tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HELALYN FLOWERS - Sonic Foundations

HELALYN FLOWERS

Sonic Foundations

MusicCD
Electro Rock

[87/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
09/12/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

The Italian electro rock duo Helalyn Flowers returns with another strong album: Sonic Foundations. You can interpret the title quite literally as the music feels supersonic and the foundations are solid as a rock.

The mix of hard electro, the metal influenced guitars by MaXX and the female vocals by Noemi Aurora contrast beautifully with each other. This leads to acrimonious duels sometimes, followed by harmony. Don’t be wrong however, this is a very solid electro metal album.

The CD opens with Synthetic Paranoia, powerful electro, but not too overwhelming. You better open this Pandora’s box carefully, because if you don’t, the result will be the same, but it will rush as a storm over you. The same goes for this album.

The pace increases with each song and more registers are opened. The first tracks sound good, firm and solid, although with poppy vocals. It’s hard to notice, but little by little the dark side sneaks into the record. The music is becoming more aggressive, the vocals more intense and the beats go deeper.

The album can be divided into three chapters: an intro section with somewhat quieter tracks and a middle section in which everything is showed, on both the musical and vocal level. From Karmageddon on, the band shows another (angry) side as New Days Of Babylon, Shadowcomples and Match Of Chaos ( feat. Angelspit) roar like a hurricane through the speakers. Towards the end the storm calms down with the more guitar-oriented Eerie and the beautiful ballad I Saved An Angel, in which Noemi shows what she can as a singer.

The album ends with a reprise of Beware Of Light, this time with the collaboration of Chris Pohl by Blutengel. Sonic Foundations is a beautiful symbiosis between good and evil, between melodic synths, guitars and at times hard-hitting beats. All these extremes are held together by synth pop and sharp vocals.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


NL

Het Italiaanse elektrorockduo Helalyn Flowers pakt opnieuw uit met een heel sterk album: Sonic Foundations. Die titel mag je best letterlijk nemen. Het album is bij momenten supersonisch en de fundamenten zijn zoals men in het Engels zegt solid as a rock.

De mix van stevige elektro, de metalgetinte gitaren van MaXX en de vrouwelijke vocalen van Noemi Aurora contrasteren mooi met elkaar. Dit leidt de ene keer tot bitsige duels, terwijl het vervolgens harmonieus wordt. Vergis je echter niet, dit is een heel stevig elektrometalalbum.

De cd opent met Synthetic Paranoia, muzikaal stevige elektro zonder echt overweldigend uit de hoek te komen. Dit is echter heel voorzichtig de doos van Pandora openen. Als je die met geweld opent, blijft het resultaat hetzelfde, ze sluiten kan niet meer en de inhoud komt als een storm over je heen. Hetzelfde geldt voor dit album.

Song per song neemt het tempo toe en worden meer registers opengetrokken. De eerste tracks klinken goed en stevig met degelijke, doch vrij poppy vocalen. Bijna ongemerkt, maar heel berekend, sluipt de meer duistere kant van de band in de plaat. De muziek wordt agressiever, de vocalen intenser en de beats gaan dieper.

Het album kan je eigenlijk in 3 hoofdstukken indelen: een introgedeelte met de ietwat rustigere tracks en een middengedeelte waar alle registers zowel op muzikaal als op vocaal vlak worden opengetrokken. Vanaf Karmageddon is het gedaan met braaf zijn en New Days Of Babylon, Shadowcomples en Match Of Chaos (feat. Angelspit) razen als een orkaan door de boxen. Tegen het einde sterft de storm weer uit via het meer gitaargerichte Eerie en de mooie ballade I Saved An Angel, waarin Noemi met een minimale begeleiding haar zangkwaliteiten nog eens dik in de verf zet.

Het album wordt afgesloten met een herneming van Beware Of Light, deze keer in samenwerking met Chris Pohl van Blutengel. Sonic Foundations is een heel mooie symbiose tussen goed en kwaad, tussen melodieuze synths, meedogenloze gitaren en bij momenten keiharde beats. Al deze uitersten worden samengehouden door synthpop en bijtende vocalen.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela