tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/10/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style

VARIOUS ARTISTS

A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style

MusicCD
Dark WaveEBMGothic

[84/100]   

OVR
08/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

This compilation is a tribute to Joy Division. A tribute album? In the past I heard some tribute albums, mainly from the metal scene, but I could get no satisfaction. Last year I was eager to discover A Strange Play, an Alfa Matrix tribute to The Cure, but that double CD turned out to be a major disappointment. Rather than celebrating The Cure, Alfa Matrix found a vehicle to present the numerous bands on the label, so it seemed to me at least. Only a few bands went totally their own way. It resulted in another poor tribute album. But I had the feeling that A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style might be different.

After all this is a tribute to Joy Division, a significant and influential band. How many times were Unknown Pleasures and Closer named in our series of 10 albums that changed my life? Often, very often. Besides, this album compiles different bands from several styles and various labels. And after all there are many big established names among the contributing bands and a few promising youngsters. So yes, I truly believed this album could be different.

The Devil & The Universe opens with a haunting instrumental version of I Remember Nothing. The fantastic tribal percussion which is typical for Ashley Dayour’s side project fits perfectly. This great moodsetter is followed by Dive’s harsh minimal electro-industrial version of Isolation. That typical bass line pounds repetitively throughout the song and is topped with a swirling layer of electronics. Recently, I saw Dirk Ivens performing this track at Daft Records Night in Antwerp. His version is a real hammer live.

The Swedish project No Sleep By The Machine also puts its stamp on Shadowplay and turns it in a gloomy mid tempo EBM track, extended with speech samples. Plastic Noise Experience’s throbbing adaptation of She’s Lost Control is a winner as well. Although many elements of the original track seem to reoccur, it sounds distinctively PNE. The Eternal Afflict’s Twenty Four Hours sounds both atmospheric and danceable.

In Atmosphere by The Invincible Spirit, Thomas Lüdke surprises with emotive clean vocals instead of his familiar dark electro shouts.But this version stays close to the original. Also Patrick Legolas’ vocals in New Dawn Fades are quite remarkable.Those typical neofolk vocals, you know. I saw him perform with Six Comm (Godlesstate nowadays) on BIMFest a few years ago and I remember I loved his music but personally I had difficulties with his odd somewhat whining voice. Only after hearing New Dawn Fades several times, I got used to it and I must admit the voice fits well to express the desperation in the lyrics. The same story with Seth’s voice in The Eternal by Merciful Nuns. Fond of their music, but not of that typical wailing gothic rock voice. Mind you it sounds appropriately melancholic in the end though.

A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style also contains 2 live tracks. Violinist Matt Howden (aka Sieben) brings an uplifting version of Transmission. In Phillip Boa And The Voodooclub’s Love Will Tear Us Apart, the violin plays its role as well, but then as an additional instrument. This version reminds me of the folky rock played in Irish Pubs.

My personal highlights are Der Blaue Reiter and Evi Vine. Der Blaue Reiter’s Decades builds up slowly and evolves in a multi layered atmospheric track with fragile female vocals. Evi Vine’s enchanting adaptation of Dead Souls is truly a gem. Semi-acoustical, but haunting. Poignant and compelling. I certainly want to discover more of her.

People who purchase the download of this album receive 3 tracks in addition. A remastered version of industrial rockers Die Krupps’ cover of Isolation from 1992, Psyche’s Disorder and Kirlian Camera with an ethereal version of The Eternal.

A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style is an alluring eclectic album. Eventually I found a tribute album that does not disappoint me, quite the opposite. Most bands go their own way without forgetting the emotions of the original tracks. A celebration as it should be. Great!

Benny CALUWE
08/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MASSENHYSTERIE • Massenhysterie
LUCERO • All a Man Should Do
• New Belgian talent with Koner.
E.S.B. • E.S.B.
SHERMAN, DEZ MONA • Ghent, De Vooruit (06/10/2015) - DEMOCRAZY
DAVE BALL (SOFT CELL/THE GRID) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TEMPERS • Service
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
X-MARKS THE PEDWALK • The House Of Rain
GUY VAN NUETEN • Music for a Small Orchestra (OST Milo)

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + EBM + GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

 

Same genre: EBM
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)