tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/02/2014 : VARIOUS ARISTS - Cultural Differences Vol 1

VARIOUS ARISTS

Cultural Differences Vol 1

MusicCD
Avant-gardeCold EBMCybergothCyberpunkDark ElectroDark PopDark WaveDreampopEBMElectro PopElectro RockFuture PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)New waveSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave

[90/100]   

Sub Culture Records
04/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

A compilation of 30 tracks, covering almost all artists signed to or distributed via Sub Culture Records. Mastered at The Cage by Martin Bowes. Oh, yeas, Martin: here we go!

This compilation couldn't start better as with 'Floodlight' from Shatoo, a real masterpiece! I reviewed it already earlier and it's always a big pleasure to hear it again! Hard Corps with 'Metal and Flesh' sounds more than a bit like a retro song: minimal wave with a cold EBM minded beat and a female voice that sounds a bit like the last Flesh & Fell. It's a nice one that can be played during parties! A nice discovery!

Another one that I reviewed recently is Naked Lunch, this time with 'Alone'. Once again I love their sound! This song has something magical, almost ethereal and a great retro guitar sound. The chorus is so great that I can almost directly sing along!

Technomancer brings 'D-MN (Zone Tripper RMX)' a great song with a high tempo and his typical space retro synth sound! It's also nice to hear him sing (I have heard a lot of his musical projects lately). I hope that If you don't know this band, you at least give it a shot after hearing this one... Another hero of many years is Attrition with one of their most recent songs 'One horse Rider'! Nice to hear it again (see the links at the end for more about this one).

Carlos Perón 'Der Komtur' is another great person who brings a nice song (danceable slow electro). If you don't know this one: give it a chance! Rosetti's Compass 'My Beloved' is another great electro minded song. The voice is not my style, but the music is nice, just as the nice melancholic slice! Touching the void 'In this together' is a great ballad, really top! Love the melancholic voice and the great piano! It's nice to hear a ballad on an electronic compilation!

Olley 'Race 'N'Roll' sounds a lot like Yellow and maybe I'm missing something here (but one can't know everything). Love the roaring guitars and the complete vibe of this strange song. It's not one of these straight songs that starts and ends in the same way and that's the beauty of this song! Engram 'What Am I (original 1996 version)' is a bit of a strange song, however it could be influenced by A Split Second and other similar electronic bands... So it's for the fans (but I’m not a fan).

John Costello's 'Cities in Question' is a great song, love the minimal wave and the melancholic sound. The cold male voice is blending in nicely! Cronos Titan 'Xerox Panache (Sub Edit) has a nice Arabic or is it Portuguese feel. The electro feel takes it at a higher level and on to the dance floor. I feel a mysterious vibe, wanting to know more about the band, but still: 18 other songs wait for me!

Chinese Detectives 'All You Ever Think About Is Sex' is a great minimal wave song with a catchy title. I'm pretty sure that a lot of people already know this song and if not: they will absolutely love it! Great chorus! Loooved it!

Zone Tripper 'Voyager (Edit)' has already been reviewed and this was the best song on the one I reviewed! Johnny Yen 'Bodies in Motion' is yet another minimal wave song, pretty retro, but this time the voice didn't move me, the music was great thou. Clockwork Orange 'Sensation Boys ('7') sounds nice, love the chorus and the lyrics. Lovers of poppy retro 80's songs will absolutely love this one, if they already don't know this one! I absolutely Looved it, so catchy!

Angst Pop 'Oedipus Rex 2012 (6 AM by Elec This!)': I knew this song and the original is very strong. This new version is also good, nice clubber! Has anyone already tried it out? It will be a success! Spoon Feed 'Rewinded (Single Version)' has a more samba minded rhythm and is a nice change of settings during this compilation. The sound is great too, a bit hypnotic and forcing you to move and start to dance! Downers 'Two Bicycles in Summertime' is another nice and timeless minimal Wave song with a funny vibe. Laboratory 5 'Crisis Core 2.0' is a bit harsher, more electro minded. Love the drums and the modern retro sound (I know it sounds weird to write it down like this, but you have to listen to it to understand my comment).

Posh 'Is Vanity Fair? sounds a bit like Alison Moyet versus Yazoo. Not bad, it's even a nice New Wave track with a nice vibe! I feel like as if I went back to the 80's using the back to the future track... The French Connection 'Catching Butterflies in the Dark' is not bad, the sound is really the synth sound from the 80's, just as the recording. I sense some 80's The Cure-influences in the synths and the electronic drums. The voice is not really my kind of voice, but in the end it's not bad at all and fits in well.

Famlende Forsok 'Kutt 23' gives us some strange hammering, music as if Dracula was in the studio and some German spoken word. I could call it avant-garde Industrial. Totally not my style, I wanted to skip it, sorry guys...

Johnny Yeng Bang! 'De Gale'. This band is clearly my style: love the retro New Wave sound with enough spielerei to keep it funny and good! This song makes me very happy and gave me a big smile! Great sound for a great song! Matchstick Sun 'You and Me ("7")' is a nice, happy pop song with a positive vibe and somehow an early David Bowie versus The Beatles sound (even in the voice). A catchy song and before you know you'll be singing all along!

Overgament 'Brothers of Doom' reminds me of Simple Minds, Fad Gadget and early Depeche Mode. This is nice electro wave with great guitars and a superb retro sound. I also love the more up-tempo ending! 'Horsemen 'And I wish' is more soundscape minded (retro space synth minded), a bit too slow for me. Rosegarden 'Peter and I (single Version)' sounds like L'Ame Immortelle, people who know me know that this is a great thing! Love the voice, love the sound, this is my cup of tea!

Dag Brandth 'One Night Love': I heard already the Shatoo rework of this one and now I can say that the rework version is so much better! You can hear clearly the 80's in this one, still a great one, but it needed a music upgrade, that's for sure! I hope that Dag doesn't send me an angry PM, but this is just the way it is: the song might be good back then, but with the Shatoo version it's impossible to go back! Sven Kalmar 'To The Tigers' is again a strange soundscape minded song, with a very scary sound (as if Halloween is coming). It's a bit of a strange choice to use this one as end song, but then again makes the Shatoo song sound so much better as intro!

It was great to get this compilation! I must say that I hope that some people don't mind that I don't know all the bands as good, but I gave them all an honest review (mostly without knowing the past). I'm pretty sure that the compilation will get enough listeners! I loooved it & it's always a nice way to get in touch with new music!

here's the bandcamp link for the fans:

https://subculturerecords.bandcamp.com/

Here is the shatoo review + interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/shatoo-floodlight/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/shatoo/

And here's Naked Lunch:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/naked-lunch-glow-ep/

And here’s Technomancer:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/technomancer-system-failure/

And here’s Attrition:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/attrition-the-unraveller-of-angels/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/attrition-narcissist-ep/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/attrition-acid-tongue-remodel-ep-2014/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/attrition-demonstro-1982-85/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/attrition-mona-mur-joanna-dalin-ty-lean-ian-arkley/

And here's Zone Tripper:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/zone-tripper-voyager-ep/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
04/02/2014


 

Next reviews
SANG-SOO IM • The taste of money
ZONE TRIPPER • Voyager EP
JOSEPH GORDON-LEVITT • Don Jon
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)
ALIO DIE & SYLVI ALLI • Amidst The Circling Spires
MARIO GARIAZZO • Amazonia (The Catherine Miles Story)
MODEL DEPOSE • Nightwatch
FREDERIC BERTHE • Les Invincibles
SOL 19 • From The Inside Out
TERROLOKAUST • Scars that never heal ep

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARISTS
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Same genre: CYBERGOTH
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
HELALYN FLOWERS • Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP
STEREO SIN • Monochrom
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
GRENDEL • Timewave : Zero
SKYLA VERTEX • Urwerk
DETROIT DIESEL • Coup d'état

 

Same genre: CYBERPUNK
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
NEON SHUDDER • O-8015
XP8 • Albedo
XMH • The Blind
CHRYSALIDE • Personal Revolution
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
XP8 • Nigredo EP
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DWA XxX (100 Remixes)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: DARK POP
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines

 

Same genre: EBM
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
PIG • The Gospel

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
AUGER • Insurgence
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On