tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/01/2014 : HYBRYDS - The Silent Whisper

HYBRYDS

The Silent Whisper

MusicCD
AcousticAmbientEthereal / Heavenly VoicesField Recordings

[90/100]   

Sleepless Records Berlin
11/01/2014, Chris KONINGS

One of the pioneer bands involved in anything remotely industrial/tribal/dark ambient, Hybryds or Sandy Nys has always pushed the boundaries of the 'scene' since the early 80's. This is his umptheenth album, but now we had to wait three full years instead of just one year. Well maybe the arrival of Peter De Koning and Madeline Arndt has something to do with it. They were already there on "Dreambient" and "Urban Rhythms Urban Rituals" and as a live experience they both add a lot.

From the first tones of "Silence" you get immersed in a feverish dream with the humming noises, the metal percussions of Peter and the eerie voice of Madeline. "One Heartbeat Ago" flows forward on a thudding heartbeat and then you go through an ordeal of guitar drones and an emotional narration by the vocalist. She reminds me of the song "Verflucht" by Relatives Menschsein. "Como Il Candore" is another step forward in the same musical direction, it's upgraded with oriental atmosphere. Wonderful sounds and vocals, yet again! Same goes for "Morgendämmerung", eerie ambient with whale-like noises and whispered vocals that extensively use stereo effects.

There's even a bit of 'Ataraxia' in here, "Solveign" has an acoustic guitar drone and beautiful neoclassical vocals. "Nefertite" comes with soft tribal percussion by Peter and a few specks of random guitar picking, which really is the icing on the cake. "Duende" is a bit faster, sort of like Dark Poem would do. Speaking of Dark Poem, "Garden Of Dreams" really sounds like them and maybe it's a collaboration. "Discipline" is not a TG cover, but it is by far the darkest song here, slowly growing in volume and domination. "Wheel Of Life" has lots of luscious percussion and is also the only uptempo song on the album. The heavy metal guitar in the background is a positive surprise.

Last song is "Silent Whisper" and that's devided in three parts. First it sound like a cello drone with religious African singing, then there's ambient strings, a sax and throath singing. In the final part Madeline sings another lullaby escorted by a triangle So the album is a trip round the world for your ears and I could not find any weak parts. Very recommended for anyone with an open mind!!!

Chris KONINGS
11/01/2014


 

Next reviews
RICHARD RAAPHORST • Frankenstein's Army
BLAK OPZ • As Nations Decay
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Didier Becu
MODE MODERNE • Occult Delight
PAS • Abandoned Bird Egg
• UNIT ONE, SERIES THREE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Ward De Prins
MY EDUCATION • A Drink For All My Friends
NAKED LUNCH • Glow (EP)
EVAN GOLDBERG & SETH ROGEN • This is the end

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: FIELD RECORDINGS
COEN OSCAR & HERMAN WILKEN • Fathomless
UMBER • Sunshine Young

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked