tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/10/2015 : E.S.B. - E.S.B.

E.S.B.

E.S.B.

MusicCD
Techno

[75/100]   

Bureau B
08/10/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Seven cosmic-techno tracks, jammed over ten days, nothing under three minutes, pretty much all completed in one take - it's prog-rock, right? Nope, no and nein. Here we have Yann Tiersen, Lionel Laquerrière and Thomas Poli arming themselves with two hunks of hardware chosen from all manner of analogue electronica and hammering seven shades of chillwave out of it all for the best part of a fortnight.

Forboding, fearless and freaked out, Market begins the album with a mild-mannered but eerie keyboard coda similar to Japan's The Experience of Swimming, before its thunderous clangorous synth henchman relentlessly scares the glue out of your speaker cones. In fact, despite my lucid description, the whole track is conversely very pretty. If they remade '60s horrorthon Quatermass for a 21st century audience, this track may well serve as the ideal soundtrack.

And that goes for much of E.S.B., a compendium of chattering, rattling maniacal machines being governed by three thirsty boffins who, on occasion, make Fuck Buttons and Fennesz sound like Ed Sheeran. Spoon inadvertently pays homage to Metamatic-era John Foxx with its portentous synth hook and biscuit-tin beats while The Flashlight isn't so far removed from other Bureau B releases by the likes of Solyst or Mute acts from yesteryear - I'm thinking Fad Gadget here.

Jellyfish recalls Kraftwerk circa Radioactivity while both Late and Kim bring things to a funereal halt with ambience and musique-concrete in abundance, the latter being the trio's most crepuscular cadenza on this very fine album. One hopes the three of them will be booking their next ten day break very soon.
This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/10/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines