tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/02/2014 : VARIOUS ARISTS - Cultural Differences Vol 1

VARIOUS ARISTS

Cultural Differences Vol 1

MusicCD
Avant-gardeCold EBMCybergothCyberpunkDark ElectroDark PopDark WaveDreampopEBMElectro PopElectro RockFuture PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)New waveSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave

[90/100]   

Sub Culture Records
04/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

A compilation of 30 tracks, covering almost all artists signed to or distributed via Sub Culture Records. Mastered at The Cage by Martin Bowes. Oh, yeas, Martin: here we go!

This compilation couldn't start better as with 'Floodlight' from Shatoo, a real masterpiece! I reviewed it already earlier and it's always a big pleasure to hear it again! Hard Corps with 'Metal and Flesh' sounds more than a bit like a retro song: minimal wave with a cold EBM minded beat and a female voice that sounds a bit like the last Flesh & Fell. It's a nice one that can be played during parties! A nice discovery!

Another one that I reviewed recently is Naked Lunch, this time with 'Alone'. Once again I love their sound! This song has something magical, almost ethereal and a great retro guitar sound. The chorus is so great that I can almost directly sing along!

Technomancer brings 'D-MN (Zone Tripper RMX)' a great song with a high tempo and his typical space retro synth sound! It's also nice to hear him sing (I have heard a lot of his musical projects lately). I hope that If you don't know this band, you at least give it a shot after hearing this one... Another hero of many years is Attrition with one of their most recent songs 'One horse Rider'! Nice to hear it again (see the links at the end for more about this one).

Carlos Perón 'Der Komtur' is another great person who brings a nice song (danceable slow electro). If you don't know this one: give it a chance! Rosetti's Compass 'My Beloved' is another great electro minded song. The voice is not my style, but the music is nice, just as the nice melancholic slice! Touching the void 'In this together' is a great ballad, really top! Love the melancholic voice and the great piano! It's nice to hear a ballad on an electronic compilation!

Olley 'Race 'N'Roll' sounds a lot like Yellow and maybe I'm missing something here (but one can't know everything). Love the roaring guitars and the complete vibe of this strange song. It's not one of these straight songs that starts and ends in the same way and that's the beauty of this song! Engram 'What Am I (original 1996 version)' is a bit of a strange song, however it could be influenced by A Split Second and other similar electronic bands... So it's for the fans (but I’m not a fan).

John Costello's 'Cities in Question' is a great song, love the minimal wave and the melancholic sound. The cold male voice is blending in nicely! Cronos Titan 'Xerox Panache (Sub Edit) has a nice Arabic or is it Portuguese feel. The electro feel takes it at a higher level and on to the dance floor. I feel a mysterious vibe, wanting to know more about the band, but still: 18 other songs wait for me!

Chinese Detectives 'All You Ever Think About Is Sex' is a great minimal wave song with a catchy title. I'm pretty sure that a lot of people already know this song and if not: they will absolutely love it! Great chorus! Loooved it!

Zone Tripper 'Voyager (Edit)' has already been reviewed and this was the best song on the one I reviewed! Johnny Yen 'Bodies in Motion' is yet another minimal wave song, pretty retro, but this time the voice didn't move me, the music was great thou. Clockwork Orange 'Sensation Boys ('7') sounds nice, love the chorus and the lyrics. Lovers of poppy retro 80's songs will absolutely love this one, if they already don't know this one! I absolutely Looved it, so catchy!

Angst Pop 'Oedipus Rex 2012 (6 AM by Elec This!)': I knew this song and the original is very strong. This new version is also good, nice clubber! Has anyone already tried it out? It will be a success! Spoon Feed 'Rewinded (Single Version)' has a more samba minded rhythm and is a nice change of settings during this compilation. The sound is great too, a bit hypnotic and forcing you to move and start to dance! Downers 'Two Bicycles in Summertime' is another nice and timeless minimal Wave song with a funny vibe. Laboratory 5 'Crisis Core 2.0' is a bit harsher, more electro minded. Love the drums and the modern retro sound (I know it sounds weird to write it down like this, but you have to listen to it to understand my comment).

Posh 'Is Vanity Fair? sounds a bit like Alison Moyet versus Yazoo. Not bad, it's even a nice New Wave track with a nice vibe! I feel like as if I went back to the 80's using the back to the future track... The French Connection 'Catching Butterflies in the Dark' is not bad, the sound is really the synth sound from the 80's, just as the recording. I sense some 80's The Cure-influences in the synths and the electronic drums. The voice is not really my kind of voice, but in the end it's not bad at all and fits in well.

Famlende Forsok 'Kutt 23' gives us some strange hammering, music as if Dracula was in the studio and some German spoken word. I could call it avant-garde Industrial. Totally not my style, I wanted to skip it, sorry guys...

Johnny Yeng Bang! 'De Gale'. This band is clearly my style: love the retro New Wave sound with enough spielerei to keep it funny and good! This song makes me very happy and gave me a big smile! Great sound for a great song! Matchstick Sun 'You and Me ("7")' is a nice, happy pop song with a positive vibe and somehow an early David Bowie versus The Beatles sound (even in the voice). A catchy song and before you know you'll be singing all along!

Overgament 'Brothers of Doom' reminds me of Simple Minds, Fad Gadget and early Depeche Mode. This is nice electro wave with great guitars and a superb retro sound. I also love the more up-tempo ending! 'Horsemen 'And I wish' is more soundscape minded (retro space synth minded), a bit too slow for me. Rosegarden 'Peter and I (single Version)' sounds like L'Ame Immortelle, people who know me know that this is a great thing! Love the voice, love the sound, this is my cup of tea!

Dag Brandth 'One Night Love': I heard already the Shatoo rework of this one and now I can say that the rework version is so much better! You can hear clearly the 80's in this one, still a great one, but it needed a music upgrade, that's for sure! I hope that Dag doesn't send me an angry PM, but this is just the way it is: the song might be good back then, but with the Shatoo version it's impossible to go back! Sven Kalmar 'To The Tigers' is again a strange soundscape minded song, with a very scary sound (as if Halloween is coming). It's a bit of a strange choice to use this one as end song, but then again makes the Shatoo song sound so much better as intro!

It was great to get this compilation! I must say that I hope that some people don't mind that I don't know all the bands as good, but I gave them all an honest review (mostly without knowing the past). I'm pretty sure that the compilation will get enough listeners! I loooved it & it's always a nice way to get in touch with new music!

here's the bandcamp link for the fans:

https://subculturerecords.bandcamp.com/

Here is the shatoo review + interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/shatoo-floodlight/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/shatoo/

And here's Naked Lunch:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/naked-lunch-glow-ep/

And here’s Technomancer:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/technomancer-system-failure/

And here’s Attrition:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/attrition-the-unraveller-of-angels/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/attrition-narcissist-ep/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/attrition-acid-tongue-remodel-ep-2014/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/attrition-demonstro-1982-85/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/attrition-mona-mur-joanna-dalin-ty-lean-ian-arkley/

And here's Zone Tripper:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/zone-tripper-voyager-ep/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
04/02/2014


 

Next reviews
SANG-SOO IM • The taste of money
ZONE TRIPPER • Voyager EP
JOSEPH GORDON-LEVITT • Don Jon
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)
ALIO DIE & SYLVI ALLI • Amidst The Circling Spires
MARIO GARIAZZO • Amazonia (The Catherine Miles Story)
MODEL DEPOSE • Nightwatch
FREDERIC BERTHE • Les Invincibles
SOL 19 • From The Inside Out
TERROLOKAUST • Scars that never heal ep

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARISTS
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil

 

Same genre: CYBERGOTH
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
HELALYN FLOWERS • Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP
STEREO SIN • Monochrom
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
GRENDEL • Timewave : Zero
SKYLA VERTEX • Urwerk
DETROIT DIESEL • Coup d'état

 

Same genre: CYBERPUNK
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
NEON SHUDDER • O-8015
XP8 • Albedo
XMH • The Blind
CHRYSALIDE • Personal Revolution
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
XP8 • Nigredo EP
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DWA XxX (100 Remixes)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines

 

Same genre: EBM
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)