tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/10/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style

VARIOUS ARTISTS

A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style

MusicCD
Dark WaveEBMGothic

[84/100]   

OVR
08/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

This compilation is a tribute to Joy Division. A tribute album? In the past I heard some tribute albums, mainly from the metal scene, but I could get no satisfaction. Last year I was eager to discover A Strange Play, an Alfa Matrix tribute to The Cure, but that double CD turned out to be a major disappointment. Rather than celebrating The Cure, Alfa Matrix found a vehicle to present the numerous bands on the label, so it seemed to me at least. Only a few bands went totally their own way. It resulted in another poor tribute album. But I had the feeling that A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style might be different.

After all this is a tribute to Joy Division, a significant and influential band. How many times were Unknown Pleasures and Closer named in our series of 10 albums that changed my life? Often, very often. Besides, this album compiles different bands from several styles and various labels. And after all there are many big established names among the contributing bands and a few promising youngsters. So yes, I truly believed this album could be different.

The Devil & The Universe opens with a haunting instrumental version of I Remember Nothing. The fantastic tribal percussion which is typical for Ashley Dayour’s side project fits perfectly. This great moodsetter is followed by Dive’s harsh minimal electro-industrial version of Isolation. That typical bass line pounds repetitively throughout the song and is topped with a swirling layer of electronics. Recently, I saw Dirk Ivens performing this track at Daft Records Night in Antwerp. His version is a real hammer live.

The Swedish project No Sleep By The Machine also puts its stamp on Shadowplay and turns it in a gloomy mid tempo EBM track, extended with speech samples. Plastic Noise Experience’s throbbing adaptation of She’s Lost Control is a winner as well. Although many elements of the original track seem to reoccur, it sounds distinctively PNE. The Eternal Afflict’s Twenty Four Hours sounds both atmospheric and danceable.

In Atmosphere by The Invincible Spirit, Thomas Lüdke surprises with emotive clean vocals instead of his familiar dark electro shouts.But this version stays close to the original. Also Patrick Legolas’ vocals in New Dawn Fades are quite remarkable.Those typical neofolk vocals, you know. I saw him perform with Six Comm (Godlesstate nowadays) on BIMFest a few years ago and I remember I loved his music but personally I had difficulties with his odd somewhat whining voice. Only after hearing New Dawn Fades several times, I got used to it and I must admit the voice fits well to express the desperation in the lyrics. The same story with Seth’s voice in The Eternal by Merciful Nuns. Fond of their music, but not of that typical wailing gothic rock voice. Mind you it sounds appropriately melancholic in the end though.

A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style also contains 2 live tracks. Violinist Matt Howden (aka Sieben) brings an uplifting version of Transmission. In Phillip Boa And The Voodooclub’s Love Will Tear Us Apart, the violin plays its role as well, but then as an additional instrument. This version reminds me of the folky rock played in Irish Pubs.

My personal highlights are Der Blaue Reiter and Evi Vine. Der Blaue Reiter’s Decades builds up slowly and evolves in a multi layered atmospheric track with fragile female vocals. Evi Vine’s enchanting adaptation of Dead Souls is truly a gem. Semi-acoustical, but haunting. Poignant and compelling. I certainly want to discover more of her.

People who purchase the download of this album receive 3 tracks in addition. A remastered version of industrial rockers Die Krupps’ cover of Isolation from 1992, Psyche’s Disorder and Kirlian Camera with an ethereal version of The Eternal.

A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style is an alluring eclectic album. Eventually I found a tribute album that does not disappoint me, quite the opposite. Most bands go their own way without forgetting the emotions of the original tracks. A celebration as it should be. Great!

Benny CALUWE
08/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MASSENHYSTERIE • Massenhysterie
LUCERO • All a Man Should Do
• New Belgian talent with Koner.
E.S.B. • E.S.B.
SHERMAN, DEZ MONA • Ghent, De Vooruit (06/10/2015) - DEMOCRAZY
DAVE BALL (SOFT CELL/THE GRID) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TEMPERS • Service
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
X-MARKS THE PEDWALK • The House Of Rain
GUY VAN NUETEN • Music for a Small Orchestra (OST Milo)

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + EBM + GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: EBM
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo