tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/10/2015 : HELALYN FLOWERS - Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP

HELALYN FLOWERS

Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP

MusicDigital
CybergothElectro RockFuture PopHarsh ElectroIndustrial Rock

[63/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
11/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is probably the dream of every goth band that Chris Pohl (frontman of Blutengel and Terminal Choice) sings a few lines on a new single. It happened to the Italian Alfa Matrix-act Helalyn Flowers, that already exists for over eight years, but hasn't reached the big public (yet).

Who knows, maybe this collaboration will change that. In all fairness we hope so for Noemi Aurora and Max.There are three versions of Beware The Light on the EP. The original version, the one that features Pohl (that of course has a gothic touch), but the most danceable version is the remix of the Dutch XMH that almost turns Beware Of The Light into future pop.

Besides the title track, there is Karmageddon , also in three versions.It is the kind of electro rock that you either love or hate. Screamy guitars, electro beats in pure KMFDM style and a hilarious woman who sings just not (or does she?) over the top. The version of The Psychic Force (including the guest vocals of DJ Michelle) is not only unrecognizable from the original, there is also an extra layer of electro industrial. Finally, there is the remix of Aesthetische which adds, as you might expect, even more chaos and crazy beats.

This EP (and actually the whole repertoire) of Helalyn Flowers is definitely not everyone's taste. One will regard it as pathetic, while others will be frantically dancing on it. Who are we to decide which side of the line you should be on? For the fans, this EP already is a nice preview for the upcoming fourth album.

Didier BECU
11/10/2015


NL

Het zal wellicht de droom van iedere gothband zijn dat Chris Pohl (frontman van Blutengel en Terminal Choice) een paar regeltjes komt meezingen op een nieuwe single. Het overkwam de Italiaanse Alfa Matrix-act Helalyn Flowers dat al meer dan acht jaar bezig is, maar eigenlijk nog niet het grote publiek heeft bereikt.

Wie weet komt daar met deze samenwerking verandering in. Eerlijkheidshalve gunnen we het Nøemi Aurøra en Max,, want hun krachtige electrorock mag er beslist wezen. Van het titelnummer Beware The Light krijg je drie versies te horen. Het origineel, de versie met Pohl, die uiteraard het nummer een gotisch tintje geeft, maar de meest dansbare versie is de remix van de Nederlanders van XMH, die van Beware The Light bijna futurepop maken.

Naast het titelnummer is er ook nog Karmageddon dat je tevens drie maal op deze release aantreft. Karmageddon is het soort electrorock waarvan je houdt of een afkeer hebt. Schreeuwerige gitaren, electrobeats in pure KMFDM-stijl en een hilarische vrouw die net niet (of is het nou net wel?) over the top zingt. De versie van The Psychic Force (inclusief de gastvocalen van DJ Michelle) maakt er niet alleen iets onherkenbaars van, er komt ook nog een electro-industrial laagje bovenop. Ten slotte is er nog de remix van Aesthetische die, zoals je kon verwachten, voor nog meer chaos en gestoorde beats zorgt.

Deze EP (en eigenlijk het hele repertoire) van Helalyn Flowers is zeker geen spek voor ieders bek. De ene zal het als pathetische aanstellerij beschouwen, terwijl anderen er dan weer verwoed op zullen dansen. Wie zijn wij om uit te maken aan welke kant van de lijn je moet staan? Voor de fans is dit alvast een leuk voorsmaakje voor de binnenkort te verschijnen vierde cd.

Didier BECU
11/10/2015


 

Next reviews
LAURA STEVENSON • Cocksure
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
HAND OF DUST • Beneath a Veil
VARIOUS ARTISTS • You Heard It Here First: Rock vol1
SUMMER TWINS • Limbo
TANGLED THOUGHTS OF LEAVING • Yield To Despair
FRANK WEYZIG (BORN FOR BLISS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style

 

Other reviews from HELALYN FLOWERS
HELALYN FLOWERS • Sonic Foundations

 

Same genre: CYBERGOTH
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
STEREO SIN • Monochrom
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
GRENDEL • Timewave : Zero
SKYLA VERTEX • Urwerk
DETROIT DIESEL • Coup d'état

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
KMFDM • Paradise
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day