tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/10/2015 : HELALYN FLOWERS - Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP

HELALYN FLOWERS

Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP

MusicDigital
CybergothElectro RockFuture PopHarsh ElectroIndustrial Rock

[63/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
11/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is probably the dream of every goth band that Chris Pohl (frontman of Blutengel and Terminal Choice) sings a few lines on a new single. It happened to the Italian Alfa Matrix-act Helalyn Flowers, that already exists for over eight years, but hasn't reached the big public (yet).

Who knows, maybe this collaboration will change that. In all fairness we hope so for Noemi Aurora and Max.There are three versions of Beware The Light on the EP. The original version, the one that features Pohl (that of course has a gothic touch), but the most danceable version is the remix of the Dutch XMH that almost turns Beware Of The Light into future pop.

Besides the title track, there is Karmageddon , also in three versions.It is the kind of electro rock that you either love or hate. Screamy guitars, electro beats in pure KMFDM style and a hilarious woman who sings just not (or does she?) over the top. The version of The Psychic Force (including the guest vocals of DJ Michelle) is not only unrecognizable from the original, there is also an extra layer of electro industrial. Finally, there is the remix of Aesthetische which adds, as you might expect, even more chaos and crazy beats.

This EP (and actually the whole repertoire) of Helalyn Flowers is definitely not everyone's taste. One will regard it as pathetic, while others will be frantically dancing on it. Who are we to decide which side of the line you should be on? For the fans, this EP already is a nice preview for the upcoming fourth album.

Didier BECU
11/10/2015


NL

Het zal wellicht de droom van iedere gothband zijn dat Chris Pohl (frontman van Blutengel en Terminal Choice) een paar regeltjes komt meezingen op een nieuwe single. Het overkwam de Italiaanse Alfa Matrix-act Helalyn Flowers dat al meer dan acht jaar bezig is, maar eigenlijk nog niet het grote publiek heeft bereikt.

Wie weet komt daar met deze samenwerking verandering in. Eerlijkheidshalve gunnen we het Nøemi Aurøra en Max,, want hun krachtige electrorock mag er beslist wezen. Van het titelnummer Beware The Light krijg je drie versies te horen. Het origineel, de versie met Pohl, die uiteraard het nummer een gotisch tintje geeft, maar de meest dansbare versie is de remix van de Nederlanders van XMH, die van Beware The Light bijna futurepop maken.

Naast het titelnummer is er ook nog Karmageddon dat je tevens drie maal op deze release aantreft. Karmageddon is het soort electrorock waarvan je houdt of een afkeer hebt. Schreeuwerige gitaren, electrobeats in pure KMFDM-stijl en een hilarische vrouw die net niet (of is het nou net wel?) over the top zingt. De versie van The Psychic Force (inclusief de gastvocalen van DJ Michelle) maakt er niet alleen iets onherkenbaars van, er komt ook nog een electro-industrial laagje bovenop. Ten slotte is er nog de remix van Aesthetische die, zoals je kon verwachten, voor nog meer chaos en gestoorde beats zorgt.

Deze EP (en eigenlijk het hele repertoire) van Helalyn Flowers is zeker geen spek voor ieders bek. De ene zal het als pathetische aanstellerij beschouwen, terwijl anderen er dan weer verwoed op zullen dansen. Wie zijn wij om uit te maken aan welke kant van de lijn je moet staan? Voor de fans is dit alvast een leuk voorsmaakje voor de binnenkort te verschijnen vierde cd.

Didier BECU
11/10/2015


 

Next reviews
LAURA STEVENSON • Cocksure
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
HAND OF DUST • Beneath a Veil
VARIOUS ARTISTS • You Heard It Here First: Rock vol1
SUMMER TWINS • Limbo
TANGLED THOUGHTS OF LEAVING • Yield To Despair
FRANK WEYZIG (BORN FOR BLISS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style

 

Other reviews from HELALYN FLOWERS
HELALYN FLOWERS • Sonic Foundations

 

Same genre: CYBERGOTH
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
STEREO SIN • Monochrom
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
GRENDEL • Timewave : Zero
SKYLA VERTEX • Urwerk
DETROIT DIESEL • Coup d'état

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
PIG • Pain Is God
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
KMFDM • Paradise
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16