tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/10/2015 : HELALYN FLOWERS - Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP

HELALYN FLOWERS

Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP

MusicDigital
CybergothElectro RockFuture PopHarsh ElectroIndustrial Rock

[63/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
11/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is probably the dream of every goth band that Chris Pohl (frontman of Blutengel and Terminal Choice) sings a few lines on a new single. It happened to the Italian Alfa Matrix-act Helalyn Flowers, that already exists for over eight years, but hasn't reached the big public (yet).

Who knows, maybe this collaboration will change that. In all fairness we hope so for Noemi Aurora and Max.There are three versions of Beware The Light on the EP. The original version, the one that features Pohl (that of course has a gothic touch), but the most danceable version is the remix of the Dutch XMH that almost turns Beware Of The Light into future pop.

Besides the title track, there is Karmageddon , also in three versions.It is the kind of electro rock that you either love or hate. Screamy guitars, electro beats in pure KMFDM style and a hilarious woman who sings just not (or does she?) over the top. The version of The Psychic Force (including the guest vocals of DJ Michelle) is not only unrecognizable from the original, there is also an extra layer of electro industrial. Finally, there is the remix of Aesthetische which adds, as you might expect, even more chaos and crazy beats.

This EP (and actually the whole repertoire) of Helalyn Flowers is definitely not everyone's taste. One will regard it as pathetic, while others will be frantically dancing on it. Who are we to decide which side of the line you should be on? For the fans, this EP already is a nice preview for the upcoming fourth album.

Didier BECU
11/10/2015


NL

Het zal wellicht de droom van iedere gothband zijn dat Chris Pohl (frontman van Blutengel en Terminal Choice) een paar regeltjes komt meezingen op een nieuwe single. Het overkwam de Italiaanse Alfa Matrix-act Helalyn Flowers dat al meer dan acht jaar bezig is, maar eigenlijk nog niet het grote publiek heeft bereikt.

Wie weet komt daar met deze samenwerking verandering in. Eerlijkheidshalve gunnen we het Nøemi Aurøra en Max,, want hun krachtige electrorock mag er beslist wezen. Van het titelnummer Beware The Light krijg je drie versies te horen. Het origineel, de versie met Pohl, die uiteraard het nummer een gotisch tintje geeft, maar de meest dansbare versie is de remix van de Nederlanders van XMH, die van Beware The Light bijna futurepop maken.

Naast het titelnummer is er ook nog Karmageddon dat je tevens drie maal op deze release aantreft. Karmageddon is het soort electrorock waarvan je houdt of een afkeer hebt. Schreeuwerige gitaren, electrobeats in pure KMFDM-stijl en een hilarische vrouw die net niet (of is het nou net wel?) over the top zingt. De versie van The Psychic Force (inclusief de gastvocalen van DJ Michelle) maakt er niet alleen iets onherkenbaars van, er komt ook nog een electro-industrial laagje bovenop. Ten slotte is er nog de remix van Aesthetische die, zoals je kon verwachten, voor nog meer chaos en gestoorde beats zorgt.

Deze EP (en eigenlijk het hele repertoire) van Helalyn Flowers is zeker geen spek voor ieders bek. De ene zal het als pathetische aanstellerij beschouwen, terwijl anderen er dan weer verwoed op zullen dansen. Wie zijn wij om uit te maken aan welke kant van de lijn je moet staan? Voor de fans is dit alvast een leuk voorsmaakje voor de binnenkort te verschijnen vierde cd.

Didier BECU
11/10/2015


 

Next reviews
LAURA STEVENSON • Cocksure
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
HAND OF DUST • Beneath a Veil
VARIOUS ARTISTS • You Heard It Here First: Rock vol1
SUMMER TWINS • Limbo
TANGLED THOUGHTS OF LEAVING • Yield To Despair
FRANK WEYZIG (BORN FOR BLISS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style

 

Other reviews from HELALYN FLOWERS
HELALYN FLOWERS • Sonic Foundations

 

Same genre: CYBERGOTH
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
STEREO SIN • Monochrom
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
GRENDEL • Timewave : Zero
SKYLA VERTEX • Urwerk
DETROIT DIESEL • Coup d'état
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • A nice place to destroy (EP)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
FILTER • Crazy Eyes
ONMENS • Witruimte
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
IRIS VON GUL • Iris Von Gul
3TEETH • 3TEETH

Music reviews

25
04
MARTY WILSON-PIPER
Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
24
04
THE MEMBRANES
What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

25
04
LACRIMOSA
Bochum Zeche,Germany
22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
24
04
DECODED FEEDBACK
Waiting For The Storm
23
04
AEX
Selected Memories
22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum