tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/10/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style

VARIOUS ARTISTS

A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style

MusicCD
Dark WaveEBMGothic

[84/100]   

OVR
08/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

This compilation is a tribute to Joy Division. A tribute album? In the past I heard some tribute albums, mainly from the metal scene, but I could get no satisfaction. Last year I was eager to discover A Strange Play, an Alfa Matrix tribute to The Cure, but that double CD turned out to be a major disappointment. Rather than celebrating The Cure, Alfa Matrix found a vehicle to present the numerous bands on the label, so it seemed to me at least. Only a few bands went totally their own way. It resulted in another poor tribute album. But I had the feeling that A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style might be different.

After all this is a tribute to Joy Division, a significant and influential band. How many times were Unknown Pleasures and Closer named in our series of 10 albums that changed my life? Often, very often. Besides, this album compiles different bands from several styles and various labels. And after all there are many big established names among the contributing bands and a few promising youngsters. So yes, I truly believed this album could be different.

The Devil & The Universe opens with a haunting instrumental version of I Remember Nothing. The fantastic tribal percussion which is typical for Ashley Dayour’s side project fits perfectly. This great moodsetter is followed by Dive’s harsh minimal electro-industrial version of Isolation. That typical bass line pounds repetitively throughout the song and is topped with a swirling layer of electronics. Recently, I saw Dirk Ivens performing this track at Daft Records Night in Antwerp. His version is a real hammer live.

The Swedish project No Sleep By The Machine also puts its stamp on Shadowplay and turns it in a gloomy mid tempo EBM track, extended with speech samples. Plastic Noise Experience’s throbbing adaptation of She’s Lost Control is a winner as well. Although many elements of the original track seem to reoccur, it sounds distinctively PNE. The Eternal Afflict’s Twenty Four Hours sounds both atmospheric and danceable.

In Atmosphere by The Invincible Spirit, Thomas Lüdke surprises with emotive clean vocals instead of his familiar dark electro shouts.But this version stays close to the original. Also Patrick Legolas’ vocals in New Dawn Fades are quite remarkable.Those typical neofolk vocals, you know. I saw him perform with Six Comm (Godlesstate nowadays) on BIMFest a few years ago and I remember I loved his music but personally I had difficulties with his odd somewhat whining voice. Only after hearing New Dawn Fades several times, I got used to it and I must admit the voice fits well to express the desperation in the lyrics. The same story with Seth’s voice in The Eternal by Merciful Nuns. Fond of their music, but not of that typical wailing gothic rock voice. Mind you it sounds appropriately melancholic in the end though.

A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style also contains 2 live tracks. Violinist Matt Howden (aka Sieben) brings an uplifting version of Transmission. In Phillip Boa And The Voodooclub’s Love Will Tear Us Apart, the violin plays its role as well, but then as an additional instrument. This version reminds me of the folky rock played in Irish Pubs.

My personal highlights are Der Blaue Reiter and Evi Vine. Der Blaue Reiter’s Decades builds up slowly and evolves in a multi layered atmospheric track with fragile female vocals. Evi Vine’s enchanting adaptation of Dead Souls is truly a gem. Semi-acoustical, but haunting. Poignant and compelling. I certainly want to discover more of her.

People who purchase the download of this album receive 3 tracks in addition. A remastered version of industrial rockers Die Krupps’ cover of Isolation from 1992, Psyche’s Disorder and Kirlian Camera with an ethereal version of The Eternal.

A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style is an alluring eclectic album. Eventually I found a tribute album that does not disappoint me, quite the opposite. Most bands go their own way without forgetting the emotions of the original tracks. A celebration as it should be. Great!

Benny CALUWE
08/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MASSENHYSTERIE • Massenhysterie
LUCERO • All a Man Should Do
• New Belgian talent with Koner.
E.S.B. • E.S.B.
SHERMAN, DEZ MONA • Ghent, De Vooruit (06/10/2015) - DEMOCRAZY
DAVE BALL (SOFT CELL/THE GRID) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TEMPERS • Service
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
X-MARKS THE PEDWALK • The House Of Rain
GUY VAN NUETEN • Music for a Small Orchestra (OST Milo)

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + EBM + GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows

 

Same genre: EBM
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu