tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/02/2014 : VARIOUS ARISTS - Cultural Differences Vol 1

VARIOUS ARISTS

Cultural Differences Vol 1

MusicCD
Avant-gardeCold EBMCybergothCyberpunkDark ElectroDark PopDark WaveDreampopEBMElectro PopElectro RockFuture PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)New waveSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave

[90/100]   

Sub Culture Records
04/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

A compilation of 30 tracks, covering almost all artists signed to or distributed via Sub Culture Records. Mastered at The Cage by Martin Bowes. Oh, yeas, Martin: here we go!

This compilation couldn't start better as with 'Floodlight' from Shatoo, a real masterpiece! I reviewed it already earlier and it's always a big pleasure to hear it again! Hard Corps with 'Metal and Flesh' sounds more than a bit like a retro song: minimal wave with a cold EBM minded beat and a female voice that sounds a bit like the last Flesh & Fell. It's a nice one that can be played during parties! A nice discovery!

Another one that I reviewed recently is Naked Lunch, this time with 'Alone'. Once again I love their sound! This song has something magical, almost ethereal and a great retro guitar sound. The chorus is so great that I can almost directly sing along!

Technomancer brings 'D-MN (Zone Tripper RMX)' a great song with a high tempo and his typical space retro synth sound! It's also nice to hear him sing (I have heard a lot of his musical projects lately). I hope that If you don't know this band, you at least give it a shot after hearing this one... Another hero of many years is Attrition with one of their most recent songs 'One horse Rider'! Nice to hear it again (see the links at the end for more about this one).

Carlos Perón 'Der Komtur' is another great person who brings a nice song (danceable slow electro). If you don't know this one: give it a chance! Rosetti's Compass 'My Beloved' is another great electro minded song. The voice is not my style, but the music is nice, just as the nice melancholic slice! Touching the void 'In this together' is a great ballad, really top! Love the melancholic voice and the great piano! It's nice to hear a ballad on an electronic compilation!

Olley 'Race 'N'Roll' sounds a lot like Yellow and maybe I'm missing something here (but one can't know everything). Love the roaring guitars and the complete vibe of this strange song. It's not one of these straight songs that starts and ends in the same way and that's the beauty of this song! Engram 'What Am I (original 1996 version)' is a bit of a strange song, however it could be influenced by A Split Second and other similar electronic bands... So it's for the fans (but I’m not a fan).

John Costello's 'Cities in Question' is a great song, love the minimal wave and the melancholic sound. The cold male voice is blending in nicely! Cronos Titan 'Xerox Panache (Sub Edit) has a nice Arabic or is it Portuguese feel. The electro feel takes it at a higher level and on to the dance floor. I feel a mysterious vibe, wanting to know more about the band, but still: 18 other songs wait for me!

Chinese Detectives 'All You Ever Think About Is Sex' is a great minimal wave song with a catchy title. I'm pretty sure that a lot of people already know this song and if not: they will absolutely love it! Great chorus! Loooved it!

Zone Tripper 'Voyager (Edit)' has already been reviewed and this was the best song on the one I reviewed! Johnny Yen 'Bodies in Motion' is yet another minimal wave song, pretty retro, but this time the voice didn't move me, the music was great thou. Clockwork Orange 'Sensation Boys ('7') sounds nice, love the chorus and the lyrics. Lovers of poppy retro 80's songs will absolutely love this one, if they already don't know this one! I absolutely Looved it, so catchy!

Angst Pop 'Oedipus Rex 2012 (6 AM by Elec This!)': I knew this song and the original is very strong. This new version is also good, nice clubber! Has anyone already tried it out? It will be a success! Spoon Feed 'Rewinded (Single Version)' has a more samba minded rhythm and is a nice change of settings during this compilation. The sound is great too, a bit hypnotic and forcing you to move and start to dance! Downers 'Two Bicycles in Summertime' is another nice and timeless minimal Wave song with a funny vibe. Laboratory 5 'Crisis Core 2.0' is a bit harsher, more electro minded. Love the drums and the modern retro sound (I know it sounds weird to write it down like this, but you have to listen to it to understand my comment).

Posh 'Is Vanity Fair? sounds a bit like Alison Moyet versus Yazoo. Not bad, it's even a nice New Wave track with a nice vibe! I feel like as if I went back to the 80's using the back to the future track... The French Connection 'Catching Butterflies in the Dark' is not bad, the sound is really the synth sound from the 80's, just as the recording. I sense some 80's The Cure-influences in the synths and the electronic drums. The voice is not really my kind of voice, but in the end it's not bad at all and fits in well.

Famlende Forsok 'Kutt 23' gives us some strange hammering, music as if Dracula was in the studio and some German spoken word. I could call it avant-garde Industrial. Totally not my style, I wanted to skip it, sorry guys...

Johnny Yeng Bang! 'De Gale'. This band is clearly my style: love the retro New Wave sound with enough spielerei to keep it funny and good! This song makes me very happy and gave me a big smile! Great sound for a great song! Matchstick Sun 'You and Me ("7")' is a nice, happy pop song with a positive vibe and somehow an early David Bowie versus The Beatles sound (even in the voice). A catchy song and before you know you'll be singing all along!

Overgament 'Brothers of Doom' reminds me of Simple Minds, Fad Gadget and early Depeche Mode. This is nice electro wave with great guitars and a superb retro sound. I also love the more up-tempo ending! 'Horsemen 'And I wish' is more soundscape minded (retro space synth minded), a bit too slow for me. Rosegarden 'Peter and I (single Version)' sounds like L'Ame Immortelle, people who know me know that this is a great thing! Love the voice, love the sound, this is my cup of tea!

Dag Brandth 'One Night Love': I heard already the Shatoo rework of this one and now I can say that the rework version is so much better! You can hear clearly the 80's in this one, still a great one, but it needed a music upgrade, that's for sure! I hope that Dag doesn't send me an angry PM, but this is just the way it is: the song might be good back then, but with the Shatoo version it's impossible to go back! Sven Kalmar 'To The Tigers' is again a strange soundscape minded song, with a very scary sound (as if Halloween is coming). It's a bit of a strange choice to use this one as end song, but then again makes the Shatoo song sound so much better as intro!

It was great to get this compilation! I must say that I hope that some people don't mind that I don't know all the bands as good, but I gave them all an honest review (mostly without knowing the past). I'm pretty sure that the compilation will get enough listeners! I loooved it & it's always a nice way to get in touch with new music!

here's the bandcamp link for the fans:

https://subculturerecords.bandcamp.com/

Here is the shatoo review + interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/shatoo-floodlight/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/shatoo/

And here's Naked Lunch:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/naked-lunch-glow-ep/

And here’s Technomancer:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/technomancer-system-failure/

And here’s Attrition:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/attrition-the-unraveller-of-angels/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/attrition-narcissist-ep/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/attrition-acid-tongue-remodel-ep-2014/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/attrition-demonstro-1982-85/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/attrition-mona-mur-joanna-dalin-ty-lean-ian-arkley/

And here's Zone Tripper:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/zone-tripper-voyager-ep/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
04/02/2014


 

Next reviews
SANG-SOO IM • The taste of money
ZONE TRIPPER • Voyager EP
JOSEPH GORDON-LEVITT • Don Jon
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)
ALIO DIE & SYLVI ALLI • Amidst The Circling Spires
MARIO GARIAZZO • Amazonia (The Catherine Miles Story)
MODEL DEPOSE • Nightwatch
FREDERIC BERTHE • Les Invincibles
SOL 19 • From The Inside Out
TERROLOKAUST • Scars that never heal ep

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARISTS
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
JIHAD • Retrospekt
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos

 

Same genre: CYBERGOTH
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
HELALYN FLOWERS • Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP
STEREO SIN • Monochrom
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
GRENDEL • Timewave : Zero
SKYLA VERTEX • Urwerk
DETROIT DIESEL • Coup d'état

 

Same genre: CYBERPUNK
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
NEON SHUDDER • O-8015
XP8 • Albedo
XMH • The Blind
CHRYSALIDE • Personal Revolution
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
XP8 • Nigredo EP
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
KMFDM • Hyena
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser