tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/10/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style

VARIOUS ARTISTS

A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style

MusicCD
Dark WaveEBMGothic

[84/100]   

OVR
08/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

This compilation is a tribute to Joy Division. A tribute album? In the past I heard some tribute albums, mainly from the metal scene, but I could get no satisfaction. Last year I was eager to discover A Strange Play, an Alfa Matrix tribute to The Cure, but that double CD turned out to be a major disappointment. Rather than celebrating The Cure, Alfa Matrix found a vehicle to present the numerous bands on the label, so it seemed to me at least. Only a few bands went totally their own way. It resulted in another poor tribute album. But I had the feeling that A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style might be different.

After all this is a tribute to Joy Division, a significant and influential band. How many times were Unknown Pleasures and Closer named in our series of 10 albums that changed my life? Often, very often. Besides, this album compiles different bands from several styles and various labels. And after all there are many big established names among the contributing bands and a few promising youngsters. So yes, I truly believed this album could be different.

The Devil & The Universe opens with a haunting instrumental version of I Remember Nothing. The fantastic tribal percussion which is typical for Ashley Dayour’s side project fits perfectly. This great moodsetter is followed by Dive’s harsh minimal electro-industrial version of Isolation. That typical bass line pounds repetitively throughout the song and is topped with a swirling layer of electronics. Recently, I saw Dirk Ivens performing this track at Daft Records Night in Antwerp. His version is a real hammer live.

The Swedish project No Sleep By The Machine also puts its stamp on Shadowplay and turns it in a gloomy mid tempo EBM track, extended with speech samples. Plastic Noise Experience’s throbbing adaptation of She’s Lost Control is a winner as well. Although many elements of the original track seem to reoccur, it sounds distinctively PNE. The Eternal Afflict’s Twenty Four Hours sounds both atmospheric and danceable.

In Atmosphere by The Invincible Spirit, Thomas Lüdke surprises with emotive clean vocals instead of his familiar dark electro shouts.But this version stays close to the original. Also Patrick Legolas’ vocals in New Dawn Fades are quite remarkable.Those typical neofolk vocals, you know. I saw him perform with Six Comm (Godlesstate nowadays) on BIMFest a few years ago and I remember I loved his music but personally I had difficulties with his odd somewhat whining voice. Only after hearing New Dawn Fades several times, I got used to it and I must admit the voice fits well to express the desperation in the lyrics. The same story with Seth’s voice in The Eternal by Merciful Nuns. Fond of their music, but not of that typical wailing gothic rock voice. Mind you it sounds appropriately melancholic in the end though.

A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style also contains 2 live tracks. Violinist Matt Howden (aka Sieben) brings an uplifting version of Transmission. In Phillip Boa And The Voodooclub’s Love Will Tear Us Apart, the violin plays its role as well, but then as an additional instrument. This version reminds me of the folky rock played in Irish Pubs.

My personal highlights are Der Blaue Reiter and Evi Vine. Der Blaue Reiter’s Decades builds up slowly and evolves in a multi layered atmospheric track with fragile female vocals. Evi Vine’s enchanting adaptation of Dead Souls is truly a gem. Semi-acoustical, but haunting. Poignant and compelling. I certainly want to discover more of her.

People who purchase the download of this album receive 3 tracks in addition. A remastered version of industrial rockers Die Krupps’ cover of Isolation from 1992, Psyche’s Disorder and Kirlian Camera with an ethereal version of The Eternal.

A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style is an alluring eclectic album. Eventually I found a tribute album that does not disappoint me, quite the opposite. Most bands go their own way without forgetting the emotions of the original tracks. A celebration as it should be. Great!

Benny CALUWE
08/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MASSENHYSTERIE • Massenhysterie
LUCERO • All a Man Should Do
• New Belgian talent with Koner.
E.S.B. • E.S.B.
SHERMAN, DEZ MONA • Ghent, De Vooruit (06/10/2015) - DEMOCRAZY
DAVE BALL (SOFT CELL/THE GRID) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TEMPERS • Service
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
X-MARKS THE PEDWALK • The House Of Rain
GUY VAN NUETEN • Music for a Small Orchestra (OST Milo)

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + EBM + GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side

 

Same genre: EBM
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl