tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/03/2014 : EMBRYOID - Dead Cells

EMBRYOID

Dead Cells

MusicCD
Cold EBMDark ElectroEBMHarshHellelectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[89/100]   

Advoxya Records
13/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Again I'm facing a band I don't know at all, reviewing it between cool metal and Gothic Rock bands! Reviewing each time a different genre is saving me from boredom.

It all starts with 'Darklight' a cyberpunk song with some pieces in it from 'Ghost in a Shell', we all know that one, right? There are no other vocals in it.

The sound is great on the first real song 'Dead Cells': love the harsh voice, stumping beats, the IDM, harsh Hellectro vibe (or as some say: modern EBM) and the scare lyrics (you'll find them in every song), the fast drive... It's sounds like Suicide Commando on speed versus C-Lekktor (in English)! After listening to the rest of the songs I can say that every other track could become a major clubber, it just needs to be picked up by a DJ! After 12 regular songs, we get some remixes...

First one is 'Harshlife (High Level Static Remix)': indeed a real clubber! Feels a bit like the heavier version of a Funkervogt song! A more aggressive and Suicide Commando minded approach has been worked out on 'I Hate U (Touched by Stahlnebel & Black Selket)': love it! I already reviewed and love them very much, so Dolls Of Pain did indeed a great job with 'Harshlife'! They give an even more club orientated remix, harsher en more into IDM! As last one we get 'No Leadership (Remix Feat Larva)': the music is good, but I hate the extra voice. I think Larva is simply not my thing.

I can simply conclude with the catchy phrase: If you haven't booked them yet, hurry before you can't afford them anymore! Message for the fans: buy their cd and go to their concerts as in 10 years you'll be able to say: I have seen them before they grow out of our little scene!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
13/03/2014


 

Next reviews
JULIA MURAT • Historias Que So existem Quando Lembradas
LAIBACH • Laibach - Spectre Tour @ Depot - Leuven - B (10.03.2014)
DJ BOO-LEE • The DJ-files: Boo-Lee
DAVID MOREAU • It Boy
MADNESS OF THE NIGHT • ASGARDA
BILL CONDON • The fifth estate
ESR • Time of Fear
KAR WAI WONG • Happy Together
THE PUSSYBATS • SCARY FAIRY
JEAN-BAPTISTE ANDREA • La confrérie des larmes

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl

 

Same genre: EBM
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland

 

Same genre: HARSH
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
SUICIDE COMMANDO • The Pain That You Like
NEONSOL • Ecliptic

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
OBSIDIAN FX • Illusions of Darkness
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag