tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/01/2015 : VARIOUS ARISTS - Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2

VARIOUS ARISTS

Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2

MusicCD
Dark WaveEBMGothic

[80/100]   

Upscene
14/01/2015, Benny CALUWE

This is the second part of the Abby compilation part 4 to celebrate the 25 years existence of the German club. Just as for many other compilations, some rare and previously unreleased tracks come available, as well as some exclusive tracks as a sale argument. But the most interesting thing about this compilation is its diversity.

This part compiles 36 tracks out of 25 years of club history. So even when you’re not fond of the few cyber-industrial tracks such as Eisenfunk (you like them or you don’t) or the harsh industrial tracks such as P.A.L., there is plenty of good music left in wide a variety of styles:

Neue Deutsche Härte such as Warning, Britisch goth’rock such as All Gone Dead, minimal electronics such as Brigade Rosse, TBM such as Stoppenberg (an X-fusion & Noisuf-X side- project), Hellectro such as Kryonix and Suicide Commando and lots of electro such as Unter Null, Solitary Experiments, etc.

For this compilation some nice covers were selected as well: Well/Erdball with FanFanFanatisch (from Rheingold) Menschliche Energie with Red Light (from Siouxsie and the Banshees) Aircrah Bureau with Als wär’s das letzte Mal (from DAF) and The Invincible Spirit with Irregular Times 2014 (a tribute to The Mao Tse Tung Experience). Especially the last two tracks are really hammers.

Abby also included some classics: Hours and hours of The Klinik, Theatre of Life of Shock Therapy, Magnum Force of Sielwolf and a remastered version of Love Is Colder Than Death’s Wild World and the second mix of Deine Lakaien’s Love Me to the End and G Tom Mac’s Cry Little Sister.

Abby also selected some newcomers. Van Undercut’s In der Geisterwelt and especially the Vive La Fête-like Roboton’s Trop Tard sound promising. Another nice discovery is the English singer/songwriter Jess Mills with a nice minimal electronic version of A forest (The Cure). Also the synthpop track Und keiner Lacht of Reizstrom and Ecoute Moi of the French post-punk band Joy/Disaster, could tempt me.

So, once again, Abby delivered a nice compilation with lots of variation, some great classics and some noteworthy newcomers. Recommendable!

Benny CALUWE
14/01/2015


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
XII • Moving In The Shadows
YORGOS LANTHIMOS • Kinetta
DARK STORM FESTIVAL • Chemnitz, Germany (25/12/2014)
ANGELDUST • Meth Face EP
GARY SHORE • Dracula Untold
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
ASTRONAUTS • In My Direction
FACTICE FACTORY • The White Days
• GIRLS - SEASON 3

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARISTS
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + EBM + GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain