tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SYNAPSYCHE - The Abyss Effect

SYNAPSYCHE

The Abyss Effect

MusicCD
HarshHarsh ElectroHellelectro

[88/100]   

Skyqode
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian harsh EBM act Synapsyche releases its second album on SkyQode: The Abyss Effect. The band describes the album as a descent into a modern inferno: a combination of pounding beats, heavy grooves, melodic synth lines and clean, sometimes aggressive vocals. The digital version includes 11 original tracks, while the CD version comes in a limited digipak, equipped with a special bonus track: a cover of Moby's hit Lift Me Up.

Negativa is an opening song with a peaceful nature. We All Suck is a harsh EBM song par excellence: dark beats, hard bass lines, aggressive vocals and especially danceable. This is harsh in a nutshell. Veneral gets some distorted female vocals, alternated with distorted voices.

The Flesh Party is very hard and that goes for the rest of the album.. Backup Of An Empty Folder starts quietly and has a synthpop-like melody, but with a creepy side. Anyway, halfway the nice danceable harsh electro returns. EBM and a somewhat 'softer' electro are the key sounds of Hate and Psyche, although it becomes more exciting and harder towards the end.

Self-Worship Doctrine begins with an ominous prophecy, a classic argument: "That in silence... music... a divine music bursts out over them all..." How sweet and divine this may sound, it soon becomes a hell. Angel On Vicodin is very upbeat and almost sounds like hell electro/aggrotech. In Apocalypse We Trust is pounding harsh, Trauma in Mi Minore begins with classical music that evokes a more exciting atmosphere: strings, a trembling and vibrating cymbal... uplifting... and then there’s the beat of a drum machine. There’s no mercy for the eardrums. The last song is Tabula Rasa. The aggressive beats and vocals are joined by doomy riffs. The song is sung in Italian, which makes it different. The track is really melodic and musical, then it stops and ends softly. A great song in terms of arrangement.

This is an entertaining harsh electro CD that’ll give you some pleasure, even though Synapsyche tortures your eardrums. All elements are present : hard rhythm sections, some faster, others slower, a beautiful song structure, soft and loud passages... The diversity of voices is an asset for this album. In this genre, we usually only hear voices with heavy distortion. These men do it differently, which means that the album is entertaining from beginning to end.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

De Italiaanse harsh-EBM act Synapsyche brengt via SkyQode zijn tweede langspeler uit: The Abyss Effect. De band omschrijft de cd als een afdaling naar een modern inferno: een combinatie van stampende beats, zware grooves, melodieuze synth-lijnen en cleane, soms agressieve vocalen. De digitale versie bevat 11 originele tracks, terwijl de cd-versie van The Abyss Effect, geleverd in een gelimiteerd digipak, voorzien is van een speciale bonus track - een cover van Moby's hit Lift Me Up.

Negativa is een openingssong die wat rustig van aard is. We All Suck is een harsh-EBM-song pur sang: donkere beats, harde baslijnen, agressieve zang en vooral dansbaar. Dit is harsh ten voeten uit. Veneral krijgt vrouwelijke vocalen afgewisseld met vervormde overstuurde stemmen, later een feestelijk aandoend synthlijntje dat van een ijsventer kon komen, tot een genadeloos harde beat: The Flesh Party is snoeihard en dat blijft zo in de rest van het album. Backup Of An Empty Folder begint wat rustiger en krijgt een synthpop-achtige zanglijn met soms een vrij creepy kantje. Maar halfweg ook hier weer heel lekker dansbare harsh-electro.

EBM en ietwat 'zachtere' electro horen we in Hate en Psyche, hoewel het opwindender en harder wordt tegen het einde. Self-Worship Doctrine begint onheilspellend met een profetie, een klassiek argument: 'in that silence... music... a divine music bursts out over them all...', hoe lieflijk en goddelijk dit moge klinken, algauw wordt het een hel.

Angel On Vicodin is héél erg uptempo en bijna als hellelectro/aggrotech. In Apocalypse We Trust is stampende harsh, Trauma in Mi Minore begint met klassieke muziek die een wat spannende sfeer oproept: strijkers, donkere pauken, een sidderende en trillende cymbaal … opbouwend... die naadloos plaats maakt voor de ritmesectie van een drummachine. Genadeloos voor de trommelvliezen. De laatste song is Tabula Rasa. En dat gebeurt gelukkig niet, er wordt niét teruggegrepen naar scratch. De agressieve beats en vocalen krijgen versterking van doomy gitaarriffs. De song wordt in het Italiaans gezongen, wat zorgt voor een aparte toets. De track wordt echt melodisch en muzikaal, valt dan stil en eindigt zacht. Een géweldige song qua arrangement.

Dit is een leuke, onderhoudende harsh-electro-schijf. Synapsyche staat in het rijtje van bands die onze trommelvliezen graag folteren. Zet de baskasten maar open. De luchtverplaatsing die deze geweldige schijf veroorzaakt, zorgt ervoor dat net gewassen kleren in no time droog zijn. Alle elementen zitten erin: harde ritmesecties, sommige sneller, andere trager, een melodie die niét afstompend is, mooie songopbouw, zachte en hardere passages... Wat fijn is aan deze plaat is de diversiteit qua stemgeluid. Veelal horen we in het genre alleen stemmen met zware distortie. Deze mannen laten ook iets anders horen, wat betekent dat de plaat onderhoudend is en dat ook blijft.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NOIR • The Burning Bridge EP
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)
METROLAND • Synthetic Sound (EP)
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
SUUNS • Brussels, Botanique (22/05/2016)
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
GIOUMOURTZINA • Blakk Metall
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears

 

Other reviews from SYNAPSYCHE
SYNAPSYCHE • In Praise Of Folly

 

Same combination of genres: HARSH + HARSH ELECTRO + HELLELECTRO
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline

 

Same genre: HARSH
HOCICO • HyperViolent
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
SUICIDE COMMANDO • The Pain That You Like

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
OBSIDIAN FX • Illusions of Darkness
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS