKEN • Fathomless
UMBER • Sunshine Young

Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos