tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : SYNAPSYCHE - The Abyss Effect

SYNAPSYCHE

The Abyss Effect

MusicCD
HarshHarsh ElectroHellelectro

[88/100]   

Skyqode
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian harsh EBM act Synapsyche releases its second album on SkyQode: The Abyss Effect. The band describes the album as a descent into a modern inferno: a combination of pounding beats, heavy grooves, melodic synth lines and clean, sometimes aggressive vocals. The digital version includes 11 original tracks, while the CD version comes in a limited digipak, equipped with a special bonus track: a cover of Moby's hit Lift Me Up.

Negativa is an opening song with a peaceful nature. We All Suck is a harsh EBM song par excellence: dark beats, hard bass lines, aggressive vocals and especially danceable. This is harsh in a nutshell. Veneral gets some distorted female vocals, alternated with distorted voices.

The Flesh Party is very hard and that goes for the rest of the album.. Backup Of An Empty Folder starts quietly and has a synthpop-like melody, but with a creepy side. Anyway, halfway the nice danceable harsh electro returns. EBM and a somewhat 'softer' electro are the key sounds of Hate and Psyche, although it becomes more exciting and harder towards the end.

Self-Worship Doctrine begins with an ominous prophecy, a classic argument: "That in silence... music... a divine music bursts out over them all..." How sweet and divine this may sound, it soon becomes a hell. Angel On Vicodin is very upbeat and almost sounds like hell electro/aggrotech. In Apocalypse We Trust is pounding harsh, Trauma in Mi Minore begins with classical music that evokes a more exciting atmosphere: strings, a trembling and vibrating cymbal... uplifting... and then there’s the beat of a drum machine. There’s no mercy for the eardrums. The last song is Tabula Rasa. The aggressive beats and vocals are joined by doomy riffs. The song is sung in Italian, which makes it different. The track is really melodic and musical, then it stops and ends softly. A great song in terms of arrangement.

This is an entertaining harsh electro CD that’ll give you some pleasure, even though Synapsyche tortures your eardrums. All elements are present : hard rhythm sections, some faster, others slower, a beautiful song structure, soft and loud passages... The diversity of voices is an asset for this album. In this genre, we usually only hear voices with heavy distortion. These men do it differently, which means that the album is entertaining from beginning to end.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

De Italiaanse harsh-EBM act Synapsyche brengt via SkyQode zijn tweede langspeler uit: The Abyss Effect. De band omschrijft de cd als een afdaling naar een modern inferno: een combinatie van stampende beats, zware grooves, melodieuze synth-lijnen en cleane, soms agressieve vocalen. De digitale versie bevat 11 originele tracks, terwijl de cd-versie van The Abyss Effect, geleverd in een gelimiteerd digipak, voorzien is van een speciale bonus track - een cover van Moby's hit Lift Me Up.

Negativa is een openingssong die wat rustig van aard is. We All Suck is een harsh-EBM-song pur sang: donkere beats, harde baslijnen, agressieve zang en vooral dansbaar. Dit is harsh ten voeten uit. Veneral krijgt vrouwelijke vocalen afgewisseld met vervormde overstuurde stemmen, later een feestelijk aandoend synthlijntje dat van een ijsventer kon komen, tot een genadeloos harde beat: The Flesh Party is snoeihard en dat blijft zo in de rest van het album. Backup Of An Empty Folder begint wat rustiger en krijgt een synthpop-achtige zanglijn met soms een vrij creepy kantje. Maar halfweg ook hier weer heel lekker dansbare harsh-electro.

EBM en ietwat 'zachtere' electro horen we in Hate en Psyche, hoewel het opwindender en harder wordt tegen het einde. Self-Worship Doctrine begint onheilspellend met een profetie, een klassiek argument: 'in that silence... music... a divine music bursts out over them all...', hoe lieflijk en goddelijk dit moge klinken, algauw wordt het een hel.

Angel On Vicodin is héél erg uptempo en bijna als hellelectro/aggrotech. In Apocalypse We Trust is stampende harsh, Trauma in Mi Minore begint met klassieke muziek die een wat spannende sfeer oproept: strijkers, donkere pauken, een sidderende en trillende cymbaal … opbouwend... die naadloos plaats maakt voor de ritmesectie van een drummachine. Genadeloos voor de trommelvliezen. De laatste song is Tabula Rasa. En dat gebeurt gelukkig niet, er wordt niét teruggegrepen naar scratch. De agressieve beats en vocalen krijgen versterking van doomy gitaarriffs. De song wordt in het Italiaans gezongen, wat zorgt voor een aparte toets. De track wordt echt melodisch en muzikaal, valt dan stil en eindigt zacht. Een géweldige song qua arrangement.

Dit is een leuke, onderhoudende harsh-electro-schijf. Synapsyche staat in het rijtje van bands die onze trommelvliezen graag folteren. Zet de baskasten maar open. De luchtverplaatsing die deze geweldige schijf veroorzaakt, zorgt ervoor dat net gewassen kleren in no time droog zijn. Alle elementen zitten erin: harde ritmesecties, sommige sneller, andere trager, een melodie die niét afstompend is, mooie songopbouw, zachte en hardere passages... Wat fijn is aan deze plaat is de diversiteit qua stemgeluid. Veelal horen we in het genre alleen stemmen met zware distortie. Deze mannen laten ook iets anders horen, wat betekent dat de plaat onderhoudend is en dat ook blijft.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NOIR • The Burning Bridge EP
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)
METROLAND • Synthetic Sound (EP)
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
SUUNS • Brussels, Botanique (22/05/2016)
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
GIOUMOURTZINA • Blakk Metall
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears

 

Same combination of genres: HARSH + HARSH ELECTRO + HELLELECTRO
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline

 

Same genre: HARSH
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
SUICIDE COMMANDO • The Pain That You Like
NEONSOL • Ecliptic
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
OBSIDIAN FX • Illusions of Darkness
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
M.O.D. • Broken Machinery
HOCICO • Ofensor
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
HELALYN FLOWERS • Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP
GOD MODULE • Prophecy

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP
FREAKANGEL • Into the fire EP
HELL:SECTOR • The Rise Of The Apocalypse
FIRST BLACK POPE • Excommunication
EMBRYOID • Dead Cells

Music reviews

28
04
DURUTTI COLUMN
Domo Arigato
26
04
PIANO MAGIC
Closure
25
04
VENN
Runes
23
04
BING AND RUTH
No Home of the Mind
21
04
CONRAD SCHNITZLER AND POLE
Con-Struct
19
04
BRIAN ENO
Reflection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
04
INFEST 2017: Sidewalks & Skeletons confirmed!
27
04
The Residents are heading to Europe
26
04
New Roger Waters Album : Is This The Life We Really Want ?
26
04
Gary Numan announces a new album, a new tour and explains his new SAVAGE image!
25
04
New Names for Brussels Summer Festival 2017
22
04
New album by Illuminine

Concert reviews

15
04
DURBUY ROCK
New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
10
04
HAUSCHKA
Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
06
04
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
04
04
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT
Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017
26
03
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017
Some minimal bands to check out !
21
03
ELM, MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY, LUMYIA
Les Vierges Morbides, Café Bobble, Lomme/Rijsel - 11 maart 2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
04
DIVE
'Music is a virus!'
20
04
SOVIETWAVE
Cosmonauts' day special
18
04
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
'The universe of dark industrial music takes me somewhere I want to be'
16
04
ATARAXIA
'Music is the miracle of coming into being and vanishing'
14
04
SPHERICAL DISRUPTED
‘Every single sound is very important and has to be effective!'

PHOTOS

25
04
DIVE
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
AKALOTZ
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
STIN SCATZOR
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
KNK
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
17
04
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
17
04
WILLIAM CONTROL
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
17
04
EMPATHY TEST
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

28
04
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
27
04
THIS MORN' OMINA
Garuda Vimana CCF
26
04
AMBASSADOR21
AMBASSADOR21 official video 'Revelation'
25
04
HAUSCHKA
Constant Growth Fails
24
04
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
24
04
DIVE
Far Away
23
04
ME AND THAT MAN
Cross My Heart And Hope To Die