tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/01/2014 : HYBRYDS - The Silent Whisper

HYBRYDS

The Silent Whisper

MusicCD
AcousticAmbientEthereal / Heavenly VoicesField Recordings

[90/100]   

Sleepless Records Berlin
11/01/2014, Chris KONINGS

One of the pioneer bands involved in anything remotely industrial/tribal/dark ambient, Hybryds or Sandy Nys has always pushed the boundaries of the 'scene' since the early 80's. This is his umptheenth album, but now we had to wait three full years instead of just one year. Well maybe the arrival of Peter De Koning and Madeline Arndt has something to do with it. They were already there on "Dreambient" and "Urban Rhythms Urban Rituals" and as a live experience they both add a lot.

From the first tones of "Silence" you get immersed in a feverish dream with the humming noises, the metal percussions of Peter and the eerie voice of Madeline. "One Heartbeat Ago" flows forward on a thudding heartbeat and then you go through an ordeal of guitar drones and an emotional narration by the vocalist. She reminds me of the song "Verflucht" by Relatives Menschsein. "Como Il Candore" is another step forward in the same musical direction, it's upgraded with oriental atmosphere. Wonderful sounds and vocals, yet again! Same goes for "Morgendämmerung", eerie ambient with whale-like noises and whispered vocals that extensively use stereo effects.

There's even a bit of 'Ataraxia' in here, "Solveign" has an acoustic guitar drone and beautiful neoclassical vocals. "Nefertite" comes with soft tribal percussion by Peter and a few specks of random guitar picking, which really is the icing on the cake. "Duende" is a bit faster, sort of like Dark Poem would do. Speaking of Dark Poem, "Garden Of Dreams" really sounds like them and maybe it's a collaboration. "Discipline" is not a TG cover, but it is by far the darkest song here, slowly growing in volume and domination. "Wheel Of Life" has lots of luscious percussion and is also the only uptempo song on the album. The heavy metal guitar in the background is a positive surprise.

Last song is "Silent Whisper" and that's devided in three parts. First it sound like a cello drone with religious African singing, then there's ambient strings, a sax and throath singing. In the final part Madeline sings another lullaby escorted by a triangle So the album is a trip round the world for your ears and I could not find any weak parts. Very recommended for anyone with an open mind!!!

Chris KONINGS
11/01/2014


 

Next reviews
RICHARD RAAPHORST • Frankenstein's Army
BLAK OPZ • As Nations Decay
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Didier Becu
MODE MODERNE • Occult Delight
PAS • Abandoned Bird Egg
• UNIT ONE, SERIES THREE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Ward De Prins
MY EDUCATION • A Drink For All My Friends
NAKED LUNCH • Glow (EP)
EVAN GOLDBERG & SETH ROGEN • This is the end

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
BRAVE TIMBERS • Hope

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BRIAN ENO • The Ship

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: FIELD RECORDINGS
COEN OSCAR & HERMAN WILKEN • Fathomless
UMBER • Sunshine Young

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void