tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

07/10/2015 : TEMPERS - Service

TEMPERS

Service

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveGothicPost PunkShoegazeSynthpop

[85/100]   

Aufnahme + Wiedergabe
07/10/2015, Luki PUKI

Tempers are a NYC Not-Goth duo of Jasmine Golestaneh and Eddie Cooper. Having read a few of the interviews with pair they are adamant that they are Not-Goth, which I’m assuming is some kind of new Goth genre.
Fortunately Not-Goth sounds like cold wave with a bit of synthpop to boot, so I’m a fan. Damian Taylor (who produced Björk) and Kevin Mc Mahon (of Swans fame) produced Tempers early work so they’re no slouches. The bands latest release, Services, released through German Label Aufnahme + Wiedergabe hasn’t dropped the ball. It’s super clean and precise.

Singer Jasmine vocals switch from low and smoky to exploding rock ballad mode at the change of a verse. I’d say she’d kill Bonnie Tyler karaoke. The lyrics are dark and introspective. The music is surprisingly upbeat, imagine happy Joy Division with more synths. Nothing dominates, but it all comes together, particularly the synth poppier songs to just make you want to move to the music. Click your fingers, mime in the mirror, dance whatever your bag you’ll be doing it. There are a couple of unusual numbers in the 10 tracks like the folky number Summer is Gone helping keep the album varied and interesting.

Service is out 23 October 2015. Fingers crossed for an EU tour!

Luki PUKI
07/10/2015


07/10/2015 : TEMPERS - Service 07/10/2015 : TEMPERS - Service

 

Next reviews
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
X-MARKS THE PEDWALK • The House Of Rain
GUY VAN NUETEN • Music for a Small Orchestra (OST Milo)
KARSTEN PFLUM • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
ELANDOR • Loveless Mind
OMD • Dazzle Ships At Museum Of Liverpool
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive

 

Other reviews from TEMPERS
TEMPERS • Eyes Wide Wider & Strange Harvest

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger